Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boris Johnson out of hospital 12/04

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Apparently he is stable and doesn't have pneumonia.
    If "all" he needed was oxygen assistance for a time and will avoid sedation and ventilation he's probably going to be alright.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Great news. Hopefully he's back on his feet as soon as possible although I'm sure that won't be today or tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭jimmyrustle

Actually, I don't. What is TERF?

As far as I can gather, it's a feminzai loon who doesn't regard men who transition to female as being real women.

So basically, some feminists despise all who are born as straight male, while others believe us lads can rehabillitate ourselves by identifying as women.

If our ancestors could have foreseen what the future would turn out like they would have agreed to a mass suicide. Imagine storming the Normandy beaches for your descendants to engage in this type of thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,952 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

ELM327 wrote: »
    Going to bed at 820pm? Sounds like the life of an angry fembot alright!

I dislike bojo and his policies (including the frankly stupid "herd immunity" nonsense which is life endangering) but no one deserves this. I can but wish he and his family well - at the end of the day we're all human and some of us would do well to remember that
    Also, shout out to the twitter user that pretty much verbatim stole my post!

https://twitter.com/MelvinScullion/status/1247504194535411714

• Registered Users Posts: 9,444 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Johnson is a clown. The latest reports in todays Irish Times has the UK projected with the worst figures in Europe, not the EU because the idiot Johnson ran with the stupid ticket of taking the Uk out of the EU.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I wonder if any medical folks can help here, but if he doesn't have pneumonia, why would he need supplemental oxygen? Did he have it and it's cleared up now but left his lungs weakened, or maybe a secondary chest infection?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

ELM327 wrote: »
    Also, shout out to the twitter user that pretty much verbatim stole my post!

https://twitter.com/MelvinScullion/status/1247504194535411714

She was a nobody before 8.20, in a few days time she'll descend into the mist. Just stop giving her airtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

I was shook last night when I seen the news on how quickly his condition deteriorated .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭Be right back

Wibbs wrote: »
    If "all" he needed was oxygen assistance for a time and will avoid sedation and ventilation he's probably going to be alright.

Perhaps. Why bring him to hospital though? They probably could have given oxygen to him in no 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Perhaps they just made a medical decision. The hospital is literally across the river. You can wave over at it.

I would assume they just went with better safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I wonder if any medical folks can help here, but if he doesn't have pneumonia, why would he need supplemental oxygen? Did he have it and it's cleared up now but left his lungs weakened, or maybe a secondary chest infection?

Various medical staff have been interviewed by different UK media outlets and they have all said you would not be in ICU right now unless it was serious.

He's either much worse than they say or he is being treated differently.
    If he is getting different treatment than the general public then I don't think medical staff couldn't even guess at what is happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Dude89 wrote: »
    I was shook last night when I seen the news on how quickly his condition deteriorated .

Of course we may not have known his exact condition so hard to tell how quickly his health went downhill. It’s impossible to know how well he is doing unless a briefing given by his treating doctors which won’t happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Perhaps. Why bring him to hospital though? They probably could have given oxygen to him in no 10.

Because he was probably struggling with breathing and his temperature was high. I'd imagine his condition worsened yesterday and he was moved into ICU suspecting that he would worsen further and possibly need ventilation. I read somewhere that 62% of patients with COVID-19 need ventilation withing the first 24hrs of being admitted into ICU.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    Because he was probably struggling with breathing and his temperature was high. I'd imagine his condition worsened yesterday and he was moved into ICU suspecting that he would worsen further and possibly need ventilation. I read somewhere that 62% of patients with COVID-19 need ventilation withing the first 24hrs of being admitted into ICU.

I wonder what % of that is over 70/80 though which would probably distort for someone of boris’s age.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

I wonder what % of that is over 70/80 though which would probably distort for someone of boris’s age.

Id imagine its the same all over, if your admitted to ICU with Covid-19 regardless of your age i'd imagine there is a good chance you may need ventilation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭Be right back

kilkenny31 wrote: »

I agree, just replying to someone else. His temperature must be very high also.

I did see a video of a young enough British chap who was fighting it off at home then took bad in the night with difficulty breathing so was whipped into hospital and was given supplementary oxygen(the tubes up the nose IIRC) had tests done and was back home two days later. He still sounded fecked, in a really bad flu sense, but was coming out of it. So maybe similar for Boris?

lalababa wrote: »
    Corbyn was painted by the Tories and established media AS the Tories best asset! In an unprecedented media attack (there have been several studies on this by impartials) Corbyn was painted as everything under the sun including a bloodsucking communist. The main colour being flung on the canvass was 'un-electable' . Corbyn scared the living **** out of the establishment , can you imagine he wanted higher taxes, more regulation and more de-privatisation in order to bring back a level of service in Eduction, Health, Housing and Transport , that has not been seen for 15yrs.
    Have you seen the early debates with Cameron, where Corbyn grinds him down with stories of 'Sue , 30years a Maths teacher in Sheffield who has no basic supplies for her class', or 'Mike..who can't pay his rent because he has diabetes' or some such story from the poor or 'front lines'
    As a fella said to me once , the English would elect a duck before a socialist liberal.

