Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tottenham Hotspur Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭abff

He'll argue convincingly that levy, those players and the aspirations at spurs despite both made in an impossible job, let alone the ESL

Hed be right imo

He’ll try to lay the blame elsewhere, but will he actually convince anyone that he himself was not a major part of the problem? I’m not sure he has all that much credibility left.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Certainly the most exciting anything related to Spurs in a while now :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

HANS FLICK INCOMING LADS

U HEARD IT HERE FIRST

Alan Curbishly more like, or Pardew. But then again, Spurs are now poised to be a European super power, so who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

HANS FLICK INCOMING LADS

U HEARD IT HERE FIRST

First and last. Why would he take a massive step down like that?

Word around the camp fire is that he is lining up the German national side.

Flick will be the new German national coach.

Nagelsmann will be Levy's primary target i imagine, though i suspect he'll be at Bayern next year. I know Leipzig won't want him to go to a direct rival, but very little they can do about it. After that, i don't really know who we will get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭celt262

I hope Harry Redknapp comes in until the end of the season he might get a tune out of them for the last few games.

Harry Redknapp is finished dude. He's even more washed up than Jose was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,702 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

celt262 wrote: »
    I hope Harry Redknapp comes in until the end of the season he might get a tune out of them for the last few games.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D :p:p

Joker

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭spurshero

KungPao wrote: »
    Harry Redknapp in over summer? Or Sherwood? I suppose José had to go now, would be harder to get rid if he delivered a trophy at the weekend.

Are you drinking !

spurshero wrote: »
    Are you drinking !
    My money’s on a controversial and disastrous appointment of Thierry Henry.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

First and last. Why would he take a massive step down like that?

Word around the camp fire is that he is lining up the German national side.

word around the other camp fire is that he has also spoke to 2 premier league clubs

of course it wont happen but u never know

id love to see nagelsman but if munich come calling he will go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

Based on the poch timing when he had Jose lined up to announce the same evening I can only imagine something is agreed to explain the timing.

Either way I’m glad to have him gone tbh it needed to be done months ago and we’d have finished top four imo

Harry Kane was staying here, if at all, to get that premier league record scorer gig

Hard to say whether this will make a big difference to that plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Spurs should be after this guy - Massimiliano Allegri
    4/1 Nagelsmann
    8/1 Rodgers
    12/1 Ancelotti
    12/1 Allegri
    12/1 Simeone
    14/1 Nuno E Santo
    14/1 Benitez
    14/1 Gerrard

Nagelsmann would be my choice anyway.

Not Simeone though...don't need another super defensive manager.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

If we can't entertain on the pitch, we sure as f**k know how to entertain off it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Watch us win the last 6 games of the season, qualify for the CL, win the Carabao Cup and have Mason installed as the permanent manager, only to be sacked 6 games into the new season having lost every match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭celt262

spurshero wrote: »
    Are you drinking !

Glen Hoddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Kiith wrote: »

Simeone has done outstanding work at Athletico and I would rank him as far superior to all of the other potential candidates mentioned here. He would never take the job anyway. It would be a downward career move. The problem with Tottenham is lack of top quality players. They only have four - Kane, Lloris, Bale and Alli.

chicorytip wrote: »
    Simeone has done outstanding work at Athletico and I would rank him as far superior to all of the other potential candidates mentioned here. He would never take the job anyway. It would be a downward career move. The problem with Tottenham is lack of top quality players. They only have four ONE - Kane, Lloris, Bale and Alli.

Fixed that for yaa....

Surely Son is considered a top quality player? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Why is this new super league so bad? Sounds exciting. I'm all for it.

Simeone has done outstanding work at Athletico and I would rank him as far superior to all of the other potential candidates mentioned here. He would never take the job anyway. It would be a downward career move. The problem with Tottenham is lack of top quality players. They only have four - Kane, Lloris, Bale and Alli.

Bale is yesterday's man. I wouldnt write home about Lloris either.

