Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭kingbhome

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1271028/Angela-Merkel-Germany-China-coronavirus-blame-Wuhan-Xi-Jinping-Trump-latest

Fair play to Germany, everyone should do this, send an invoice to your countries Chinese embassy - for any loss of earnings, lash in a few grand for the trauma of it all .... ****ing c*nts need to pay for all this...

Moves like this could start wars.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

kingbhome wrote: »
    It was mentioned to me they where open for home delivery for non essential.
    Are driveway repairs essential?
    I think the definition of essential is very loose, intentionally so. I'd say put a call into your local hardware store and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

On morning Ireland just now doctor Jack Lambert said that some GP’s are testing privately, not part of the official figures. He said that there are clusters in inner city Dublin and among the Roma and homeless communities! I certainly haven’t seen this reported anywhere, makes me seriously doubt the figures we’re being given. Looks like these people are not being isolated when diagnosed and are not included in the figures published.

A consultant from the Mater stated this on Prime time last week . He said a large percentage the patients in the Mater with Covid were Roma and Brazilian . I presume this is down to overcrowded living conditions in the inner city

Are hardware stores already in the running for bad boys of the week?!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1271028/Angela-Merkel-Germany-China-coronavirus-blame-Wuhan-Xi-Jinping-Trump-latest

Fair play to Germany, everyone should do this, send an invoice to your countries Chinese embassy - for any loss of earnings, lash in a few grand for the trauma of it all .... ****ing c*nts need to pay for all this...

What do you mean fairplay to Germany? It was a mainstream paper making up a fake invoice.

boo ****ing hoo nuke the c*nts

You do know you will get outside, your kids in a week or so!

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

...and this is what is wrong with tabloid media. The Express headline is “Germany sends China £130billion bill for 'coronavirus damages' – sparks fury in Beijing“. When you read the article, you eventually find the truth that this is a figure drummed up by Bild, Germany’s home grown red-top rag (ie, this is all made up by the media and there is nothing official about it)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I only skimmed through the link but it was a newspaper that issued the fake invoice, not the German government.

Personally I think China should be called out on this. The virus originated there. Apparently "only" 4,500 people died in the most populous country on the planet compared to about 100,000 in Europe. They tried to hide the severity of this virus at the beginning, and this has cost time and lives, not just in China, but in the rest of the world as well.

We are quick to rightly point out the failings of the American and British governments (not so much the Italian, Spanish and French for some reason), so I don't think the Chinese should escape criticism and questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Rubbish. The Chinese government are a plaque on this world, answerable to no-one, and care about no-one but themselves. Their attitude to this and every other issue they get involved in stinks.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I completely agree. I can never understand the obsession people have.

TDS.

A symptom of which is when you point out they have it they get angry and defensive :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Is diy stores , builders merchants open for home delivery this week. Someone mentioned it to me last night but don't know if true or not.

They are all legally allowed to open their doors but it's up to each business to decide.

is_that_so wrote: »
    One right beside me has been doing "emergency" since last week and I see a lot more cars outside this morning. Here's an official comment.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/hardware-stores-can-be-accessed-only-for-emergencies-says-minister-1.4232565

An official comment that's legally wrong.

Are hardware stores already in the running for bad boys of the week?!

They always were. The law allowed them to stay open from the start.

Discodog wrote: »
    An official comment that's legally wrong.
    Do you want to point to actual evidence of that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I hope this didnt happen here and our safety standards are better. Maybe the social divide and privatised medicine in the US didnt help this situation in the meat processing industry.

https://www.cbsnews.com/video/worlds-largest-pork-producer-closes-three-u-s-plants/

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/cargill-deena-hinshaw-covid-19-1.5536916?cmp=rss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-simon-harris-fears-air-of-complacency-creeping-in-1.4233145?mode=amp

I feel really bad for Simon Harris that his mom didn't once tell him for sure that she misses him.
    Mr Harris acknowledged that being separated from loved ones was difficult, adding that he had not seen his own mother for weeks.

“I really miss her and I think she misses me too…

Although she probably gets a delivery of this washing every few days so you couldn't miss him that much in those circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

So just over 2 weeks to go now.

Best of luck to anyone out of work currently. 2 weeks is a lifetime for any businness not to trade. Its going to be seriously hard to come back from this for a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think we need more multimillionaire celebrities telling us that they feel our pain and are going through the exact same experience as us.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrB9vl47LQc

50% of people are possibly asympyomatic.

encouraging that this lockdown should start to be lifted a few months rather than last the rest of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,677 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

So just over 2 weeks to go now.

