Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The Italians must be useless.

Can't do anything for themselves.
    It's a good opportunity for both Russia and China to "help" as Italy have been bitchin' about EU support since the start of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

I only implied schools as school children are known to present no symptoms and no Ill effects. Have you any ideas yourself ?

Maybe at the moment but they can carry it and give it to other people who may not be so lucky and I would hate to be a child old enough to think I gave that to Granny or mum or dad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I received an email yesterday from work, and am supposedly going on a 2 week work placement to a suppliers factory in Wuhan later in 2020.

It will probably be a memory by then, but I think I'll be passing up such a wonderful opportunity all the same. :cool:

They can just send some samples to Ireland instead imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

is_that_so wrote: »

FG talking about leadership.

LOL

McMurphy wrote: »
    I received an email yesterday from work, and am supposedly going on a 2 week work placement to a suppliers factory in Wuhan later in 2020.

It will probably be a memory by then, but I think I'll be passing up such a wonderful opportunity all the same. :cool:

You'd be crazy to go anywhere near the kip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Gynoid wrote: »
    Pseudonym in AMA said Roma will be badly affected.

The HSE consultant on the AMA thread did indeed predict this would happen weeks ago. Interesting to see if there also are or will be clusters among the travelling community which he also singled out in the thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

khalessi wrote: »
    Not forever, but you keep comparing us to the Swedes who socialise differently to us, they are more reserved whereas the Irish like to congregate in large groups. So by extending he knocked gatherings out for 2 bank hoidays and we stll have to get through the June bank holiday.

You mentioned the Danish schools in another post. They are allowing 6 metres squared per child in a room and and a list of other requirements.

The level of Covid has to be small enough not to overwhelm the hospitals when the levels surge when the restrictions are relaxed. Children are vectors and the first thing they will want to do when they see each other is hug.

Here the schools would need to be deep cleaned daily properly not a mop dragged around the floors and there isnt the budget to do it.

THe space isnt there in schools for all the chldren, as you cant just lump them back into class. Other buildings will have to betaken over and it takes time to get them ready as they will have to be child safe.

This has to be planned right and safely for everyone. I would rather the time was taken to plan it correctly then the usual half assed attempts just for optics and social media

Some countries are bringing in half the students on alternate days to allow spacing in the classroom.

Cleaning needs to be addressed, approaches like UV light have to be used and the budget needs to be found for this in all public buildings.
    Blueshoe wrote: »
    Comical

Coveney is correct. Trump is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,383 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Some countries are bringing in half the students on alternate days to allow spacing in the classroom.

Cleaning needs to be addressed, approaches like UV light have to be used and the budget needs to be found for this in all public buildings.

Coveney is correct. Trump is disgusting.

The Us over pay their share X3. Well within their rights to hold back any and all financial contributions.
    Coveney is a small fish in a big pond.

Hence a well thought of plan needs to be thought out not one pandering to the baying masses. And even half a class here of 15-18 children is too much in one room. They would need to split into small groups of no more then six and a teacher and SNA for health and safety and other buildings co opted for space at the most basic.

PPE handed out to staff and masks for children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,383 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Not forever, but you keep comparing us to the Swedes who socialise differently to us, they are more reserved whereas the Irish like to congregate in large groups. So by extending he knocked gatherings out for 2 bank hoidays and we stll have to get through the June bank holiday.

You mentioned the Danish schools in another post. They are allowing 6 metres squared per child in a room and and a list of other requirements.

The level of Covid has to be small enough not to overwhelm the hospitals when the levels surge when the restrictions are relaxed. Children are vectors and the first thing they will want to do when they see each other is hug.

Here the schools would need to be deep cleaned daily properly not a mop dragged around the floors and there isnt the budget to do it.

THe space isnt there in schools for all the chldren, as you cant just lump them back into class. Other buildings will have to betaken over and it takes time to get them ready as they will have to be child safe.