Alli has stalled. Kane needs to move to bigger club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

They have two World Class Players and you haven't even named one of them!

Bale is a Madrid player and a shadow of his former self, Lloris is bang average and for every great save there is usually a feck up, Alli is barely championship standard at present.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Why is this new super league so bad? Sounds exciting. I'm all for it.

It will be exciting to play in it and finish say 4th in it and then qualify for it the following year, or alternatively lose every game finish 12th and also qualify for it the next year. So basically a series of exhibition games which have no consequence unless you win it.

Lots of new Spurs fans around this morning !!
    Welcome to yee all ......

SuprSi wrote: »
    Watch us win the last 6 games of the season, qualify for the CL, win the Carabao Cup and have Mason installed as the permanent manager, only to be sacked 6 games into the new season having lost every match

rinse and repeat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,786 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Morning lads.
    Never a dull moment being a spurs fan! (well off the pitch anyway).

Have to say i really don't understand the timing on this.
    Sack the manager on the Monday before next Sundays cup final?:confused:
    Jose is a cup game specialist, if anyone could setup a team to beat city, i would have thought he could.
    We had a slim chance of winning the cup, we have narrowed those chances even further now.
    Things were obviously going south under his tenure, fair enough, but he was the manager in charge getting us to the final, and we go and sack him the week before. WTF?!

jaykay74 wrote: »
    It will be exciting to play in it and finish say 4th in it and then qualify for it the following year, or alternatively lose every game finish 12th and also qualify for it the next year. So basically a series of exhibition games which have no consequence unless you win it.

im struggling to see the difference with this and the EPL or CL as is

Im finding myself saying that a lot this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

It'll be interesting to see who gets the gig permanently and how long they will last in ENIC's broken model.

Whoever it is will be ENIC's 12th manager in 20 years.

It's shameful but they don't give a fcuk as long as the cash keeping rolling in.

The club statement was a copy and paste job from when they made Poch walk the plank - classless.

The only common denominator in this long barron run (our worst since the war) is ENIC - that where the problem lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

we'd break him

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

im struggling to see the difference with this and the EPL or CL as is

Im finding myself saying that a lot this morning

At least with the PL there is jeopardy. A lot of the clubs have been relegated and replaced or been down the league ladder and back again. Same with the CL. Clubs come and go. This is a closed shop with no way in.

The 22 inaugural members of the original Premier League were:

Arsenal
    Aston Villa
    Blackburn Rovers
    Chelsea
    Coventry City
    Crystal Palace
    Everton
    Ipswich Town
    Leeds United
    Liverpool
    Manchester City
    Manchester United
    Middlesbrough
    Norwich City
    Nottingham Forest
    Oldham Athletic
    Queens Park Rangers
    Sheffield United
    Sheffield Wednesday
    Southampton
    Tottenham Hotspur
    Wimbledon

jaykay74 wrote: »
    At least with the PL there is jeopardy. A lot of the clubs have been relegated and replaced or been down the league ladder and back again. Same with the CL. Clubs come and go. This is a closed shop with no way in.

The 22 inaugural members of the original Premier League were:

Arsenal
    Aston Villa
    Blackburn Rovers
    Chelsea
    Coventry City
    Crystal Palace
    Everton
    Ipswich Town
    Leeds United
    Liverpool
    Manchester City
    Manchester United
    Middlesbrough
    Norwich City
    Nottingham Forest
    Oldham Athletic
    Queens Park Rangers
    Sheffield United
    Sheffield Wednesday
    Southampton
    Tottenham Hotspur
    Wimbledon

Yes i get that aspect

fwiw i dont think that the epl is this riveting breathless meritocracy other posters are seeing

Rich clubs win stuff, others scrabble for what they can get in the short term before rich clubs react

Top four is the new prize because outside funding and officiating decides the title, which even if not has been an uncontested non event most years this past decade pretty much

The fury and frustration on that other thread is more fellas sick of football imo, not of this move

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

tom1ie wrote: »
    Morning lads.
    Never a dull moment being a spurs fan! (well off the pitch anyway).

