Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lockdown - the Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Blueshoe wrote: »
    What does BAME mean?

Saw this for the first time this morning in an article about a disproportionate percent of "BAME" doctors in the UK are dying from Covid 19. Probably some journalist too lazy to type - Black, Asian, Middle East is what they are trying to tell you!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

jester77 wrote: »
    Saw this for the first time this morning in an article about a disproportionate percent of "BAME" doctors in the UK are dying from Covid 19. Probably some journalist too lazy to type - Black, Asian, Middle East is what they are trying to tell you!

TBH it's a fairly standard abbreviation. Like EMEA - Europe, Middle East & Africa.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

First time I cam across BAME it was in relation to casting in movies. "Discrimination against BAME actors" , the Ku Klux Klan like appearance of the Oscar ceremony..

Any hope this virus will kill acronym overuse ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I think the idea that everyones expecting all amenities is a complete myth. Im sure some have , but people who live in towns and cities seem to be under the impression that those in one off houses expect a bus service, footpaths, street lighting , a school every 1km, new roads etc... when its just not true.

People living in one off housing fully accept that you dont have everything on the doorstep and dont want that either, most of the houses are along existing roads that require no extra development and now with eircodes this thing of ‘emergency services can’t find you’ is gone.

The national broadband plan is about the only additional infrastructure that anyone in rural ireland has asked for.

Even the national broadband plan is just an excuse for politicians to shove some money into the pockets of foreign billionaires. Problem would have been solved ages ago if they made life a bit easier for the local wireless ISP

Blueshoe wrote: »
    What does BAME mean?

Black African-merican Eejit

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

rahmalec wrote: »
    Lads.
    I work(ed) in an industry that was the first hit from this and will be the last to recover, as it 100% relies on mass gatherings. I don’t envisage returning to work in this field until the vaccine is available. Some of us really need to pivot.

What would you say are the jobs that are “working from home”-able, pay well, are the quickest to train into? Have a good knack for numbers (degree with very heavy math), a bit rusty as that was years ago but could get back in the swing.

How about try Project Management based roles ?
    Accounting / I.T probably need training of some sort ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

jester77 wrote: »

Oh I see. More pretend racism. This time the virus is the racist. Article was from the guardian so no real surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Even the national broadband plan is just an excuse for politicians to shove some money into the pockets of foreign billionaires. Problem would have been solved ages ago if they made life a bit easier for the local wireless ISP

WISP's still need infrastructure, many businesses also need the consistency of fibre (rain fade and jitter being wireless issues at times)

If we had a hybrid where WISP's supplied domestic houses by leasing space on the local village post office / church roof and businesses could pay a nominal sum (say 500 per km) for actual fibre from that hub then it could work.

WISP's still need infrastructure, many businesses also need the consistency of fibre (rain fade and jitter being wireless issues at times)

If we had a hybrid where WISP's supplied domestic houses by leasing space on the local village post office / church roof and businesses could pay a nominal sum (say 500 per km) for actual fibre from that hub then it could work.

The wireless guys could start cabling towns and villages if there was a need. Hard to do now with planning permission and gaining access to place the cable unless you're an overweight foreign businessman with a smarmy grin who knows all the politicians

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The wireless guys could start cabling towns and villages if there was a need. Hard to do now with planning permission and gaining access to place the cable unless you're an overweight foreign businessman with a smarmy grin who knows all the politicians

Ohh, I thought you had serious points to make rather than just big up the great dinny conspiracy theory.

Hardly conspiracy when everyone knows it’s true.

Had a fella from Esat O'Brien BT a few years ago waltz into the office of a place I since left, thank fcuk. But he boasted being able to bring fibre to the backarse of Ballynowhere when we ourselves couldn't hang a cat6 cable between two roofs in the same business park without some complainer coming onto us. Might be an extreme example but I know it's by no means easy for your average small-time wireless guy to get into cabling towns and villages

Casey in Dungarvan (since bought up by Richard Brandson) is a rare example of a lad who managed to achieve something like this but that was years ago, when no doubt things were easier than they are now.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,177 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Anyone else feeling like this?

Where I am isn't really noisy during the day at all ...I don't want to say where i live. But its nearish the country.

Some days you might hear children playing for an hr or so. But not the whole day and not every day. Its quiet most of the day most days.

I would like my own land though. But I like the convenience of where i am now and having the best of both worlds.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Szero

This is a curious question as to the consensus on a second wave.

Do people expect a second wave of Covid-19 or do people expect eradication/numbers to dwindle to low levels?

By a second wave, I mean another big jump in cases, that will cause restrictions to be reintroduced.

A few opinions:
    • "In my mind, it's inevitable that we'll have a return of the virus,” Anthony Fauci.
    • There’s a historical precedence to be wary of second waves; the second wave of the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic—believed to have infected 500 million people, or a third of the world’s population—was more deadly than the first.
    • President of the Robert Koch Institute and a leading disease expert in Germany said that a second wave is likely, along with a third wave.

