Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How much do you miss the pub?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

jt69er wrote: »
    No keg's delivered since 12th March. Pubs would be foolish holding on to kegs when they would be getting full refund for returned stock.

Fair few pubs doing takeaway pints etc so those have some sort of stock or are getting them from somewhere.

Pub about 10 minutes drive from me has 4 offerings on tap to take away. The local started doing pints of Heineken today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Rather 4 cans for €10/€12 etc instead of going for takeaway pints in growlers (first I've ever heard that name) and flasks

Too much hassle but good on places doing them. Going well too from what I've seen on social media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It's beer, not ten day old milk.
    dunno about all breweries but many will not treat the kegs as much as canned or bottled beer, as its expected to be drank quickly enough. I know a guy with his own home bar and he has given up on it unless he has a party going, as it goes off too quick. Now if the keg is not open it probably lasts longer, but still probably has a shorter BB date than cans due to less processing.

So those adamant that they much prefer draught will probably notice it, like this guy.
    Drifter50 wrote: »
    I definitely need draught pints. Beer is not the same out of tin cans but any port in a storm as they say

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Rather 4 cans for €10/€12 etc instead of going for takeaway pints in growlers (first I've ever heard that name) and flasks

Too much hassle but good on places doing them. Going well too from what I've seen on social media

Have seen the growlers being advertised and never heard of them before to be honest.

The ones near me are giving the pints in proper glasses, €2 deposit for the glass per order, get it back when your bring the glass back or rolls over onto the next order.

I'd assume they wont get many of them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i think the elephant in the room is we all know the craic that will happen in pubs when they open social distanceing be out the window before the weekend is in. city centree pubs the gardai will be all over it, they will show pubs doing the whole table things and social distancing on the 6 one news and everyone will say ah see fair play the pubs are going all european with cafe style drinking. outside of those type of pubs it will be back to normal. the quiet pubs before Covid will be the same people in them after. the government know they will never reign in another lockdown, we will live alongside this virus and people will get it of course , some will die just as the do of any virus. once we keep a handle on it and hospitals cope thats all that matters. theres not hope people will go into lockdown again i think.

OK. So will you take social distancing seriously or are you going to act the maggot and go "back to normal"?

If the situation you're describe is as enviable as you say, then they will spread the virus amongst their own rural communities. So surely we should not open the pubs until social distancing isn't necessary, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Cal4567 wrote: »
    Some of us think that the Vintners Association has the ear of government, that they will get what they want. Maybe in the past but times have changed. The concept of the 'pub' has been changing and slowly dying, we use them less frequently and if I am being really honest, they just don't suit our healthier lifestyles these days.

The writing was on the wall following the smoking ban. Not sure if there has been any polls out over the last few weeks, but would they be really missed? Added to that is the fear factor. OK, that will probably reduce, but if they opened tomorrow, how many of us would flock to them?

Cheers for speaking for the people of Ireland.

Listening to a restaurant owner talking about it on the radio and he said that 2m distancing means they can get 30% as many customers in in the restaurant and they will lose money. With 1m distancing they can get 60% capacity and can maybe lose money, probably break even and maybe make a small profit. Pubs need to adhere to the same distancing rules are restaurants. Pubs aren't special and subject to the rules of "ah, but shur, you cant social distance in the pub, you know yourself, like".

WHO recommendation is 1m. I’ve no idea where 2m came from.

Maybe they do. The question is "do you need food?"

Maybe the server in the pub has it so the question is "do you need pints?"

Well then on the basis of need, why are supermarkets selling sweets, alcohol, cigarettes, other non-essentials? Why are hardware stores opening?

Jonybgud wrote: »
    Just got the phone call, the local is opening up for a select number of clientele tomorrow night from 8.00pm, just 12 of us as that is all the new bar will allow with all this separation distance ****e, so a few long awaited pints and chasers will be had, I'm going to dust off the old brier and bring it along, sheep as a lamb and all that........

