Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XIV - 8,089 in ROI (288 deaths) 1,589 in NI (92 deaths) (10/04) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 5 April 2020 @ 8:00 hrs.

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-2020-04-05.png?itok=7ZXBanOD

Disappointing increase in daily cases in Europe today. Large increase in German figures, maybe from 2 days ago when none were reported.

555,809 total cases with 44,955 deaths so far in Europe and around 35,000 daily cases being recorded at present.

Larger clickable version here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

• Registered Users Posts: 7,366 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

polesheep wrote: »
    We may well need each and every one of them, that doesn't mean that one cannot speculate that we might not. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we didn't?

Better to be looking at it than for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,360 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

At the beginning I thought Fine Gael were doing a decent job even if their testing numbers were a bit of nonsense considering the capacity and lag.

Now I think they are spinning too much and trying to milk it for votes. It's not honourable.

Leo should not double job at this critical time.

What are you speaking of specifically? Which instances serve as evidence that this is being milked for votes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

bekker wrote: »
    Or sees another election looming.

He can use it to bash the FFers into compromise. FF will fear another election, they would get destroyed with a big photo of Leo in his scrubs fighting the virus on every poster, with Micky sitting at home wondering how not to be the firsts FF leader not be Tshock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

In terms of the hard numbers/stats, the U.S are currently doing better than Ireland...

Wait a week, 10 days max

America is going to be one of the worst affected First World countries out of all of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

lolokeogh wrote: »
    Leo will not be trying on any of the new gear from china,hes is on phone dutys "The report says Mr. Varadkar will work within the Health Service Executive (HSE), providing essential over-the-phone assessments to anyone who thinks they may have been exposed to COVID-19.

Where is he getting the free time to do this?

And who will be, you know, running the country while he answers phone calls?

Call me a cynic if you wish, but it seems like PR nonsense!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Yeah sure you did.

You spend all day long on the FG thread whinging crying moaning about them.

You offer nothing during this crisis only negativity and moaning.

Excuse me?

I haven't criticised Fine Gael since the election until today. Find proof prior to today since February the 8th. I dare you.

And I created the positivity thread.

You Sir are a scoundrel and I demand an apology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Better to be looking at it than for it.

Agreed.

Yeah no ones running the country.

What will we do???

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

One shift a week is what they were saying.

Yeah no ones running the country.

What will we do???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Strikes me as more PR bullsh!t from our esteemed leader! Unless someone can enlighten me as to some other sensible reason why this would be necessary?

I suppose it might be used to encourage others with similar qualifications to do the same. I'm clutching at straws here admittedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭branie2

is_that_so wrote: »
    There will be a statement at some point this evening.

Thank you

lawred2 wrote: »
    What are you speaking of specifically? Which instances serve as evidence that this is being milked for votes?

Worst example was the PPE delivery from China. Red carpet rolled out. Huge number of Gardai escorting the dodgy equipment in army trucks. The whole hero thing was a waste of resources and money.

Excuse me?

I haven't criticised Fine Gael since the election until today. Find proof prior to today since February the 8th. I dare you.

And I created the positivity thread.

You Sir are a scoundrel and I demand an apology.

Haha you demand an apology:)

Awh man you peoole crack me up!!

easypazz wrote: »
    How do you make that out?

Adjusted for population difference, the U.S has less deaths per million than Ireland. So they are technically doing better than us. (so far)

Bigger country, more deaths obviously... but proportionally they are not doing as badly as some people on here seem to be suggesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Jesus I can’t believe people are criticising him for going into actually. Nothing but armchair warriors

Haha you demand an apology:)

Awh man you peoole crack me up!!

You Sir are a scoundrel and a liar.

Admit you are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭solidasarock

If Leo is using his past medical experience to help......

Maybe Mehall Martin can use his experience as a teacher and make some educational youtube videos to keep the kids busy.

And Mary Leo can get the lads to help grave diggers bury bodies up in the hills if gave sites are overwhelmed.

#EveryLittleHelps

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭blackcard

At the beginning I thought Fine Gael were doing a decent job even if their testing numbers were a bit of nonsense considering the capacity and lag.

