Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

Hey snowcat, that’s two posts you made that hint at suicide - your own and your parents’ - as a reaction to this situation.

Please remember there will be an end to this, and there are brighter days ahead. Maybe give the Samaritans a call on 116 123 and talk through your thoughts, or contact them other ways here:

https://www.samaritans.org/ireland/samaritans-ireland/

Take care

Hi
    Give them a ring yourself. When are the brighter day? We have been told to extend indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Strumms wrote: »
    Our most natural instinct that outweighs everything that you posted... The human instinct to survive when our survival is threatened is our most natural instinct. It’s easier to suppress everything else when our wellbeing and that of our loved ones is threatened. So copping on, sitting at home, staying near home and being part of the formula of the fix instead of a part of the formula for death and illness isn’t a great hardship when you think about it.

Yes certain people I know are having an easier time than others that’s to be expected but the prize for winning this battle, this battle of health, battle of wills, battle of survival is LIFE and wellbeing for everyone... so people need to wrap their brains around that for a time.

Look Im sorry but this is waffle. Nursing home patients will have no effect on human survival as a species. Neither will Covid it will not be a drop in the ocean . Approximately 165 babies were born here today, and across the world the birth rate exceeds the death rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Frightening. More Frightening than any flu. No direction. No leadership skills. We were told we had to get an RO below 1. Mission accomplished. But no, we now need to solve the unsolvable crisis. How TF will restrictions outside a nursing home solve the problems within.

It won't, what's needed is a redeployment of resources directly to residential and nursing homes immediately. Not just testing but PPE, additional staffing, specialist care etc.
    Stop dopes like me from going more than 2km or shutting down shops won't make a jot of difference to those poor people losing their lives in these settings.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

JRant wrote: »
    So the CMO and Dr Nolan gave what can only be described as one of the most confusing press conferences to date. First the good news, community transmission is pretty much no existent with an R0 of 0.5/0.8. That's fantastic and we should all be extremely proud of what has been achieved since the beginning of March.

So community spread has gone down despite the fact that some people continue to go outside?
    Unbelievable!

I was lead to believe by Bandit Luke and Kermit De Frog that people going out for a walk, jog or even (god forbid) to sunbathe were going to kill everyone.

Time to get out of the hot presses folks.
    Newsflash! The gardens and parks are safe!

It's the same group thanking each other for their nonsense.

Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?
    Caught in a landslide, no escape from reality
    Open your eyes, look up to the skies and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭donaghs

thebaz wrote: »
    I think you know - but just in case you dont - The country has been in lockdown for over 5 week - the country has done its part in help flattening the curve , the 100,000 deaths has not happened, its now time to look at other areas in society that are suffering - the spiralling mental health problem and the huge amount of people who have other medical issues other than Covid 19.

Not to dismiss it, but Unemployment and poverty will be a bigger issue than covid lockdown mental health, in the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,454 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Look Im sorry but this is waffle. Nursing home patients will have no effect on human survival as a species. Neither will Covid it will not be a drop in the ocean . Approximately 165 babies were born here today, and across the world the birth rate exceeds the death rate.

Just on childbirth, I know of health care workers double jobbing between a hospital with Covid wards and the maternity hospital.
    Couldn't believe it. I know this person well. Seems like madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

donaghs wrote: »
    Not to dismiss it, but Unemployment and poverty will be a bigger issue than covid lockdown mental health, in the next year.

Ah don't worry bandit Luke and Kermit will be along shortly to tell them to shut up and watch Netflix at home and not to bother anyone with such trivialities as mental health, employment or having a roof over your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s not a numbers game. It’s about keeping everyone safe, healthy, alive. It’s of no fûcking consequence to me about kids being born in x hospital in whatever hospital in whatever city. My goal is to keep my family and friends safe and though my behavior and when I can influence the behaviors of others, not to be going acting the gob****e and breaking the regs, because of loneliness, because of boredom or feeling isolated I don’t care... no excuses.

The next few years more likely. The side effects of this lockdown will be long lasting. Remember, it took a good few years for the economy to recover from the last recession and that was on a part fiscally but nowhere near as bad on the unemployment figures.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭Birdy

I assume the plan goes through Government next Thursday.