Jammy git. I’d love a pint.

Downlinz wrote: »
    I think those preaching "everything will go back to exactly the way it was" is the first sign of denial.

The humans that socialised in the face of a pandemic aren't your ancestors since their bloodline died out long ago.

So all bloodlines died out in 1918 and we are all new bloodlines? Or are you talking shyte??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,764 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Well then on the basis of need, why are supermarkets selling sweets, alcohol, cigarettes, other non-essentials? Why are hardware stores opening?

Because they are extras to the core of groceries.

And hardware stores because things break down and need to be repaired. A broken toilet, leaking tap, blown lightbulbs.

Can you really not see a difference between those and a pub?

You can argue the toss on those things alright. I've been in a B&Q and people were social distancing well. Some people are predicting that social distancing is going to break down in pubs but they're still in favour of reopening. Needless to say that if people weren't distancing in B&Q then I wouldn't support it beibg open.

If people reckon social distancing isn't going to happen in pubs, the why on earth would they support reopening them?

You can argue the toss on those things alright. I've been in a B&Q and people were social distancing well. Some people are predicting that social distancing is going to break down in pubs but they're still in favour of reopening. Needless to say that if people weren't distancing in B&Q then I wouldn't support it beibg open.

If people reckon social distancing isn't going to happen in pubs, the why on earth would they support reopening them?

Life has to get back to normal.

It doesn’t and it won’t, not yet anyway. The easing from Monday is even too much at this stage.

Is that your answer to the question in thome post?

We need a strategy to get life back to normal. If people won't social distantce in pubs but will. Distance in B&Q, then the course of action is simple - allow B&Q to open and don't allow pubs to open until distancing isn't necessary. Otherwise we should just forget distancing and go back to normal and say 'to hell with whoever dies as a result'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

We need a strategy to get life back to normal. If people won't social distantce in pubs but will. Distance in B&Q, then the course of action is simple - allow B&Q to open and don't allow pubs to open until distancing isn't necessary. Otherwise we should just forget distancing and go back to normal and say 'to hell with whoever dies as a result'.

Fact check! Nobody who wants restrictions eased has ever said "to hell with whoever dies as a result". Almost everyone advocating for restrictions to be eased are proponents of social distancing and good hygiene practices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I would argue that much of the craic in pubs in Ireland that had become the accepted norm. Namely binge drinking. Is not really 'normal' at all. Every social occasion has to involve drink or else it is not a good night.

I always found it was the people who did not want to drink on thier own, to be closet problem cases. Because they felt more justified when someone else was drinking with them.
    It will be interesting to see what change the covid19 brings to people's pub/drinking habits.

From the little auld lad who goes in for a cup of tea/brandy for a chat, to the people who have to go out and get absolutely blattered drunk when they go to the pub. And all those in between.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I would argue that much of the craic in pubs in Ireland that had become the accepted norm. Namely binge drinking. Is not really 'normal' at all. Every social occasion has to involve drink or else it is not a good night.

I always found it was the people who did not want to drink on thier own, to be closet problem cases. Because they felt more justified when someone else was drinking with them.
    It will be interesting to see what change the covid19 brings to people's pub/drinking habits.

From the little auld lad who goes in for a cup of tea/brandy for a chat, to the people who have to go out and get absolutely blattered drunk when they go to the pub. And all those in between.

Fire up the tiny violins. They’re pubs, the main point of them is socialising with alcohol. You can always just go about your business somewhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

I do miss the pubs at this stage, I think forcing them to stay closed until August is ridiculous. Surely those who can afford to re-open under restrictions should be given the chance to do so.

