Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tottenham Hotspur Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

tom1ie wrote: »
    Bit harsh. He’s been poor for the last few but he is a quality player. He needs someone to play those balls that he runs onto.
    He needs mourinho to stop playing him in the centre as opposed to him out on the left where he can cut in.
    Moura can offer the same on the right.
    Son doesn’t try a leg, loses the ball too easily and actively pulls out of challenges, I think he gets away with murder personally . Moura is another Ruel Fox, nothing more nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Peter File

golfball37 wrote: »
    Son doesn’t try a leg, loses the ball too easily and actively pulls out of challenges, I think he gets away with murder personally . Moura is another Ruel Fox, nothing more nothing less.

Son got a couple of red cards when he was getting involved in challenges in previous seasons.
    Good comparison for Lucas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,794 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Sky panel pretty much saying we need to feel sorry for the players ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Didn’t watch second half, take it was more of the same

Not sure what sacking another manager will do, looks like pooch was right about players

😂 I loved ruel fox!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭Glebee

I’m not sure getting rid of a proven manager like Jose is the answer... who would you get ?? It would just be the same circle yet again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I’ve lost faith in Jose. I was uncomfortable with the way we were playing in November but we were top so I went with it. Since then, our **** football has caught up with us. On Thursday I completely lost faith and tonight confirms in my mind that I’m right.

Tonight we were utter **** for the whole game. Against Brighton. Not one player was even a 5 out of 10. They were all dreadful. That’s on the manager.

There’s something badly wrong here. The creativity has been choked out of players. They’re afraid to make mistakes. They’re afraid to get on the ball and impose themselves on the opposition. He’s fallen out with Dele and now Aurier. They won’t be the last. I’m betting Bale will be next.

He’s past it. I can see why Levy gambled on him but it was the wrong call. Jose Mourinho is a busted flush and I’m fed up of his anti-football. He should be fired in the morning but he’ll probably have a few more disasters before Levy sees what’s obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭joeguevara

�� I loved ruel fox!!

Absolute legend. Even small he was a rocket.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I’ve lost faith in Jose. I was uncomfortable with the way we were playing in November but we were top so I went with it. Since then, our **** football has caught up with us. On Thursday I completely lost faith and tonight confirms in my mind that I’m right.

Tonight we were utter **** for the whole game. Against Brighton. Not one player was even a 5 out of 10. They were all dreadful. That’s on the manager.

There’s something badly wrong here. The creativity has been choked out of players. They’re afraid to make mistakes. They’re afraid to get on the ball and impose themselves on the opposition. He’s fallen out with Dele and now Aurier. They won’t be the last. I’m betting Bale will be next.

He’s past it. I can see why Levy gambled on him but it was the wrong call. Jose Mourinho is a busted flush and I’m fed up of his anti-football. He should be fired in the morning but he’ll probably have a few more disasters before Levy sees what’s obvious.

I don’t think we can get rid of him yet.
    He is a cup specialist and we are one game away from lifting the LC.
    We are into the 5th round of the FA cup and we are into the knockouts in the europa league.
    We will have to endure this football a bit longer and hope things improve, but he has to be given a chance to finish the runs in the cups IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Once again....

Another shocking, inept, cowardly performance.
    And i must admit , i went for a walk after 70mins. I couldnt take any more. I cannot remember the last time i have ever stopped watching a THFC game willingly ......

Defence - Should King take some blame? No one mentions him! He is there to help/coach the defence? Is he to blame for Joses decision to play 3 at the back ?

Tactics - to be honest , i just dont know. On one hand , i blame Jose for going 352 , but then watching the players on the pitch pretending to care, too cowardly to take on an opponent, not have the heart to track back and win the ball back, He cant be blamed for that!
    He has changed to 442 in the second half of both the last two games, so at least he can see its not working, but others would say he shouldnt have to.

Team selection - Hmmm... another one where im a bit puzzled.
    I know his hands are tied a bit and his choices are a bit reduced. But when you see Moura and Lamela coming on ..... :/
    Alli + Reggy + Aurier + Doherty - all out of sorts/injured/mental+sh1t.
    Lots of supporters were crying out for Bale to start - hes rubbish. Waste of time. 23 touches in the 1st half (1 in Brighton penalty area) 8 in the second half (1 was taking a corner)

Son - I'll say it again, hes terrible. 22 touches in the first half , 24 in the second half. Hes been terrible for weeks now, offers no help at all tracking back, and loses the ball over and over...
    His head has been turned - he will be gone in the summer.

