Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Panrich wrote: »
    The problem is the lack of consistency in messaging that allows all sorts of ill informed speculation to thrive. In March we were being told that there would be 15,000 cases by the end of the month. The case numbers were not pointing to that being likely and so it transpired that it was wildly exaggerated.

Now a month later the message has flipped and we're being told everything is under control and the R number is less than 1 when every day we still have huge numbers of cases and we're showing no signs of the cases/deaths decreasing after three weeks of total lockdown.

Until all the historic tests are taken out of the equation then we are in the dark as to where exactly we are at. When we are testing today and returning the result in 24 hrs then we will know exactly where we stand. I suspect Dr Tony has a fair idea but he doesn't want people to get complacent. A big effort to comply for the next 2 1/2 weeks and we'll be in a good position. Its surely not too much to ask.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,217 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Your link brings to a google page for crowded streets! Did you just try to pass of a google search for a busy street as your own home town?

Obviously, its a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,666 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Do you mean the R0 rate is close to 0?
    R0 has nothing to do with community transmission. It means that in the last few days, the majority of cases can be tracked to a source. It's not randomly floating around in the community.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Someone asked about the nursing homes, my aunt works in one, she was saying both the staff and occupants are now being tested even without showing symptoms. Thankfully the care home she is in hasn't had any confirmed cases so far.
    They will have to be tested multiple times (the staff especially) over the coming weeks with a very quick result turn around for this to work. I hope the labs can manage this.

• Administrators Posts: 53,766 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

And how is that to be accomplished in terms of isolation?

Covid patients are of course kept entirely separate from non covid patients in hospitals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

And how is that to be accomplished in terms of isolation?

I believe many of the large hospitals have covid and non-covid entrances and that the covid wards are kept totally separate from the normal hospital wards.

If they do not do this... they certainly should.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

R0 has nothing to do with community transmission. It means that in the last few days, the majority of cases can be tracked to a source. It's not randomly floating around in the community.
    What about the cases we haven’t tracked ? Sounds dangerous like you are saying there is nothing to worry about no need to wear mask or gloves, by the stats we are a highly infected hard hit country

Dundalk, Co. Louth

awec wrote: »

Covid patients are of course kept entirely separate from non covid patients in hospitals.

I don't think the general public are all aware of this... it might explain the reluctance to go to hospital, even when it is strongly indicated.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,277 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Akabusi wrote: »
    Someone asked about the nursing homes, my aunt works in one, she was saying both the staff and occupants are now being tested even without showing symptoms. Thankfully the care home she is in hasn't had any confirmed cases so far.
    They will have to be tested multiple times (the staff especially) over the coming weeks with a very quick result turn around for this to work. I hope the labs can manage this.

That is good

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Saw a piece on RTE news saying people are scared to go into hospitals, even if they have symptoms of heart attack, stroke etc. Treatment is time critical in many illnesses and delay can lead to bad outcomes.

The HSE should make it very clear that people will not end up in a covid ward if they are admitted with non covid illnesses.

To be fair, they have been making that point in just about every press briefing. Even consultants and doctors appearing on the likes of PrimeTime have been sounding the same message.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,677 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I believe many of the large hospitals have covid and non-covid entrances and that the covid wards are kept totally separate from the normal hospital wards.

If they do not do this... they certainly should.

I agree with you of course people should get to hospital if they need to.

Are hospitals in general glorified petri dishes at the moment for this regardless?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Saw a piece on RTE news saying people are scared to go into hospitals, even if they have symptoms of heart attack, stroke etc. Treatment is time critical in many illnesses and delay can lead to bad outcomes.

The HSE should make it very clear that people will not end up in a covid ward if they are admitted with non covid illnesses.

Surely that's just plain common sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Will the Irish Times do?

Reading it again it was Mike Ryan who said it.
    He said there is no proof of immunity in those who have recovered. This is very likely to cause mass panic particularly in those who had the virus.
    "There is no proof of immunity in patients who have had Covid-19 and recovered" is a scientifically correct statement and while people who have had the virus should not panic, they should take the necessary precautions. In fact, we should protect them from getting it again as their bodies may not be well-equipped to deal with infection as they would still be recovering. Transfer recovered hospital workers into medical environments where they would be at less risk of contracting it. I hope this is something they consider doing, otherwise we may not have a lot of medical staff left after a certain point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I hope there's photographers here in Ireland taking pictures of places around Ireland while we are still in lockdown. I would say these restrictions and the nice weather would provide some beautiful pictures. A photo book for charity at the end of the year would be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

As of the time of the last dotted map the nearly 600kmsq around where I live has one active case. I hope we all keep our social distancing up untill there is none. Like everywhere we have a minority of stupid and selfish people. But well done to the vaste majority. Then I propose we move on to the next 600kmsq like a peacetime military operation. Maybe other people in othet areas can do this too.
    Ps. I wont be saying exactly where that is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭4Ad

My niece, a Nurse said that families are asking to put their family members, who are medically ok to leave the hospital into nursing homes..WTF
    Crazy and selfish decision.
    I guess every family is different and have their own reasons..hmmm

Turtwig wrote: »
    To be fair, they have been making that point in just about every press briefing. Even consultants and doctors appearing on the likes of PrimeTime have been sounding the same message.