Have to say i really don't understand the timing on this.
    Sack the manager on the Monday before next Sundays cup final?:confused:
    Jose is a cup game specialist, if anyone could setup a team to beat city, i would have thought he could.
    We had a slim chance of winning the cup, we have narrowed those chances even further now.
    Things were obviously going south under his tenure, fair enough, but he was the manager in charge getting us to the final, and we go and sack him the week before. WTF?!

Personally I think we've improved our chances. Jose was dicking about with defenders and formations up to last Friday. I don't believe he could have delivered a typical Mourinho performance with that uncertainty. City would have known we'd set up for the counter with **** defenders.

This way, they probably don't know what to expect. I still think we'll be beaten but I had no hope 24 hours ago. I see a glimmer of hope now.

all out attack with players off the leash

toe to toe as the lads say

their defence is as shaky as ours, rattle John Stones and we have a good chance

yes ive been drinking

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Lad GAGA

Very mixed day, delighted to see the back of Jose but disgusted with the Super League stuff. The timing of Jose's departure is interesting, seems to me like they need to move quick to get the next man in and the only one who fits that bill for me is Nagelsmann. Personally I would prefer Allegri.
    But tbh with all this super league stuff I don't actually care anymore. Granted that over the years the teams (well most but not all Premier League teams anyway) have become more and more removed from the fans but this is the final straw and I think has dire consequences for the game in England. Not sure what will happen with the PL going forward. Delighted to see that the likes of the German clubs have not joined, German football is all about the fans and is relatively cheap for families to go to games. Away fans in the likes of Spain doesn't really happen, they don't travel, unlike England. Not surpised there is uproar in the UK. The fans are a huge part of the game and the culture in the UK. The travelling fans have always been considered the real diehard fans. So instead of going to the likes of Norwich, West Brom you have to fly all over Europe now, not many will be doing that. And I don't know what its implications are for the international game.
    Its time to go back to following LOI clubs, Bohs here I come.

The smart money is on Harry Kane as player-manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭Glebee

Jose is as well off gone for his own sake. Could you imagine if there were fans in the stadium for these matches. Atmosphere would be toxic..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

Yes i get that aspect

fwiw i dont think that the epl is this riveting breathless meritocracy other posters are seeing

Rich clubs win stuff, others scrabble for what they can get in the short term before rich clubs react

Top four is the new prize because outside funding and officiating decides the title, which even if not has been an uncontested non event most years this past decade pretty much

The fury and frustration on that other thread is more fellas sick of football imo, not of this move

I agree with you to an extent. This new proposal is just one more step in the same direction, but it’s a big step. The rich will get significantly richer and the divide will become more pronounced.

You might think there wasn’t much meritocracy in the EPL, but every season there are teams who perform way above their station. West Ham this season, Sheffield Utd last season etc. That can still happen under the new model, but it is less likely and won’t matter as much.

People often slag off the top four race but it gives a lot more teams something to play for late in the season.

Lad GAGA wrote: »
    Very mixed day, delighted to see the back of Jose but disgusted with the Super League stuff. The timing of Jose's departure is interesting, seems to me like they need to move quick to get the next man in and the only one who fits that bill for me is Nagelsmann. Personally I would prefer Allegri.
    But tbh with all this super league stuff I don't actually care anymore. Granted that over the years the teams (well most but not all Premier League teams anyway) have become more and more removed from the fans but this is the final straw and I think has dire consequences for the game in England. Not sure what will happen with the PL going forward. Delighted to see that the likes of the German clubs have not joined, German football is all about the fans and is relatively cheap for families to go to games. Away fans in the likes of Spain doesn't really happen, they don't travel, unlike England. Not surpised there is uproar in the UK. The fans are a huge part of the game and the culture in the UK. The travelling fans have always been considered the real diehard fans. So instead of going to the likes of Norwich, West Brom you have to fly all over Europe now, not many will be doing that. And I don't know what its implications are for the international game.
    Its time to go back to following LOI clubs, Bohs here I come.

