Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American response

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Cuomo: CHINA!!!!!! He's on CNN now. Blaming the Federal government

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭NSAman

The MAGA goons at it again, hopefully a few of them will die screaming as God judges their stupidity.

The Religious leftist snowflake/woke generation at it again, hopefully a few of them will live unhappily in their judgemental state.

See what I did there?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,615 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Lol, random internet person thinks they have an in depth understanding of the American people based on what they read on the internet and TV shows. Meanwhile those of us who actually live here say differently but hey, what do we know about the place we have lived for years. If it was any other country, sweeping generalizations about "them" would generally be frowned upon.

Random person who lives in one tiny part of the states think they know everything about the place just because. I didn't say only internet and tv, although I did leave them in as I knew people like you would jump in and use that to try to rubbish it.

They form part of the whole. Newspapers, books documentaries, history, politics, polls. You don't take anyone on its own, they form a strand of one's understanding.

That is why there are vast differences between different states, and within states. Unless you split your time across even section do you really think you know either!

There are plenty of people that live in places that have no more understanding of that place than the man on the moon. How the state works (or doesn't!), where their taxes go, how companies are treated, who paid for their teams stadium.

The polls consistently showed HC was ahead, up until the FBI reopened the investigation. That was the turning point. There is no doubt that Trump was doing better than many were giving him credit for, but he had little real change (according to the polls, which are way more telling that what you friends were telling you no matter how real that is).

What part do you disagree with? Is US becoming more outwardly looking? You don't think fear is one of the main factors driving the US - fear of the black man, the mexican rapist, the muslim,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    haha there's no way Trump won't stand for re election. Some people will never vote any other way then republican, no matter who the candidate is. They won't turn against the party. That's part of the problem.

I think there is a reasonable chance that he doesn't stand for reelection, but only if he finds a way to can dl said electuons altogether. The day he leaves office and loses the protection from the Senate is the day he begins a quick March towards prison (or pulling a Yanukovych and exiling to somewhere like Russia), and in sure he is more than aware of that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 cilantro54

Stateofyou wrote: »
    It just annoys me to see an entire country labeled one way especially when a never before seen at this level corrupt government is the one calling the shots.

Great people. The warmest and best.

Mindless binary politics.

Are you political? Your post leads me to think you're a Dem?

No offense intended but I often consult the gallup page on party affiliation to remind myself that one of the best things about the American public is that more often than not, the majority identify neither as Republican nor Democrat, but independents.

I can't post links, but google 'gallup Party Affiliation' and it will pop up. At the latest count it's Dems 30%, Repubs 30% and 36% independent.

It's easy to forget that vast swathes of the U.S. public are of sound mind, when tribal half wits on either side dominate the discourse so much.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    The polls consistently showed HC was ahead, up until the FBI reopened the investigation. That was the turning point. There is no doubt that Trump was doing better than many were giving him credit for, but he had little real change (according to the polls, which are way more telling that what you friends were telling you no matter how real that is).

See this is my opinion and where many people go wrong.

Polls, media, TV, ALL have their own slants. People here were talking about this openly and most were saying that HC was not the person they wanted and that they would vote for Trump.

CNN were blinkered completely. HC was shocked. People on the ground knew this was happening.

Before you say it, I am not a Trump fan, neither was I a HC fan.

We can all read things from multiple sources, being actually in situ, makes a difference to know what is happening.

NSAman wrote: »
    CNN were blinkered completely. HC was shocked. People on the ground knew this was happening.

Just moved back to Ireland after 25+ years in the reddest part of TX. You are spot on there.

And of course living there and knowing the US makes a difference. The most notable thing is that not all Americans are obsessed with politics...

cilantro54 wrote: »
    Just moved back to Ireland after 25+ years in the reddest part of TX. You are spot on there.

And of course living there and knowing the US makes a difference. The most notable thing is that not all Americans are obsessed with politics...

ABSOLUTELY!!!!!

