Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boris Johnson out of hospital 12/04

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Hopefully he will be ok. Ì

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I'd say that c*nt Kay Burley is beating a path to the door of the hospital now.
    She won't wash for a week again to see Boris carried out in a coffin.

Sky "News" is just a channel for idiots

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

easypazz wrote: »
    Are you a moderator?

No just amused....you’re not really interested in Covid. These threads have given you a welcome outlet to vent your hatred of the Tory party.

splinter65 wrote: »
    The children won scholarships to public schools. If you knew anything about the Johnson family then you would know that. Did you think that only rich children go to boarding school or top universities? Is your entire knowledge of this based on an Enid Blyton book you read when you were 9?
    You seem surprised that not everyone agrees with you about this.
    That’s the thing about boards. If you want to be in a lefty echo chamber then stay on Twitter where you can block anyone who doesn’t think like you. It won’t work for you here.

His parents were also public schools, politicians and while not necessarily millionaires are hardly poor.

That's a lot of scholarships in the one household.

Boris is the public school politicians son who also went to public school and then into politics

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

theguzman wrote: »
    Boris is a great leader, l love his approach and he is good craic and genuinely entertaining. I hope he makes it and I we need him to pull through this for morale

Why do people think being good craic and being a great leader have anything to do with each other?

I’d say Boris, Trump and Danny Healy Rae are all way better craic in the pub than Blair, Biden, or Leo (can’t include Corbyn here)

This does not mean they are capable of making complex public policy decisions.

I do hope Boris pulls through, and I also hope he has a renewed perspective on the NHS, the frontline workers and the coronavirus when he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Is he taking the whole thing seriously now I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

briany wrote: »
    I expect Johnsons's carers to give him every bit of help that current medical technology allows. Out of all the overweight 55 year old men out there who have been, or will be, stricken with this illness, his profile has to give him the best shot at not only pulling through this, but also avoiding any lasting damage to his lungs. Time will tell.
    You don't honestly think ones profile has anything to do with getting through this....do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

That's a positive. If he was critical he'd be on a ventilator

He may be on a ventilator.

dd973 wrote: »

WTF?

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Nasty and unnecessary comment tbh.

I really didnt think it was. That poster wished no personal ill will against Boris but noted his policy/actions/decisions in this area have been horrendous. There was no nastiness in it at all.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

WTF?

Operation last gasp.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

_Brian wrote: »
    Politically I have zero respect for this man, as a him though I hope he recovers

As a 'him'? Jaysus my head is welded. Is that more if that hee haw her nonsense?

Reported

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

He himself seemed to believe there were coronavirus patients, or he was deliberately portraying that reckless image of his actions, and that's what matters when judging his decision to shake hands, or talk about continuing to shake hands. . It does not mean he deserves to be ill though, and I really wish him well.
    Hyperbole surely?

You don't know him, have you been getting very upset over all the people infected or just this famous person?

Just this virus or all tragedies that occur globally?

I have been quite upset when hearing of the plight of people sick with the virus, yes. Yes, I would often be quite moved by hearing of individuals suffering in any situation like an accident or a natural disaster. I found the images and messages from the Chinese doctor who died very upsetting. People are different and process these types of things differently. Hardly news to you I'm sure.

easypazz wrote: »
    Operation last gasp.

Whatever

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭rtron

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Grow up

Why are you sayng this?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,878 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

According to BBC five live right now, Boris Johnson was given oxygen earlier today before he was moved to ICU which isn't great.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭kevcos

If that has you wondering you must be a bit thick.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

His parents were also public schools, politicians and while not necessarily millionaires are hardly poor.

That's a lot of scholarships in the one household.

Boris is the public school politicians son who also went to public school and then into politics

Poster declared that among other things Stanley Johnson is rich. Some people are stupid and ill informed enough to believe that only moneyed people get to go to a public school or a top uni.
    The Johnson’s just happens to be very smart.
    They’re not poor but they’re not wealthy either.
    I think that’s what annoys people the most about Boris really. It’s “oh look at that silly looking man he must be an absolute thick! Let’s all laugh and point at him and we’ll feel better about ourselves”.
    Then it turns out he’s not stupid at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Nasty and unnecessary comment tbh.

