Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 3 - Read OP before posting - updated 27/12/23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭double jobbing

Haladmirer wrote: »
    Because they are mostly jackeens
    And Dublin would have traditionally had more Brits than rest of the country

Dublin has always been funny with first names and all.

Names like George, Freddie, Albert, Wesley, Derek, Audrey and Miriam would be quite common in Dublin among people of a Catholic background, at least among people born before the 90's.

Down the sticks or up the North if you met anyone of these names you would bet your house they were a Protestant. Then there's names popular down the country that would be all but unheard of among native born Dubs- Malachy, Bronagh, Brid/ Breege (a truly horrible name tbf), names like Cornelius (Con) and Jeremiah (usually cut to Jerry) are very common among older lads in Munster for some reason.

Another strange one is the name Norma is ridiculously popular among women, even young enough ones, in Cork. Horrid planter name that shouldn't be allowed for anybody under the age of 80.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭Ciro Di Marzio

Wow ...quite weekend about the town

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Haladmirer

AmberGold wrote: »
    Having a bit of a poke around Barhain media to see how they’re reacting to the news of DK over there, they’ve one publication Gulf Daily News which lists a number of MTK press release type articles on its site as well as a report of the Regency killing.

http://www.gdnonline.com/Details/823989

http://www.gdnonline.com/Details/822998

http://www.gdnonline.com/Details/64476

You’d think at this point they’d have joined the dots over there especially for a country that carries the death penalty for drugs possession with intent to resell.
    I wonder how free those journalists are to investigate anything

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Deco Barry

I wonder do the lads recreationally use their own gear in these places with no fear of the law, given the mad punishments a Joe Soap would face if caught with same.

David Byrne had canabis and coke in his system at the regency

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

...lovely weather today lads?....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Chris P Bacon

Defo the second one. Pure lunatic. Involved in all sorts of armed robberies back in the day. For such a loose cannon I'm suprised we dont hear much about him

Another arsehole like the rest, banging his head off the wall in Mountjoy and then telling everyone he's a Kinahan.

Why do these hard men have to mention another man's name if he's so hard, hard as a sponge, if they were that hard they wouldn't need to be part of a gang and scream another man's name bunch of clowns and cowards is all they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 judaspig

Defo the second one. Pure lunatic. Involved in all sorts of armed robberies back in the day. For such a loose cannon I'm suprised we dont hear much about him

I asked about mad dog on here a few weeks ago and heard he's still around but pretty quiet. Maybe he learned his lesson regarding bringing too much heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Figel Narage

When's Brian Rattigan getting out does anyone know?

Is he not gonna have the grim reaper hanging over him every day until some of the winning side in the feud finish him off?

I keep hearing how he still has a gang but why would anyone want to associate with him when he has such powerful people who have grudges against him. Unless it's all family/very close friend links like the hutches but if not, why would anyone risk the heat of associating themselves with him?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The working class Irish Protestants (imagine that) who survived two theatres of war who were then shunned by the state on returning home on both occasions , black listed and then unemployed turned to crime to feed their families?

Interesting topic

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭TruthHurts1

When's Brian Rattigan getting out does anyone know?

Is he not gonna have the grim reaper hanging over him every day until some of the winning side in the feud finish him off?

I keep hearing how he still has a gang but why would anyone want to associate with him when he has such powerful people who have grudges against him. Unless it's all family/very close friend links like the hutches but if not, why would anyone risk the heat of associating themselves with him?

Brian Rattigan has no issues with the kinahans and (for now) has buried the hatchet in the crumlin fued. He's getting out to a new life and potentially a new lucrative (same old) career.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Dublin has always been funny with first names and all.

Names like George, Freddie, Albert, Wesley, Derek, Audrey and Miriam would be quite common in Dublin among people of a Catholic background, at least among people born before the 90's.

Down the sticks or up the North if you met anyone of these names you would bet your house they were a Protestant. Then there's names popular down the country that would be all but unheard of among native born Dubs- Malachy, Bronagh, Brid/ Breege (a truly horrible name tbf), names like Cornelius (Con) and Jeremiah (usually cut to Jerry) are very common among older lads in Munster for some reason.

Another strange one is the name Norma is ridiculously popular among women, even young enough ones, in Cork. Horrid planter name that shouldn't be allowed for anybody under the age of 80.

How do you get to 80 with that name? So someone can’t be named Norma till they reach 80? That’s very odd opinion with no real sense :D

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Figel Narage

Brian Rattigan has no issues with the kinahans and (for now) has buried the hatchet in the crumlin fued. He's getting out to a new life and potentially a new lucrative (same old) career.

I see, I imagine it would be hard for him to forget whats happened with his brother being killed and all his friends. Does he get his drugs off the Kinahans I wonder? Could potentially be another person who forgets vengeance for money, although with the rep Freddie Thompson and his crew has and along with the last murder relating to that feud being in 2016, I wouldn't trust them for a second if I was King Rat

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Hatchet20

Big Joe not involved with the 4 man Brazilian squad got in Clara. More “Power” to him

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Notdeco

I know more about encryption and the related technology than you ever will. I also know more about surveillance and counter surveillance than you ever will. However, I am not one to stick around where I'm not wanted. I won't share anything else here in future. Keep believing everyone is a rat.
    You obviously don't understand ythe Underworld, if stopped and questioned and phones taken off them. Said phone and number would be dumped.
    You're a funny guy with your posts.

I like your input, BTW. Don't stop posting, it's good to talk.