Anyway the country as a whole needs to get back going as soon as possible with social distancing being respected until we're clear of covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭JoeLapira

I work in a supermarket which has been implementing quite strict social distancing measures for weeks now. But this last week has seen a complete decline in customer compliance. We have to regularly check the outside queue cause people are not staying 2 meters apart. The same applies to the queues for the till and the shop floor is a disaster and pretty much always has been even though we have a max capacity in place. So should we close? No matter what the business is, they should be allowed open as long as they can provide social distancing measures, if the customers don't comply with them, its not the business' fault whether it be a pub, a supermarket or a B&Q.

GazzaL wrote: »
    Fact check! Nobody who wants restrictions eased has ever said "to hell with whoever dies as a result". Almost everyone advocating for restrictions to be eased are proponents of social distancing and good hygiene practices.

Sure but their response to the question about why they would support opening pubs if pubs specifically won't observe distancing was "we have to get back to normality" absolutely no consideration for the implications or the differences between pubs and other businesses.

If they don't even care enough about the consequences to even address them, then I think it's a fair way to paraphrase their attitude.

:confused: because not everybody cares about social distancing or takes it seriously. That temple bar pub was rammed in that video that went viral, at a time when social distancing was formally requested. I expect of many those people who were in the pub support reopening.

JoeLapira wrote: »
    I work in a supermarket which has been implementing quite strict social distancing measures for weeks now. But this last week has seen a complete decline in customer compliance. We have to regularly check the outside queue cause people are not staying 2 meters apart. The same applies to the queues for the till and the shop floor is a disaster and pretty much always has been even though we have a max capacity in place. So should we close? No matter what the business is, they should be allowed open as long as they can provide social distancing measures, if the customers don't comply with them, its not the business' fault whether it be a pub, a supermarket or a B&Q.

So your supermarket has staff going around reminding people to distance by 2m. That's pretty good. I would never expect all people to observe distancing at all times as that would be unrealistic. Your supermarket is doing a grand job by the sounds of it. I'd say the business has a responsibility to enforce, or at least remind customers of, social distancing.

The question is whether pubs will do likewise. Will pubs implement 2m distance between all patrons? Will pubs have staff going around to remind people when they break the rule? I really, really doubt it. So its not similar to your supermarket.

It sounds like some people aren't really expecting patrons to take distancing seriously in pubs. If that's the case then I'd say just don't open them until distancing isn't necessary.

rubadub wrote: »
    :confused: because not everybody cares about social distancing or takes it seriously. That temple bar pub was rammed in that video that went viral, at a time when social distancing was formally requested. I expect of many those people who were in the pub support reopening.

And things have changed a lot since then. Most people hadn't even had to queue outside a supermarket at that stage or any of the other distancing that's Common now. That was before the stay at home order.

I see what you're trying to do - to pretend everything will go back to how it was before people took distancing seriously. But thsts simply not the case.

Some peopep won't take distancing seriously, and they're nobheads. I would actually say most people are doing a grand job of distancing, even if they have occasions lapses and forget. Generally people are doing grand.

Fire up the tiny violins. They’re pubs, the main point of them is socialising with alcohol. You can always just go about your business somewhere else.

Not true you don't have to drink alcoholic beverage to go into a pub.
    There are no rules on the door stating that, before you go in.

The main point of pubs is socializing in my view. But for others the alcohol aspect supersedes this, as they cannot socailise without alcohol.

And things have changed a lot since then. Most people hadn't even had to queue outside a supermarket at that stage or any of the other distancing that's Common now. That was before the stay at home order.

I see what you're trying to do - to pretend everything will go back to how it was before people took distancing seriously. But thsts simply not the case.

Some peopep won't take distancing seriously, and they're nobheads. I would actually say most people are doing a grand job of distancing, even if they have occasions lapses and forget. Generally people are doing grand.

I agree it is all about social conventions and social norms.
    Social norms and conventions, will have changed when the pubs reopen.
    The majority will conform, where there is enough societal pressure to do so.

I agree it is all about social conventions and social norms.
    Social norms and conventions, will have changed when the pubs reopen.
    The majority will conform, where there is enough societal pressure to do so.