You sneered at me in another thread three weeks ago. I was objecting to working alongside people coming back from northern Italy and Cheltenham as I have a vulnerable family member. I think you said I was out of order and what did I want hr to do?

Now you are here here getting on your high horse. Two faced.

I wish Boris best of luck with this horrible virus. You would not wish it on your worst enemy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

I'm pretty sure he accepted that this was a crisis some weeks back, even before he got ill
    or Maybe he could be in ICU gasping for air crying ''fake news''

• Registered Users Posts: 13,728 ✭✭✭✭briany

You don't honestly think ones profile has anything to do with getting through this....do you?

Read what I said again, and more carefully. You appear to be misinterpreting what I said as, "Being PM gives him a better chance of pulling through.". It's not that simply by being Prime Minister he can pull through. But being Prime Minister would give him potential access to the best medical care available if his condition worsens, where money and time is no object, and so in this regard I would give him a better chance of surviving vs. others of a similar age profile, physical condition and stage of illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

I really didnt think it was. That poster wished no personal ill will against Boris but noted his policy/actions/decisions in this area have been horrendous. There was no nastiness in it at all.

So much for his letting the virus run its course and only some economically unproductive members of society being impacted!

Maybe we have different definitions of nasty.
    Here's mine: very bad or unpleasant. What's your definition?

splinter65 wrote: »
    Poster declared that among other things Stanley Johnson is rich. Some people are stupid and ill informed enough to believe that only moneyed people get to go to a public school or a top uni.
    The Johnson’s just happens to be very smart.
    They’re not poor but they’re not wealthy either.
    I think that’s what annoys people the most about Boris really. It’s “oh look at that silly looking man he must be an absolute thick! Let’s all laugh and point at him and we’ll feel better about ourselves”.
    Then it turns out he’s not stupid at all.

Yeah he is a proper genius, going around shaking coronavirus patients hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

s1ippy wrote:
    I'm not sure how I'd act in the face of this. I'd like to think that I'd give him my best. If it were between him and somebody more deserving, there would be no question that I waste my time to save him over another healthier person just because he's famous. Isn't it lucky for him I'm not involved.

s1ippy wrote:
    If I were in a position where I was treating him, I'd look at him and think "overweight, alchol abuser, responsible for the hospitals being overburdened and left us underfunded, understaffed and under-resourced in the face of this crisis."

Absolute rubbish. He's their commander in chief.
    What do you think has happened since the dawn of civilisation?

He may have made a mistake initially (like many other governments), but he since listened and took advice very seriously from then on (unlike the Swedish or belarusian governments for example).

Get well soon Boris.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Lyan

Go back a little bit further and you'll find that several members of Tony Blair's cabinet (John Reid, Peter Mandelson, Charles Clarke, Stephen Byers, Alan Milburn) were actual communists. Corbyn, on the other hand, has never been anything other than a democratic socialist.

You keep saying that as if Soc Dems are a good thing. Creating a Marxist inspired socialist state from within a "capitalist" system is still harmful.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

briany wrote: »
    Read what I said again, and more carefully. You appear to be misinterpreting what I said as, "Being PM gives him a better chance of pulling through.". It's not that simply by being Prime Minister he can pull through. But being Prime Minister would give him potential access to the best medical care available if his condition worsens, where money and time is no object, and so in this regard I would give him a better chance of surviving vs. others of a similar age profile, physical condition and stage of illness.

Is St Thomas' not an NHS hospital?

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

You know so much about the Labour Party but can't get John McDonnell's name right?

I don’t think that really matters , when there’s a bigger point that he literally said he was a Marxist a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

dd973 wrote:

You're a vile individual

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭Pseudonym121

Nah they end up in pathology, non-interventional radiology and other similar positions where they don’t get to make these calls but can still do good technical work or just get exported. These sorts are dealt with.

I’ve come across a few of them during training. You try to help them change their attitude during supervision but if they don’t change then the unofficial, unwritten grapevine is notified and their path upward stops. If they’re smart they figure this out quickly, if not they get even more embittered before leaving.