I know more about encryption and the related technology than you ever will. I also know more about surveillance and counter surveillance than you ever will. However, I am not one to stick around where I'm not wanted. I won't share anything else here in future. Keep believing everyone is a rat.

Keep posting there’s posters here whose only contribution is to try ruin someone else’s input or chat. Some forget that everyone doesn’t have to live in the areas to part of be interested in the thread. Ignore them they are only online bullies and dream of being a MOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Keep posting there’s posters here whose only contribution is to try ruin someone else’s input or chat. Some forget that everyone doesn’t have to live in the areas to part of be interested in the thread. Ignore them they are only online bullies and dream of being a MOD.

I think most people’s issue with your posts is that you give off the impression of someone in the know when in reality you are just posting your own musings.

You’ve been caught out a few times and had to backtrack.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭Don Logan

Has there ever been any known attempts on Mr Bigs life at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭MelvinWagstaff

NewMan1982 wrote: »
    I think most people’s issue with your posts is that you give off the impression of someone in the know when in reality you are just posting your own musings.

Ding Ding Ding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

Notdeco wrote: »
    You obviously don't understand ythe Underworld, if stopped and questioned and phones taken off them. Said phone and number would be dumped.
    You're a funny guy with your posts.

I like your input, BTW. Don't stop posting, it's good to talk.

Correct, but that doesn't stop information enumeration though on anything that can be freely accessed on the phone, or the phone being stored until cracking techniques catch up.

Yes Apple and Android are getting better in security, but there are a number of technology companies which specialise in hording zero days on those devices and selling software to governement agencies to crack said phones. There are also some "grey" area ways of accessing phones, whether the guards do that or not is a different matter.

Then you have people with sloppy OPSEC where information is obtained by other means to access the phone.

At the end of the day, your phone (Android/Apple) is the key to most of your apps on it, break into that and you have free reign to a lot of things (yes there's 2FA etc... but there are ways around that too)..

Enrcophone has been used a lot by both law abiding users and lets say people who do slightly more nefarious activities in life. But being seen with one of them is like wearing a grey goose jacket in the flats.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭TruthHurts1

I see, I imagine it would be hard for him to forget whats happened with his brother being killed and all his friends. Does he get his drugs off the Kinahans I wonder? Could potentially be another person who forgets vengeance for money, although with the rep Freddie Thompson and his crew has and along with the last murder relating to that feud being in 2016, I wouldn't trust them for a second if I was King Rat

Oh I wouldn't say he's forgotten....hence...(for now)

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Mago MVP

Don Logan wrote: »
    Has there ever been any known attempts on Mr Bigs life at all?

Never heard of one

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭Don Logan

Mago MVP wrote: »
    Never heard of one

He must be a very cautious man or he’s gotten rid of most of enemies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Haladmirer

What's with all the boyos raffling **** on FB?
    Is it as simple as it's stolen gear?
    If so better to just sell it on the QT rather than plastering pics of stolen gear on your page
    Or is it all genuine gear they just make a bit over selling price by having enough tickets to cover it,taking advantage of their long list of FB friends to market it on

• Registered Users Posts: 3 patsy004

I'm not someone in the know either but love following this thread. Watching the arrest of Mad Dog this morning, its seems that all the players, BIG and small in the drugs supply industry live in really basic houses, in really ****ty estates. Why is this, if it is so lucrative? Even the infamous Mr Big can't relax in his bullet proof but basic house? Anyone can live in these estates if they put their name down without having to resort to killing people. CP lives in a caravan in a yard? Like any other traveller. Where are the rewards for the risk to their lives? Must admit it has really put me off being a drugs baron lol

• Registered Users Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Tallant had a headline in the Sunday World focusing on the Penguin and saying German police have had 16 wire taps on his phones for the last 5 years. Sounds like rubbish that 5 years of listening in wouldnt be enough to get him arrested.

She also stated he is dealing with a Colombian cartel and a Spanish biker gang. Pinch of salt as usual but thats what she reported.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

patsy004 wrote: »
    I'm not someone in the know either but love following this thread. Watching the arrest of Mad Dog this morning, its seems that all the players, BIG and small in the drugs supply industry live in really basic houses, in really ****ty estates. Why is this, if it is so lucrative? Even the infamous Mr Big can't relax in his bullet proof but basic house? Anyone can live in these estates if they put their name down without having to resort to killing people. CP lives in a caravan in a yard? Like any other traveller. Where are the rewards for the risk to their lives? Must admit it has really put me off being a drugs baron lol

The road where that arrest happened is fairly nice these days, lot of houses renovated, close to the city centre big park right in front.

It's also now mostly privately owned housing there so no you don't just put your name down and get to live there.

Might not look like much on the outside but could be a Palace on the inside

NewMan1982 wrote: »

Bullies have all the excuses. When I’ve said things incorrect then I’ve actually had the actual balls to stand corrected. So I’m posting my interest in Gangland, I last checked you didn’t need a badge to post here. If you don’t like it then mute me it’s that simple really.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Thesiger

patsy004 wrote: »

CAB gonna want to take any mansions right off them.

Having said that Big himself lives in what would be regarded as a solid middle-class dwelling, and according to some on here has a string of properties stretching from Marino to Swords.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Raffo69

Reports of a man and woman shot in Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

Thesiger wrote: »
    CAB gonna want to take any mansions right off them.

Having said that Big himself lives in what would be regarded as a solid middle-class dwelling, and according to some on here has a string of properties stretching from Marino to Swords.

Where does he live ? Can I search it on google maps