You Had me until the BOHS bit :D

Ormus wrote: »
    I agree with you to an extent. This new proposal is just one more step in the same direction, but it’s a big step. The rich will get significantly richer and the divide will become more pronounced.

You might think there wasn’t much meritocracy in the EPL, but every season there are teams who perform way above their station. West Ham this season, Sheffield Utd last season etc. That can still happen under the new model, but it is less likely and won’t matter as much.

People often slag off the top four race but it gives a lot more teams something to play for late in the season.

Thats fair and measured, tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭spurshero

You have 4 posts on here this morning one more stupid then another . Have y nothing better to be at

With spurs garaunteed European football every year, I'm all for it. I don't understand all the hate for this Super league. I get it if your team is not included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭Glebee

Its definitely better to be inside looking out than outside trying to get in. I suppose it defeats the ethos of the English league and all that stuff. Although alot of commentators had no issue when some of the big clubs gave the FA Cup the two fingers over the reent years.

Try harder lad...

one of your posts might get a 👍

As i said earlier, if Spurs had stayed out and the ESL went ahead, we'd be absolutely ****ed. A huge portion of money that currently goes to the PL would be gone, and it would destroy us financially. No surprise at all that we opted to join, and i've no doubt we even pushed hard for it to happen.

I just dislike the entire idea. What makes us think we should have a permanent position in the top tier competition? We haven't exactly done much to deserve it tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭oppiuy

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    With spurs garaunteed European football every year, I'm all for it. I don't understand all the hate for this Super league. I get it if your team is not included.

Garunteed Exhibition matches? sounds fun

Not to sound horrible but I take it you dont go to games and just watch on telly.You prob have a passing interest but are not to bothered. The NAme Tottenham Hotspur is just that, a name to you. You probably wouldn't mind then when the club move its games to Asia one or twice a year, then that becomes half a season and finally when they relocate. You'll still support Shanghai Hotspurs

When we drew Madrid a few years ago that was a thing of beauty. A chance to go up against the big boys. Playing them 2-4 times a year every isnt appealing given that we havent earned the it and we just made up are own little league.

Calling ourselves an elite club is embarrassing.

oppiuy wrote: »

Garunteed Exhibition matches? sounds fun

Not to sound horrible but I take it you dont go to games and just watch on telly.You prob have a passing interest but are not to bothered. The NAme Tottenham Hotspur is just that, a name to you. You probably wouldn't mind then when the club move its games to Asia one or twice a year, then that becomes half a season and finally when they relocate. You'll still support Shanghai Hotspurs

When we drew Madrid a few years ago that was a thing of beauty. A chance to go up against the big boys. Playing them 2-4 times a year every isnt appealing given that we havent earned the it and we just made up are own little league.

Calling ourselves an elite club is embarrassing.

If this goes ahead I look forward to watching Spurs play big games consistently. You don't have to watch it if its not for you.

I'm a Spurs fan since 1978 and have watched live games. You seem to think you know all about me because I'm in favour of this.

I remember that game against Madrid with fondness. I also remember lots of mediocrity.

This is something exciting and I can't wait for it to start.

4D Chess from Levy...realise top 4 is gone, and we won't be in Europe next year. So you join the "Top 6" teams to move to the new ESL, knowing Uefa will flip a **** and ban everyone from the Champions League next year, and have to come crawling back. None of our rivals get a competitve advantage by being in CL in 22.

Can't get knocked out of Europe if no one is in Europe :pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

4D Chess from Levy...realise top 4 is gone, and we won't be in Europe next year. So you join the "Top 6" teams to move to the new ESL, knowing Uefa will flip a **** and ban everyone from the Champions League next year, and have to come crawling back. None of our rivals get a competitve advantage by being in CL in 22.

Can't get knocked out of Europe if no one is in Europe :pac:

Why next year, uefa could do it now...where's the problem?
    [research]looks at current CL semi finals[/reasearch] oh :pac: