Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭bennyineire

The amount of people lately attaching "keep drinking the (insert topic) Kool-aid"

example., yeah bud you keep drinking the lefty liberal Kool-aid while I keep researching the truth around chem trials, 5G , Bill Gates etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

ta'd at radio and tv sports news WHEN THERE ARE NO SPORTS!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

people who drive off after visiting someone and feel the need to honk their horn a few times.......does my head in.

Another f*cking load of dogs and pups removed from a ferry in rosslare. I can't go to my favourite beach because it's 5.8kms from my house but these b@stards are still loading up manky rusty cages stuffed with terrified dogs and heading off to England and Wales. What happened to 'essential' journeys?

But sure then again, why wouldn't they? More people than ever buying from them and there was no shortage before. People only care about puppy farmed, backyard bred, Mammy's at home not able to walk from the abuse and the crushing weight of her own existence churning out pups all year round , until they want a fluffy little thing for themselves. Then they live in some suspended reality of "no my pup came from an accidental litter" or "the lady was lovely, obviously a dog lover, she only met me in that carpark because it was convenient for me" "the rescues didn't think now was an appropriate time to re-home so what could I do?!?!" And so on.

Thens there "The kennel club? I'd be waiting a year for a pup!" "But whatsherface from Made in Chelsea has a cavapoo" And don't get me started on "but this (randomly chosen and randomly mixed) dog is hypoallergenic." Like it's a f*cking mattress cover!

Not trivial. Not to me and certainly not to the poor broken dogs most of whom aren't lucky enough to be found but I wanted to rant so it is what it is.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Another f*cking load of dogs and pups removed from a ferry in rosslare. I can't go to my favourite beach because it's 5.8kms from my house but these b@stards are still loading up manky rusty cages stuffed with terrified dogs and heading off to England and Wales. What happened to 'essential' journeys?

But sure then again, why wouldn't they? More people than ever buying from them and there was no shortage before. People only care about puppy farmed, backyard bred, Mammy's at home not able to walk from the abuse and the crushing weight of her own existence churning out pups all year round , until they want a fluffy little thing for themselves. Then they live in some suspended reality of "no my pup came from an accidental litter" or "the lady was lovely, obviously a dog lover, she only met me in that carpark because it was convenient for me" "the rescues didn't think now was an appropriate time to re-home so what could I do?!?!" And so on.

Thens there "The kennel club? I'd be waiting a year for a pup!" "But whatsherface from Made in Chelsea has a cavapoo" And don't get me started on "but this (randomly chosen and randomly mixed) dog is hypoallergenic." Like it's a f*cking mattress cover!

Not trivial. Not to me and certainly not to the poor broken dogs most of whom aren't lucky enough to be found but I wanted to rant so it is what it is.

Anyone who is strong or finds him/herself in a position of power and abuses it at the expenses of the weak and vulnerable (of any kind, animal vegetable or mineral) makes my blood boil.

New Home wrote: »
    Anyone who is strong or finds him/herself in a position of power and abuses it at the expenses of the weak and vulnerable (of any kind, animal vegetable or mineral) makes my blood boil.

Same. I get annoyed in garden centres when they have succulents varnished. They're living things!! Did you have to encase them in hard, shiny, glittery, ludicrously florescent paint??

Sometimes empathy can floor you though. And with something like the way dogs are exploited as a designer product.. well like you say, my blood boils!!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Same. I get annoyed in garden centres when they have succulents varnished. They're living things!! Did you have to encase them in hard, shiny, glittery, ludicrously florescent paint??

Sometimes empathy can floor you though. And with something like the way dogs are exploited as a designer product.. well like you say, my blood boils!!!

People will think I'm verging on pathetic, but I don't care! I feel sorry for the plants left to wilt, wither and shrivel to death in the shops because they don't water them, just like I do for the plants that have gone "ugly" in the garden centres and get dumped. The most recent example was a whole bin full of primroses. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭Feisar

The outrage that ensues if one posts a pic of a lady with a lil' more ass in the Most beautiful women in the world thread.

Might start my own Badunkadunk edition.

First they came for the socialists...

People will think I'm verging on pathetic, but I don't care! I feel sorry for the plants left to wilt, wither and shrivel to death in the shops because they don't water them, just like I do for the plants that have gone "ugly" in the garden centres and get dumped. The most recent example was a whole bin full of primroses. :(

Awww the poor primroses. I feel ya New Home! I do! I'm trying to be a 'gardener'. I'm not great at it. Surprising how guilty I feel when I let a plant down!

Antares35 wrote: »
    I found out that a relative who lives close by has contracted Covid-19 - from his girlfriend who is a healthcare worker and with whom he does not live! What the actual, like if you know your partner is a frontline worker then you don't just casually go and spend time with them while there are restrictions in place. So he has potentially passed it on to his parents that he lives with, who are in their 60's plus the several grandchildren who have been visiting on a regular basis, again against restrictions.

This is exactly how the feckin thing spread. TA selfish people who would do anything for the ride it seems.

That does sound awful. I do feel for couples who are apart however. It must be so difficult to not be able to be with the person you love.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,236 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

This time last year I was jetting off to NYC for a wonderful holiday. May also signals the start of the GAA county championships, and I was so looking forward to following Wexford this year, not to mention all the other live sport. I would usually be wedged busy in work this time of year too.

