Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 10)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Poochie05

You just missed The Thorn Birds Mam, perfect way to while away an afternoon! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,081 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I ate two (:p) much cake :(
    Worth it though !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Hordes of skangers landing into Kerry.

Currently eating tapas .. sipping red wine ..and just on the third Bourne movie ;)

Hahaha!

And here I am, all unskangerish, DYING to land into Kerry.

Oh arse, sorry about the red hand up there. Ive no idea how I keep doing that.

Mmm. Wine!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Just had dinner , now a mug of coffee with a slice of coffee cake , fecking delicious :D

Fire is lit too , so I just might sit down and watch bad tv for the afternoon . Maybe :pac:

Already watched Animal farm and Spaceballs. On Shrek forever after now. We have been indulging in some chocolate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

@ Mam, you have cake on my mind now! :D

Deskside doing some learning listening to an album that actually sounds like a horror movie made into music... can music be scary? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Hahaha!

And here I am, all unskangerish, DYING to land into Kerry.

Oh arse, sorry about the red hand up there. Ive no idea how I keep doing that.

Mmm. Wine!!!

You can put your hand up wherever you wish m'dear :D

It's one of those lazy days that just ease along without complication... so far anyway

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

@ Mam, you have cake on my mind now! :D

Deskside doing some learning listening to an album that actually sounds like a horror movie made into music... can music be scary? :pac:

*jaws music*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,081 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Glitched out until now .

Poochie, The ThornBirds that's definitely a blast from the past !
    I remember it being so risqué when it first aired !

Grandeeod, Shrek is brilliant and chocolate is good at any time :D

IAmMetalDave, coffee cake , please have some , I ate two slices, it's too moreish :D

Kerry, hopefully I will get to go for the weekend at some point in the Autumn to visit one of my brothers there :)

Resting after a day of scrubbing the house, as has become the weekend ritual. Picked a random selection of flowers from the garden and had my cat pose with them. He's just so well trained! :D

Look into the camera!

515588.jpeg

Now smile at the flowers!

515589.jpeg

My dog seems a lot better today. No accidents but her legs are a bit stiff, presumably from her fight with the blinds. So she'll still be visiting the vet tomorrow for a check up.

Off to feed the zoo now. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Gosh that second picture is just wonderful! I'm about ready to head the hell out of here,not a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Bedside, rematching Dark, pondering whether to have marmite on toast or a nana sangwidge. Wearing my posh frock "because".

BB my cats would never be so cooperative with a camera and bunch of flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,551 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Rolled out of bed at the crack of lunch, wrecked, managed half the program I set on the exercise bike. Went to shave off beard, shaver blades started jamming less than halfway. Need to clean and oil it, no oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I went out the back garden for some post movie fest/goodies air intake.:D A full on Garden party next door. Kids from all over the place and adults milling about. A knock on the front door. They wanted a ball back. Social distancing? Not a bit of it. I had no cause to moan about all this Covid-19 thing over the last few months, but what I've noticed now doesn't inspire me for keeping it under control. I really thought we could get the economy rolling again without utter stupidity. There's about 20 plus in the garden.

The Universe is telling you to keep the beard, Kowloon. And tomorrow is another day for the bike.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    The Universe is telling you to keep the beard, Kowloon. And tomorrow is another day for the bike.

The universe was too late for some of it :D.

You can tell people that the missing bits of beard were slavered off by an impassioned hot mama.

Kitchenside. Someone smoke a cigarette for me, please. Small bit enervated.
    Just had the dubious pleasure of my ex husband's company, unexpectedly. Felt sufficiently insulated by having just spoken to my other half, to not let him get under my skin :)

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭black forest

Deskside watching my critter cam. 😄

Reinstalled Win7 on an old netbook with the lousiest processor in the world, a Atom 1.6 , ha! First thing was to install my old webcam plus freeware for surveillance. So now it will be a vcr for all the critters coming by and as a warning gadget for visiting mothers and Luke, my lovely but sometimes grumpy, visitor cat. 😸

There is a water bowl for all four legged visitors. Let’s see if the hedgehogs are active as well...or whoever else is thirsty.😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Evening all :). Had a lovely Sunday and went to visit my sister (social distancing)

Sitting on the couch delighted with life. A very old friend of mine sent me photos of his little boy. We'd lost touch the last few years ago. Felt all warm and fuzzy inside looking at the little fella. In other news there is a birthday to celebrate tomorrow so my fingers are crossed for a bit of sun for a bbq. Then Brown Thomas on Saturday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And the pub the end of the month!!!!!!!!!!!

Gosh that second picture is just wonderful! I'm about ready to head the hell out of here,not a good day.

Hope you ok Grem x

Home, pyjamas, herself made me food.. Things are looking up, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭thomil

Home, deskside trying to get over my writer's block.

