Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 10)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Night everyone.

I'm only waking up.. fell asleep around ten. Sleep well purp, I'm awake for a few hours now. Balls 😒

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Very chilled out on the sofa and been planning to get to bed the last hour but too tired and lazy to get up! :pac:

My OH gave me a much-needed “Covid cut” yesterday before he got unwell.

Here are the results...

11417_34314422_838da538-556e-4364-9f39-05afaa35ce62.jpeg

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Very chilled out on the sofa and been planning to get to bed the last hour but too tired and lazy to get up! :pac:

My OH gave me a much-needed “Covid cut” yesterday before he got unwell.

Here are the results...

11417_34314422_838da538-556e-4364-9f39-05afaa35ce62.jpeg
    Is the missus a barber? That's quite impressive!

Grandeeod wrote: »
    While the grass may be cut, my hair isn't. I've reached the point where I really need a hair cut. Tried to buy a barber gadget online and everywhere is sold out of home versions. Cannot afford the 120 quid + pro versions. So gonna get Mrs G to do it the old fashioned way tomorrow. Wet hair. Crimp with comb, snip with scissors. She's doubled over with laughter at the thoughts of her dodgey stroke hand controlling it all safely.:D:eek:

I'm thin on top as it is.. shaved now. Ever see that film 'the boy in striped pyjamas' ?

Is the missus a barber? That's quite impressive!

Mister, not missus...lol :D

Nope, he’s a business strategy planner. He does cut his own (balding) hair with trimmers. Not bad, eh? :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Jupiter I think he did well (without a before pic to compare of course :p) I hope he's feels a little better soon..

Harry I shaved me noggin too. Tis growing back at an alarming rate, always seems that way when it's that short I guess.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Mister, not missus...lol :D

Nope, he’s a business strategy planner. He does cut his own (balding) hair with trimmers. Not bad, eh? :pac:

Grand job in fairness.. mines rough as f*ck. Me thick eyebrows make it worse looking. Youse gay lads keep it snappy! I'm a strategy planner of sorts meself,it's pretty stressful no wonder he's losing his hair! I can relate

It's 2.59am, and I am sprawled on the leaba mostly growing my hair and watching a John Ford documentary. A few hours from now, the laptop will inevitably have run out of battery and I'll be facing a different angle. Still planted in the same location, and the hair technically longer. Talking Heads and all that. Tomorrow's (today when dawn breaks) internal struggle will centre on comb versus garden shears. Stay tuned for more haphazard antics like the time I pushed the button on the nespresso machine when there was no capsule in it but the liquid was coloured how long was the residue there is it safe to drink I don't know better change the water then insert another capsule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Morning all, cloudy day around here so gonna do my morning walk before it gets too hot. I was lucky and purchased a hair trimmer during my first days here for 30 Euro, so I just cut my hair every week or so, I always kept it short due to the heat so it looks normal. The missus on the other hand is freaking out and trying to get a friend to volunteer to cut her hair.

Stay home, stay safe :):) (Every time we make a phone call, we hear this message in Arabic and English before the phone rings)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Error-side 523
    Boards is unreachable
    NextDefenselessHornbill-small.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭A Consonant Please Carol

Cos I'm on... top of the world, lookin, down on creation....

I'm in work.
    *wobbly bottom lip face*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Sitting in bed being jealous of sleeping OH :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Its that time of the day again, sweet stuff time! deskside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Deskside. Tasty coffee.

Started watching the new Harley Quinn animated series last night, it's hilarious, violent and full of bad language... very adult themed cartoon from DC. Well worth a watch if you feel like a giggle! :)

Happy Wednesday Wherers!

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bolgbui41

Reluctantly back at the desk after a five day bank holiday weekend. I need to write two sentences to finish an article draft. I know what I want to say, but have now been staring at the document since half nine trying to actually write my thoughts down. Can't start preparing for tomorrow's online classes till this is done. Anyone want to swap brains and/or jobs for a while?

Can someone help me with my ignorance?
    I was pointed to Borrowbox from here when I enquired about how to cope without physical books now libraries are closed.
    How come some books are 'on loan', actually most books and I can't currently check them out?
    They're not hard copy books so why can't multiple people be able to read one book at the same time?

I'd also love to know the answer to this - the current offerings are really limited (Irish language books in particular). I'd imagine it might have something to do with copyright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,313 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Jupiter, does your partner do lady cuts too?
    Any good at layering and side fringe?!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Haircut done. Neck shaved too. Feeling better after that grooming. No dinner to cook as cottage pie leftover from yesterday. Have a Wednesday night beers on facetime organized for 6pm tonight. 3 of us. Actually looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Afternoon all :)

Kitchenside making lunch

It's sunny here today so I'm thinking some more gardening to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Haircut done. Neck shaved too. Feeling better after that grooming. No dinner to cook as cottage pie leftover from yesterday. Have a Wednesday night beers on facetime organized for 6pm tonight. 3 of us. Actually looking forward to it.

Have to post the mandatory : Pics or GTFO :D

Well done to Mrs G cant have been easy.

@PM & BB shoot emails off to your libraries. ( maybe they have 'bought' a number of virtual copies and thats the max number that can be virtually borrowed ? - just a guess )

Sorry to hear its wet Way Down South. Another super day up here.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Lying on my bed tired....