This has to be planned right and safely for everyone. I would rather the time was taken to plan it correctly then the usual half assed attempts just for optics and social media

40% of Swedes live alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,945 ✭✭✭growleaves

If you're prepared to make the choice for one third of the world's population being infected and between 3% and 4% of the world's population dying because of it, go ahead but be among the first to volunteer yourself.

We know more now than a century ago. Ignorance of the foreseeable consequences cannot be used as an excuse for how we manage or mismanage the current pandemic.

What you're doing though you may not realise it is making multiple unverifiable assumptions - about the efficacy of the lockdown, about the number of infections, about the representativeness of places like Lombardy - and piling them one of top of another in a sequence.

The death rate from coronavirus globally stands at 127k after five months (one-sixth of a harsh flu year).

Yet you're predicting circa 300 million deaths globally if the lockdown is lifted, which it soon will be.

Belarus, with no lockdown, should have about 400,000 deaths from coronavirus going by your figures and assumptions. So far the death toll there is 33.

Thats my point social isolation ws not as much a deal for them as for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭poppers

XsApollo wrote: »
    That can be changed anytime.
    There is no point in lifting the lock down until we have the back log of tests cleared and can turn around swabs taken within 24 hours for the result.
    I believe that should be happening next week according to them.
    We won’t have a clear picture of where we are until we are doing the above.

You feel ill ,ring , get a swab taken on the same day and result in the morning.

If your ok max you will be isolating is the one day.
    You test positive you know within 24 hours.
    With social distancing in place your contacts should be minimal and be traced with greater accuracy to control the spread.

The lock down won’t be lifted until that is happening.

Lift it before that can happen and the spread will be far greater for positive cases.

The logistics of getting tested and results back with in 24 hrs wont happen. It will be 48 to 72hrs at best.
    1. Ring doc
    2. Book test
    3. Get test
    4 perform swab
    5 ship swab to lab
    6 test swab
    6 lab send result to hse/doc
    7 report to patient

Jaysus didint know that. A bit of a turnip for the books.

The Us over pay their share X3. Well within their rights to hold back any and all financial contributions.

X3 you claim? According to this it would put them barely on par with the UK. They've already cut funding to this level anyway.

https://www.statista.com/chart/21372/assessed-contributions-to-the-world-health-organization/

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

McMurphy wrote: »

I'd go....dying to get out of the house :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭declanflynn

growleaves wrote: »
    What you're doing though you may not realise it is making multiple unverifiable assumptions - about the efficacy of the lockdown, about the number of infections, about the representativeness of places like Lombardy - and piling them one of top of another in a sequence.

The death rate from coronavirus globally stands at 127k after five months (one-sixth of a harsh flu year).

Yet you're predicting circa 300 million deaths globally is the lockdown is lifted, which it soon will be.

Belarus, with no lockdown, should have about 400,000 deaths from coronavirus going by your figures and assumptions. So far the death toll there is 33.
    And they would be **** hot at doing an accurate count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭XsApollo

It will not be a guaranteed 24 hour turnaround in the community. They've spoken of 24-48 hours as real time.

Well the logic is still the same, turning around tests as they are coming.

X3 you claim? According to this it would put them barely on par with the UK. They've already cut funding to this level anyway.

https://www.statista.com/chart/21372/assessed-contributions-to-the-world-health-organization/

The Us were paying almost 160m until February. Read the paragraph above the chart. Why you went to the picture first is a different story

UK pay 10m , China 28m. Us were contributing 159 m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Well apparently we are not to worry, small sample size, you know the story

No, we are doing way worse than India. Just look at Worldometer. We are one of the worst countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

It will be interesting to compare stats at the end of July.

It could turn out that the majority of our cases and Sweden's cases stem from nursing home patients and front line workers.

The balance of the cases, when you take populations into the equation, will probably be neck and neck.

They have a population of 10 million. ROI population 4.5
    cases relative to population are almost neck and neck at the moment.

