Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holiday home owners in Connemara (and elsewhere)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Yeah but if they're not in Dublin-Reg SUVs they cannot spread infection when they travel outside of Dublin. This is basic medical science, have you not been reading the thread at all?

Nah, is it any good ?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

dunnerc wrote: »
    That's better take a bow

were you tempted?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

were you tempted?

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Ballso

incredible as it may seem, it has come to my attention that some people took the above joke as a serious statement

for the record then; DON'T burn down the holiday homes, that would be bad.

You aren't the first to recommend burnings in the thread. Last guy wasn't joking.

If the Government had introduced this properly this would not have happened.

People threatening damage and ill will on others has nothing whatsoever to do with the government. Scumbags are being scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭tphase

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Considering they only operate 2 helicopters I reckon your friend is seeing things.

https://www.garda.ie/en/About-UsCommunications/Specialist-Units/Operational-Support-Services/The-Garda-Air-Support-Unit/The-Garda-Air-Support-Unit.html

Do you reckon the Cops are out for a spin in West Galway looking for phucking sunbathers?

Why do people post such garbage?
    I suppose you have a better view sitting in front of your keyboard? My friend has perfectly good eyesight and can spell Garda.
    Apt username, by the way....

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

is this a dubs versus galwegians thing? i thought dubs only invaded wexford... probably mayo and east galway folk..

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Covid19

bubblypop wrote: »
    Yea this didn't happen.
    How far from letterfrack do you live? Everyone knows everyone else around there, & they know exactly who owns what car.
    So I call BS
    Also, four days ago you posted you were at Tesco in Swinford, which is not anywhere near letterfrack, so it seems you were over your 2 km radius one of these days.......

Well. I'm sitting on the stone wall near the old monastery hostel as I write. Why not come on down and check my credentials? While you're here, my colleague will return The favour. The vehicle I'm driving is right beside me. Trust me, you can't miss it

Actually, I know that's impossible for you at the moment as:
    A. You live in Dublin.
    B. You're from the UK, so I would imagine your intimate knowledge of Letterfrack, it's local population and their individual modes of transport is somewhat limited. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Don't know about getting to Connemara but Garda checkpoints stopping everyone on one main route in Mayo. Looking for proof as to why you're on the road. I'd say they are looking to pick up traffic heading to Westport, west Mayo etc. I'd say Achill is well blocked off already. Was glad to see a checkpoint to be honest, the next couple of weeks could make all the difference.

The area of the 2km radius circle is 12.57 km2. The average population density of the west of ireland is 32 people per km2. So that might be 400 people living in your 2km bubble. You can go further for food so that might be a 5 km radius and it becomes 2400 people. Not every one knows every ones car.

They do in Letterfrack!
    Unless of. Course he isn't a local & was just visiting his holiday home.....! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭shenanagans

UsBus wrote: »
    Don't know about getting to Connemara but Garda checkpoints stopping everyone on one main route in Mayo. Looking for proof as to why you're on the road. I'd say they are looking to pick up traffic heading to Westport, west Mayo etc. I'd say Achill is well blocked off already. Was glad to see a checkpoint to be honest, the next couple of weeks could make all the difference.

They are out in Galway also today.

This is once on a lifetime pandemic so people should just stay home so life can get back to normal as soon as possible.

No journeys to holiday homes and certainly no journeys to family or elderly parents. Stay put!!

Covid19 wrote: »
    Well. I'm sitting on the stone wall near the old monastery hostel as I write. Why not come on down and check my credentials? While you're here, my colleague will return The favour. The vehicle I'm driving is right beside me. Trust me, you can't miss it

A. You live in Dublin.
    B. You're from the UK, so I would imagine your intimate knowledge of Letterfrack, it's local population and their individual modes of transport is somewhat limited. :)

B. I'm not from the UK, did live there as a child, but I grew up in the country here in Ireland & one of my best friends lived in letterfrack for many many years.
    So actually I do know the area & a lot of locals.

How far is it to Swinford?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Hope the Gardai will be stopping people leaving their holiday home region.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

gourcuff wrote: »
    is this a dubs versus galwegians thing? i thought dubs only invaded wexford... probably mayo and east galway folk..

M11 southbound is bumper to bumper this evening, I just saw a photo of it. The fine weather tempting people to head to the South East.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

Has the government announced an exit strategy?

Yep, its the road to Connemara apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭bitburger

M11 southbound is bumper to bumper this evening, I just saw a photo of it. The fine weather tempting people to head to the South East.

