Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XIV - 8,089 in ROI (288 deaths) 1,589 in NI (92 deaths) (10/04) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭ihdxwz4a3pem9j

Apparently, Leo is back on the IMC register. Fair play!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/coronavirus-varadkar-returns-to-practising-medicine-to-help-during-crisis-1.4221463

it makes me sort of proud, that our leader can actually stand among the frontline-workers, and contribute. It is a stark contrast to other worldwide leaders

• Registered Users Posts: 17,484 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

He definitely has.

Here is one article out of 20 that shows up when you type in crohn's Simon harris

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/health/crohns-sufferer-simon-harris-hails-camera-that-can-be-swallowed-35063049.html

Whoosh

• Registered Users Posts: 11,369 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

walshb wrote: »
    Not hindsight nonsense at all..

You blaming him for not shutting down our airports?

You can bet had he, there would be a group on slating him and others for this

Cannot won with people...

Btw, governments act on expert advice...no matter who is in power, they act on advice...

Except trump of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

walshb wrote: »
    Not hindsight nonsense at all..

You blaming him for not shutting down our airports?

You can bet had he, there would be a group on slating him and others for this

Cannot won with people...

Btw, governments act on expert advice...no matter who is in power, they act on advice...
    Good leaders take advice from varied sources, weight it, and act decisively.

Irish governments over recent decades have been slaves to Departmental 'advice' usually based on a 'no one has ever been fired for buying IBM' type of source, and then act indecisively when sufficient pressure is felt.

The current caretaker government is no exception, whether any other would/could act differently is open to question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Apparently, Leo is back on the IMC register. Fair play!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/coronavirus-varadkar-returns-to-practising-medicine-to-help-during-crisis-1.4221463

it makes me sort of proud, that our leader can actually stand among the frontline-workers, and contribute. It is a stark contrast to other worldwide leaders

Photo opportunity coming up.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Have RTE ditched the new Kathryn Thomas programme Operaton Covid Nation?

I hope so, the last thing you'd want is reports from around the country with 'Shouting' Thomas.

This was a disgusting notion - I hope "Operation Covid Nation" (shudder) is well and truly buried

Everyone who was involved with the thinking up of it should be ashamed of their opportunism at a time like this

• Registered Users Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Yes there are. Look at the blame game on this thread.

Who decides what inhumane practices are versus a country's culture, you?

Look at the west. Most purport to love dogs. Why do people keep them restricted all day and only take them for a walk when it pleases the owner? Is that not abuse. Shouldn't a dog be free to run around in a larger area? It's the culture of the West to restrict a dog's freedom for our ends.

No & 99% of professional opinion would disagree. Plus we have laws & penalties that govern animal care. We don't throw them into boiling water alive, skin them alive etc.

This matter needs International Treaties backed up by a Court - like the Hague.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

bekker wrote: »
    Good leaders take advice from varied sources, weight it, and act decisively.

Irish governments over recent decades have been slaves to Departmental 'advice' usually based on a 'no one has ever been fired for buying IBM' type of source, and then act indecisively when sufficient pressure is felt.

The current caretaker government is no exception, whether any other would/could act differently is open to question.

Sure as we were told when people were crying out for planes to be stopped, “how would we feel if Italy stopped all Irish flights?”. Our govt put Italian feelings ahead of citizens lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Photo opportunity coming up.

And fair play to him. All hands on deck needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Strong leaders don't really tend to care if they get slated, as long as they're making the right decisions.

Weak leaders tend to either avoid making hard decisions, dither/tiptoe around them... or just hide behind token words like "expert advice".

You know, the sort of "expert advice" that our CMO was giving around nursing homes and whether or not to cancel Paddy's day etc.

Who was giving the expert advice, when they completely shat the bed around the Cheltenham debacle?

Yes, expert advice indeed... :rolleyes:

Our "leaders" have to consult also with their "European partners" (about things like letting in countless flights from Milan all through Feb and Mar).

Its remarkable how "common sense" would have led to better decisions at every juncture of this catastrophe.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    And fair play to him. All hands on deck needed.

Perhaps he's expecting not to be Taoiseach next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

polesheep wrote: »
    The frontline workers won't be jumping up and down. He was one of the laziest doctors in the country.

Source?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,369 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The frontline workers won't be jumping up and down. He was one of the laziest doctors in the country.

And you know this how?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

The UK lockdown/social distancing directives seem to be getting a bit ropey. The government is practically pleading with people to adhere with an understatement of please don't make us go full authoritarian on you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭Be right back

How do you know that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭kyote00

his hole...
    Source?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Would you honestly describe his tenure as MFH a success?

Probably more close to success than others come or could come.

He is playing a blinder now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No refund for the unsuitable goods bought from China it seems.

It actually takes effort to come up with this level of absolute nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭ihdxwz4a3pem9j

While I didn't personally work with him, I know some of his colleagues that worked in a Dublin Hospital. They said he was a typical intern and SHO. They didn't mention that he was particularly lazy. A few stories can get conflated into a general perception. And I say this as an actual frontline worker in the hospital. The gesture itself means a lot. It feels like solidarity towards his fellow medical professionals.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭solidasarock

Good for Leo to do something.

While SF's only recent activity is taking cheap swipes in the press and other TD's try and use the virus to get out of Dail meetings its nice to see some major politicians not dicking around.

The whole thing is very bad altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

There is currently around 280 people in ICU in Ireland. 142 with Covid19

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Have ye all the tricolour flying??

Ask again later

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

To be fair...the man is putting his money where his mouth is.He is no more a saint that any of the rest of us, but actions speak louder than words.

Good for Leo to do something.

While SF's only recent activity is taking cheap swipes in the press and other TD's try and use the virus to get out of Dail meetings its nice to see some major politicians not dicking around.

I'm a member of SF.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

keynes wrote: »
    Our "leaders" have to consult also with their "European partners" (about things like letting in countless flights from Milan all through Feb and Mar).

Its remarkable how "common sense" would have led to better decisions at every juncture of this catastrophe.
    No they didn't, health and security are national competencies, they chose to subordinate.

Common sense and political expediency rarely coincide.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

The UK lockdown/social distancing directives seem to be getting a bit ropey. The government is practically pleading with people to adhere with an understatement of please don't make us go full authoritarian on you.

So much for the herd immunity approach.