Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How much do you miss the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Looking forward to hitting a local pub tomorrow. I'll have the bacon and cabbage and as many pints of Guinness as I can get into me in 105 mins. It's not the pub I normally frequent but I don't care, for the next three weeks it'll do. Need a pick me up to get away from the absolute depression that is covid19 .

There’s going to be a severe gale force wind for the next three weeks so in a particular part of the country!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭JoeLapira

Myself and my mates are heading to our usual spot Tuesday evening and I'm really looking forward to it. Get ourselves some grub, have a few pints and then head home. Was chatting to the landlord and he said if its quiet then we can stay as long as we want.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

JoeLapira wrote: »
    Myself and my mates are heading to our usual spot Tuesday evening and I'm really looking forward to it. Get ourselves some grub, have a few pints and then head home. Was chatting to the landlord and he said if its quiet then we can stay as long as we want.

Our local publican has said the same. He went so far as to say that after 20th July if customers want to sit up to his bar , one metre apart, he has no problem with that. Personally I'm looking forward to sitting on my stool having the chat with all the other regulars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Wasn't going to bother going but have relented and booked Ryans on Parkgate st for the 9th July.

Not sure how it will go but its bound to be an interesting experience

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭undertaker fan 88

I'm working 6 days such are bookings but have booked my day off in a different bar. Booked for 8 so will get the man United game. Have a 2 and a half hour slot but should get the 3 hours if not more.cannot wait for a guinness

Staying in a hotel this weekend with the other half. Have dinner booked in the restaurant but just wondering would i be able to have a few pints in the hotel bar after the meal or do hotel bars have the same policy as pubs and you have to book a table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Ask them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Staying in a hotel this weekend with the other half. Have dinner booked in the restaurant but just wondering would i be able to have a few pints in the hotel bar after the meal or do hotel bars have the same policy as pubs and you have to book a table

Let us know how you get on

Lux23 wrote: »
    Ask them?

Emailed the hotel yesterday but they havent got back to me yet

Let us know how you get on

Will do

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Happy days lads. I'll have a wander round town later and soak up the atmosphere. See whats what and who's adhering to the rules and who's willing to bend them a little. I hope and expect to see some happy faces for a change. To hell with covid. The rain can get lost. Time for good old fashioned pub chatter and banter and catchin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Anyone in the pub yet?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

cashback wrote: »
    Anyone in the pub yet?!

I think they're all dead already.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

cashback wrote: »
    Anyone in the pub yet?!

For lunch yes.

Haircut this morning, lunch out this afternoon. Its good to feel normal again

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭watlantic

Booked this new gourmet place for tonight and rearing to go. The menu they sent looks safe enough:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

enjoy all

Might try somewhere during the week

PTH2009 wrote: »
    enjoy all

Might try somewhere during the week

I had no problem going in for lunch there this afternoon. We didn't have a booking but plenty of tables and was just like it always was

Waterford could be different

Ill go in for a nose around :D:D

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Waterford could be different

Ill go in for a nose around :D:D

I'm heading down there this Friday and Saturday night. Any recommendations on where to book for a meal and few pints ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭HBC08

I'm heading down there this Friday and Saturday night. Any recommendations on where to book for a meal and few pints ?

In the city places like The Reg, Revolution and Heerys

outside the city Jack Meades, Uluru, The Cove, The Sands Hotel (Tramore), Riverside Cottage

Keep on eye on there social media pages etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

with it being a hotel id imagine they wont be enforcing this ridiculous 105 minutes time slot, they'll be looking for as much business as possible as hotels most likely empty for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

So far I think only 2 pubs in my town opened their doors for reservations only. Of the 20 ish in town most don't do a huge food trade anyway. Think most here are waiting and watching the rest of the country to see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Had 3 lovely fresh pints earlier, and of course a "substantial" meal..

though a group of lads nearby ordered a few uneaten toasties and had a good few Guinness!

Great to see so many out, the very young and very old...

felt like normality..

Couple of the lads that work with me went down to one of the 2 pubs to open here today. The went down for 3pm, good crowd in there for a Monday afternoon but not full. They're still there as we speak and it still hasn't reached capacity, the manager is in no rush to move em on either. The weekend will be different but its could to see places getting back in business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

JoeLapira wrote: »
    Couple of the lads that work with me went down to one of the 2 pubs to open here today. The went down for 3pm, good crowd in there for a Monday afternoon but not full. They're still there as we speak and it still hasn't reached capacity, the manager is in no rush to move em on either. The weekend will be different but its could to see places getting back in business.

I thought it was much nicer without having dozens standing around by the bar...

Every table was full and people had their food and pints and left.

The staff were delighted to see customers back in, many they hadn't seen in months, especially the customers who'd be cocooning..
    Loads of young families too grateful to be able to bring the kids out and not have to cook and clean for them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

My mate is in a pub in Baldoyle since about 1pm, and it's packed. I would say most places wont be adhering to any rules.

Good to see places been busy and management giving a bit of a lehway (going by some comments here)

Weds-Sun will be manic i reckon, final week of €350 Covid Payment for some this week

I wonder will there be still hysteria when pubs fully open in a few weeks time ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Know of a few boozing since 3pm, haven't been asked to move yet and they'll stay as long as they can. The pubs are busy. First day and the 'rules' aren't being enforced in some quarters at least. It doesn't bode well for pubs remaining open.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Know of a few boozing since 3pm, haven't been asked to move yet and they'll stay as long as they can. The pubs are busy. First day and the 'rules' aren't being enforced in some quarters at least. It doesn't bode well for pubs remaining open.

Exactly what happened to the bookies.