I heard them saying that people are not coming to hospitals when they should.

However they did not emphasize that if admitted you will be kept really safe from covid. As Kermit said many people wrongly feel that hospitals are petri dishes for infection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

On my way home this evening from a trip to the local shop for groceries and there were 6 cars parked in the driveway of one of my neighbour`s house. No doubt a house party is underway. Idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Rhetorical questions; Is this just the 1st wave of Covid-19, will this virus be with us for evermore, after recovery can you catch the virus again, will social distancing remain with us for years, will the wearing of masks become the norm, will schools reopen in September, when pubs, clubs & Churches reopen, when will mass gatherings be reintroduced to society, will Covid-19 mutate.

When will stadiums be full again?
    Will air travel be changed for ever?
    How many companies will go bust?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I heard them saying that people are not coming to hospitals when they should.

However they did not emphasize that if admitted you will be kept really safe from covid. As Kermit said many people wrongly feel that hospitals are petri dishes for infection.

I was following a UK doctor doing vlogs on YouTube about the coronavirus and he said the doctors were taking turns working on Covid wards and non Covid wards, this seemed a bit nuts to me if the doctors themselves could be carrying the virus, especially if they’re rationing PPE gear like they were in the UK

• Registered Users Posts: 10,662 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Rhetorical questions; Is this just the 1st wave of Covid-19, will this virus be with us for evermore, after recovery can you catch the virus again, will social distancing remain with us for years, will the wearing of masks become the norm, will schools reopen in September, when pubs, clubs & Churches reopen, when will mass gatherings be reintroduced to society, will Covid-19 mutate.

When will stadiums be full again?
    Will air travel be changed for ever?
    How many companies will go bust?

That's about everything already discussed. Start with Part I and read through the fifteen threads.

On my way home this evening from a trip to the local shop for groceries and there were 6 cars parked in the driveway of one of my neighbour`s house. No doubt a house party is underway. Idiots.

Report it then!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That's about everything already discussed. Start with Part I and read through the fifteen threads.

Been here from the start.....
    The questions remain, hence rhetorical. Only time will give us the answers.

owlbethere wrote: »
    I hope there's photographers here in Ireland taking pictures of places around Ireland while we are still in lockdown. I would say these restrictions and the nice weather would provide some beautiful pictures. A photo book for charity at the end of the year would be nice.

Only within 2km of the photographer's home though. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Not invited?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Only within 2km of the photographer's home though. :)

Actually, I was thinking about this the other day - Lockdown skies (and pics can be taken from any garden/window/balcony/roof). :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,677 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Tonight's entertainment begins soon :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Just went into town and back out, stopped in a roadblock

Place is a ghost town, just Garda cars and a few people about their business, 95% of places are closed, just a few delivery places open

No place has ever been a few cars an hour on a main road, certainly not one they would put a checkpoint on

A normal Saturday night, you really must be joking
    1) I emphasised in my area and others may differ. I live on the effin road in question and yes a week ago traffic was noticeably lighter. And when I posted that there was a car passing by every few seconds. It's tailed off now, but it's anything but a ghost road(I just now took a minute as a guide and 8 cars passed my gaff in that time). Jaysus, I'll have to effin record it next. :D A mate's take on it - and he noticed it too. His area would be far lighter in traffic normally and it's pretty much dead now - is maybe because the same road has six supermarkets within ten minutes of it and it's shopping traffic. I reckon that's it. It does tend to die right back around 9-10 and doesn't kick off in the mornings until after 10. 10:30 for the dipsos. 12:30 tomorrow. :D

Oh and by the way, in case of any further misconceptions, I have no issue with this. I'm happier to see more traffic. It feels more "normal" and that's a good thing and you couldn't be any more "socially distant" than tootling along in a car. And yes I do think restrictions should be lifted and more businesses like DIY shops and the like should be open. If supermarkets and pet shops can be open and not cause any issues, I don't see why similarly sized places couldn't be up and running. Now I would very much prefer if they added masks/mouth and nose covering in such places, like they do in many places on the continent that are starting back up again, but the gov and the HSE and many Irish folks seem to have a very negative view on that, so pigs might fly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

It'll be a reminder of how fragile life can be. Visiting elderly relations, socialising with friends, going on a bus, going to the shops, cinema etc even going to work. I'll never take any of it for granted ever again. Hope everyone's doing alright here and I hope those who've suffered losses in this find solace at some point. It truly is a generation defining moment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

New Home wrote: »
    Actually, I was thinking about this the other day - Lockdown skies (and pics can be taken from any garden/window/balcony/roof). :)
    I reckon that would be a bloody fantastic idea N. If someone in the government suggested it it might take off and raise the oul morale. Always a good thing.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.