Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XIV - 8,089 in ROI (288 deaths) 1,589 in NI (92 deaths) (10/04) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Allinall wrote: »
    Your tv is too small.

My tv is grand. He’s lucky if he’s sitting 1m away from her.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So a PR puff piece.
    If that's what you see, fair enough. There's quite a torrent of information coming out at this, pretty useful stuff too IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Tom1991

Allinall wrote: »
    Your tv is too small.
    These cows are small but those cows are far away springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

road_high wrote: »
    Where you prefer it came from? An ICU ward?

A press briefing room.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Why not have it in the same place they always have it? It’s a PR move. You’ll also notice that there’s no work going on while the press conference is going on.
    Reid isn’t 2 metres from the signer. Excellent example to people.
    So a PR puff piece.
    Lundstram wrote: »
    Had to switch off. Could barely hear him and the accent would give a Panadol a headache.
    Why is the presser in a warehouse? More spin and bluster. “Look at all the supplies we have”. Ffs.
    Azatadine wrote: »
    Be that as it may, he should be better able to communicate his message to the public.
    Terrible speaker for someone in such a high position.

Jeez lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,948 ✭✭✭893bet

Mr.S wrote: »
    Covid-19: Dept of Health reports 17 more deaths and 331 new cases confirmed.

Thanks for the update. You clearly have an inside line on the data.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Read that as "singer" and had to scroll back to find the video to see what the hell I'd missed...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Appears the same for the evening Government briefings, however as they seem to be fairly on the ball with placement of journalists/cameras/speakers etc when you see the various Tweets from journalists it's possible the camera may not give an accurate indication of the distance. Remember 2 metres is only 6ft 6in and they place down markers on that.

142 in ICU for Covd-19

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

With the travel restrictions, pub and restaurant closures and a general fear of hospitals among the populace the ED's still have people on trolleys.

Hopefully these people in charge will learn something during this crisis about their general mismanagement in the past.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Why not have it in the same place they always have it? It’s a PR move. You’ll also notice that there’s no work going on while the press conference is going on.

You know that for a fact do you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Be that as it may, he should be better able to communicate his message to the public.

I think he has a business masters from Trinity college. Link doesn't work for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭voluntary

Chinese partially restore lockdowns due to virus remission.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

RTE as usual making a bollix of it, large display screen which is never in sharp focus, focusing in on people reading scripts instead.

Not alone in in that of course, BBC, Euronews etc. do the same graphs, illustrations being referred to never shown.

All set up as though presser, but no journalists present, lower screen would allow signer in shot, with script reading voicing over.

Whole point of exercise is communication with public, not just journalists.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

is_that_so wrote: »
    142 in ICU for Covd-19

281 including people that need icu and don't have covid

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Impressive scale up of icu capacity available.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭Allinall

bekker wrote: »
    RTE as usual making a bollix of it, large display screen which is never in sharp focus, focusing in on people reading scripts instead.

Not alone in in that of course, BBC, Euronews etc. do the same graphs, illustrations being referred to never shown.

All set up as though presser, but no journalists present, lower screen would allow signer in shot, with script reading voicing over.

God speed on your journey out to Greenogue to sort it out.

As a member of the public I'm listening to the speakers and getting plenty out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,259 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Now that theres a broad shot after being shown you might want to rethink that comment.

TV angles make it look different

281 including people that need icu and don't have covid
    Yeah, but she did split them.

A demo!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

A press briefing room.

And what difference would that make to the content and delivery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

You see a better set up at the local GAA AGM. Awful stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Hancock is so poor. Unable to say anything other than his 4 line mantra.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,824 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

was this industrial use gear not hospital gear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Impressive scale up of icu capacity available.

What's the latest capacity please?

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭DaveCliftonAP

Lundstram wrote: »
    You see a better set up at the local GAA AGM. Awful stuff.

Thought you turned off because you couldn't handle a Dublin accent?

was this industrial use gear not hospital gear
    Hospital use. We apparently prefer gowns, some systems use those suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Haven't heard such stuttering since the leader of the Wo Wo Wo Workers Party was around.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228