Most Americans are too busy living and working to live to care.

I cannot for the life of me understand how families can be divided over bloody politics. One of the many things in this country that I will never understand.

ABSOLUTELY!!!!!

Most Americans are too busy living and working to live to care.

Definitely. Irish people don't see that when they look at the U.S. from afar.
    I cannot for the life of me understand how families can be divided over bloody politics. One of the many things in this country that I will never understand.

Me neither. Another mystery: So much decency and intelligence and talent in the US and the politics gets diluted down to tribal BS. And the public is presented with the same political families. It's mind boggling.

Mark Twain saw all this years ago.. but apparently no one listened.

Donald Trump is now calling for an armed uprising.

https://mobile.twitter.com/benshapiro/status/1251178503183032325

Definitely. Irish people don't see that when they look at the U.S. from afar.

Me neither. Another mystery: So much decency and intelligence and talent in the US and the politics gets diluted down to tribal BS. And the public is presented with the same political families. It's mind boggling.

Mark Twain saw all this years ago.. but apparently no one listened.

What most people in Ireland do NOT understand is the level of poverty amongst working Americans. This has been the biggest shock to me and something that I still cannot get my head around.

This crisis has literally shown how poor may Americans actually are, despite living in the supposedly “richest country in the world”.

We used to include (against my advice) State and local politicians in what we do, no more. Anything involving Government in the States is a minefield of BS. Since we stopped this, things have become SOOO much easier and less stressful.

it is my opinion, that for the States to ever become “great” again (I hate that phrase) a new party will have to be created. Both sides of the DEM/GOP are completely tainted with sons/daughters of....... it will never change unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

By these peoples logic an unborn baby has a right to life yet an old person doesn't?

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭greenfield21

I think alot of people on here are disappointed their doomsday models never came to fruition for the US. Still along way to go with the virus and economic recovery.

it is my opinion, that for the States to ever become “great” again (I hate that phrase) a new party will have to be created. Both sides of the DEM/GOP are completely tainted with sons/daughters of....... it will never change unfortunately.

Well, if those Trump tweets are legit (and I'm reeling after seeing them) some morons may well take them as a sign to ignite conflict in the U.S.

Looking at it coldly (and it would have to be coldly because I'd have people I love and care about on both 'sides') a civil war would change things and may even be necessary for the US to move forward to a better place. Trump is a f*cker for exploiting existing tensions... brings out the worst in everyone, including himself.

Well, if those Trump tweets are legit (and I'm reeling after seeing them) some morons may well take them as a sign to ignite conflict in the U.S.

Looking at it coldly (and it would have to be coldly because I'd have people I love and care about on both 'sides') a civil war would change things and may even be necessary for the US to move forward to a better place. Trump is a f*cker for exploiting existing tensions... brings out the worst in everyone, including himself.

in all honesty, myself and my colleagues were talking about this before the “stay at home” orders. We came to the conclusion that a civil war is quite possibly on the cards.

There is so much animosity on both sides, so much bad blood and so many bloody guns here, it’s frightening.

Trump is becoming totally unhinged. The real loosers as usual are the American public. No one is giving a **** about them.

To be honest though, about 25% of the American public are the problem, and another 50% who chose not to vote when what we are seeing from Trump right now was always on the cards, are not much better. I guarantee he loses next to no support over this, even if he escalates civil war to fruition.

The remaining 25%, the intelligible to vote, and those that were disenfranchised I do very much feel sorry for though.

in all honesty, myself and my colleagues were talking about this before the “stay at home” orders. We came to the conclusion that a civil war is quite possibly on the cards.

There is so much animosity on both sides, so much bad blood and so many bloody guns here, it’s frightening.

Funny. going back to original thing about most decent Americans just getting on with their lives oblivious to the binary vortex.. I messaged a friend online about his tweets and to tell her to get down to Mexico (family farm) or to get ready to come over here if the SHTF..

she had no clue.. I had to send her a link. :D

But yeah, neither party (and for all the deep divisions, at the very top it amounts to a pro-MIC Uniparty, that's how nuts it is) gives a flying feck about ordinary people.