But there is no evidence of large second waves in other countries yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Hopefully a 2nd wave won't hit, as people socially distance and wash their hands etc once restrictions are relaxed.

It'll take a brave politician to shut everything down again, thats for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

i went for september after the pubs open

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

I'm sick and tired of Covid porn, covid for breakfast,covid for lunch, Covid is like a fcking God now.

All hail the Covid God, merchant of doom, and potential death....if you don't do as covid suggests the law will be on yo ass..

Covid is like a mass hypnosis, fckers going around wearing masks.
    I'd say some of them get turned on by wearing the mask's and gloves.
    They can finally express themselves without looking like weirdos.

Have the SJWs capatilised on the Covid yet ?

The social justice warriors and pronoun **** that were on board's are gone very quiet lately, and the male feminist is no where to be seen.

These **** that I mention above run scared when something real happens, the rest of the time they're just making up sh1t as they go along...

I was at a Zoom discussion in New York last night and some guy introduced himself by his fckin pronoun's first.

I actually thought these **** only existed in the dark corners of the net.

Getting back to the second wave, it should be managed properly because I see people driving along the roads near me and they're not from the area that's for sure.

I maintain a person on their own who wants to go for a spin and a hike or visit their girlfriend or boyfriend at this stage should be allowed to go that extra bit.

Can you tell I'm missing me girlfriend lol..

I think I'll m going to chance an extra 5km later today fck it

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭JTMan

I went with October or November 2020.

History repeats itself and history points towards a second wave. The flu season normally starts around late September or October so I suspect a mix of the start of the flu/respiratory disease season, and the restrictions being lifted by then and the cold weather having everyone indoors together will cause a second wave then.

Will be interesting to bump this thread later this year and see who was right!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The problem will be, when 'normal' flu season comes round, everyone will think they have the Covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

nthclare wrote: »
    I'm sick and tired of Covid porn, covid for breakfast,covid for lunch, Covid is like a fcking God now.

All hail the Covid God, merchant of doom, and potential death....if you don't do as covid suggests the law will be on yo ass..

The social justice warriors and pronoun **** that were on board's are gone very quiet lately, and the male feminist is no where to be seen.

These **** that I mention above run scared when something real happens, the rest of the time they're just making up sh1t as they go along...

I was at a Zoom discussion in New York last night and some guy introduced himself by his fckin pronoun's first.

Getting back to the second wave, it should be managed properly because I see people driving along the roads near me and they're not from the area that's for sure.

I maintain a person on their own who wants to go for a spin and a hike or visit their girlfriend or boyfriend at this stage should be allowed to go that extra bit.

U OK hun?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,548 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I fell sorry for the girlfriend if this is what you'll be unleashing at the poor lass!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

pjohnson wrote: »
    I fell sorry for the girlfriend if this is what you'll be unleashing at the poor lass!

its ok now it was easier to unleash it on board's, sorry for the rant.
    I'll own it, my bad...my hands are up, I cannot lie or twist what I posted...

She's missing me too, we have a lot in common love philosophy, sociology, history and culture...

She's a sweetheart, and we do miss each other and her whippet I miss him too, he's so docile and nonchalant... just runs around in big circle's asking me to play with him...then he sleeps and he's off again for his 10 minute sprint

Sh1t am I missing the dog more.

Anyhow thanks for the support.

I'm ok

Back to the topic then.

Sorry

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

its ok now it was easier to unleash it on board's, sorry for the rant.
    I'll own it, my bad...my hands are up, I cannot lie or twist what I posted...

She's missing me too, we have a lot in common love philosophy, sociology, history and culture...

She's a sweetheart, and we do miss each other and her whippet I miss him too, he's so docile and nonchalant... just runs around in big circle's asking me to play with him...then he sleeps and he's off again for his 10 minute sprint

Sh1t am I missing the dog more.

Anyhow thanks for the support.

I'm ok

Back to the topic then.

Sorry

North Clare, I'm thinking up around tubber or maybe crusheen

niallo27 wrote: »
    North Clare, I'm thinking up around tubber or maybe crusheen

Not far from the newline...or Corofin... Boston.. you're not too far away :)

NIMAN wrote: »
    The problem will be, when 'normal' flu season comes round, everyone will think they have the Covid.

I hear you, that's why I'm keeping a level head. Making sure I've my oil tank full, plenty of tinned food like fish,beans etc , flour and ingredients for eating healthy... like the old people did..
    Although I fatten up for the winter, and tone down for the summer I'm like a ferral animal I eat with the season's.

Once I've heating food and my sanity I'll be ok.
    It could be an interesting winter that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

She's chosen the neutral pronouns then...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Utterly bizarre attempt to shoehorn SJW stuff into the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

osarusan wrote: »
    Utterly bizarre attempt to shoehorn SJW stuff into the thread.

In fairness they have apologised for the rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

I can't seem to find the piss off choice.