Lots opened on the 8th of June and were forced to close until today cus a member of the public snitched saying there was no distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Well if they keep that up they will end up closed down again.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I would have no problem going in for food. Going for a few be a few weeks yet or I would have to go home in public transport or a taxi.

Before anyone asks it is 2 far to walk especially in this weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Hopefully the culprits are punished and those complying don't suffer as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Andrew00 wrote: »

Lots opened on the 8th of June and were forced to close until today cus a member of the public snitched saying there was no distancing

I believe a lot opened under the impression that they had a retail license, but were told they actually had an entertainment one so had to close again.

But I wonder if this member of the public would be so quick to tell tales if they saw the lack of social distancing in Penneys or TK Maxx once you enter the shop after queuing? The amount of handling of goods and moving willy-nilly between aisles in those places is eye-opening.

Thats not what happened to the bookies at all. They were forced to close because they weren't due to reopen until today nothing to do with the distancing.
    They thought they'd get away with opening as on street retail when the legislation didn't class them at that at all.

But your right in saying someone reported them being open.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I believe a lot opened under the impression that they had a retail license, but were told they actually had an entertainment one so had to close again.

But I wonder if this member of the public would be so quick to tell tales if they saw the lack of social distancing in Penneys or TK Maxx once you enter the shop after queuing? The amount of handling of goods and moving willy-nilly between aisles in those places is eye-opening.

Pubs are completely different to retail outlets. We already know for a fact that the chance of contracting the virus increases in line with the length of time you remain in the presence of someone who has it.

Most traffic in and out of shops is fairly quick moving. It’s completely different for pubs or any other area where people socialise or spend long periods of time together - i.e. offices. It’s why the Government is encouraging time limits on pub visits. They aren’t just doing it for the craic. It is worrying that some places aren’t enforcing the requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,339 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Hello my old friend...

IMG-20200629-204015.jpg

Hello my old friend...

IMG-20200629-204015.jpg

A fantastic looking pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Hello my old friend...

IMG-20200629-204015.jpg

Nice positioning of the knife and fork too so we know you’re playing by the rules!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Will do

The reality may be different than the email. Sometimes better to use human judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

They weren't allowed open. They thought they were allowed and made an honest mistake. It doesn't matter if anyone snitched or not it wouldn't have taken long before they were closed anyway.

If pubs are busy then they should be sticking to the time limit but when its quieter or not at capacity, you can understand pubs not moving people on. Its the first bit of cash flow they've had since March.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Ah shure look be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭undertaker fan 88

Afterv15 long weeks we reopened yesterday. Had lots of bookings and also a steady flow of walk ins so was fairly hectic at times but with extra staff it all went smoothly. The 1 hour 45 minutes was given slight leeway but wasnt taken the piss out of. Let's hope the rest if the 3 weeks are the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Afterv15 long weeks we reopened yesterday. Had lots of bookings and also a steady flow of walk ins so was fairly hectic at times but with extra staff it all went smoothly. The 1 hour 45 minutes was given slight leeway but wasnt taken the piss out of. Let's hope the rest if the 3 weeks are the same

It's the "slight leeways" that will become the problem over time. Shame it wasn't done properly from day 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

I assume there wasn’t similar ‘leeway’ on the 15 minutes cleaning time between bookings? All subsequent sittings delayed to allow for it?

I’m not having a go at you in particular but allowing things to slip first night isn’t ideal tbh.

Benimar wrote: »
    I assume there wasn’t similar ‘leeway’ on the 15 minutes cleaning time between bookings? All subsequent sittings delayed to allow for it?

I’m not having a go at you in particular but allowing things to slip first night isn’t ideal tbh.

If the table wasn't booked after a customer they aren't going to be kicked out after 105 minutes, that much was always going to happen.

Likewise I know of a good few people who were out last night for 3 hours or so, tables weren't booked after them so the publicans had no issue letting them stay, but they were told if the table was required they would be asked to leave as they were over the time. All other guidelines in play, table service , no moving around the pub, closed when kitchen closed etc so its still managed quite well

I'd rather someone stay in one place for 3 hours for example than move onto somewhere else after 1hr 45mins, surely thats worse with increased contacts then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Benimar wrote: »

We were there for just over 2 hours (pub) could have stayed longer if we wanted to but it wasn't packed. Place didn't look any different really apart from a few less tables and no seats at the bar. Usual menu but definitely no 15 minute clean. Tables and chairs and the menus were sprayed and wiped down - took all of 2 minutes I would say.

Now himself got a text from his mate who went down to his local, walked in and walked back out. Said it was jammed, no sign of any food and people going in and out to the bookies next door

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Took a cycle through town yesterday evening, of the pubs that were open, the smokeing sections looked packed/there crowding outside some entrances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

If the table wasn't booked after a customer they aren't going to be kicked out after 105 minutes, that much was always going to happen.

Likewise I know of a good few people who were out last night for 3 hours or so, tables weren't booked after them so the publicans had no issue letting them stay, but they were told if the table was required they would be asked to leave as they were over the time. All other guidelines in play, table service , no moving around the pub, closed when kitchen closed etc so its still managed quite well

I'd rather someone stay in one place for 3 hours for example than move onto somewhere else after 1hr 45mins, surely thats worse with increased contacts then

The issue is that if, say, Table A and Table B are allowed remain beyond two hours. In that instance, if someone at Table A tests positive, those at Table B are deemed to be close contacts (see HSPC website) and would have to self isolate.

If the 105 minutes is adhered to, then only those at Table A are deemed to be close contacts.

Contrary to popular belief around here, the 105 minutes wasn’t pulled out of thin air.