Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 10)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Absolutely brilliant :D
    Bombard them in the dark

Attach stink bombs :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

You're a Cool Cat Sardonicat!

Coffee has been the strongest thing I've drank in a long long time :pac:

What kind of coffee we talking about here now mam ? :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I should have just said no. They still probably would have gotten the message. But no, I had to give the lecture.

One of the people going is working in the local shop. I'm wrestling with my conscience here whether to tell her boss or not. (Her boss is married to my cousin) I'm thinking I'm going to. But it makes me feel like a Nazi informer or something.

DO IT! Take no prisoners KG. Report every arsehole acting the maggot. I have and I'll tell you why. I want to get back to work. I want to pay my bills. I want to have my life back. I do not want the state to keep supporting me over those who will need it more at some point in the future. I want to enjoy this Christmas. I simply want a return to some sort of normality. Those eejits deserve to be reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Having a beverage or two.

channel hopping, nothing but rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

What kind of coffee we talking about here now mam ? :pac::pac:

From a black jar Seph :D

Wrong answer there Mam.:D

Late night post beers dinner coming soon. Dining in Chez G at a table for one avoiding the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hope you are ok Guy. Bit up and down myself myself the past 2 days.

Was asked out for Easter drinks tonight. Across the road. Lovely people. Intimate crowd they said. Only about 15. I said my piece.

Think my neighbours don't like me anymore. Sigh.
    'Intimate' you say?!
    You missed out there KathleenGrant :p

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I should have just said no. They still probably would have gotten the message. But no, I had to give the lecture.

One of the people going is working in the local shop. I'm wrestling with my conscience here whether to tell her boss or not. (Her boss is married to my cousin) I'm thinking I'm going to. But it makes me feel like a Nazi informer or something.

Ring the Guards, no way should a gathering of 15 people be taking place, f%&k that, we're all trying to do our bit, I haven't seen my elderly parents in three weeks just dropping their shopping at the door and waving at them through the kitchen window, it's f%^king awful but has to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I'm feeling left out cos I don't drink. Someone reassure me I'm still cool.

It’s ok I don’t drink either :)

On the lucozade here and them bubbles go straight to my head :D

Beef cooking in the oven and the smell is divine :)

Autosport wrote: »

Don't forget the bubbles in a glass game.

Is that beef for tonight or tomorrow Auto? I think I can smell it and it smells good!

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Is that beef for tonight or tomorrow Auto? I think I can smell it and it smells good!

It’s for tomorrow but I might chance a beef sandwich when it’s cooked :)

A hot beef sandwich cannot be beaten. Drool!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

*Licks lips*

I'm suddenly hungry again :pac:

KathleenGrant, just to add. I had a text today from my cousin's wife who lives about 2km away looking to meet for a walk tomorrow morning.
    I said I was busy getting Easter dinner ready, not a lie but I was annoyed she put me in that position.
    Yes we would be adhering to staying in the 2 km rule and we would probably be walking with physical distancing in mind but I think if people start these types of mentality then you'll get the 'I'm just' mentality.
    'I'm just going to visit my neighbour'.
    'I'm just going to walk in the forest 5km away but I'll be on my own.'
    And from those 'I'm just', the floodgates open.
    Do ye agree?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Beef, stuffing, yorkshire puds, roasties and lashings of gravy, now if only the missus liked roast beef

Do ye agree?

YES!!!
    (That's all) :)

Cali_girl wrote: »
    YES!!!
    (That's all) :)

Oh wait that's not all.
    0lddog wrote: »
    How heavy an ammo load do we reckon this could handle?
    Just wonderin' like

Beef, stuffing, yorkshire puds, roasties and lashings of gravy, now if only the missus liked roast beef

Teach her. I taught Mrs G. She was rared on leathery beef until she met my slow cooked melt in the gob version. Unless your missus just doesn't like a piece of beef no matter how its cooked.

The sun will bring all the chancers out.
    I was in a town today for essential food shop, rushing in and out of shops like a kleptomaniac.
    One well known grocery outlet had a 'security' guy at the trolley bay.
    Security my eye. He was too busy chatting to a woman within arms reach and gave her his phone for her to look at cute photos on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

i want a roast beef sandwich

Completely agree Purple Mountain. I find it such a kick in the face when people start stretching the rules or outright ignoring them when so many of us are trying to hard and hurting as a result. I think my mam is upset tonight and I'm upset thinking about that. It's just awful, I'd love so much to call over to her and have the chats. But I won't. I dropped some stuff to her the other evening and I didn't go in, I just had one of those depressing through the window conversations. I won't even be doing that often because she's the other side of the city from me.

