Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Truth about traveller crime

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Hit them in their pockets.....only way
    70% dole for the next ten weeks would get these boys to tow the line pretty fast.

No, it would just motivate more to get out and rob even more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

This is how to deal with them. No nonsense.
    https://youtu.be/_OUrjZrCF1I
    And they don't take lip off them either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭cms88

Do the likes of Pavee Point, John Connors etc really think they don't do anything wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

They'd show up anyway if the Garda tried to police it and it would be more trouble than it's worth, unfortunately.

Once again true but you can't have rules and laws apply to some and not others

Sure what's to stop 500 at a funeral so?

It's mixed messages like this that lead to people becoming complacent as well

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

cms88 wrote: »
    Do the likes of Pavee Point, John Connors etc really think they don't do anything wrong?

They know right well what's happening.

But their speil is very lucrative for their 'cause' at the moment.

It'll backfire in the long run. More & more people are sick to the back teeth of their antics at this stage.

Their carry on during this pandemic has hardened the attitude towards them even further.

They think they're being smart & they're being led by the nose by these people to their Waterloo.

Make no mistake, there will be a backlash against them eventually.

If the govt doesn't act, people will take the law into their own hands.

When it happens, I will be in the front row taking photos.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Cake Man

The thing is (and I don't mean to be smart or condescending), do travellers even comprehend or even understand this whole Covid-19? I read last week that Gardai are running educational type sessions with them on what the virus is about and how to prevent the spread with social distancing etc. (yet another fine use of taxpayers money :rolleyes:)
    If I'm honest, even if they did form some sort of understanding of the virus I don't think they'd give too much of a flying fcuk about it and would see these restrictions in place as a barrier and inconvenience to their day to day lives. Social responsibility wouldn't exactly be their strong point.
    The father in law is a bus driver for Bus Eireann and was saying plenty of them getting on buses going around places. "Where are ye going?" he'd ask them? "Ah sure we're heading out to visit the uncle/cousins..." they'd reply.
    "You know ye shouldn't be visiting people at this time?" the FIL would go back with. "Ah sure we have to go see them...."

Basically just carriers of the virus with no shame or sense of doing the right thing. Like I said above, most are probably too stupid to even understand the implications.
    No surprise to see they are using Covid-19 as an opportunity to play the "woe is me" card that they're the poor vulnerable members of society that need to be catered to to be protected.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭endacl

pablo128 wrote: »
    This is how to deal with them. No nonsense.
    https://youtu.be/_OUrjZrCF1I
    And they don't take lip off them either.
    Serious discrimination there. Polite white Dutch police officer taking a van off other white people because they ignored the rules regarding driving vans in Holland.

Wonder could the Korps Nationale Politie be persuaded to come over here and offer a bit of training?

"No, you see sir. Because you do not own this land, you must vacate it now. OK Ambroos. Bring in the JCB. And mind the horses. They'll be taken to a rescue. What? I'm being racist? Impossible. I'm Dutch. We're the coolest people ever. Also, you're white. Like me. Are you a bit stupid? Is it because of the.... how do you say.... generations of inbreeding?"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

FG gave them ethnic minority status. FG are still running the country.
    FF would have done the same.

That said, with the high suicide rate I don't thunk being a traveller is fun.

FG did that as a gift to the media and NGO sector

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Spotted a bunch of them on those stupid horse drawn carriages in Dublin yesterday.

Ironic thing is they both had protective masks on but were pissing into tesco shopping bags and fúcking them onto the road after they emptied their bladders.

Zero fúcks given...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Cake Man wrote: »
    The thing is (and I don't mean to be smart or condescending), do travellers even comprehend or even understand this whole Covid-19? I read last week that Gardai are running educational type sessions with them on what the virus is about and how to prevent the spread with social distancing etc. (yet another fine use of taxpayers money :rolleyes:)
    If I'm honest, even if they did form some sort of understanding of the virus I don't think they'd give too much of a flying fcuk about it and would see these restrictions in place as a barrier and inconvenience to their day to day lives. Social responsibility wouldn't exactly be their strong point.
    The father in law is a bus driver for Bus Eireann and was saying plenty of them getting on buses going around places. "Where are ye going?" he'd ask them? "Ah sure we're heading out to visit the uncle/cousins..." they'd reply.
    "You know ye shouldn't be visiting people at this time?" the FIL would go back with. "Ah sure we have to go see them...."