Davies - Hes getting the blame for the goal, but Rodon is a big part of that. 3 centre backs within 5 yards of each other leaving 20 yards unoccupied out to the left to Davies.... Terrible awareness by Rodon.
    Sissoko - Hes not a wing back ffs....
    NDombele - done the few flamboyant tricks and flicks , some tackling . Went off 'injured' .... I feel he will be moving on also . 37 touches in the 1st, 30 touches in the 2nd

Overall just very very deflating. Absolutley nothing there to be positive about , well maybe Brighton not scoring more goals would be ...
    Toughest job of Mourinhos career i think.
    The stink/yellow streak in our players is back. Its the hope that kills yaa.

I really fear about Thursday nights game.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

I don’t think we can get rid of him yet.
    He is a cup specialist and we are one game away from lifting the LC.
    We are into the 5th round of the FA cup and we are into the knockouts in the europa league.
    We will have to endure this football a bit longer and hope things improve, but he has to be given a chance to finish the runs in the cups IMO.

Sadly, I think you're right. I'd fire him this morning but I'm not the man who hired him, agreed to pay him 15m a year and would have to explain to the players and Joe Lewis why Jose has failed.

There is a strong argument for keeping Jose so I fully expect him to stay and can understand Levy's position. I'm not condemning him for keeping the faith, I can 100% see why he would.

But I do think he is wrong and we're going to see more **** football, more losses and more unnecessary conflict driven by Jose's ego before the inevitable happens.

we fired one manager because the players downed tools on him

same bunch are doing the same thing to one of the most decorated managers in the game now, (dinosaur or not) and what we fire him now too

remember this is the same bunch who have won fcuk all between them, its not as if they have been winning trophies all their lives and have been given an incompetent fool to manage them now

lets not kid ourselves 90% of this on the players, every last one of them

and ask for Bale, send him back now
    lets see Zidane who was one of the worlds top players, won everything as a player and 3 champions leagues as a manager told us Bale was finished, and what we had the nerve to say he was talking sh!te (me included)

we fired one manager because the players downed tools on him

same bunch are doing the same thing to one of the most decorated managers in the game now, (dinosaur or not) and what we fire him now too

remember this is the same bunch who have won fcuk all between them, its not as if they have been winning trophies all their lives and have been given an incompetent fool to manage them now

lets not kid ourselves 90% of this on the players, every last one of them

and ask for Bale, send him back now
    lets see Zidane who was one of the worlds top players, won everything as a player and 3 champions leagues as a manager told us Bale was finished, and what we had the nerve to say he was talking sh!te (me included)

Thats it.
    Exactly.

If im honest and it were possible, i wouldnt shed a tear if tomorrow morning saw us with new owners, manager and an entire squad made up of youth players plus kane, son, hojbjerg, ndombele, reguilon, toby

So many at the club are happy to do a half job (and worse) its impossible tb to see how jose coud be expected to tolerate it, but his tactics are also rotten

Blame enough to go round really

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Lad GAGA

A truly depressing night, hard to know where to begin. They started with no aggression, no desire, no threat and on it continued. With that they handed over the initiative to Brighton right from the start and their confidence just grew and grew, they looked likely to score in nearly every attack they had and certainly carried much more of a threat.
    It will be hard to get that team back to where it is challenging for top honours and that might lead to our better players heading off in the summer. Going to give the next few matches a miss, they are just so hard and depressing to watch at the moment.

Dave Tickner writing about last night in F365 nails it, tbh.

This wasn't just a bad result, its a performance that leaves a manager in serious question and even despite his responsibility every senior player at the club also with major questions to answer- after a run of performances where you could in fairness say similar.

Aside from everything else tho, i still dont want to hear about dele alli. Have seen very little from him in three years to suggest he comes into thst team and improves work rate, ball retention or responsibility.

Injury Lo Celso is out for a further 3 weeks with a hamstring injury....