It’s not a numbers game. It’s about keeping everyone safe, healthy, alive. It’s of no fûcking consequence to me about kids being born in x hospital in whatever hospital in whatever city. My goal is to keep my family and friends safe and though my behavior and when I can influence the behaviors of others, not to be going acting the gob****e and breaking the regs, because of loneliness, because of boredom or feeling isolated I don’t care... no excuses.

If it's about keeping everyone safe, healthy and alive then I'm sure you are all for getting children back to meeting their friends in school and clubs etc. As far as any illness goes they are pretty bulletproof when it comes to this, which itself is strange one as most diseases effect the very young and very old.
    At this stage there is absolutely no good reason for children to be still seen as pariahs, these mythical creatures who can kill people with a mere glance.

If we want to have a health service, and you’re concerned about people, the answer is looking for ways to end the lockdown in such a way that we keep the virus spread manageable. Otherwise we’re facing into a grim recession/depression, globally.

Birdy wrote: »
    I assume the plan goes through Government next Thursday.

Our new leaders said they won't be lifting restrictions today. What Leo and Simon think is immaterial.

Just on childbirth, I know of health care workers double jobbing between a hospital with Covid wards and the maternity hospital.
    Couldn't believe it. I know this person well. Seems like madness.

Babies must be completely safe from the effects.

So you are afraid only for you and yours.

If we want to have a health service, and you’re concerned about people, the answer is looking for ways to end the lockdown in such a way that we keep the virus spread manageable. Otherwise we’re facing into a grim recession/depression, globally.

We already had scandalous wait times for people to see consultants for pretty much every type of aliment. Imagine what it's going to be like when hospitals begin dealing with all the day to day stuff that's been binned for the past 2 months.

If it's about keeping everyone safe, healthy and alive then I'm sure you are all for getting children back to meeting their friends in school and clubs etc. As far as any illness goes they are pretty bulletproof when it comes to this, which itself is strange one as most diseases effect the very young and very old.
    At this stage there is absolutely no good reason for children to be still seen as pariahs, these mythical creatures who can kill people with a mere glance.

They are not bulletproof. They can contract it but for whatever reason they are less symptomatic. This makes them more of a danger, also because they need adults and close supervision and companionship and don’t know the full impact of the disease and how they can behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,725 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I agree, but they often go together - unemployment leads to depression - been ther myself - and already the UN is warning of famines and huger in the developing world which will cause way more damage than what we have seen from Covid - but to question the WHO driven strategy of lockdown as the only answer to contain a virus , and you get accused of lacking compassion - When alternative strategies like in Sweden and South Korea have been more effective than some places that enforced lockdowns.

So you are afraid only for you and yours.

If I’m about that why did I post .. “It’s about keeping everyone safe, healthy, alive”. You need to have a sit down and a glass of milk.

We already had scandalous wait times for people to see consultants for pretty much every type of aliment. Imagine what it's going to be like when hospitals begin dealing with all the day to day stuff that's been binned for the past 2 months.

Yes, alongside the recession cut-backs on public service. And people forced to cancel their costly health insurance.

I think we’ll look back and think the Swedish approach globally would have been the best overall for mortality rates.

They are not bulletproof. They can contract it but for whatever reason they are less symptomatic. This makes them more of a danger, also because they need adults and close supervision and companionship and don’t know the full impact of the disease and how they can behave.

Actually they are less likely to spread it too.
    The more symptomatic you are the greater the risk of you passing it on.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/21/boy-with-covid-19-did-not-transmit-disease-to-more-than-170-contacts

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2020/apr/06/school-closures-have-little-impact-on-spread-of-coronavirus-study

But don't be listening to scientific studies, better to hide in your hot press for a few years until it all goes away.

If I’m about that why did I post .. “It’s about keeping everyone safe, healthy, alive”. You need to have a sit down and a glass of milk.

