Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai do nothing as Racist Travellers attack Chinese

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

if they picked on a triad member it could become interesting you do not mess with them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Discodog wrote: »
    A lot of the criminal acts are committed by Traveller children - throwing rocks seems to be a favourite.

Read what i posted again....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Oh dear. So we will have the Chinese guy charged with serious assault & the travellers free & seeking huge compensation.

Hopefully not, looks like self defense

One law for criminal vermin, another for the law abiding citizens. About time there was a judicial review on the gaurds inability or unwillingness to prosecute or obtain custodial sentences.

They guy who killed a youngster in Donegal who had over 500 previous convictions - why was this
    piece of filth not already locked up.

How the f**k do you blame Gardai for not prosecuting and sentences? Do you have any idea how the system works? Do you live in mega city with judge dredd or something?

500 convictions, so the Gardai arrested, prosecuted and obtained 500 convictions then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

A number of traveller girls in Thurles are dating/marrying Muslims and Africans and some are converting to Islam with disapproval from their families of course. Interesting times ahead.

Strangely its probably a good thing as Africans and Muslims would chooses houses over caravans and place value on education and attending school therefore the kids will actually have a chance of being a part of normal society abiding to common social norms.

One flaw in my theory is that if the mothers are the 'what ya looking at ?", fat aggressive shoplifting type than the kids will more than likely be scum regardless of the fathers ethnicity.

Its the Traveller/ Roma hybrids in Cork that are gonna be something else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

The Chinese guy opened the scumbag up with a machete after he burst into the building and attacked him. Proper order, he didn't hit the P***k hard enough. These f**kers don't care about human society whatsoever, walking around with their 100+ convictions and not facing any sort of repercussions from the stunts they pull. Pure human waste

Not quite but close. This group went into Xi'an the night before. Acting the way they always act around Galway. To move them on they were given free food. They returned the next day looking for same. The gentleman they met on this occasion was not as forthcoming as the person the previous time. Words were exchanged. Lovely lad in the blue hoodie reached over the counter attempting to either grab a person or object. He was met with some resistance...... all the other stuff racist ****e and whatnot was just a follow on from the group that felt the resistance was unfair. Hence the reason they didn't leave the scene and in the end were also looking for their pound of flesh while talking to the Gardai. If people only saw the clip with the Gardai you'd swear they had been wronged the way they were going on. Nothing good ever comes of it. They'll get convictions. Big whoop. They'll be on the streets in no time. They won't pay to fix the damaged caused. And I'm sure we'll them back on the streets soon enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Oops! wrote: »
    Read what i posted again....:rolleyes:

I did & I don't disagree with your post

• Registered Users Posts: 10,723 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Strangely its probably a good thing as Africans and Muslims would chooses houses over caravans and place value on education and attending school therefore the kids will actually have a chance of being a part of normal society abiding to common social norms.

One flaw in my theory is that if the mothers are the 'what ya looking at ?", fat aggressive shoplifting type than the kids will more than likely be scum regardless of the fathers ethnicity.

Its the Traveller/ Roma hybrids in Cork that are gonna be something else.

The taxpayer will foot the bill for. I suspect those settling down with travelers are unlikely to be "engineers or doctors" like we are told all asylum seekers are...

Lets hope the women can convince them to stay in caravans!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

How the f**k do you blame Gardai for not prosecuting and sentences? Do you have any idea how the system works? Do you live in mega city with judge dredd or something?

500 convictions, so the Gardai arrested, prosecuted and obtained 500 convictions then?

Start a poll here or anywhere else & ask people if they think the Gardai act against traveller crime ? I am aware of several cases where organisations & charities have asked Gardai to act concerning blatant animal cruelty - they never do.

Some weeks there are more than one incident per day concerning one traveller site. Horses on the roads getting hit by cars, kids throwing rock etc. The Gardai are called over & over again.

The recent Channel 4 documentary showed exactly the same thing. People in the UK have no faith in the Police regarding traveller crime. One Police officer admitted that they are afraid of the racist accusation.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Let me get this straight you want to compare a family that,pay taxes,create employment and work hard at national level to improve their community,with no previous covictons, to the complete opposite in every way.

if someone ingages in beating someone up then they are a scumbag, regardless of how much tax they pay or how hard they work.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I watched this on Thursday.

The Truth about Traveller Crime

https://www.channel4.com/programmes/dispatches

Exactly the same in the UK. Statistics showing that crime is higher near Traveller sites & Police are scared to act for fear of racism accusations. Also the Police said that budget cuts meant it was harder to get together the numbers needed to visit Traveller Sites.

One Traveller "Boss" (Paddy Doherty of Gypsy Weddings fame) said that it's a few families on each site & that the majority don't support them. His site is crime free but it does beg the question as to why the other "bosses" don't impose their power & throw out the criminal element.
    Channel 4, those notorious racists

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: @jim salter - don't post in the thread again.

Everybody else, using this incident as justification to tar all travellers with the same brush ends here. Argue the subject of the thread as you wish, but any further posts recommending 'removing these people from society' etc will be met with a forum ban from here on in.