Another argentinian made of fcuking glass !!!?!?!??!?

wtf ?! These lads are stealing a living , injured more than not injured ....... cowards.

see the rumblings have started already that the trigger is about to be pulled on jose

players going to chairman whining

some players not happy with others treatment

Ali not been shipped out by chairman even though Jose wants him gone

does this all sound familiar,

what sort of a fcuk up is this,

Jose has a worst return from his last few games than Fat Frank. Why is their no talk of his job being under pressure in media?

Jaysus lads, if Jose gets the chop, who do we put in charge? Who do we bring in?
    Fooking hell, Jose is a serial winner he has to be given a full season and full cup campaigns to show a return.
    I know the footballs crap but we can’t lose faith just yet.
    The club need to wait until the end of the season before pulling the plug.

I think we need to stick with Jose. These players have proved ( they fcuked Poch under the bus and there showing the same form again) that they dont have what it takes or the guts to dig deep and do whats needed.

Been saying for two years at least 10 of this squad should be gone. That won’t change no matter who is in charge.

Is Jose the man for the rebuild however? Not for me anyway. I don’t want to watch that type of football personally anymore. To play that way against Brighton is shameful

Jose has a worst return from his last few games than Fat Frank. Why is their no talk of his job being under pressure in media?

Not an unfair question

Lampard only got that job on a free hit because of the transfer ban. Abramovich knew that nobody would raise too much fuss in the fanbase nor in the english media with legernd fwank bossman bringing through plucky british talent through the ranks.

imo abramovich was actually presented with a problem when lampard and his youngsters duly delivered top four.

the spending that was done over the summer was significant, but it never and was never meant to complement the approach lampard had taken (and was showing signs of success with)

I had been worried about chelsea as a top four rival (lol those were the days eh) but pretty quickly it became clear he wasnt able to manage a squad of stars and keep everyone happy as well as handlings the new tactical approach his new playing talent demanded- which tbh is fair enough, thats a big ask.

But what got him sacked? Being unable to manage a couple hundred million worth of talent to anything like the expected results.

At least jose is only in charge of a net spend of about a fiver.

AVB available ....

bring back twitchy

he would wet himself managing bale again

and jamie might have something nice to say

Gedson (the sh1t) Fernandes returned to Benfica ....

Glebee wrote: »
    I think we need to stick with Jose. These players have proved ( they fcuked Poch under the bus and there showing the same form again) that they dont have what it takes or the guts to dig deep and do whats needed.

I see this posted a lot but I really don't buy it. I don't believe we had any players who thought "I'm not gonna try and get this fella fired". There were a lot of factors that contributed to Poch's demise. Most of them were of Levy's making, some were of Poch's own making but not that many were down to the players for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Mourinho is going nowhere any time soon in my opinion. 15m a year. I'd say finances already under pressure. Then bring in another manager n start again.

He'l def be there at end of season.

Jose has had a meeting with alli

Bit late to be managing it at this stage but i always still expect a player to be looking for a route back

seen that, he said they met and the team needs a good dele back again

ndombele fit to play thursday too

Kane back next week

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Talks about Ndombele playing deeper, with Dele or Lo Celso ahead of him in the 10 role. Could be really helpful, as we really struggle to get the ball forward well from the defenders. Not since Dembele have we had a player who could collect the ball, move forward with strength and play a decent pass.

Kiith wrote: »
    Talks about Ndombele playing deeper, with Dele or Lo Celso ahead of him in the 10 role. Could be really helpful, as we really struggle to get the ball forward well from the defenders. Not since Dembele have we had a player who could collect the ball, move forward with strength and play a decent pass.

Fixed that for yaa. :D
    Injury Lo Celso ...

Alonso and Giroud to score tomorrow night ? :confused: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭abff

I don't know why (maybe it's the early afternoon glass of wine I've just quaffed), but I'm suddenly feeling a burst of optimism. I think the players we have are a lot better than the recent performances we have seen and I feel that we just need something positive to happen to allow us to turn the corner. Maybe tomorrow will be it.

If we can beat Chelsea tomorrow (and, let's face it, we haven't had a lot of success against them recently, apart from the Carabao Cup penalty shootout), that could give us the impetus we need to move forward. So fingers crossed the players will live up to their potential tomorrow and, if Kane then comes back sooner than originally expected, that will give the team a huge lift.

Onwards and upwards! Audere est Facere!!!

abff wrote: »
    I don't know why (maybe it's the early afternoon glass of wine I've just quaffed), but I'm suddenly feeling a burst of optimism. I think the players we have are a lot better than the recent performances we have seen and I feel that we just need something positive to happen to allow us to turn the corner. Maybe tomorrow will be it.