I'd like to hold my grandmother's hand when her time comes but it's looking increasingly likely that I won't get to do that. It's as*holes that will make this whole thing drag on longer than it has to and make those sad realities more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Garden. Fire. Wine. Company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Normally Easter Sunday we all have dinner together , the kids, partners, grandkids . Turkey, ham , roast beef and all that goes along with it . It's not cancelled, just deferred until a later date , whenever that is , and it's going to be a celebratory dinner instead :)

Like you all here, I miss seeing, hugging my family , but we all know it's for the best outcome possible.
    Ye bunch of lovely posters here make it easier to deal with , the laughs and jokes !
    Thank you all :)

TLDR :
    Mam was having a moment :p

Beef is still cooking, I cook it slowly so it’s nice and tender :)

How many sandwiches is it now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

I text my cousin to say my Mam was doing well and that I was sad I didn't see her in 4 weeks or my grandkids in 3 weeks. ( well saw them on zoom but you can't hug on that). Asked about my uncle. Said about party. Within 3 mins got a text back asking was H there.(girl from shop, next door neighbour of party hosts) I said she was asked but I honestly didn't know. My cousin's husband (her boss) is treating it as a really big deal.
    I am glad. I still feel like a snake.

Beef is still cooking at this hour.
    Did clocks go back or forward a while ago?

Beef is still cooking at this hour.
    Did clocks go back or forward a while ago?

I don’t have a curfew :D

No sandwich for you now :D

At least 10 anyway please 😊

For me I mean now 😃😆

I used to see some grub pubs advertise 'roast in a roll' as a takeaway option, anyone ever had that?.

I don’t have a curfew :D

No sandwich for you now :D

Dammit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I text my cousin to say my Mam was doing well and that I was sad I didn't see her in 4 weeks or my grandkids in 3 weeks. ( well saw them on zoom but you can't hug on that). Asked about my uncle. Said about party. Within 3 mins got a text back asking was H there.(girl from shop, next door neighbour of party hosts) I said she was asked but I honestly didn't know. My cousin's husband (her boss) is treating it as a really big deal.
    I am glad. I still feel like a snake.

Don't feel like a snake. This is one of those times where it's more important to demonstrate personal integrity and do the right thing than ignore your concerns and say nothing. It would just play on your mind and you'd be annoyed with yourself.

The whistleblower can be a lonely place sometimes. But if you are that person, you won't be able to not be, if that makes sense.

One of my neighbours knows my Dad is ill and made a lovely heart shaped grotto i in her front garden all lit up with candles and lanterns and lit up her trees. Just so lovely.

I used to see some grub pubs advertise 'roast in a roll' as a takeaway option, anyone ever had that?.

That would be a hot roast beef roll Grem. Pubs did a takeaway version in tinfoil. A turkey one available too back in my day. Gravy and stuffing on board too. All off the carvery. I believe Boards.ie has a very serious aversion to carvery food. You know the type.:D

Yeah it seemed to be whatever roast of the day was. Can't imagine a bacon and cabbage roll but beef, lamb or chicken i'd love to try.

Mouth watering here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I have given up meat almost two years now and the only time I miss it is on here. It is usually Grandeeod and his steaks, and today it is a beef sandwich.

I'm always on about food, i'm just a walking tummy porn channel

Right grubs up :)

Hmmm the beef is delicious :)

Honestly not me but the guards have arrived across the road. Maybe there was a row. Maybe my cousin's husband is a bigger snitch than I am. Maybe someone else snitched.

Put it in my nosebag Auto :pac:

Right grubs up :)

Hmmm the beef is delicious :)

Beef is the king of meats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Honestly not me but the guards have arrived across the road. Maybe there was a row. Maybe my cousin's husband is a bigger snitch than I am. Maybe someone else snitched.

Hope they all get hit with the €2500 (I think) fine!

Same, a mate suggested a barbecue for four of us the last few days, we said no, it's just so unfair to risk anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Put on Wreck or Ralph 2 ..saw 5 mins and woke at the credits... bleurgh! ... abed...abolixed

Take it from me. You missed nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Take it from me. You missed nothing

I've seen it before tbh so I'm not too upset :D

Sweet dreams all 😴💤 x

Sweet dreams all 😴💀 x

Oíche mhaith agus codladh sámh.

Ah yeah Seph gets dinner and fecks off :P

I'm watching Bad Boys For Life. I rang my mam to make sure she's ok and afterwards had a proper ugly cry. The movie is cheering me up. It's not great but I loved the first two when I was a young un so it's the nostalgia more than anything.

Also holy jaysus Will Smith has not aged a day. What the heck.