Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,682 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Professor Kim is back and once again, it’s a must watch....

https://youtu.be/QwoNP9QWr4Y

One thing I took out of that - hydroxychloroquine may only be suppressing the virus (bit like HIV drugs do), patient feels better and tests negative.
    Leaves hospital and the virus blows up again - there goes Trumps plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

wakka12 wrote: »
    410 deaths and 5000 new cases in Brazil over the last 48 hours

¡ Ay, caramba!

Just try and get that in before boards crashes.

Anyone watch Virgin TV tonight Show

They mentioned people coccooning could go out for a walk, that cant be right?

wakka12 wrote: »
    410 deaths and 5000 new cases in Brazil over the last 48 hours

The man himself, leader of the universe Trump is on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

Trump sounds terrible

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

trump time.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

¡ Ay, caramba!

Just try and get that in before boards crashes.

Anyone watch Virgin TV tonight Show

They mentioned people coccooning could go out for a walk, that cant be right?

They said earlier cocooning isn't mandatory, it is just recommended.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Wibbs wrote: »
    It really is FD.

Just like his last video, which is a must watch IMHO.

Very informative and interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

They'll breathe a sigh of relief and say they were wrong...thankfully.

But, it's good to know that that's where your priority lies.

Weak stuff, Tony.

This has to be the lamest reply of many...'You're a bad man, you only care about winning debates. We care about lives.' Very weak. Casting aspersions about motivations is the last refuge of a boardsie.

No one has even addressed the point about the progress of the disease in un-locked-down countries.

If the posters here are going to assume the efficacy of the lockdown then there's no point in even discussing it. A person who doesn't assume the lockdown is working is 'obtuse' apparently.

It will be possible for objective people to examine and compare conditions between countries in time. Dodgeball excuses such as 'Swedish people naturally behave as if they were in a lockdown' won't be included in these analyses sadly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Trump sounds is terrible

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,548 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Lol another video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

US on course to break yesterday's record death toll. 2,357 deaths so far (2,407 yesterday).

M

Yesterday he had a glut of ventilators.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Trump sounds snuffly

also looks paler then usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,628 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Boards keeps crashing......is anyone else having that problem?

503 error :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That is really sad news from St Luke's in Kilkenny, RIP, so many lives taken with this virus.

US on course to break yesterday's record death toll. 2,357 deaths so far (2,407 yesterday).

70% of the increase in deaths came from outside New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Just listening to Trump in the background. People used to say Fidel Castro could drone on for hours but Donald is giving him a run for his money.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

ah look, a new controversy, just in time.

Cremations now taking four to five weeks the horrors inflicted upon the families of coronavirus victims have shocked this Cork funeral director.

Pelham Funeral Home in New York, owned for the past six years by Ballinhassig, County Cork native Clive Anderson, recorded a new business record during the first 11 days of April 2020. The home in Westchester County, about 40 minutes north of Manhattan, conducted more funeral services in those 11 days than the first three months of the year combined.

Unsurprisingly, the vast majority of the deceased died from the coronavirus; the first New York cluster in March occurred in New Rochelle, less than three miles from Pelham. And Anderson, a 17-year resident of the U.S. who learned his trade at the Mount Ida College mortuary school in Newton, Massachusetts, has no interest in setting any more records because of the suffering endured by the families of the deceased is too great.

“We are absolutely swamped,” Anderson told the Irish Voice on Tuesday. “We are a small boutique funeral home that pays attention to every detail, all the small things, and now we’ve gone from that to getting about 40 calls a day. We just can’t take them all. And it’s not just our home. It’s all of them.”

www.irishcentral.com/news/irish-undertaker-ny-covid19-victims-families

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I see Trump has ditched the orange/blonde dye for the silver fox (news) look . Gawd Bless America.