Corbyn scared the **** out of everyone except a few Trotskyite students to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Poor old Boris - he wanted to be the leader who successful guided the UK out of the EU, now he'll always be the Coronavirus Prime Minister.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Poor old Boris - he wanted to be the leader who successful guided the UK out of the EU, now he'll always be the Coronavirus Prime Minister.

The UK has its own currency.

While Italy,Ireland,Spain etc is crushed by debt the UK will recover.

We are already 6billion down.

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1129023/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

and?

Thanks Dr. CAT.

Are you the person with multiple underlying conditions and all that who went to Africa at the height of this, and suffered CV afterwards?. Glad you are OK, but you took a big chance there. Just shows you.

Sorry now, but triage for ICU has been with us forever, I know this.

I went to Africa just before the height of it. It can be more persistent virus that we have been led to believe. It apparently had disappeared on me but made a comeback and it’s not a secondary bacterial as not responded to an antibiotic. A relative who’s a dr in UK had it, apparently recovered and went back to work only to fall ill again. I think it may be spreading possibly also because of its persistence which is beyond that of usual respiratory tract viruses.

Yes of course triage and decision making us all part of medicine, I was really just pointing out that certain degrees of disability may not be compatible with recovery from Covid-19 and this might be accounting for the stories about DNR being applied to some patients with a disability rather than it being a blanket policy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

osarusan wrote: »
    I see we managed to divert the thread towards feminist snowflakes...what a surprise.

For some here, it's always the women's fault. Always, even when discussing Boris Johnson. Go figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

As far as I can gather, it's a feminzai loon who doesn't regard men who transition to female as being real women.

So basically, some feminists despise all who are born as straight male, while others believe us lads can rehabillitate ourselves by identifying as women.

If our ancestors could have foreseen what the future would turn out like they would have agreed to a mass suicide. Imagine storming the Normandy beaches for your descendants to engage in this type of thing.

A man with XY chromosomes cannot change his chromosomes to XX so cannot be a real woman. He can have lots of surgery to appear to be a woman but what he is is a man pretending to be a woman.
    Anybody can pretend to be anything they want to be but nobody else can be forced to join in in the pretence.
    Why do you think that one biological males desire to be acknowledged as a woman overrides a biological woman’s desire to feel safe in a space that’s been reserved for biological women?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm not a medical expert but this video has Chris Cuomo and a doctor talking about his lung x-ray which shows viral infiltrates.

From around 7.05
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTL8tnKlHCY

Cuomo is clearly in a better state in this video than he was in an interview he did 3 days ago where his shortness of breath is clear. On the 4th he, like Johnson in his video on Friday, repeatedly has to take short gasps of air in through his mouth as he talks. In Cuomo's case he appears to be recovering whereas Johnson's has gotten worse, maybe with a secondary bacterial infection, but maybe not yet reached pneumonia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Sky news said thetimes.co.uk reported he is on 4L/min of oxygen. I can't check as the times is pay walled.

4L/min is a low amount as they can use up to 15L/min

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

The UK has its own currency.

While Italy,Ireland,Spain etc is crushed by debt the UK will recover.

We are already 6billion down.

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1129023/

You're right, if we still had the punt we'd be rich by now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Agricola wrote: »
    I'd say you'd be very deluded if you think that.

Should he escape this close call, his primary consideration will be using the whole episode to bolster his own image as "wartime leader". I can almost see him getting carried out of hospital sitting up in a stretcher, cigar in hand, ala Churchill.

Boris Johnson has never been a serious person. He should be lecturing undergrads on ancient Greece or writing fluff pieces about real politicians in a newspaper column. He has no business being a PM, as his bumbling of the coronavirus crisis has shown. His first priority is always his career, second priority the Tory Party, third his wealthy pals and backers. The ordinary Joe Soap around England who is coughing his lungs up in an A&E is near bottom of that list.

I hope for his gf's and kids sake he makes it through but I also hope after this terrible time is over, people across Britain and other countries that have elected unfit buffoons to high office begin to realize the error of their ways. But I'd say I'd be fairly deluded in thinking that too.

Coincidentally I was reading a book on the Kosovan War a few days ago and Boris shows up in it asking the other members of the media if it would be a good idea to maybe get a flak jacket before heading to the frontline... it was amusing when I read it and then saw he was mildly infected with pictures of him not social distancing the last weeks.. classic Boris the 'loveable' buffoon, but now it's just sad. I hope for his sake he pulls through, and then gets out of politics before he hurts himself or anyone else again.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,952 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

spurious wrote: »
    For some here, it's always the women's fault. Always, even when discussing Boris Johnson. Go figure.

In fairness, the fembot on this issue did that herself with her vile and derisory post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

You're right, if we still had the punt we'd be rich by now

Might be back sooner than you think.