We can learn a lot from the Swedes.

Their policy of social distancing and keeping an economy mostly running is down to their level of compliance with social distancing.

I don't think we could ever do that unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

And you don't think he could have maybe held off until the end of the once-in-a-century global pandemic to pull funding?

The Us were paying almost 160m until February. Read the paragraph above the chart. Why you went to the picture first is a different story
    See that's what you get when you want to go all instant keyboard warrior and don't read amended posts! As for the picture well it paints a thousand words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Sure who would put up with the likes of Kurt Wallander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

The HSE consultant on the AMA thread did indeed predict this would happen weeks ago. Interesting to see if there also are or will be clusters among the travelling community which he also singled out in the thread.

Probably already has. I hope they respect the 2km rule though and hopefully they have the sense not to be going back and forth to the UK, otherwise you could see it spread among the Irish Traveller community.

eddie73 wrote: »
    Their policy of social distancing and keeping an economy mostly running is down to their level of compliance with social distancing.

I don't think we could ever do that unfortunately.

Neither do I. We have a different cultural lean to how we work and socialise. And as pointed out by Prof Moriaty 40% of them live alone, so they come to work and go home, litle social interaction.

XsApollo wrote: »
    Well the logic is still the same, turning around tests as they are coming.
    Sure, but just pointing out there is a timescale that may extend beyond 24 hours.

Neither do I. We have a different cultural lean to how we work and socialise. And as pointed out by Prof Moriaty 40% of them live alone, so they come to work and go home, litle social interaction.

Here's a piece from the BBC on Sweden

https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20200328-how-to-self-isolate-what-we-can-learn-from-sweden

KiKi III wrote: »
    And you don't think he could have maybe held off until the end of the once-in-a-century global pandemic to pull funding?

The 2020 financial payments have been made already. The Us paid 160 m while the closet figure by another country was Chinas 28.7 million.

The Us will be back on board next year again and pay the assessed figure of 58 million. Still double China's figure. Or maybe they won't. That's their decision.
    Why haven't China upped their payment considering the virus came from there? Surely they have a responsibility too?

FFS. The Swedish women are all rides and the men don't want to socialise with them.

Weird or what.

Yesss??? Not sure why you highlighted me for this as it does say that Swedes for the most part live alone and employ social distancing more naturally then us bu a small cohort might have parties.

So eh yeah thanks:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The 2020 financial payments have been made already. The Us paid 160 m while the closet figure by another country was Chinas 28.7 million

As the man himself once said "the worst trade deal, in the history of trade deals". Who on earth signs up for these sham deals?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Probably already has. I hope they respect the 2km rule though and hopefully they have the sense not to be going back and forth to the UK, otherwise you could see it spread among the Irish Traveller community.

I think you are hoping in vain in so as far as a large percentage of them are concerned anyway.

And they would be **** hot at doing an accurate count

Right, so they're hiding 399k+ deaths?

We'll have Sweden, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota etc. for comparison as well. Presumably you don't think all these places have hidden mass graves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

FFS. The Swedish women are all rides and the men don't want to socialise with them.

Weird or what.

The more one thinks about it the more one realises that Sweden would be the perfect place for you to be right now, oh fragrant footed one.

Yesss??? Not sure why you highlighted me for this as it does say that Swedes for the most part live alone and employ social distancing more naturally then us bu a small cohort might have parties.

So eh yeah thanks:confused:
    It's not all about you! Other people read this thread too, you know!

The more one thinks about it the more one realises that Sweden would be the perfect place for you to be right now, oh fragrant footed one.

How did the dictionary taste for breakfast?

Nothing wrong with a little light hearted craic from time to time in such a serious thread.

Proof? This is a new assumption glommed from a handy stereotype, with no way for anyone to verify it, but which saves face for many if the lockdown turns out to have been unnecessary.

The walk-back has already begun.

As the man himself once said "the worst trade deal, in the history of trade deals". Who on earth signs up for these sham deals?