I think things have changed, the social norms around distancing, as you said.

A lot of posters have expressed their belief that distancing won't be taken seriously in pubs. Given the layout of pubs which were originally meant to promote intimacy and comradery, and the obvious fact that people will be drinking, means that pubs are pretty unlikely to have decent distancing.

If they have procedures for distancing and have staff rind customers to distance and customers take it seriously, the it should be fine. If those things won't happen then I'd oppose them opening.

I think things have changed, the social norms around distancing, as you said.

A lot of posters have expressed their belief that distancing won't be taken seriously in pubs. Given the layout of pubs which were originally meant to promote intimacy and comradery, and the obvious fact that people will be drinking, means that pubs are pretty unlikely to have decent distancing.

If they have procedures for distancing and have staff rind customers to distance and customers take it seriously, the it should be fine. If those things won't happen then I'd oppose them opening.

Yeah but, a few jars pegged into young ones and young fellas and the social distancing will go out the window!

If the pubs let less people in then it might change the atmosphere to more a cafe/restaurant effect. More likely to succeed with social distancing then. As other posters have said though, some would hate that and prefer to stay at home.

So your supermarket has staff going around reminding people to distance by 2m. That's pretty good. I would never expect all people to observe distancing at all times as that would be unrealistic. Your supermarket is doing a grand job by the sounds of it. I'd say the business has a responsibility to enforce, or at least remind customers of, social distancing.

The question is whether pubs will do likewise. Will pubs implement 2m distance between all patrons? Will pubs have staff going around to remind people when they break the rule? I really, really doubt it. So its not similar to your supermarket.

It sounds like some people aren't really expecting patrons to take distancing seriously in pubs. If that's the case then I'd say just don't open them until distancing isn't necessary.

We only remind customers in the queues about social distancing, it would be near impossible to do it with the customers on the shop floor, but we would expect customers to do it on their own initiative, same applies to any other business. A pub is a smaller space and looking at the guidelines the VFI have issued, it would appear they would have waiters providing table service which means they would constantly have staff covering all areas.

I come within close contact with upwards of a hundred customers a day, I could be packing a shelf and a customer will come up right beside a reach some over my head/shoulder without letting me know. This happens countless times a day. Then the amount of customers we walk past but because of space, keeping 2m isn't possible.

If I went to a pub or restaurant, I'm sure i would be in less close contact as long as social distancing is some bit maintained.

Yeah but, a few jars pegged into young ones and young fellas and the social distancing will go out the window!

If the pubs let less people in then it might change the atmosphere to more a cafe/restaurant effect. More likely to succeed with social distancing then. As other posters have said though, some would hate that and prefer to stay at home.

Yeah I think there needs to be a plan and a way to actually enforce distancing. If people are happy to accept that distancing won't happen, then they can't open until distancing doesn't matter anymore. It's simple.

We only remind customers in the queues about social distancing, it would be near impossible to do it with the customers on the shop floor, but we would expect customers to do it on their own initiative, same applies to any other business. A pub is a smaller space and looking at the guidelines the VFI have issued, it would appear they would have waiters providing table service which means they would constantly have staff covering all areas.

I come within close contact with upwards of a hundred customers a day, I could be packing a shelf and a customer will come up right beside a reach some over my head/shoulder without letting me know. This happens countless times a day. Then the amount of customers we walk past but because of space, keeping 2m isn't possible.

If I went to a pub or restaurant, I'm sure i would be in less close contact as long as social distancing is some bit maintained.

Yeah I've seen people reach over each other to get things in the shop. It seems like a real blind spot even with people who seem to generally observe distancing. I'd say it's a nightmare for staff.

Enforcing distancing at the till queue while people are stationery, is good practice. I appreciate it would be difficult to enforce distancing while people are moving a round. In pubs people will be stationary at their tables almost all the time except going to the toilet or to smoke. So they have the opportunity to enforce distancing.