Any chance you could post it or PM me?

Im not too far from courtown :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

tromtipp wrote: »
    Stuck in a holiday home where the local distrust you, the supermarket is 20 kilometers away, there's no cooked food delivery, your GP is 150 kilometers away, your holiday house lacks all the stored spices that make food interesting, you don't have a stocked larder or spare loo rolls, you have a limited numbers of books and games, most of your clothes and toiletries are back in the city, the broadband speed is slow, the pubs and restaurants are closed . . .

And the movement restrictions will almost certainly be extended when the rest of the lockdown is (it was originally until April 12, remember, and I can't see it being lifted now, with the sad news coming out of the nursing homes), so they might be there for another month.

All I can say is...teehee! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,464 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Judging by the traffic on Google Maps, it looks like there's a Garda checkpoint at Kilmacanoge.

A quick look at the cameras tells me you're being wound up. Deserted at Arklow, near deserted at Glen of Downs

https://www.tiitraffic.ie/cams/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

I think most of these photograph's going around showing crowds in places today are not actually photographs from today at all!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Kerry has always been better craic anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Covid19 wrote: »

A. You live in Dublin.

Actually the poster you are replying to is a Guard. They may have more knowledge than you would like to think they have.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Actually the poster you are replying to is a Guard. They may have more knowledge than you would like to think they have.

Well they don't seem to have any knowledge around the fact that the 2km rule is for exercise and exercise only. It's utterly irrelevant to this story.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,915 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Suckit wrote: »
    But it's not just the coronavirus infections that she is mentioning. She is also referring to the strain it will put on the localities having the extra people there.
    There is a lot more to be taken into consideration than the risk of infection alone. It is a rural part of the country and the country is on lockdown. Their resources are limited. Health staff are limited with numbers suited for that areas population.

We have a much higher amount of cases per head than the UK - especially when you take into account how poor our testing has been so far, but can you imagine the outrage if they started coming here in their droves (equivelant relative to capita) to 'self isolate' with their families?

f5x25jw.jpg?1

I'm not believing an ounce of that cases per capita versus the UK. Can you provide multiple sources for this information. It's completely at odds to the current death count which we know . The UK is near daily 1000 deaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

listermint wrote: »
    I'm not believing an ounce of that cases per capita versus the UK. Can you provide multiple sources for this information. It's completely at odds to the current death count which we know . The UK is near daily 1000 deaths.

We're testing over twice per capita that they are
    8000 per million vs 3000 per million in and around.

We're up with s Korea on testing. WELL off Iceland but they're crazy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dunnerc

were you tempted?

Yawn :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There has been a helicopter travelling along the coast in Galway over last few day......survey work perhaps. Certainly wasn't a Garda helicopter.

The Gardai are out around the outskirts of the city today at checkpoints.

Really where ? I didn't see any Guards .

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

listermint wrote: »

As I understand the source (JH University) is the data source used by most other websites. They collect their data from the national web sites

Positive cases and deaths are different and depend on a variety of factors. If your health care system is swamped then your death count goes up, as happened in Italy, Span and likely the UK. There is also the fact that everyone is on the same curve but on it at a different point in time. Hence UK is 1-2 weeks behind Italy.

The whole data comparison is imprecise, as many nations are using slightly different definitions. WHO are tying to get nations to report in a standard way but not sure if this has been done.

For example positive cases and deaths are reported by many to be those reported only by their hospitals. There are people dying in their homes and they may or may not be counted, depending on each nations own definition. Some assume Covid 19 attribution and some only where there is an autopsy that confirms Covid 19.

Having said all of the above, if you factor for time delays, I think the data is generally accurate for showing trends.

Did she say actually say all this? Or is it just the word of someone on FB with a grudge against the doctor maybe in view of her speciality in women’s health?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

section4 wrote: »
    years ago in London there were 4 connemara men in the cafe having a breakfast
    this would be in the sixties and they would be working in construction
    the cafe was quite busy and there was a queue to get served
    the 4 connemara men were sitting at their table eating
    one went up to the counter to get something
    while at the counter another irishman engaged him in conversation
    this irish man was from county galway
    when the connenmara man returned to his table
    his 3 friends asked him who he was talking to and what county he was from
    ah he said, he s galway.
    as if that was a different place to connemara
    to them, anybody from outside connemara was a different species

I've heard some bad stories in my time but this is one of the worse.