Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bikes on donedeal, ebay, adverts etc..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The selection is much better alright, but after a bit of research, it seems like such a pain to either take the risk of getting pulled by the cops, OR the expense of a van or trailer.

I'd love to go over, but from reading previous threads, the tax and insurance side of things sounds unnecessarily complex?

Why would the cops pull you over?

p.s. If you risk riding without tax and/or MOT you're asking for trouble. Insurance is assumed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Why would the cops pull you over?

p.s. If you risk riding without tax and/or MOT you're asking for trouble. Insurance is assumed.

Tax doesn't transfer between people, so you have to sort it without a UK address.

There was some confusion about insurance abroad in the previous thread, I'll see if I can pull the link...

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057741666

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Tax doesn't transfer between people, so you have to sort it without a UK address.

There was some confusion about insurance abroad in the previous thread, I'll see if I can pull the link...

Insurance wouldn't be a problem. Insuring a UK reg'd bike is easy. Tax wise I'm sure I could provide a UK address.

A months road tax is under £8 for 600+cc. Get a friend in the UK to set up and pay by ddm. Cancel after 1st months payment. Sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,867 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25044949

My friend is selling his Kawasaki 650 Ninja. Only recently bought it but wants to get a cruiser now instead. Runs great and the colour really pops. Worth a look anyway :D

I paid less than that for my SV1000 - from a dealer! Ok so it's two years older and 55000km, but still.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

I paid less than that for my SV1000 - from a dealer! Ok so it's two years older and 55000km, but still.

I can’t really argue as it’s my friends bike and that’s what they are going for but there’s always room for price drops as they say :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭H_Lime

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/yamaha-xjr-1300/25117534
    2015?! Weird to see one so new, lovely tho!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-pacific-coast-800-super-cruiser-px/25117188
    A nineties fridge on 2 wheels? Strangely alluring, guilty pleasure?

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/ducati-600-supersport-13-000-miles-px/25117258
    Want!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/2003-yamaha-xt-600/25119320
    Want.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-cbr-250rr-mc22-full-set-of-pistons-and-rings/25119165
    How cool.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/2011-moto-guzzi-stelvio-1200-ntx/25118733
    Engine gear and trans scare the shyte outa me but good to see a minded one.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/suzuki-gsx-1100et/25117870
    Lovely. I'd like the head, inlets, carbs, swinger and front end for my 78 1000.
    Incidentally, is it a ****in Irish thing or something not advertising the price on "a bike such as this type ad" get a grip of fookin reality and puke the price up on the ad and don't be a time waster.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/ducati-750ssie/25128497
    If it could be got for a grand I'd rip all plastics off, install a two into one, flat bars and rag her on back roads till the inevitable happened...

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/2009-v-max-1700/23360793
    Wow

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/suzuki-tl1000r/25056790
    Niiiice

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-fireblade-929rr/24921597
    Want another!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-africa-twin-xrv-750/24986930
    Wonder where the trip was to? He knows his bike!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/yamaha-ty80/25124874
    Lovely little ty, will it fetch 2300 tho?

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/rd350-ypvs-31k/25121903
    Might sell across the water but here at that price? Lovely job done.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/suzuki-gn-250/25122755
    Lovely!!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/2006-ktm-950-sm/24999677
    I'd have one, maybe....

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/motorcycles/25120746
    Holy moly!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/yamaha-ttr250/25130896
    Want!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/13-kawasaki-zx10r-warranty-black-white/24965967
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/kawasaki-z1000-new-model-warranty-red-white-black/24926442
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/kawasaki-er6f-2017/25122468
    OK I'm racis against kawasaki. What the actual fookin f is going on with them. Styled by an eight year old with blunt crayon who's drank 6 red bulls.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/2005-kawasaki-zx10r-ninja-buy-online/25119427
    Hire back the guy who did this
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/00-zx7-r-for-sale/25130545
    And this!

And one for hotbackD
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-cbr600f-quick-sale/25129569
    Re-live the youth!!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,613 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Tax transfers with the plate on the bike so if the bike is bought it technically does transfer between people.

A new owner doesnt retax it if it has tax left on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,093 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Nice blade here for sale

This bike only went up for sale in the UK during the week so didn't take long to sell and pop up for sale again in Ireland.

The UK owner had a triumph and this blade to sell as he wanted an Aprilia (getting sense at last :pac:).

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-fireblade/25191809

blade1 wrote: »
    Nice blade here for sale

This bike only went up for sale in the UK during the week so didn't take long to sell and pop up for sale again in Ireland.

The UK owner had a triumph and this blade to sell as he wanted an Aprilia (getting sense at last :pac:).