Do you think people would like being repeatedly told to distance when they're not staying the 1m or 2m apart from all the people at their table? Or asking people to demonstate they live together so they don't have to distance?

If they can't enforce distancing then thy shouldn't open. Pubs aren't special and shouldn't be considered differently to any other space. If distancing is still in place in general then everyone in pubs will need to distance.

I wonder what pub is doing 'invited locals only' lock in ?

I see what you're trying to do - to pretend everything will go back to how it was before people took distancing seriously. But thsts simply not the case..
    I am not, I was just telling it like it is, many people still do not give a damn about the rules. I do, maybe you thought I was saying I don't.

I was predicting that the moment the pubs open you will have loads of videos doing the rounds of drunk bastards all singing etc, probably arm in arm. When this happens it might result in a knee jerk ban again. These inevitable gobshites might ruin it for everybody else who was willing to do their best.

Do you think people would like being repeatedly told to distance when they're not staying the 1m or 2m apart from all the people at their table? Or asking people to demonstate they live together so they don't have to distance?

Maybe I'm wrong here but by August 10th(or possibly the end of june to coincide with the restaurants) won't this social distancing measure about meeting people outside youre household be lifted.

I've seen several posts regarding having mates over to the house rather than going to the pub and having house parties etc. Is everyone expecting to maintain 2 meters at these aswell, and who will be enforcing it, the host?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

No, you can meet people outside your household in phase 5, but social distancing will be remaining

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

Jammy git. I’d love a pint.

Just heading there now, I'll raise the first one to you.....

I am not, I was just telling it like it is, many people still do not give a damn about the rules. I do, maybe you thought I was saying I don't.

I was predicting that the moment the pubs open you will have loads of videos doing the rounds of drunk bastards all singing etc, probably arm in arm. When this happens it might result in a knee jerk ban again. These inevitable gobshites might ruin it for everybody else who was willing to do their best.

If you think that's what's going to happen then are you in favour of opening pubs at all? If thsts going to happen then I wouldn't support opening pubs at all until distancing doesn't matter.

I will also say that it's basically final as long as almost all people distance almost all the time. There will always be some nobheads and there's nothing anyone can do about that. But if you think distancing in pubs will not happen effectively then surely you're not in favour of reope them?

cdeb wrote: »
    No, you can meet people outside your household in phase 5, but social distancing will be remaining

If that's the case then we'll have to distance from people in the pub who aren't in our household. If the pubs can check for proof of living together then fine. If they can't (or won't) effectively enforce it then they shouldn't open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Thought of another idea to keep a social distance in the pub.

A suitable circular hat worn by customers that would indicate the proper distance. if the hats meet you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

Best thing to do is only locals allowed in for country pubs.

Keep the city pubs closed for the foreseeable future.

Maybe I'm wrong here but by August 10th(or possibly the end of june to coincide with the restaurants) won't this social distancing measure about meeting people outside youre household be lifted.

I've seen several posts regarding having mates over to the house rather than going to the pub and having house parties etc. Is everyone expecting to maintain 2 meters at these aswell, and who will be enforcing it, the host?

Nobody will be officially charged with enforcing it in people's homes, obviously because it isn't a business.

If social distancing doesn't matter anymore when the pubs reopen, then it's moot. The more I hear about this the more I think pubs should not be opened until whenever social distancing isn't an issue.