" It’s of no fûcking consequence to me about kids being born in x hospital in whatever hospital in whatever city. My goal is to keep my family and friends safe."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Exactly. I think it`s astounding the amount of people who are in denial of this fact.

More of a danger? Think about the language you are using here. Children are no more a danger than adults and studies are starting to show the inverse is actually true.
    Seriously, I get that this can be unsettling for a lot of people but viewing children as a danger is plain wrong.

thebaz wrote: »
    I agree, but they often go together - unemployment leads to depression - been ther myself - and already the UN is warning of famines and huger in the developing world which will cause way more damage than what we have seen from Covid - but to question the WHO driven strategy of lockdown as the only answer to contain a virus , and you get accused of lacking compassion - When alternative strategies like in Sweden and South Korea have been more effective than some places that enforced lockdowns.

1.2Billion people in India and food prices are soaring due to lockdown and people are not earning due to lockdown.

How many people will die as a result?

https://www.ft.com/content/f9eb67f3-5cf8-42c4-be97-8dd36a7f1671

Actually they are less likely to spread it too.
    The more symptomatic you are the greater the risk of you passing it on.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/21/boy-with-covid-19-did-not-transmit-disease-to-more-than-170-contacts

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2020/apr/06/school-closures-have-little-impact-on-spread-of-coronavirus-study

But don't be listening to scientific studies, better to hide in your hot press for a few years until it all goes away.

The longer the restrictions have continued, the argument in favour of restrictions has developed into a purely anecdotal one.

It’s of no fûcking consequence to me about kids being born in x hospital in whatever hospital in whatever city. My goal is to keep my family and friends safe.

Exactly, what’s going on in Madrid, Caracas, Lima, Leitrim or Donegal I have a no way of influencing. ... what I’m doing here is when my old man wants to fûck off down to his sister 4 kms away, not happening, when I got some stuff for an elderly neighbor, I’m dropping and running as opposed to staying for a chat, talked the girlfriends mother out of doing social stuff with the girlfriend upset and the mother just ‘missing’ chats with friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

So the CMO and Dr Nolan gave what can only be described as one of the most confusing press conferences to date.
    Just reading about it on the journal.

https://www.thejournal.ie/no-traffic-increases-covid-19-5081943-Apr2020/

Did they really solemnly set out seismic data, as a measurement of traffics volumes. Did the Earth move for you, Tony?

More of a danger? Think about the language you are using here. Children are no more a danger than adults and studies are starting to show the inverse is actually true.
    Seriously, I get that this can be unsettling for a lot of people but viewing children as a danger is plain wrong.

Kids have milder symptoms and better chances of recovery. But by their nature they are capable of spreading the virus more expeditiously.

Exactly, what’s going on in Madrid, Caracas, Lima, Leitrim or Donegal I have a no way of influencing. ... what I’m doing here is when my old man wants to fûck off down to his sister 4 kms away, not happening, when I got some stuff for an elderly neighbor, I’m dropping and running as opposed to staying for a chat, talked the girlfriends mother out of doing social stuff with the girlfriend upset and the mother just ‘missing’ chats with friends.

This is my opinion and only representative of mine, but Im not stopping any elderly person having an interaction with another human. My grandfather is of the opinion every month is a blessing and Im not interfering with his personal movement's. Hes not afraid of Covid, hes afraid of lonineless

Balf wrote: »

Did they really solemnly set out seismic data, as a measurement of traffics volumes. Did the Earth move for you, Tony?
    Moneys to tight to mention or it will be

1.2Billion people in India and food prices are soaring due to lockdown and people are not earning due to lockdown.

Doesn’t compute with the lockdown forever zealots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

That’s what the lockdown Nazis don’t get
    When the world economy takes a nose dive it is the poorest countries and the poorest people that take the hit

Currently the Irish government is borrowing billions to pay people out of work due to this lockdown
    The really poor people in the third world are left even worse off because the developed world is full of cowards who would rather save themselves then help the real dirt poor non white people

For example Penney’s are closed and they give thousands of jobs to Asia , that’s stopped now and those Asian workers have no income and are now not even able to feed their children
    Can the lockdown Nazis imagine a world where their is no welfare and your baby cries because of hunger
    A lot of stupid and Selfish people on here who Back the lockdown who refuse to think of others

Balf wrote: »

They sure did and the good doctor actually mentioned anecdotal evidence of more people being out and about. This is what we are dealing with now.