M

Each night there's maybe 10% new content in the press briefing but he still gets an hour plus out of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I really hope covid19 is a wake up call to smokers, drinkers, and the obese, a complete drain on public health resources and life. Smoking, sugar, fatty foods, all banned if we want to have decent immune systems among the community to fight these pandemics.
    Actually T smokers may actually be less likely to catch this virus and/or progress to serious and in need of hospitalisation. This has been noted and heads have been scratching in China, Korea, the US, the UK about it. EG in China around 50% of men between ages 40 - 60 smoke, yet the numbers of men showing up in need of hospitalisation of the same age range showed smokers in the minority(5-20%), not the majority as one would quite understandably expect. In the US too. In recent CDC data in a sample group of over 7000 patients, 1.3% were smokers, yet the background rate of smoking is 13%, over ten times larger. Even though smoking massively increases the risks of comorbid conditions like COPD, cardiovascular disease and high blood pressure and being generally fecked as far as health goes, which alone should be making them many times more likely to succumb to this pox. But the numbers seem to suggest that maybe they're not.

Various hypotheses have been made about why this might be in play, if it is. Nicotine abusers have more ACE receptors, which was thought to be bad, but may actually not be, IIRC depending on whether they're up regulated or down(?). Nicotine showed anti inflammatory traits in mouse models suffering from ARDS. While it's an incredibly unhealthy habit to take up and not smoking is one of the best things anyone can do for their health, there's already some contradictory stuff with nicotine and disease. EG Ulcerative colitis an inflammatory disease is much rarer in smokers and if they get it they have milder symptoms and get it later in life than non smokers. They also suffer less from some forms of Parkinsons. It's also been noted for lessoning symptoms in many brain conditions like ADHD(Ritalin is similar in how it acts on the brain). ADHD was once thought to be primarily a condition of youth, but since most of us have gone healthy and given up the cigs, this turned out to not be true. In the old days, many would take up smoking and nicotine seems to have lessened their symptoms.

Put it this way, if those percentages are correct and there's some positive connection with nicotine, it's a more solid one than many of the "wonder drugs" that have been suggested.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

40% of Spanish patients have now recovered and 55% of German patients have also recovered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

CNN showing none of it.

M

easypazz wrote: »
    CNN showing none of it.

Yes Sky News have it, also on Youtube.

Each night there's maybe 10% new content in the press briefing but he still gets an hour plus out of it.

Can't have his rallies at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

DubInMeath wrote: »
    How anyone could be gullible enough to think it's spreading a virus?

Because they're as fucking dumb as a brick.

Actually T smokers may actually be less likely to catch this virus and/or progress to serious and in need of hospitalisation. This has been noted and heads have been scratching in China, Korea, the US, the UK about it. EG in China around 50% of men between ages 40 - 60 smoke, yet the numbers of men showing up in need of hospitalisation of the same age range showed smokers in the minority(5-20%), not the majority as one would quite understandably expect. In the US too. In recent CDC data in a sample group of over 7000 patients, 1.3% were smokers, yet the background rate of smoking is 13%, over ten times larger. Even though smoking massively increases the risks of comorbid conditions like COPD, cardiovascular disease and high blood pressure and being generally fecked as far as health goes, which alone should be making them many times more likely to succumb to this pox. But the numbers seem to suggest that maybe they're not.

Various hypotheses have been made about why this might be in play, if it is. Nicotine abusers have more ACE receptors, which was thought to be bad, but may actually not be, IIRC depending on whether they're up regulated or down(?). Nicotine showed anti inflammatory traits in mouse models suffering from ARDS. While it's an incredibly unhealthy habit to take up and not smoking is one of the best things anyone can do for their health, there's already some contradictory stuff with nicotine and disease. EG Ulcerative colitis an inflammatory disease is much rarer in smokers and if they get it they have milder symptoms and get it later in life than non smokers. They also suffer less from some forms of Parkinsons. It's also been noted for lessoning symptoms in many brain conditions like ADHD(Ritalin is similar in how it acts on the brain). ADHD was once thought to be primarily a condition of youth, but since most of us have gone healthy and given up the cigs, this turned out to not be true. In the old days, many would take up smoking and nicotine seems to have lessened their symptoms.

Put it this way, if those percentages are correct and there's some positive connection with nicotine, it's a more solid one than many of the "wonder drugs" that have been suggested.

Vapers will now have a counter argument, and will be pleased. All hail bubblegum flavour juice.

