Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XIV - 8,089 in ROI (288 deaths) 1,589 in NI (92 deaths) (10/04) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Less of the quotes Leo it's cringe. What will my garden be like in 3 weeks !

• Registered Users Posts: 28,483 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

obi604 wrote: »
    Why didn’t he just say this and go

Because he's Taoiseach and they don't do that.

Introduction, summary of achievement, main message and close.

It's normal stuff.

He was quiet brief.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

walshb wrote: »
    These statements are just OTT. Just spit it out, and ease up on all the cliched sugary theatrics..

Ah get over it. You don’t have to listen. If you were in the states you’d have a speech every feckin night

• Registered Users Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Three fcuking weeks

Not a lot if it gets us all past this virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Gael23 wrote: »
    Thats too much. People wont take it lying down

Call the thoughtpolice, I found one. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,205 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    In reality there is only one photo with a good few vehicles in it and most of the reg numbers can't be seen.

You think this is the same car as the Audi?

Ferry-Passengers-Ireland-Lockdown-2.jpgstanding y raise

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

What are you talking about?

• Extra 3 weeks is useless if it's not enforced by the cops

Simple as

What are you talking about. This lockdown is to save lives!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Feel sorry for school-leavers tbh with the disruption

• Registered Users Posts: 56,014 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ah get over it. You don’t have to listen. If you were in the states you’d have a speech every feckin night

You get over it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

This update is good. There's no other way we'll get the transmission rate down to around 0 without an extension of the restrictions. We will simply exist for the next few weeks or months so more of us can live in the future. If you are feeling terribly bored - I know I am - just remember all those who are currently out of their minds with worry after being tested, in ICUs or have lost loved ones or died themselves. We are doing this so that the minimum amount of people have to experience such nightmarish situations. I've been so impressed by the majority of this country over the last few weeks, I believe we can pull this off and it will be a testament to our nation's character and resolve against the forces of adversity.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,745 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Missed a trick there should have extended for a fortnight and then extended it by a week in a fortnights time

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Then they should suffer financially if they don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭The Buster

I live alone and thought the last fortnight would be torture. But it hasn’t been. It wasn’t too bad at all. Took up a few hobbies I haven’t done in years

Three more weeks gets us to the start of summer. It will pass. Let’s make it work and hopefully things improve and we get to enjoy summer

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

People getting worked up and whinging over the most trivial of stuff here. Take a deep breath all of you

• Registered Users Posts: 17,960 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Extra 3 weeks is useless if it's not enforced by the cops

Simple as

But it is being enforced by the guards. They have the powers to so now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Stay strong, stay safe and stay home unless you have a roof box and came via a ferry.

FFS. why do they need 2 sign language signers?

Can they not give RTE a transcript of the speeches in advance and put them up as subtitles?

:D:D have you nothing else to complain about?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Feel sorry for school-leavers tbh with the disruption

I know right, imagine being off work and on full pay for the forseable future

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Well, sit up then ...

• Registered Users Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

You get over it!!

Epic comeback

Bridge93 wrote: »
    People getting worked up and whinging over the most trivial of stuff here. Take a deep breath all of you

It’s hilarious:D

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Lolle06

Well, viral latency, where a virus enters a kind of dormancy but can be reactivated, is a recognised phenomenon in certain viruses. Herpes viruses being one of the best known who do this - coldsores keep recurring for example. HIV does something similar but in a different way. Respiratory Syncitial Virus and Cytomegaloviris can do it too. I've never heard of it in relation to a coronavirus but I suppose it's possible.

I have read an article a few weeks ago about one of the Diamond Princess passengers. He tested Covid-19 positive, recovered and on March 2nd tested not positive anymore. On March 12th he relapsed and tested positive again. First the scientists thought is was a reinfection, but then they said the virus could also lie dormant in the body - at least for a while? An error in testing is also a possibility.

These statements are just OTT. Just spit it out, and ease up on all the cliched sugary theatrics..

Ah stop.

Have you heard Trump spouting narcissitic sh1te for 2 hours every night.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭DaveCliftonAP

Can they not give RTE a transcript of the speeches in advance and put them up as subtitles?

You have little to worry about!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Mr.S wrote: »
    Well they have to, there’s no other option.

Hopefully it’s actively enforced and people are fined for breaking the rules.

Absolutely. It's the only way out of this.
    I'm amazed at how childish people are about this.

Because this is all happening very quickly.

What's the problem with signers?

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

They better or they will be lying down the cunce.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,771 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

In reality I can't see any end until August weekend plus.