If we can beat Chelsea tomorrow (and, let's face it, we haven't had a lot of success against them recently, apart from the Carabao Cup penalty shootout), that could give us the impetus we need to move forward. So fingers crossed the players will live up to their potential tomorrow and, if Kane then comes back sooner than originally expected, that will give the team a huge lift.

It really is the hope that kills you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Jeeez I'm the complete opposite and can't see where the next win is going to come from :(

Deluded Spurs fan.
    SuprSi wrote: »
    Jeeez I'm the complete opposite and can't see where the next win is going to come from :(
    Real Spurs fan ...

(im joking...... kinda....) :)

ABFF - Its the drink talking, :D

I dint think I will even watch it, we will be spanked

things are gone that bad that jose is crawling to dele for a lift

PS I hope Im wrong but I cant see it...........................

Im coming around to being interested in what happens

Optimistic hat on,

Lloris

Toby. Reguilon.

Hojbjerg

Ndombele lo celso alli

Son kane vinicius

Now that is not a formation but they are players that have quality

Its to get them playing, and to get the players who lack quality to do a decent job in between them.

Not a great job, just decent.

I cannot believe that is beyond the manager and the players.

This is a low, itll pick up at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Ha ha nice one Brighton hammering pool at anfield. They got the game plan right and never looked in danger from the chumps!!!

Brighton win at Anfield. In fairness they were better than Liverpool were against us this past week so no surprise!

Any chance of a glass of that wine that abff and snoop are drinking

Ndombele is a very good example of what you have said.

Im coming around to being interested in what happens

Optimistic hat on,

Lloris

Toby. Reguilon.

Hojbjerg

Ndombele lo celso alli

Son kane vinicius

Now that is not a formation but they are players that have quality

Its to get them playing, and to get the players who lack quality to do a decent job in between them.

Not a great job, just decent.

I cannot believe that is beyond the manager and the players.

This is a low, itll pick up at some stage

So optimistic, we only need 10 player s???? :pac: :D:D
    And two of them are injured at the moment??

"to get the players who lack quality to do a decent job in between them"

clear enough id have said? We have a support squad of another ten players who are limited or patchy but who can and should be able to pitch in as required.

Even when we were getting top 4 regularly we had fullbacks that couldnt defend (we just set a tactic to nullify this)

Any news on the line up for the match. Ndombele appears to be available. Will post when we have more information.

Don't want to be carded but no team if rather beat than Chelsea.

Out - Kane, Alli and Lo Celso.

I think he will play 442 , as they seem to favour 3 at the back with tuchel.

Lloris

Aurier* Toby Dier Davies

Moura** Hojbjerg NDombele Bergjiwn

Son Vini

*Hard to know - i hope he doesnt pick Errorier , but would he chance Tanganga? Doherty ??
    **Or else Sissoko to protect the full back, as his tracking back is better than Moura .

Its so hard to predict, seeing that he tried 352/532 in the last two games and it didnt work.
    But he cant trust his right backs (aurier and doherty) in a flat back 4.
    Big decisions for him!!

COYS

joeguevara wrote: »
    Any news on the line up for the match. Ndombele appears to be available. Will post when we have more information.

Don't want to be carded but no team if rather beat than Chelsea.

4 posts about the game on Sunday.
    Be interesting to see how many this evening !! :D

Their cup final :P

greenspurs wrote: »
    4 posts about the game on Sunday.
    Be interesting to see how many this evening !! :D

Their cup final :P

Depends on how many goals we score.

One of my favourite memories is attending the league cup final against Blackburn in 2002 (we lost) but the chant of

Who put the ball in Chelseas net

Arfur, Arfur,

Who put the ball in Chelseas net

Half of Fcucking Tottenham

Still makes me laugh. Reference to the 5-1 annihilation of Chelsea in the semi final 2nd leg.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whodafunk

I know we are limited somewhat up front but I really keep asking myself when is Bergwijn going to come good?

The difference between the experts discussion on spurs v Brighton and Liverpool v Brighton results is chalk and cheese. Spurs were lambasted by them and they were saying that spurs team should hang heads in shame but in the other match it was Brighton masterclass.