Now I think they are spinning too much and trying to milk it for votes. It's not honourable.

Leo should not double job at this critical time.

The China delivery drama blew up in their faces, now this charade....all for optics of course.

Tbh, Leo helping out is only going to make a minuscule difference. But if you get some people thinking that they could make a difference too, it will be worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Admit you are wrong.

Less of it. There's not going to be an apology.

Move on swiftly.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Drumpot wrote: »
    If he helps in the area of healthcare, why does it matter if it’s spin? If he’s actually taking a physical risk with his own health (increased chances of getting it in a hospital environment) surely that’s a real leader getting their hands dirty and getting into the trenches with the soldiers?

I can think of a lot worse spin tactics used by parties, particularly spin that doesn’t put a politicians health at risk.

The Taoiseach is not running the country on his own, if he’s really helping out then it’s great. If all it does is increases the spirits of a lot of healthcare workers (the ones not completely cynical) then it’s a good thing.
    As a TD with training and with time on his hands it would be a good move, and to be honest if he hadn't offered there would have been an opposite corus about shirking.

However he is Taoiseach, is being paid as such, and he has exactly the same responsibilities as he had previously.

If he wishes to be relieved of those responsibilities then he course is clear, he resigns, and the Tanaiste fulfills his function.

Unfortunately for Leo Varadkar he is mainly defined by his previous PR endeavours, whatever his current motivation.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,569 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

What would be the actual point of Leo suiting up and going into battle in some random hospital...??

Serious question?

It would be a bit like the general of an army, jumping into the trenches with his soldiers and risking getting killed for the sake of currying favour with the men he's supposed to be leading... in other words, it would be very foolish and dumb!

Strikes me as more PR bullsh!t from our esteemed leader! Unless someone can enlighten me as to some other sensible reason why this would be necessary?

When Leo is focusing on politics
    Poster A: F you Leo, you were sh*t as a Dr and couldn't wait to leave it.

When Leo is going back to spend time working as a Dr
    Poster A: This is nothing but PR bullsh*t

You know what, it probably is PR. Asking the whole country to consider if they can contribute to helping the expected demand on the healthcare system, and doing so yourself and deciding you know, what you can set a positive example while actually helping out is an excellent example and should be communicated widely.

Contrast that with the clown in the white house actually prescribing medication when he can hardly pronounce their names and only an idiot would try to have a dig at Leo over this.

Admit you are wrong.

Just had a quick check of your posts and only 3 days ago you were ranting about FG wasting money on the Seanad reform.

Give over you're always at it.

Go out and get some air.

is_that_so wrote: »
    One shift a week is what they were saying.

Right, so PR for the cameras basically...

He should concentrate on leading the country. He can potentially do a lot more good for our healthcare workers and everyone else, if he focused on doing his actual dayjob to the best of his abilities!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Worst example was the PPE delivery from China. Red carpet rolled out. Huge number of Gardai escorting the dodgy equipment in army trucks. The who hero thing was a waste of resources and money.

How should they have transferred the goods?

Pay contractor hauliers to do it?

It was urgent, the army had the wherewithal and the garda escort got them through traffic lights and junctions faster.

And it wasn't dodgy. A lot of it is now in use.

Some people only want to see the worst in everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Adjusted for population difference, the U.S has less deaths per million than Ireland. So they are technically doing better than us. (so far)

Bigger country, more deaths obviously... but proportionally they are not doing as badly as some people on here seem to be suggesting.

Has anyone done any comparisons with countries that are similarly sized to us?

This is far more relevant as US is a federal state with a diversity of people's and cultures.

Ireland is completely different, with a centralised government and a largely homogenous culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

As of yesterday, they have the same deaths per million as us. Unfortunately for them, I see their ratio far outstripping ours in weeks to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,132 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

We have a well paid civil service you know ...... too well paid maybe.
    It reminds me of soccer..... it doesn't matter how s...e or lazy the team is, the manager gets blamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

We're also on a par with Netherlands and Italy (adjusting for time & population) and only behind Spain and Belgium (and the microstates).