Saucy quids for an rrt, even a clean one. Colour are gack to my eye but she's well presented. He mirror polished the fork lowers, looks well.

H_Lime wrote: »
    Saucy quids for an rrt, even a clean one. Colour are gack to my eye but she's well presented. He mirror polished the fork lowers, looks well.

It's been kept very well and the colours will definitely appeal to plenty.
    I wasn't too gone on that colour when it came out but it's grown on me and I think it looks well when it's nice and shiny.
    It's 954 money or more but if you buy a cheap one it ain't going to be as clean as this.

There was an urban tiger for sale for 5k recently.
    That's more crazy.

It's been kept very well and the colours will definitely appeal to plenty.
    I wasn't too gone on that colour when it came out but it's grown on me and I think it looks well when it's nice and shiny.
    It's 954 money or more but if you buy a cheap one it ain't going to be as clean as this.

There was an urban tiger for sale for 5k recently.
    That's more crazy.
    The journos call them shell suit colour schemes i call them calf scour yellow:pac: Weird even in their day and they've dated badly imo but this is all subjective the market decides. The urban tiger does command a somewhat of a premium but that scheme I dont think so. I had one BTW lol http://suprememotos.com/honda/100978-honda-fireblade-rrt-rr-t-classic-superbike-low-mileage-all-original.html
    Me, if I wanted a yellow blade I'd buy this https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-fireblade-929/25103844 and spend the grand savings on a nitron shock and fork kit.

The journos call them shell suit colour schemes i call them calf scour yellow:pac: Weird even in their day and they've dated badly imo but this is all subjective the market decides. The urban tiger does command a somewhat of a premium but that scheme I dont think so. I had one BTW lol http://suprememotos.com/honda/100978-honda-fireblade-rrt-rr-t-classic-superbike-low-mileage-all-original.html
    Me, if I wanted a yellow blade I'd buy this https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-fireblade-929/25103844 and spend the grand savings on a nitron shock and fork kit.

First one clean and would be just at costly as the one I linked by the time you had it here and vrt'd. More in fact
    Second one looks likes it's been butchered a bit.
    Fairing has also been painted and distastefully imo.
    I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.
    The 929 also thirstiest and worst fueling of the blades.

First one clean and would be just at costly as the one I linked by the time you had it here and vrt'd. More in fact
    Second one looks likes it's been butchered a bit.
    The 929 also thirstiest and worst fueling of the blades.
    The mid ninties blades were mostly painted distastefully haha:o:P The one I linked was just to show my gak colours not to compare prices. Bought it in tralee, 2.3k euro must be ten yrs ago, was nearly as clean as yer mates one. It made 114 on cawleys dj250i

Just my tuppence but most lads with a wedge of readies faced with buying the yellow 929 or the yellow one ye linked would prob shoot for the 929, its a far superior machine and looks better too. Still n all, it takes but one guy to want it and he has a sale and I wish him luck. I'm passionate about "older" bikes like that and really love to see a time warp example such as it.

Can't speak for all of em but my 929 had lovely fuelling! Meself and Fergus were hugely impressed with it, pulled 130, 3 less than a blackbird he had in a wk earlier. Ill try n dig the chart out, afr was 13.1 and she was bog stock bar a can. The bike felt light and agile and was a huge leap forward from the older blades.

The mid ninties blades were mostly painted distastefully haha:o:P The one I linked was just to show my gak colours not to compare prices. Bought it in tralee, 2.3k euro must be ten yrs ago, was nearly as clean as yer mates one. It made 114 on cawleys dj250i

Just my tuppence but most lads with a wedge of readies faced with buying the yellow 929 or the yellow one ye linked would prob shoot for the 929, its a far superior machine and looks better too. Still n all, it takes but one guy to want it and he has a sale and I wish him luck. I'm passionate about "older" bikes like that and really love to see a time warp example such as it.

Can't speak for all of em but my 929 had lovely fuelling! Meself and Fergus were hugely impressed with it, pulled 130, 3 less than a blackbird he had in a wk earlier. Ill try n dig the chart out, afr was 13.1 and she was bog stock bar a can. The bike felt light and agile and was a huge leap forward from the older blades.

What mate of mine blade?

The one I linked????
    I haven't a clue who he is.

What you make of the painting on the 929 u linked?
    Your right about the market though.
    I reckon the RRT wil be sold before that 929.

What mate of mine blade?

The one I linked????
    I haven't a clue who he is.