The weekend was pretty much a write-off, my sleep rhythm is effectively AWOL, and I'm not really looking forward to Monday at all.

Ah well, no one ever said life was supposed to be easy. At least the steak for dinner tonight turned out to be perfect. You have to be grateful for the small things in life, I suppose *looks at pay slip*

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Tried taking a selfie today so I can make the profile thing.
    Learned some things:

1) Selfies are really difficult to take. How do people even keep the camera in focus and pointed at them?

2) No more selfies, I need a distance shot with cats instead.

3) My camera battery is almost kaput.

I don't know what I'm going to put in the write a bit about yourself section. Will probably need whatever you find to clear the writer's block, Thomil. Maybe a DMT and Adderall smoothie :D

Evening all..I am never again going to work on a Sunday, way too stressful and while lucrative not worth the stress. I headed for the coast around 6pm and walked the anxiety out of myself, it was absolutely gorgeous, sun shining and warm.
    I had only 3 takeaways for the past 8 weeks and now I've had 3 in a row this weekend, it has to stop but they were absolutely delicious, I had the nicest salad burger tonight, still stuffed.
    Back to the office tomorrow by choice and I'm already regretting it,no idea what to wear so I will be tearing the bedroom apart at 7am cursing and swearing at everything, no lunch bought and no shopping done,all the resolutions I made during lockdown about organising my life have just f**ked off,I'll never change at this rate.
    I've a few little outings planned for during the week, a trip to the beach with a picnic one evening and a drinkie/foodie evening with my 2 best friends, I've a short week as I'm taking some annual leave also,could be much worse I suppose but I'm still going to whinge.😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭thomil

kowloon wrote: »
    I don't know what I'm going to put in the write a bit about yourself section. Will probably need whatever you find to clear the writer's block, Thomil. Maybe a DMT and Adderall smoothie :D

Good music and coffee work best for me, coupled with shutting off any distractions. I used to go on what I call "writing dates", where I'd grab my laptop and my headphones and head to a café (usually Starbucks, going to a decent café just to put on your headphones and open your laptop would be a waste :pac: ) to do my writing there. That's gone out of the proverbial window, and it's a bit too cold for writing out on the balcony, so it'll have to be just the old home office for now.

Oh, and whatever you do, DON'T write on the sofa if you can avoid it. A somewhat straight posture helps getting you into the right mood in my experience.

Anyway, that's enough of "Thomil's Writing Tips" for tonight ;)

Oh, and as a little post script on this, this little post just triggered a whole blog post on dealing with writer's block, so thanks for the push, kowloon :D

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Deskside, went to meet my new niece today and see my favorite biyeen :3 , she's 2 months now and is so light you'd barely notice you were holding her and she was giving me loads of smiles :3 was so good to see them and my sister BIL, lifted the spirits and fun was had with my favorite biyeen, I'm covered in sand from playing in the sandbox for most of the day and bate from running around after him 😸.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Bedside, rematching Dark, pondering whether to have marmite on toast or a nana sangwidge. Wearing my posh frock "because".

BB my cats would never be so cooperative with a camera and bunch of flowers.

Axel is just the quietest and most gentle boy, he was more than happy to allow me to lean in and stick my phone in his face. He's so placid.

Would you believe that not long after I posted that today he had an 'incident'. I won't get into what happened because I'm basically traumatised but he was walking funny afterwards and purring if I rubbed his head but hissing if I touched his tummy. I rang my vet and he said to bring him in and met me at the surgery.

Thankfully Axel is completely fine. Vet gave him a thorough check over and because of fear of internal bleeding decided to x-ray him. Well he picked him up and Axel just snuggled into his arms. He brought him in then to the other room and I could hear him saying "now would you lie on your side for me". He carried him back into me a minute later and said "that is one lovely cat. He just lay on his side and let me x-ray him". Anyway, he was only walking funny etc as he was a little tender immediately after his ordeal but he was absolutely fine. So proud of what a sweet, well behaved boy he is though. And so grateful to have the kindest vet.

This was some bloody weekend! And back to the vet tomorrow with my dog! Siiiiiiigh!

Why do my posts not show sometimes! So weird.

Yeah, sometimes the thread reloads before your post is added to it.

Weird. Never seems to happen on other threads but I do post here more than anywhere.

I know boards is borked their end but i'm even having doubts in my own devices at this point. Though i am overly tired and stressed so don't pay much heed to me..

BB so glad pud is ok and i hope vet goes well tomorrow

Thomil, you have a blog?.

I know boards is borked their end but i'm even having doubts in my own devices at this point. Though i am overly tired and stressed so don't pay much heed to me..

BB so glad pud is ok and i hope vet goes well tomorrow

Thomil, you have a blog?.

Thanks Grem. Hope you get a good rest and feel better.