Kids have milder symptoms and better chances of recovery. But by their nature they are capable of spreading the virus more expeditiously.

We know the first part is true. Not only have they better chances of recovery but the serious risk to them is practically zero to date.

The second part hasn't been shown to be true at all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

snowcat wrote: »
    Hi
    Give them a ring yourself. When are the brighter day? We have been told to extend indefinitely.

Theres people who survived not only Wold War II, but the horrors of the concentration camps to go in and have happy, productive, fulfilling lives. This situation we find ourselves in is nothing - nothing - compared to that. It will most certainly end.

Do please consider reaching out. Suicide is a permanent fix to a temporary problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

That’s what the lockdown Nazis don’t get
    When the world economy takes a nose dive it is the poorest countries and the poorest people that take the hit

Currently the Irish government is borrowing billions to pay people out of work due to this lockdown
    The really poor people in the third world are left even worse off because the developed world is full of cowards who would rather save themselves then help the real dirt poor non white people

For example Penney’s are closed and they give thousands of jobs to Asia , that’s stopped now and those Asian workers have no income and are now not even able to feed their children
    Can the lockdown Nazis imagine a world where their is no welfare and your baby cries because of hunger
    A lot of stupid and Selfish people on here who Back the lockdown who refuse to think of others

So what your trying to say is gobal capitalism is the real problem

This situation we find ourselves in is nothing - nothing - compared to that. It will most certainly end.

The situation is covid. The response is the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭KaneToad

BBC Horizon are currently showing a programme that everyone should watch. Scientific facts about Covid19. Too many of us consider ourselves to be epidemiologists based on snippets we read on Facebook. Listen to the rational facts from the scientists.

KaneToad wrote: »
    BBC Horizon are currently showing a programme that everyone should watch. Scientific facts about Covid19. Too many of us consider ourselves to be epidemiologists based on snippets we read on Facebook. Listen to the rational facts from the scientists.

Watched it 2 weeks ago. Very good program, they even admit themselves that so much is still unknown about this virus. So anyone claiming severe restrictions or a complete lifting is the "right" way to go from a disease management perspective can be safely ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,240 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

road_high wrote: »
    And I would agree. But this isn’t anti social behavior. It’s decent citizens trying to earn a living and live their lives. Ditch the non sensical restrictions and let people live
    road_high wrote: »
    When it’s obvious the “law” is stupid then it should be dropped.
    Bad law leads to this kind of nonsense we are stuck in now.

I think I understand why you are against any form of tracking to aid contact tracing now :pac:

Just ignore laws and make money. Theres definitely a certain type who would support that lifestyle!

pjohnson wrote: »
    I think I understand why you are against any form of tracking to aid contact tracing now :pac:

Just ignore laws and make money. Theres definitely a certain type who would support that lifestyle!

Here's one for you. In San Fran they actually couldn't use tracking for contact tracing. Most of the people who work in silicone valley know how intrusive this tracking is and have ways to block it on their own phones. They had to use people and telephones to contact trace over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,240 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Here's one for you. In San Fran they actually couldn't use tracking for contact tracing. Most of the people who work in silicone valley know how intrusive this tracking is and have ways to block it on their own phones. They had to use people and telephones to contact trace over there.

Might be the 5G!

I’m not seeing the guards out and about like they were at the beginning of the lockdown, when the cat’s away the mice will play.

It was a monumental waste of Garda resources to begin with.

Typical example of a lockdown Larry.
    The first part of your statement is true.
    The second part of your statement is completely devoid of fact and based on false assumption.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Might be the 5G!

The 5G conspiracy and Facebook, a marriage made in heaven. It's amazing what some people will believe once they read it on D'Book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

You cannot do this. No one can. Ask not for whom the bell tolls.

That’s because being outside or going for a drive in your own has absolutely no fcuking effect on the spread of the virus.