Theres only about 50,000 odd people viewing via the official White House Youtube channel, I thought he said he was doing big numbers ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

GM228 wrote: »
    Ireland Coronavirus Statistics - Day 47 – Wednesday 05/04/2020
    All data is cumulative

All now included.

Excellent work. Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Theres only about 50,000 odd people viewing via the official White House Youtube channel, I thought he said he was doing big numbers ???

Bigly

Well most Americans can watch it on TV - the rest watch it later at double speed

I'd say most are totally sick of the repetitiveness of these Press Conferences by now. They may watch snippets on YT or FB or dip in and out. Who could blame them.

The media briefings are being used by Trump as a substitute for electoral rallies. God help them.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

I really hope covid19 is a wake up call to smokers, drinkers, and the obese, a complete drain on public health resources and life. Smoking, sugar, fatty foods, all banned if we want to have decent immune systems among the community to fight these pandemics.

Good luck banning sugar, it's in everything

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Vapers will now have a counter argument, and will be pleased. All hail bubblegum flavour juice.
    From the data I've seen SE, they didn't have or account for vaper numbers. If nicotine has some positive effect then since vapers also take that in then maybe?

One thing about vapers and this pox is illustrative, how far the "smoke", vapour being exhaled actually travels and it's more than two metres.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Because they're as fucking dumb as a brick.

Well some of them do think bleach can cure autism so you know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Crap. I used to ha e a 3mg nicotine juice but then I went down to 0 strength juice and I've cut back on the vaping to once a day and I fell great for it. Reading this I'm tempted to go back onto the nicotine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Professor Kim is back and once again, it’s a must watch....

https://youtu.be/QwoNP9QWr4Y

Someone should sit Trump down and make him watch this. Maybe he would realise he needs to be careful what he says to the millions who take his advice serious.

Thanks for putting this up.

owlbethere wrote: »
    Reading this I'm tempted to go back onto the nicotine.
    Jaysus O, so long as you don't take up actual smoking, then maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Well some of them do think bleach can cure autism so you know...

...which, apparently, is caused by vaccinations. :pac:

It'd be funny if it wasn't so tragic.

From the data I've seen SE, they didn't have or account for vaper numbers. If nicotine has some positive effect then since vapers also take that in then maybe?

One thing about vapers and this pox is illustrative, how far the "smoke", vapour being exhaled actually travels and it's more than two metres.

Yes, my point was relating to vapers who use nicotine in their juice. I was also thinking about the clouds some of them exhale and if it contains the particle droplets that spread the virus.

But hopefully they will be clever and not do that anymore.

Interesting hypothesis just the same. We might all become vapers :D

The media briefings are being used by Trump as a substitute for electoral rallies. God help them.

Yeah but its not really a proper Trump rally when you dont have a bunch of rednecks intimidating journalists by shouting FAKE NEWS at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,710 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

easypazz wrote: »
    CNN showing none of it.

US airports are empty :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

tumblr_ojdkbavMAo1rpduwho1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

Taiwan did a proper lockdown and it did work.

Taiwan had a set of unique restrictions based on SARS which had nothing to do with lockdown in the W. European sense. They didn't confine people to their houses or shut down economic activity (every article about Taiwan says 'restaurants, bars, schools, universities and offices remain open'.)

They had border controls, comprehensive testing, early contact tracing, and an early ramp up in mask production.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Tony EH wrote: »
    ...which, apparently, is caused by vaccinations. :pac:

It'd be funny if it wasn't so tragic.

Lack of knowledge is a dangerous weapon

Yes, my point was relating to vapers who use nicotine in their juice. I was also thinking about the clouds some of them exhale and if it contains the particle droplets that spread the virus.

But hopefully they will be clever and not do that anymore.

Interesting hypothesis just the same. We might all become vapers :D
    IIRC SE, the medium that the vape juice is heated in is actually antiviral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Jaysus O, so long as you don't take up actual smoking, then maybe.

Nope. Cigarettes should be €100 euro a box. Or when all this disease blows over it would e a great opportunity for the government to phase out cigarettes and make Ireland smoke and cigarette free in 5/10 years time. The alternative for people who want to smoke would be the electric cigarettes. It's probably not for this thread.