I'm planning a trip to friend's house as soon as we are allowed and we plan maintain the 2m distance. Should be easy in his garden and there will be 5 of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

You mean no 2 metres apart?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

If social distancing doesn't matter anymore when the pubs reopen, then it's moot. The more I hear about this the more I think pubs should not be opened until whenever social distancing isn't an issue
    I agree with the latter part (unfortunately)

But from page 12 of the [URL="file:///C:/Users/Kevin/Downloads/73722_ffd17d70fbb64b498fd809dde548f411.pdf"]government's roadmap document[/URL], phase 5 is -
    Open pubs, bars, nightclubs, casinos, where social distancing and strict cleaning can be complied with

Social distancing appears to be here while either (a) there is at least one active case in the country or (b) there's no vaccine

cdeb wrote: »
    I agree with the latter part (unfortunately)

But from page 12 of the [URL="file:///C:/Users/Kevin/Downloads/73722_ffd17d70fbb64b498fd809dde548f411.pdf"]government's roadmap document[/URL], phase 5 is -

Social distancing appears to be here while either (a) there is at least one active case in the country or (b) there's no vaccine

"Open pubs, bars, nightclubs, casinos, where social distancing and strict cleaning can be complied with"

Yeah absolutely. It shouldn't be taken for granted that pubs can comply with social distancing. If they can't, or don't intend to enforce distancing, then they shouldn't open

If you think that's what's going to happen then are you in favour of opening pubs at all? If thsts going to happen then I wouldn't support opening pubs at all until distancing doesn't matter.
    I think the pubs should be given a fair shot at it, I do think this will happen in some pubs though and just wonder what will happen.

However nevermind the drunks, the vitners have given out rules already, a pub should be able to show some health inspector type person their plans to stick to these. I have posted before saying I cannot think of a single pub off hand which could follow their extremely strict rules.

If the pubs really do stick to the extremely strict rules they are suggesting they would have very few inside.

I had said before toilets will be a huge issue, and it was just quickly glossed over in those suggested "rules".
    Procedures implemented to ensure safe use of toilet facilities, which may include limits on the numbers using toilets at any one time. No live music or DJs.

This is just vague but they have already set down rules.
    The numbers on the premises would be confined to no more than four per every 10 square metres.

if that has to be stuck to it will be extremely difficult. I doubt they can so they really have to change the rules. Supermarkets would be nowhere near those rules.

The 10 square metres is falling out of the 2m distancing. Queues for toilets would need those markers on the ground to comply and I had said before it would be out the door, just like queues at supermarkets. Many already break the rules at supermarkets, I have seen people in front of me together who obviously do not live together as they were loudly discussing stuff going on as though they had not seen each other in ages.

Toilets in many pubs have narrow walkways to go down, so if you have to adhere to the 10sqm rule you need further distancing, as traffic is going both ways. If you think of it as a mathematical problem you will realise how hard it is. If people are to say "ah jaysus, sure he's only passing by for a split second, we didn't mean to be that strict" then fine! put it in the rules, stop putting out bullsh!t rules which are absolutely not going to be adhered to.

I am not saying I am in favour of the rules they propose, but FFS give realistic ones if you are suggesting any rules. I have designed office and restaurant layouts on CAD software before where I was given instructions on personal space etc, and I realise these rules are ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭briany

Best thing to do is only locals allowed in for country pubs.

League-Of-Gentlemen.jpg

And ask them when they come in, "Are you LOCAL at all???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Not bad, prefer my hat idea. Could be electrically charged to deliver a shock on contact.

god i miss the pub but with the rules enforcement i dont think i will enjoy it

More hassle in going (costs more, asked permission to go to the bathroom, narky bar staff staring at you) but when there open its an option of getting out of the house thats not exercise/shopping/work

I think the pubs should be given a fair shot at it, I do think this will happen in some pubs though and just wonder what will happen.

However nevermind the drunks, the vitners have given out rules already, a pub should be able to show some health inspector type person their plans to stick to these. I have posted before saying I cannot think of a single pub off hand which could follow their extremely strict rules.

If they can't reasonably be expected stick to social distancing then they shouldn't be given a shot. In lots of cases, pubs just aren't set up to provide distance between people, they're set up to promote intimacy and comradery. Its not the pub owner's fault. It's just the way their business is set up. If they can't enforce distancing then they shouldn't open. It's very simple in my mind as it's the same rules for everyone.