Basically just carriers of the virus with no shame or sense of doing the right thing. Like I said above, most are probably too stupid to even understand the implications.
    No surprise to see they are using Covid-19 as an opportunity to play the "woe is me" card that they're the poor vulnerable members of society that need to be catered to to be protected.
    and when there's a big death rate it'll be evidence of discrimination against the indigenous Mincéir people

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

goose2005 wrote: »
    and when there's a big death rate it'll be evidence of discrimination against the indigenous Mincéir people

sure its as good a time as any , the pubs are all shut, theres gardai everywhere, the locals aren't out on the streets and the hotels aren't taking bookings, thats 3/4 of the requirements for any small town traveller funeral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Cake Man wrote: »
    The thing is (and I don't mean to be smart or condescending), do travellers even comprehend or even understand this whole Covid-19?

From what I've seen locally, I don't think so. Or if they do, they just don't give a damn. Maybe they just think given the close proximity in the halting site and the houses they live in, that it's just not worth making the effort.

As for the gang reported to be arrived at the Curragh, they should be escorted back to the ferry and run out of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

No, it would just motivate more to get out and rob even more

So basically "pay me or I'll rob you"?
    I think this concept is failing in Ireland &UK:
    The burglary rate per 100k pouluation in UK is several times higher than in Eastern Europe where they don't subsidize potential burglars.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Travellers revel in chaos, if they get the virus in droves, they get to go to hospital which means their entire extended family get to go to hospital, they love that sh1t

Keyzer wrote: »
    Spotted a bunch of them on those stupid horse drawn carriages in Dublin yesterday.

Ironic thing is they both had protective masks on but were pissing into tesco shopping bags and fúcking them onto the road after they emptied their bladders.

I'd call it: "vital family reasons including caring for children, elderly or vulnerable people"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Travellers revel in chaos, if they get the virus in droves, they get to go to hospital which means their entire extended family get to go to hospital, they love that sh1t

Well hopefully they don't get it, you wouldn't want them anywhere near an A&E right now. Maybe because they don't really interact with the rest of society they may not get the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭briany

Well hopefully they don't get it, you wouldn't want them anywhere near an A&E right now. Maybe because they don't really interact with the rest of society they may not get the virus.

It's not as if Travellers never leave their halting sites or houses. And when they're out of those, they breathe the same air as everyone else. And it only takes one to be infected, and a flippant attitude, to spell disaster for many within that community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Gal2glam

briany wrote: »
    It's not as if Travellers never leave their halting sites or houses. And when they're out of those, they breathe the same air as everyone else. And it only takes one to be infected, and a flippant attitude, to spell disaster for many within that community.

Saw a group of them kicked out of Lidl on the Headford road for going around touching all the fresh produce. Sooner they’re done away with the better :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

The way I see it is, travellers contribute nothing to my country except crime and violence. So why on earth should I feel bad or guilty about the supposed 'racism' they face?

They are some of the worst racists ive ever come across. .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I see PP have lodged a complaint against the show. Another cry of racism.

https://www.paveepoint.ie/complaint-against-channel-4-in-relation-to-dispatches-programme/

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    FG did that as a gift to the media and NGO sector

sure they did.
    na1 wrote: »
    So basically "pay me or I'll rob you"?
    I think this concept is failing in Ireland &UK:
    The burglary rate per 100k pouluation in UK is several times higher than in Eastern Europe where they don't subsidize potential burglars.

eastern europe likely haven't cut their police forces so much that they are ineffective, whereas the uk has.
    i'm sure if britain had a properly funded police force and actual numbers which could allow for the job to be done, it would be able to be done.
    The way I see it is, travellers contribute nothing to my country except crime and violence. So why on earth should I feel bad or guilty about the supposed 'racism' they face?

because racism and similar have no place in society, it's as simple as that, really.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

eastern europe likely haven't cut their police forces so much that they are ineffective, whereas the uk has.
    i'm sure if britain had a properly funded police force and actual numbers which could allow for the job to be done, it would be able to be done.

what's the point of arresting the criminal only to get him/her 3 month suspended sentence?