To love America is to despair of it.

To be honest though, about 25% of the American public are the problem, and another 50% who chose not to vote when what we are seeing from Trump right now was always on the cards, are not much better. I guarantee he loses next to no support over this, even if he escalates civil war to fruition.

The remaining 25%, the intelligible to vote, and those that were disenfranchised I do very much feel sorry for though.
    Agree wholeheartedly. the one caveat is that people here are working to live and do not have time for politics as said earlier. It is often said that many families here are one Paycheck away from homelessness. They don’t see any change no matter who is in the WH.

just ask yourself, in all of Trumps presidency what has been going on? IMHO Nothing! Apart from party political ****e!!!
    Funny. going back to original thing about most decent Americans just getting on with their lives oblivious to the binary vortex.. I messaged a friend online about his tweets and to tell her to get down to Mexico (family farm) or to get ready to come over here if the SHTF..

she had no clue.. I had to send her a link. :D

But yeah, neither party (and for all the deep divisions, at the very top it amounts to a pro-MIC Uniparty, that's how nuts it is) gives a flying feck about ordinary people.

To love America is to despair of it.

LOL... i know how you feel. While I live here, the sense of frustration I feel about this country drives me crazy! It has some fantastic attributes, namely people are warm and friendly and caring, but JESUS some days I just want to shake them and tell them it doesn’t have to be like this......Workers have NO rights. They just accept everything.

I remember being in the Immigration Queue with my first VISA coming here to live and the agent said something that always stuck with me... that was..

“you are entering the United States of America with the understanding that you accept all labour laws”.... I thought it was strange at the time, later I understood why.. it is to give you no power.

I didn't mean your fear of civil war is funny, BTW. I had those same feelings too.

My last fourth of july was the first time in my local dive bar that politics was spoken about.. the divides coming to the surface.. politics had always been banned out of basic decency and desire to have the craic.

Let's hope calm heads prevail. But you know, just in case, make sure you have a get out plan!

Yep. No decent labour movement. Blind obedience to the MIC. Sanders of course shafted again by the Dems.. the Dems, the "left".. settling for Biden another MIC puppet and by no means fully behind healthcare for all.. and festering behind it all the legacy of slavery and the civil rights movement..

And there I was a few hours ago pining for TX and a Tecate! Feck sake, a cup of tea and a boring evening in Dublin 15 will do me at the minute.. :D

I didn't mean your fear of civil war is funny, BTW. I had those same feelings too.

My last fourth of july was the first time in my local dive bar that politics was spoken about.. the divides coming to the surface.. politics had always been banned out of basic decency and desire to have the craic.

Let's hope calm heads prevail. But you know, just in case, make sure you have a get out plan!

Already in place. For me, it IS a real threat. I know most people will think I am nuts but for me it is real. Already have home in Ireland and kids/parter have passports and VISA’s organised.

Staff have European travel for all organised and we have offices/housing in Europe should the unthinkable happen.

Many on these boards may think this is over reacting, personally I make sure that all belonging to me will have options just in case.

There is SO much to love about this country, but my god there is a huge amount to dislike. I have many great friends here, of all spectrums of society. Those that have means already have escape houses internationally. Those without means possess arms. I think that willingness to use arms in a crisis is the most worrying part for me.

Already in place. For me, it IS a real threat.

Many on these boards may think this is over reacting, personally I make sure that all belonging to me will have options just in case.

Nope. I get it. You are absolutely right to have plans in place just in case.

Civil war might be a stretch but civil unrest is very much on the cards, protests, riots, some which may turn violent. In many ways there has been civil unrest in the US for quite some time. The two sides can barely agree on anything and hate each other's guts. I can see the country in the coming years splitting into 2 or more parts or some states declaring independence from the union.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Hundreds of protesters have gathered outside the Minnesota governors’ mansion to protest the statewide stay-at-home order.