What you make of the painting on the 929 u linked?
    Your right about the market though.
    Yeah the cak yellow one, tbought he was yer mate no? Assumed he was and told ya bout the owner buying an ape n stuff??
    Yellar 929 is not the colour I'd go for but is heaps better looking and performing than the otger, also it's a stock scheme btw. After zoomin in it needs wheels coated and some love alright, not as clean as yer mat....lol sorry:pac: Just kidding blade:P
    I hope both sell, how's about that:o

Yeah the cak yellow one, tbought he was yer mate no? Assumed he was and told ya bout the owner buying an ape n stuff??
    Yellar 929 is not the colour I'd go for but is heaps better looking and performing than the otger, also it's a stock scheme btw. After zoomin in it needs wheels coated and some love alright, not as clean as yer mat....lol sorry:pac: Just kidding blade:P
    I hope both sell, how's about that:o

I know about the RRT because the lad in the UK was looking for an Ape and was putting it up for sale.
    That was around Wednesday.
    Had no idea the bike was even sold until I saw it on donedeal this morning.
    Your 929 is not a stock scheme.:p:pac:
    Front has been painted and looks completely wrong.
    Rear painted as well.
    Alarm bells straight away.
    As I said I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.
    This is what it should look like

hqdefault.jpg

I know about the RRT because the lad in the UK was looking for Ape and was putting it up for sale.
    Your 929 is not a stock scheme.:p:pac:
    Front has been painted and looks completely wrong.
    Alarm bells straight away.
    As I said I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.
    This is what it should look like

hqdefault.jpg
    6 hail Mary's for that hehe Thought was yank but yep they had the wing rather than the white fade when i checked. You n yer feckin yellows!!!!:pac::pac: only picked it as it was a yellar 929 lol.
    All the rwb 929's (faves) seem to have sold so that's a good indicator. There's a very grown up silver Ltd Ed? which I was mad for back in the day but strangely looks a little wrong now somehow.
    I suppose it boils down to is a mid nineties blade becoming collectable. Its being sold at a premium that as ye say could bag a 954 which is a good leap on from the 929 again. I know what I'd do n i'm a sad sap for this kinda nostalgia...

6 hail Mary's for that hehe Thought was yank but yep they had the wing rather than the white fade when i checked. You n yer feckin yellows!!!!:pac::pac: only picked it as it was a yellar 929 lol.
    All the rwb 929's (faves) seem to have sold so that's a good indicator. There's a very grown up silver Ltd Ed? which I was mad for back in the day but strangely looks a little wrong now somehow.
    I suppose it boils down to is a mid nineties blade becoming collectable. Its being sold at a premium that as ye say could bag a 954 which is a good leap on from the 929 again. I know what I'd do n i'm a sad sap for this kinda nostalgia...
    You just don't like yellow :pac:
    Some people love it.
    And for the record if I was to pick a yellow blade it would be a yellow 954.
    The one with yellow on top and black on bottom not vise versa.

Oh but then if I was to pick an 954 it would be the white one.

You just don't like yellow :pac:
    Some people love it.
    And for the record if I was to pick a yellow blade it would be a yellow 954.
    The one with yellow on top and black on bottom not vise versa.

Oh but then if I was to pick an 954 it would be the white one.

Yer mad I'd pick red!
    main.jpg
    Me old one, super sharp yoke and better road manners than my k5. Never checked dis have tapers removed tho.
    Actually, and no offence to yer name but fcuk blades, have you seen the price of clean early gixer thous!

Yer mad I'd pick red!
    main.jpg
    Me old one, super sharp yoke and better road manners than my k5. Never checked dis have tapers removed tho.
    Actually, and no offence to yer name but fcuk blades, have you seen the price of clean early gixer thous!

That red blade reminds of wheelie good time I had years a go.
    The blades are some wheelie machine.
    So linear from 0 to the limiter.
    Keep them up all day :pac:

Anytime I've tried to wheelie I've been torn between ****t1ng myself or feeling bad for not being mechanically sympathetic:pac: that n I'm sh1t at them
    At a glance there k3 1000's for under 4k on dd, k1 for 3k. Had a go of a k1 a few times and they were always impressive. Buddy in Wales had an lsl yoke conversion with magura fat bar and it was super tidy, no cutting of fairing, had a go and was so impressed with the comfort I decided if I couldn't make the blackbird as comfy I'd sell and do as he'd done.

Anytime I've tried to wheelie I've been torn between ****t1ng myself or feeling bad for not being mechanically sympathetic:pac: that n I'm sh1t at them
    At a glance there k3 1000's for under 4k on dd, k1 for 3k. Had a go of a k1 a few times and they were always impressive. Buddy in Wales had an lsl yoke conversion with magura fat bar and it was super tidy, no cutting of fairing, had a go and was so impressed with the comfort I decided if I couldn't make the blackbird as comfy I'd sell and do as he'd done.