In Eastern Europe the repeatable offender face a compulsory prison term (no suspended sentence), and the length of the term is normally longer than for the first time offenders.

The 60-100+ convictions which are common in Ireland, are impossible there as it will take 100-s of years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

what's the point of arresting the criminal only to get him/her 3 month suspended sentence?

In Eastern Europe the repeatable offender face a compulsory prison term (no suspended sentence), and the length of the term is normally longer than for the first time offenders.

The 60-100+ convictions which are common in Ireland, are impossible there as it will take 100-s of years.

Take there dole money actually use there dole money to pay there free legal aid .
    If it’s one thing the travellers love it’s there dole and they’ll mind that

Take there dole money actually use there dole money to pay there free legal aid .

I remember the figures of 70k+ for a prison space annual costs, which is budget (tax) money.

And I know for example in Russia the prison labor camps are actually self efficient money-wise, even making some small profit, which is spent on renovations and other unplanned costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Which country and link us up please?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

cms88 wrote: »

In fairness Pavee Point did criticise the Curragh lads, and ya i know they then asked for toilets etc

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the length of sentences can be changed, it requires political will granted but it can easily be done if the will is there.
    bringing them before the courts means they get convicted at least which is better then nothing i guess.

their dole money would i suspect never cover the cost, and you can be damn sure those within the criminal fraternity who are receiving dole will just replace it via more crime unfortunately.
    remember the whole point of free legal aid is to provide legal defence and access to justice for those who do not have the means to afford it, i believe it has to be applied for and it can be denied once it can be shown that an individual has the means to actually pay for it in full.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

What is happening in the traveller community is tragic and the bleeding heart academics and NGOs have ironically done no favours for the very people they purport to.advocate for. It is a community freewheeling to disaster and because the racist card is used so often, no retrospection or accountability happens ergo it's a cycle of repetition. The welfare system has disabled them, crime and abuse particularly towards women and animals seems to be glorified in some parts of the community and education is something to be suspicious of. And I'm not advocating for them, but the high rates of suicide, mental health and addiction issues show that as a group of people, they are struggling and walking themselves into disaster. But because they have become so insular, I don't believe the settled community have seen the horrors that are inflicted by them on their own community. I've heard stories from those who have worked on sites that would haunt you. It's a situation that is only escalating and short of harsher prison sentences and reduced social welfare I can't see how this will improve for many generations.

Which country and link us up please?

for example:

https://www.imolin.org/doc/amlid/Russian_Federation_Criminal_Code.pdf

Article 18. Recidivism
    a) when a person has committed a grave crime, for which he is sentenced to a real
    deprivation of liberty, if earlier this person has been sentenced twice or more
    times to deprivation of liberty for intentional medium gravity crimes
    Article 68. Imposition of Punishment in Case of Recidivism of Crimes
    1. When imposing punishment in a case of recidivism, dangerous recidivism or especially
    dangerous recidivism, account shall be taken of the nature and degree of the social danger
    of the crimes committed earlier, the circumstances by virtue of which corrective
    influence of the previous punishment has proved to be insufficient, and also the nature
    and degree of the social danger of the newly committed crimes.
    2. The term of punishment in a case of any recidivism may not be less than one third of
    the maximum term of the most severe penalty prescribed for the crime committed, but
    within the limits of the sanction of the appropriate article of the Special Part of this Code.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,404 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Up to their usual tricks under so called lockdown - going around in their vans calling to houses looking to do jobs like cleaning gutters, in particular targeting the elderly with cognitive impairement and dementia.

In the footage I saw of Garda checkpoints it was only private cars that were being stopped. Are travellers' vans being stopped. Even if they are, a Garda recruit straight out of Templemore is going to be no match for these professional manipulators who know how to work the system better than anyone.

I had a 5 minute conversation with one of these travellers the other day - I've encountered him before and he's no the worst of them, as in, he only lies, scams and manipulates but doesn't rob or attack people to my knowledge. Still amazing how everything he said to me was a lie and convincing enough if you were an elderly person, foreign national etc. who didn't get the nuance and know what you were dealing with.