I must not nap
    I...must ...not na..

tenor.gif?itemid=13347200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

0lddog wrote: »
    Have to post the mandatory : Pics or GTFO :D

Well done to Mrs G cant have been easy.

@PM & BB shoot emails off to your libraries. ( maybe they have 'bought' a number of virtual copies and thats the max number that can be virtually borrowed ? - just a guess )

Sorry to hear its wet Way Down South. Another super day up here.

It's a gorgeous day here too Olddog , feels warmer than yesterday also :)

Where am I , as Dorothy said , there's no place like home :D

I'm cleaning out my mank bag car this afternoon.. Just procrastinating here first..

Late lunch al fresco here, not as sunny, lovely breeze..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Doing my tinting, brows back on fleek and colour ball in hair and on forehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

..waiting for Normal People on RTE to finish the night off with a little raunchy action.😛

I caught up on that last night too..... Jesus her sitting on the single bed waiting for him brought back memories..... Complete contrast to now, where it's "did you lock the kitchen door? Is the alarm on?" etc.

Who says romance is dead :D

There's definitely rain in the air. Garden will be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Who turned off the sun?!
    Was finishing up work, planning to have a glass of wine in the garden and now it’s dark and chilly out there.
    Heading to collect some groceries, there better be cornettos in the bag

ETA: Disaster, not one cornetto :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

We just had a sand storm, visibility down to 50 meters, so glad that I wasn’t working :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Am in the garden trying to think of some, of any, excitement for the evening.
    Might go break some laws like a bad ass.

Am in the garden trying to think of some, of any, excitement for the evening.
    Might go break some laws like a bad ass.

You going to go for a 5.5km walk?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I wonder who was job hunting :D

Bed changed, garlic bread eaten, hang on Trigger i'll come break a law with you!

5-6 km walk in the Phoenix Park after working from home. On the bus now back from Castleknock gate to Navan Rd. Cracking day! :D

Cheers for the compliments on the gruaige after my Covid cut! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

You going to go for a 5.5km walk?? :D

I might go 5.5 km, sit outside a pub, pretend like it's a beer garden, drink a can of beer, play some music on my phone and smoke a doobie.

See you there Grem!

I might go 5.5 km, sit outside a pub, pretend like it's a beer garden, drink a can of beer, play some music on my phone and smoke a doobie.

See you there Grem!

Sounds like a plan.... Let us know the pub so we can all accidently converge... Maintaining social distance of course :)

Poochie05 wrote: »
    ETA: Disaster, not one cornetto :(

nooooo-cat.jpg

Luckily for broken old heap me i don't have to wander far for the beer garden :P

There's definitely rain in the air. Garden will be happy.

My Strawberry plant needs lots of rain since I put it out in the sun. It needs consistency above and beyond watering.

See you there Grem!

I have done that in a very quiet way. A nice walk to a rural boozer. Watched the sun go down while suppin a beer on an outside bench. No doobie.:D But the more urban variations of it just look like dipsos (kids in toe) assholes. I've seen them doing that out my way. Not nice. Picnic benches outside bars at two in the day. Pissed. A bit sad on the kids in particular.

Wednesday beers (online via Facetime) was pretty poor. I won't repeat it. You really can't talk the same when lads wives are hanging around in the background and they're acting "different". I had the pleasure of being at my isolated tech desk. Remember Chat Rooms all those years ago in the early days of the internet?? That was great. Boards is still like that in some ways.

Ah geocities and early yahoo chatrooms etc, miss those.

Same here Grem. Specialist rooms were tame enough and good fun. Usually organized around a set time one night a week. Random rooms could be feckin mental and very very little moderation.:eek:

We are pioneers of the Internet.:D

Worked in the IS dept of a company back 99/00/01 lots of odd hours (surprise, eh) chatted with people from all over, twas magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I remember being in some of them back in college.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I remember being in some of them back in college.

From me to you, we'll keep you.:D It's a hard slog these days chatting to people who only remember the internet via social media on a PC/Laptop and then the Smartphone.

Boards.ie was there in the early days, even when it was slower than a chat room on a Saturday night!

Anyone remember 3txt chat on TV 3 2001/2002?
    You'd text in from your phone,user names , your message would appear on screen (like teletext) hilarious tbh !

From me to you, we'll keep you.:D It's a hard slog these days chatting to people who only remember the internet via social media on a PC/Laptop and then the Smartphone.

Boards.ie was there in the early days, even when it was slower than a chat room on a Saturday night!

Is there still Yahoo Games

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    You'd text in from your phone,user names , your message would appear on screen (like teletext) hilarious tbh !

Yep I do Mam!

Finally!
    Anyone I've ever mentioned it to looks at me as if I'm off my head imagining things :D

I remember faxing sports results into RTE for them to put up on Aertel.

Who da fook directed us down memory lane.

But who were you supposed to be chatting to?

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Is there still Yahoo Games

The last one I played and the first online game my now 12 year old daughter played (WII,PS4,SWITCH Bitch:D) was a Scooby Doo game. Her consoles killed it in this house.:(