I can smell his oxters from here.:eek:

What are oxters? Do I want to google it?

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Connacht15

On the contrary Gardaí are the only people that do stand up to them. It's a rare day that you see an ordinary member of the public stand up to them, tell them to feck off to the back of the queue or wait their turn.
    They do what they do because they get away with it 99% of the time and people won't challenge them. The only time that anyone does challenge them is when it's a cop.

Not true... Castlerea is the committal prison for Connacht, Donegal, Cavan and Longford. Anyone in these areas is sent there by default and there's a lot of traveller crime in these areas in comparison to 'non-traveller' crime. Castlerea therefore has the highest percentage of travellers of all the Irish prisons. Sometimes Prisoners in other places may request a transfer there because they have family there but a Dublin / Cork / Limerick traveller will never be sentenced there from his local court.
    Countrywide anywhere from 20 to 30% of prisoners at any one time are travellers.

20% to 30% of the prison population from a group who are less than 1% of the general population although growing!
    And any amount of them are 'legitimate' millionaires thanks to the SW system!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I know these traveller girls. Dating Bangladeshi and Pakistani men who work in the takeaways and convenience stores. A neighbour of mine is a traveller and is dating an African man. As I said very interesting times ahead regarding Travellers acceptance of other cultures and faiths. Will the PC brigade defend the travellers if they start disowning their children, siblings etc

Right so, you can’t back it up then.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Oops! wrote: »
    Correct, they were already shunned by their familys.... Some of them very nice girls, but they are not the problem as you say, i know from experience... People from the area just don't want the hassle... Not easy either way.

These girls are very poorly educated and have had, in a way. a very sheltered upbringing especially regarding romantic relationships.
    They would be very vulnerable to men who would seek to exploit that.
    Now I’m not saying that all Sth Asian men are exploitative but the fact remains that they are coming from an extremely patriarchal society which, ironically is the very atmosphere these girls seek to escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Right so, you can’t back it up then.

I’m from Thurles and I’ve backed him up. What do you want exactly a peer reviewed university produced report on traveller girls dating habits in Thurles in 2020?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

splinter65 wrote: »
    These girls are very poorly educated and have had, in a way. a very sheltered upbringing especially regarding romantic relationships.
    They would be very vulnerable to men who would seek to exploit that.
    Now I’m not saying that all Sth Asian men are exploitative but the fact remains that they are coming from an extremely patriarchal society which, ironically is the very atmosphere these girls seek to escape.

That's true aswell, it's why i've already said they have no chance from when they were young really. Only in the very few small number of different cases...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Start a poll here or anywhere else & ask people if they think the Gardai act against traveller crime ?

It doesn't matter what they 'think' as to wether or not they act. The numbers show that they act on Traveller crime or can you explain how they end up in prison and with so many convictions otherwise.
    How does a lad end up with 100+ convictions if the police don't prosecute them?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

Connacht15 wrote: »
    20% to 30% of the prison population from a group who are less than 1% of the general population although growing!
    And any amount of them are 'legitimate' millionaires thanks to the SW system!

That fact says it all

• Registered Users Posts: 52,012 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That fact says it all

It also says that your first post in the thread was a load of bull.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Rodin wrote: »
    Judiciary are independent.

of course they aren't

the Judiciary are guided funded and regulated by the government of the day,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Gardaí do nothing as racist travellers attack Chinese........

Makes it sound like travellers are beating up Chinese people and guards are standing by watching.

OP should write for a tabloid. They know how to get the maximum from a story.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

What's with all this "pikey" talk?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭d-don

What's with all this "pikey" talk?

The ethnic minority ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

horrible *****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

White people CANNOT BE RACIST to other White people.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I actually think if the women could be liberated from this life they're born into that would stop this cycle forever. They're the ones I feel sorry for, they're not the violent criminals. Child brides, no education, domestic abuse. Problem is that they don't know any better, a kind of Stockholm Syndrome.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Damien360 wrote: »
    It won't change. I live near a primary school and on any given day, you will find teenage Traveller girls waiting to pick up their brothers and sisters when they should be in school themselves. Education first to higher levels or nothing changes. They have to mix with others and not remain among the very tight knit group. These are not poor travellers either. The very large extended family are pharmaceutical specialists of sorts. Huge homes, plenty of money, land purchased all over town with lots of rental property. Contrast that with the genuinely poor travellers out in the halting site that make sure the kids get to school. I have passed the dad (only one family out there now) on many occasions bringing them all home walking along a dangerous road.

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

splinter65 wrote: »
    I’m from Thurles and I’ve backed him up. What do you want exactly a peer reviewed university produced report on traveller girls dating habits in Thurles in 2020?

Forgive me me if I don’t take your word on it.
    I don’t give a **** what you think tbh. I asked for verification and got none. I asked how it differed from the settled community and was ignored.

The pair of you are coming across as a pair of bar stool hogging jealous gents. However the pubs aren’t open so it’s probably just the normal sh1te talk from the usual crew.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.