Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,201 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

fritzelly wrote: »
    They took forever to declare it a pandemic, they recited the CCP line about the virus, don't stop flights from China, keep trade going with them, the list goes on.
    They were incompetent to the nth degree on this.

They admit mistakes were made. But mistakes were made all over the place with Covid and continue to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Laugh all yiz want but the WHO is ****ed without the funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I agree with him completely about the mistake of keeping travel open to and from hotspots.

He didn't close it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Is it absolutely necessary for all the speakers to lick Trump’s ar$e to the extent that they do. What a bunch of sycophants?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The USA pays 15% of the WHO budget of which Congress controls 12%... therefore Trump only controls a grand total of 3% of the WHO budget. The Gates Foundation contributes more than Congress does. The figure is less than the cost of a large metropolitan hospital yearly.

see Big job, modest budget half way down the page below.

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/02/mission-impossible-who-director-fights-prevent-pandemic-without-offending-china#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The US contributes 14% funding to the WHO.

Has any other developed nation buried it's citizens in mass graves during this crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

I agree with him completely about the mistake of keeping travel open to and from hotspots.

There are still flights all over the states.

He didn't shut down internal flights, they are still going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Hurrache wrote: »
    Just like Trump trying to distract from their own failings and mishandling.

Remember the CCP wouldn't even let them in til some 8-10 weeks after the outbreak. And then a very controlled visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,656 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Erm, they really are not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Stheno wrote: »
    Shes in isolation for telling people to wear face masks

She deserves to be in isolation for still being married to the orange buffoon.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Any American who needed a ventilator got one but if you were Mexican.....

The US contributes 14% funding to the WHO.

Huge amount. 14 percent.ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

This is a country who when it all kicked off let homeless people in vegas sleep in car parks like they were doing them a favour while hotels lay empty. Still can't shake that image.

There is a proper emergency shelter/ treatment center set up now. That was a temporary measure due to an existing one having to close due to a case of the virus.

Are hotels in Ireland putting homeless people in the empty rooms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

WHO has deleted all JAN , FEB Tweets

Such as

“Preliminary investigations conducted by the Chinese authorities have found no clear evidence of human-to-human transmission of the novel #coronavirus.”

That same day, the Wuhan Health Commission’s public bulletin declared, “We have not found proof for human-to-human transmission.”

Almost word for word. WHO was eating up what China was feeding them.

And we all called it out at the time, so Trump is right about the way they handled it, it was shockingly poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

easypazz wrote: »
    There are still flights all over the states.

He didn't shut down internal flights, they are still going.

Bit late now. Horse bolted a long time ago.

Strazdas wrote: »
    They admit mistakes were made. But mistakes were made all over the place with Covid and continue to be.

True but when China wouldn't let them in (and especially any American specialists) they should have been asking questions about what was really going on instead of toeing the party line

Imagine if they had suggested we advise to restrict travel to and from Wuhan and China in general we wouldn't be where we are now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Has any other developed nation buried it's citizens in mass graves during this crisis?

I don't think so. New York one of the richest places on the planet. American society is crazy.

Erm, they really are not.

Here we go, another expert.

The States give them around 20 per cent of their entire funding.

Ffs. Thats a big chunk of change.

I don't think so. New York one of the richest places on the planet. American society is crazy.

A hole is a hole. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Looking at the USA numbers, it really is crazy how rampant it is over there. 20% of the confirmed deaths in the world, 30% of the confirmed cases in the world, but only 4% of the world population. I know that lack of testing/underreporting elsewhere is skewing this a bit but those numbers are a shock to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

easypazz wrote: »
    Ventilators, he got ventilators for everybody in the audience.

3wnrs1.jpg

(note to self; start on the To Do list tomorrow. You're starting to lose the plot)

Americans seem completely unphased by the huge loss of life. It's a strange country.

WHO has deleted all JAN , FEB Tweets

Such as

“Preliminary investigations conducted by the Chinese authorities have found no clear evidence of human-to-human transmission of the novel #coronavirus.”

That same day, the Wuhan Health Commission’s public bulletin declared, “We have not found proof for human-to-human transmission.”

Almost word for word. WHO was eating up what China was feeding them.

And we all called it out at the time, so Trump is right about the way they handled it, it was shockingly poor.

Trump himself said China were handling it brilliantly, and wanted to personally thank the Chinese president for it.

The US had intelligence saying otherwise, and Trump cut back the CDC, including those working in China.

Yep. Just watched a report on mass burial of muslims in the UK yesterday. No time to dig individual graves.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    There is a proper shelter set up now. That was a temporary measure due to an existing one having to close due to a case of the virus.

Are hotels in Ireland putting homeless people in the empty rooms?

March 26th
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/coronavirus-dublin-accommodation-sourced-for-homeless-people-1.4212875

More than 650 apartments, hotel rooms and single-occupancy rooms have been sourced across Dublin for homeless people, and all emergency accommodation will stay open 24 hours a day during the coronavirus outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

According to Worldometres Ecuador has added 436 'probable COVID deaths' to it's national total of 369 deaths

https://www.salud.gob.ec/actualizacion-de-casos-de-coronavirus-en-ecuador/

New York city has also added almost 4,000 additional probable COVID deaths to it's total death toll
    https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/imm/covid-19-deaths-confirmed-probable-daily-04142020.pdf
    "probable," defined as follows: “decedent [...] had no known positive laboratory test for SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) but the death certificate lists as a cause of death “COVID-19” or an equivalent"

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭False Prophet

All we are missing is Comical Ali to come on and say no covid 19 in Baghdad due to Trump world class ventilators

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

The orange clown in the white house is halting funding to the WHO it seems

https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2020/0414/1130518-trump-who-funding/

No party political broadcast tonight, just bring on state leaders to praise him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Said it so many many threads ago about the WHO - far too political and all about saving face instead of calling out countries fecking up.
    I think you have this backward. They can't afford to play politics and have to operate wherever virus appear, even in dictatorships that are less than honest. If they didn't play ball in those places they wouldn't be granted access and their ability to track the virus would be greatly reduced. It's a balancing act.

What Trump is doing IS politics and incredible dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Foxhound38 wrote: »

You can watch here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

National ventilator association daily brief

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Came here to post this.

What an absolute fücknut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The rest of the world will step up as the USA slides further down the road of becoming a political and economic pariah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,524 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A glut of ventilators.

Akrasia wrote: »
    The rest of the world will step up as the USA slides further down the road of becoming a political and economic pariah

It already is in large parts of the world.

I think you have this backward. They can't afford to play politics and have to operate wherever virus appear, even in dictatorships that are less than honest. If they didn't play ball in those places they wouldn't be granted access and their ability to track the virus would be greatly reduced. It's a balancing act.

What Trump is doing IS politics and incredible dangerous.

That is contradictory to their name World Health Organisation - not worrying about saying something to upset a country. Even the virus name - MERS, SARS... but now we have a new naming system to remove country racial profiling of it's origin. (edit just on this - all infections in China are now imported - think about that, the virus is coming from somewhere else...)
    They should be thinking about protecting all humans regardless of who they upset.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Trying to deflect from his own **** ups. And the fools will swallow it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The monotone reading of the prepared statement is like what you would hear from a 12 year old.

His ad libs are singsong and hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tedros_Adhanom

Maybe part of reinstating funding could be to get rid of this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ventilators for everyone, we can all now breath a little easier .

Greatest economy ever in the history of mankind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,201 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

True but when China wouldn't let them in (and especially any American specialists) they should have been asking questions about what was really going on instead of toeing the party line

Imagine if they had suggested we advise to restrict travel to and from Wuhan and China in general we wouldn't be where we are now

They definitely messed up in January and it's generally recognised they did but their experts have done a lot of good work in recent weeks.

That is contradictory to their name World Health Organisation - not worrying about saying something to upset a country. Even the virus name - MERS, SARS... but now we have a new naming system to remove country racial profiling of it's origin.
    They should be thinking about protecting all humans regardless of who they upset.

And they'll receive less cooperation and more secrecy if they followed your method. It's basic diplomacy.

Looking at the USA numbers, it really is crazy how rampant it is over there. 20% of the confirmed deaths in the world, 30% of the confirmed cases in the world, but only 4% of the world population. I know that lack of testing/underreporting elsewhere is skewing this a bit but those numbers are a shock to me

They probably have similar cases to Italy, Spain and the UK. Based on a rough fatality rate of 1% all those countries have between 1 to 2 million cases. UK testing is relatively small and targetted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

US side effects of coronavirus to date:

- Successfully united the Democratic Party which is no mean feat

- Alienated the US Navy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Hes now saying they will reopen some states before May first

Reopen before May 1st for about 20 states!!!

Big call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

He wants to open by May 1st... Jesus Christ.