The last blade I owned.
    Great bike.
    Easy to ride really fast and felt almost impossible to do something wrong on.

That was probably it's biggest downfall.
    It felt too safe and easy.
    Screenshot-20190922-121922-01.jpg

Never owned a Gixxer thou.
    750 alright.
    When they came out loads of lads I know bought them.
    They blew the blades and the R1's out of the water alright at the time.

Nice blade here for sale

The journos call them shell suit colour schemes i call them calf scour yellow:pac: Weird even in their day and they've dated badly imo but this is all subjective the market decides.

Just my tuppence but most lads with a wedge of readies faced with buying the yellow 929 or the yellow one ye linked would prob shoot for the 929

Well well well wadda ya know??? :pac::pac:

"My" blade seems to have sold and "your" 929 is still languishing there.

How would that be?
    Must be a strong market for cak as you put it, as it sold twice in no time in the space of days. :P :D

Like myself you seem to be an early riser and I'm laughing here as I eat my porridge lol, yer positively beaming. I can see you pressing refresh on the add all night:pac:
    So that was an expensive way to prove yer point blade and can I suggest on yer next outing we might see you in a fetching calf scour outfit such as this
    power-rangers-yellow-ranger-morphsuit.jpg
    Now excuse me while I go to auto trader and ebay and snap up every goddam shell suit scat 90's gsxr, yzf and blade paint job I can think of:D:)
    Joking aside fair ****s to em, assuming it's sold he speculated correctly and if sold at that price it answers my original question of is a mid nineties blade becoming collectable.

5am rise for me.
    Not awake all night.
    Sleep like a baby every night.

Your love for the 929 has blurred your brain a bit.
    Whatever you think of any other blade, the 929 is the least desirable to most people.

5am rise for me.
    Not awake all night.
    Sleep like a baby every night.

Your love for the 929 has blurred your brain a bit.
    Whatever you think of any other blade, the 929 is the least desirable to most people.

That may well be but it ain't gak looking like the your yellar one lol!:pac::pac:
    Your miles and tuonos will bully it, you do k ow that right?

That may well be but it ain't gak looking like the your yellar one lol!:pac::pac:
    Your miles and tuonos will bully it, you do k ow that right?

I do indeed.

Here's another one you'll find hard to stomach.:pac:

I had the same as this one myself (pity I didn't keep it in one piece.
    Made shît of it and myself.
    6 broken bones (2 shattered in pieces) and a year on crutches.

Check out the price :eek:

Screenshot-20200628-062756.jpg

I do indeed.

Here's another one you'll find hard to stomach.:pac:

I had the same as this one myself (pity I didn't keep it in one piece.
    Made shît of it and myself.
    6 broken bones (2 shattered in pieces) and a year on crutches.

Check out the price :eek:

Screenshot-20200628-062756.jpg

Sorry blade! Can't talk. Frantically buying all these to sell at a profit!!!;)
    images.jpg
    814064d382a11e8b375a1b499046ee8b.jpg
    Dy-RQMRb-Xc-AA8z-T7.jpg
    1666350.jpg
    unnamed-5.jpg
    1992-gsxr750-angle-725x375.jpg

Yeah yer old blade there is borderline gak but not even in the same universe as old yellar. I'm bad at picking paint names but I'm guessing you'd call that something like tope or teal. Perhaps it was all the coke they were taking dueling the power lunches, or the big brick phones irradiating the brains or sometbin haha.

Sorry blade! Can't talk. Frantically buying all these to sell at a profit!!!;)
    images.jpg
    814064d382a11e8b375a1b499046ee8b.jpg
    Dy-RQMRb-Xc-AA8z-T7.jpg
    1666350.jpg
    unnamed-5.jpg
    1992-gsxr750-angle-725x375.jpg

Yeah yer old blade there is borderline gak but not even in the same universe as old yellar. I'm bad at picking paint names but I'm guessing you'd call that something like tope or teal. Perhaps it was all the coke they were taking dueling the power lunches, or the big brick phones irradiating the brains or sometbin haha.

Whatever you think of those bikes there, I'd be fairly confident that they would all sell a lot quicker than the 929 u linked.
    Sometimes the seller tells you enough in the ad.
    Cleanest 00 bike out there?????
    Taking the piss a bit with that!

Rossi Replica????
    At that point he is starting to deserve a slap :pac:

Is it too much to ask for an honest ad?