People like to poke fun at the Us debt pile. They should stop giving it out left right and centre.

USAID will be spending over 40 billion next year around the world. Again if all the Us gets is grief and complaining they should abandon these type of programs. The world will be back with its cap in hand within month's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

You'd be crazy to go anywhere near the kip.

I have been to China (specifically Chengdu in Sichuan province ) prob four times in total with my work, but not in that province (the factory has shifted it's production line in the last eight months), I'm one of the few who actually likes the experience of all the different food etc, but will pass up this year's "jaunt" all the same.

growleaves wrote: »
    Right, so they're hiding 399k+ deaths?

We'll have Sweden, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota etc. for comparison as well. Presumably you don't think all these places have hidden mass graves.

They did try to cover up Chernobyl but thats another discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The 2020 financial payments have been made already. The Us paid 160 m while the closet figure by another country was Chinas 28.7 million.

The Us will be back on board next year again and pay the assessed figure of 58 million. Still double China's figure. Or maybe they won't. That's their decision.
    Why haven't China upped their payment considering the virus came from there? Surely they have a responsibility too?

The World Health Organization gets 3,000 signals of possible health emergencies per month.(100 per day) After screening they follow up 300 events per month and investigate 30 events per month with boots on the ground. They conduct formal risk assessments on a subset of those health emergencies. Completed assessments are shared with all member states and key operational partners. Assistance is then offered to affected states and rapidly deployed.

All this defense of humankind on a minuscule budget, compared to the 1.8 trillion spent on arms yearly.

The USA was already $200 million in arrears for its agreed contributions to the W.H.O. even before Trump threatened to withdraw funding.

The USA has saved the yearly amount it contributes every 26 days, simply because the W.H.O. has successfully eliminating smallpox from the globe, thus saving the costs of vaccinating children against that lethal disease.

The USA withdrawal of funding to the W.H.O., just as the poorest countries in the world are beginning their epidemics in Africa and South America, is close to being ‘a crime against humanity’.

It is difficult to argue against the proposition that the USA under Trump has become a ‘rogue state’.

It's not all about you! Other people read this thread too, you know!
    Well then just put it up and give a reason you dont need to highlight someone:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

The Chinese don't claim to be the leader of the free world. Appointing your own country with a title like that carries with it a level of obligation.

The World Health Organization gets 3,000 signals of possible health emergencies per month.(100 per day) After screening they follow up 300 events per month and investigate 30 events per month with boots on the ground. They conduct formal risk assessments on a subset of those health emergencies. Completed assessments are shared with all member states and key operational partners. Assistance is then offered to affected states and rapidly deployed.

All this defense of humankind on a minuscule budget, compared to the 1.8 trillion spent on arms yearly.

The USA was already $200 million in arrears for its agreed contributions to the W.H.O. even before Trump threatened to withdraw funding.

The USA has saved the yearly amount it contributes every 26 days, simply because the W.H.O. has successfully eliminating smallpox from the globe, thus saving the costs of vaccinating children against that lethal disease.

The USA withdrawal of funding to the W.H.O., just as the poorest countries in the world are beginning their epidemics in Africa and South America, is close to being ‘a crime against humanity’.

It is difficult to argue against the proposition that the USA under Trump has become a ‘rogue state’.

Articles from the guardian are not worth copying.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭dublin99

There have been complaints that the owner of a large Dublin nursing home failed, for up to a week, to disclose to his staff (many would be agency workers) or family of other residents when the first case(s) was/were suspected/confirmed.

I am unsure if he thought he could keep it under wraps but this obviously meant staff were working normally initially without ppe and spreading the virus both within the nursing home and back at their accommodation (shared rentals and asylum centres) as well as in other nursing homes where the agency staff also work.

Within a number of days, there were clusters in at least three floors of this large purpose built nursing home.

What this guy did was unethical (whilst perhaps not unlawful) and disgraceful, to say the least.