It's crazy. I've been tipping away during this lockdown without any effect on my emotional well-being (apart from giving out about it on occasion), but for some reason today I feel really fed up with it. Maybe welling up watching the Sunday Game's promo video the other day was a sign I was cracking.

Stoopid virus making me feel lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭playonplayette

Stupid friend/acquaintance is a teacher but she doesn't seem to be aware, she's not MY teacher.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Please never come to my house.... I try my best but everything wilts and dies :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭A Consonant Please Carol

Please never come to my house.... I try my best but everything wilts and dies

Murderer!!! :pac:

Please never come to my house.... I try my best but everything wilts and dies :(

Succulents. That's why they're so popular. Very hardy. Even I'm keeping a house full of them alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Murderer!!! :pac:

I know!!!!

I actually walked around the neighbourhood last year looking at the "less loved" Gardens to see what I could plant that looks pretty and obviously survives hardship :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

TA'd when I go to a shop early in the morning and they're not fully set up for business.

Take an extra half hour before you open and sort yourselves out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

My TA today is that bizarre combination of been mad busy but still bored. I need more variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Eugh don't even get me started on the whole dog buying business. Unless you're actually using the dog for it's intended function then the only plausible reason you could have for buying a purebred is status, pure and simple. What is it they say about people with 4 wheel drives and golden retrievers in them... how neither is ever really used for what it was intended. Thousands and thousands of beautiful dogs destroyed every year because people won't adopt. Breaks my heart.

Would you believe there are two distinct types of German Shepard, working and show.

Feisar wrote: »
    Would you believe there are two distinct types of German Shepard, working and show.

That is despicable.

That does sound awful. I do feel for couples who are apart however. It must be so difficult to not be able to be with the person you love.

Yes I am sure it is awful but we are being asked to make sacrifices and we should be doing so. I haven't seen my parents since March and my baby is due in 10 days. They won't get to see or hold their first and probably only grandchild for how long. July at the very earliest. Even when they eventually make their way back, they will be quarantined and will only see her through a window or from across the road. That to me is a bigger sacrifice. I really just think he is a class idiot and is putting everyone around him at risk.

Feisar wrote: »

They have sloped the back down so much now, that hip dysplasia is rife. Most of these "traits" that they score points for in shows etc. originated as genetic mutations and someone decided "oh that looks nice, let's inbreed all the dogs who have it so we can amplify the trait". Rhodesian ridgebacks developed that raised line down their backs and that was honed in on. I would advise agasint googling syringiomyelia in spaniels - basically a cosmetic thing to make their skulls smaller and the brain becomes to large for it, starts to protrude, they suffer seizures etc. Then there are the short snout breeds who literally have no nasal cavity anymore and struggle their whole lives to breathe. Sorry, rant. TA when I get started on something that maddens me! :mad:

That is despicable.

Yup, I wouldn't know much about dogs, just a friend of Dad's breeds working shepherds.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Why do people have friends that they don't actually like?
    I'm the same, I have one who is annoying and selfish and a user, but I can never work up the courage to just tell them to get lost.

Yes I am sure it is awful but we are being asked to make sacrifices and we should be doing so. I haven't seen my parents since March and my baby is due in 10 days. They won't get to see or hold their first and probably only grandchild for how long. July at the very earliest. Even when they eventually make their way back, they will be quarantined and will only see her through a window or from across the road. That to me is a bigger sacrifice. I really just think he is a class idiot and is putting everyone around him at risk.

Hopefully they will be able to do so in July. It's so very hard. People must do what they can to help them cope. Loneliness can be a killer.
    Also I don't think it's fair to assume one person's sacrifice is greater than another's. We don't know the roads people walk.

That's my TA. The same as when all this started. Lack of understanding for all the different experiences and situations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Ppl standing on the path 6 feet apart(I think) while Im our on the road a few feet away, who in response to me coughing into my sleeve, speak loudly about the need for ppl to use masks when out of the house.

Mask's not good for allergy coughts, not every cough is covid!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Me:
    Hmmm, that looks interesting, I've never made "insert random dish here", I'll look it up and see if I can find a recipe for it online......

Online recipe:
    My love of "random dish" started with my great grandmother who escaped the Ottoman regime almost 80 years ago. Her family fled to Kentucky on a steampacket from........

.......14 pages later......

So, here are the ingredients you'll need.

:mad: Just gimme the bleedin' recipe!

Hopefully they will be able to do so in July. It's so very hard. People must do what they can to help them cope. Loneliness can be a killer.
    Also I don't think it's fair to assume one person's sacrifice is greater than another's. We don't know the roads people walk.

That's my TA. The same as when all this started. Lack of understanding for all the different experiences and situations.

Well if he walks my road he will be given a wide berth so I can protect myself and my unborn child ;)

TA vet appointment this morning left me a hundred quid lighter. At least the scoundrel is ok.

Well if he walks my road he will be given a wide berth so I can protect myself and my unborn child ;)

TA vet appointment this morning left me a hundred quid lighter. At least the scoundrel is ok.

It may be an idea for you to imagine walking his ;)