Best of luck to anyone out of work currently. 2 weeks is a lifetime for any businness not to trade. Its going to be seriously hard to come back from this for a lot.

Two weeks to go until what? Most stuff wont be opening on the 5th of May unfortunately.

Do you want to point to actual evidence of that?

I don't want to because I have done so several times but I will if it prevents confusion.

SCHEDULE 1
    Regulation 3
    ESSENTIAL RETAIL OUTLETS

1. Outlets selling food or beverages on a takeaway basis, or newspapers, whether on a retail or wholesale basis and whether in a non-specialised or specialised outlet.

2. Outlets selling products necessary for the essential upkeep and functioning of places of residence and businesses, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

3. Pharmacies, chemists and retailers or wholesalers providing pharmaceuticals or pharmaceutical or dispensing services, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

4. Outlets selling health, medical or orthopaedic goods in a specialised outlet, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

5. Fuel service stations and heating fuel providers.

6. Outlets selling essential items for the health and welfare of animals (including animal feed and veterinary medicinal products, pet food, animal bedding and animal supplies), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

7. Laundries and drycleaners.

8. Banks, post offices and credit unions.

9. Outlets selling safety supplies (including work-wear apparel, footwear and personal protective equipment), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

10. Hardware outlets, builders’ merchants and outlets that provide, whether on a retail or wholesale basis - (a) hardware products necessary for home and business maintenance, (b) sanitation and farm equipment, or (c) supplies and tools essential for gardening, farming or agriculture purposes.

11. The following outlets insofar as they offer services on an emergency basis only: (a) optician and optometrist outlets; (b) outlets providing hearing test services or selling hearing aids and appliances;
    8 [121]

(c) outlets providing for the repair of mechanically propelled vehicles or for the repair of bicycles and any related facilities (including tyre sales and repairs); (d) outlets selling office products and services for businesses or for applicable persons working from their respective places of residence, whether on a retail or wholesale basis; (e) outlets providing electrical, information and communications technology and telephone sales, repair and maintenance services for places of residence and businesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/16/doctors-nurses-porters-volunteers-the-uk-health-workers-who-have-died-from-covid-19

This is a kind of tribute article to health workers in the NHS UK who have died of Covid up to now. It is sad to see all their lovely faces. These are not old people, they look like normal people, not obese, some a little overweight like the general population, but they must have been fit enough to do their demanding jobs. They really are among the ones who died running into battle.
    I wish people would rack off about the economy and think of these kinds of people. Money is an artificial construct, you know, purposely made scarce to create " value". 0s and 1s manipulated on a screen that have true purchasing power only at the top of the pyramid where the powerful buy up all the goodies on the planet. The rest of the plebs depend on the trickle down effect, otherwise illustrated as scraps thrown from the masters tables. All the well off people calling for the working class to go back out quickly to the front is only because they do not generate wealth themselves - they get wealthy off of other people's labour.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

What a deliberate misleading headline, designed for the large group of people that read headline but not the actual story. British gutter press tactic for years.

The German govt has made no demands of China. This was simply an opinion piece from the German equivalent of the Sun.

Two weeks to go until what? Most stuff wont be opening on the 5th of May unfortunately.

Yes most retail outlets will have to open. DIY stores etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

25% growth in cases in Singapore again today, 1500 new cases

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Yes most retail outlets will have to open. DIY stores etc.

i think they will have to wait until the end of may/start of june

boo ****ing hoo nuke the c*nts

I thought you jumped off a bridge yesterday?

Rubbish. The Chinese government are a plaque on this world, answerable to no-one, and care about no-one but themselves. Their attitude to this and every other issue they get involved in stinks.

I don't think we should nuke the Chinese , but putting a plaque up for them doesn't sound right either. What would it say:
    "The Chinese, A Great Bunch of Lads"

joe40 wrote: »
    What a deliberate misleading headline, designed for the large group of people that read headline but not the actual story. British gutter press tactic for years.

The German govt has made no demands of China. This was simply an opinion piece from the German equivalent of the Sun.

But the Chinese should be forced to pay some kind of reparations for this mess which they caused?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

MD1990 wrote: »
    i think they will have to wait until the end of may/start of june

I don't think so. I believe the 2km limit will be gone May 5th & some extra stores allowed to open.