Footage of the protest showed demonstrators standing closely together and not wearing masks, potentially risking spread of coronavirus at the event.

It begins. What a f******g idiot(s) and hashtag fake crisis. They're doomed

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1251168994066944003?s=20

https://twitter.com/efrostee/status/1251197546904670208?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 8,145 ✭✭✭threeball

You make it sound like the Americans have no choice. They were given a bloody good option in Sanders twice and all they could manage was to call him a commie. Fcuking idiots working pay check to pay check, paying for ****ty health insurance but all they can do is roar and shout about infringing their rights, paying tax and call a middle of the road socialist a commie. We should send over Jeremy Corbyn and a few of our PBP people and see what they make of them.

I have zero sympathy for anyone who can't be bothered to help themselves. All it takes is a small bit of interest to get your head around something but they live off soundbites and headlines.

threeball wrote: »
    You make it sound like the Americans have no choice. They were given a bloody good option in Sanders twice and all they could manage was to call him a commie. Fcuking idiots working pay check to pay check, paying for ****ty health insurance but all they can do is roar and shout about infringing their rights, paying tax and call a middle of the road socialist a commie. We should send over Jeremy Corbyn and a few of our PBP people and see what they make of them.

I have zero sympathy for anyone who can't be bothered to help themselves. All it takes is a small bit of interest to get your head around something but they live off soundbites and headlines.

Its a result of years of brainwashing from a profit driven sensationalist media with little regard for the truth. This applies to both sides of the coin. In many ways the democrats are as much to blame because they've allow things to get this much out of control under their watch. Instead of standing up to republicans they have appeased them for peace's sake and now we have a monster that's gotten too big. They were offered Bernie Sanders but rejected him so they can maintain their cozy corporate cartels.

threeball wrote: »
    Fcuking idiots
    I have zero sympathy

It doesn't sound like you have the interests of ordinary Americans at heart, tbh. Will the beatings continue until morale improves?

The Dem establishment shafted Bernie TWICE before the American electorate even had a chance to vote for him POTUS. We will never know, but I'm not alone in thinking that he would have fared better against Trump than Clinton.

It doesn't sound like you have the interests of ordinary Americans at heart, tbh. Will the beatings continue until morale improves?

The Dem establishment shafted Bernie TWICE before the American electorate even had a chance to vote for him POTUS. We will never know, but I'm not alone in thinking that he would have fared better against Trump than Clinton.

I don't care whether you're democrat or republican. Two sides of the same coin where all you're voting for is tweedle dee or tweedle dum. The fact is the Americans for once had a really really good option but couldn't even be bothered to find out what he was about or even listen to what he had to say. You get the politicians you deserve, its the same the world over. If Americans are too stupid or lazy to educate themselves, then they don't even care about themselves. Why should anyone else. They no longer have to rely on Fox or CNN for information, they can search online, take other countries press opinions on board maybe to get a outside perspective but that would just be admitting there is a world outside America and its not populated but eccentric buffoons.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Its a result of years of brainwashing from a profit driven sensationalist media with little regard for the truth. This applies to both sides of the coin. In many ways the democrats are as much to blame because they've allow things to get this much out of control under their watch. Instead of standing up to republicans they have appeased them for peace's sake and now we have a monster that's gotten too big. They were offered Bernie Sanders but rejected him so they can maintain their cozy corporate cartels.

I understand that. TV nearly drove me round the twist when I was over there. You would jump from constant terror threats and warnings to a cat stuck up a tree. Not a single piece of information from outside America, sometimes not even outside the state. But that excuse is long gone. People have options and if all these so called "independents" were actually independent and educated themselves they could extract themselves from the mess they are in. But they won't. Arbys have a half price deal thats too good to pass up so we're going there and i'll head back out tomorrow to make sure I can top up the $300 safety net in my bank account.