Goodnight, I'm ready to start a new week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

Bedside, back at my apartment :D

Haven't been able to log in on desktop, but thankfully I have boards on my phone

In bed myself, don't think I'll sleep for a bit. Face still smells of WD-40 as I had trouble only putting a little on the trimmer.

tQvwz9b-sWFcjZm_GBq0vJzv8aKA4pF0U83OigvDBslCa740aKdNZzO4f8B1FwLe7MCTHm8-2DrNQdThvyueBBQ1gTOu--ZJB5M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I went out the back garden for some post movie fest/goodies air intake.:D A full on Garden party next door. Kids from all over the place and adults milling about. A knock on the front door. They wanted a ball back. Social distancing? Not a bit of it. I had no cause to moan about all this Covid-19 thing over the last few months, but what I've noticed now doesn't inspire me for keeping it under control. I really thought we could get the economy rolling again without utter stupidity. There's about 20 plus in the garden.
    Worrying me also, don't mind people socialising but the above and what i've seen myself is taking the proverbial. Hope the sensible people dont pay the price because of these covidiots.
    Bedside, Night all

Bed for me, definitely don't suit the daywalker stuff. Don't even have an idea of what needs doing when I get up, confuzzled :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭A Consonant Please Carol

Oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beautiful day...

In work. Jaysus the world is so fuked up at the minute. Marvin Gaye - What's goin on is the perfect soundtrack.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Deskside with a cup of the sweeet stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭4Ad

In bed myself, don't think I'll sleep for a bit. Face still smells of WD-40 as I had trouble only putting a little on the trimmer.

tQvwz9b-sWFcjZm_GBq0vJzv8aKA4pF0U83OigvDBslCa740aKdNZzO4f8B1FwLe7MCTHm8-2DrNQdThvyueBBQ1gTOu--ZJB5M

Try baby oil instead, your family and work colleagues will love you even more !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

couchside, I'm delighted boards is working again :D

have a free day today as my PA isn't able to see me so..back to the story I go :)

"Can you help me remember how to smile?
    Make it all seem somehow worthwhile.
    How on earth did I get so jaded?
    Life's mysteries seem so faded..."

Had a dream about stealing a train and driving away in it on a road last night. Exhilarating and terrifying.

Drinking tea and thinking of svs.

Tried taking a selfie today so I can make the profile thing.
    Learned some things:

1) Selfies are really difficult to take. How do people even keep the camera in focus and pointed at them?

2) No more selfies, I need a distance shot with cats instead.

3) My camera battery is almost kaput.

The selfie camera in phones do distort your face as well.
    If you can stick your phone to or on something and stand 3 to 5 feet away it helps. Compensates for the distortion.

I bought a compatible battery for my phone for around £10 on Amazon. Saved buying a new phone. Meant to mention it to everyone before, anyway.

4Ad wrote: »
    Try baby oil instead, your family and work colleagues will love you even more !

I never even knew babies rusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,654 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I never even knew babies rusted.

Put that on your profile!

I'm Boardside after being 503ed out since Saturday afternoon. Happy belated birthday Buile!

Enjoying a very gentle light breeze, its just like a tickle on the skin, and the warmth of the sun.

Lunch is cooking. Cajun and leek sausages. Probably penne pasta with some stir-in sauce. No point in making elaborate food for one.

Glued to the bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Afternoon all :) Gorgeous sunshine here today :)

Happy Monday!!!

Put that on your profile!

I'm Boardside after being 503ed out since Saturday afternoon. Happy belated birthday Buile!

Thanks leg end!

Just found out I'm allowed to visit my gran on Monday.

She's long since forgotten who I am, as in she doesn't know my name or that I'm related to her but in a crowded room she'd gravitate to me because she still had some connection to me, some instinctive pull to me, even though if someone asked 'who's that?', she'd say she didn't know. The last time I saw her, which feels like a lifetime ago, she was on the far side of the huge dayroom and when I walked in she looked up and grinned at me and mouthed hello. It's a weird thing.

Anyway, I fear that connection will be well and truly gone now and I'm worried she may even be a little distressed by this person in PPE gear. She's a bit deaf as well so it'll be tough talking to her through a mask. But I suppose there's no point in worrying about it until we see how it goes.

Only one person can visit her and my mam and I decided it would be best if I do. That way I can assess how well the whole thing is set up and how safe it feels before deciding if we're comfortable with my mam going in as she's vulnerable to Covid herself.

Sorry I'm sharing big boring blocks of text here lately but it's sorta helpful to write things down. I should probably invest in a diary!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

In my chair in my living room, looking out at the communal garden and the lovely day.

Tired as I only got about 5 and a half hours sleep last night and have a million things to do today. Feeling stressed out and worn out... :(

I really have to stop saying yes to requests people make of me. I have to be less obliging. It can have me run ragged at times. I need more “me time.”