Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

My office is planning on forcing everyone back ,regardless of whether they can work at home or not.

It's ok though, they're putting a perspex screen between the desks...

What line of work are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,049 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

BanditLuke wrote: »
    I've said a few times now but a lot will genuinely be cracking up having to spend time with their families and i feel genuinely sorry for them, i mean that guys who are reading this and are finding that difficult.

We've found it fantastic tbh and we are all very relaxed about the situation doing our bit for the country and supporting the health service.

I'd advice the ones "suffering" under the current soft lockdown to get out early in the morning for a walk 7am or so. Listen to the birds sing, breath in the lack of pollution and be thankful to be alive. This to will pass.

Support the frontline.

Listening to the birds wont pay your mortgage in 6 months though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I live in Dublin City Center and my road only has on street parking no driveways.

Two weeks ago there wasn’t a free spot on the road to be got, however today you could park a couple of buses up, it’s like a regular work day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

niallo27 wrote: »

Or you could be just well dead, you won't hear them then at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

It will when you are in comfy social housing like Luke

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Whiplash85 wrote: »

What line of work are you in?

Construction

This. Those supporting the extension of this lockdown through the next few months are likely pretty well set up at home, in terms of their job and the nature of their living space. And don’t care a jot about those that are not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The biggest problem in this crisis, is that we have a generation of politicians in power who have only one objective, which is to stay in power as long as possible, and an inability to take serious decisions regarding the economy. Its very easy to say ," we need to shut things down ", its a hell of a lot harder to restart it. T he casualty list is going to be horrendous and people will be stunned at some of the companies that go to the wall.
    The easy way out is to defer everything to the Medical Experts, whodont appear to understand how the economy needs to work. Its very simple, no working economy, no money for health. Lets see how they all explain that

It will actually be fascinating to watch the penny slowly start to drop with the lockdown brigade.

Social-welfare cuts, pension cuts, infrastructure spending slashed, tax hikes - all coming over the next few months.

There's a load of lads drawing €350 a week, watching Netflix thinking life is great - they're in for a rude awakening.

The political landscape is likely to see significant upheavals. The bill, as usual, will be presented to the hard-pressed, private sector taxpayers. The forever-home brigade will still have their hands out and pensioners are used to being pandered to by all the main political parties. It'll be interesting to see how that's managed with a collapse of revenues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,151 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

hmmm wrote: »
    No evidence of that, and at the press conference they said there were seeing no growth in community spread.

What about the 549 cases outside of nursing homes. Is this due to more testing or is it the case that there is in fact community spread, albeit at a slow rate. Are we sure all these cases can be attributed to frontline worker infecting family members they come into contact with?

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭rusty the athlete

I find it alarming that Ireland still has, by and large, its borders open. A look at the Dublin airport arrivals and departures today confirms this. More revealing is the site:

https://www.iatatravelcentre.com/international-travel-document-news/1580226297.htm

which reveals that Ireland is the most open airport in the world just now. Compare the sole requirement for "Passengers arriving in Ireland (Rep.) are required to self-quarantine for 14 days" with nearly every other airport on the planet and you will see what I mean. Seems rather pointless to "cocoon" or limit oneself to a 2km walk when the floodgates are open elsewhere.

I find it alarming that Ireland still has, by and large, its borders open. A look at the Dublin airport arrivals and departures today confirms this. More revealing is the site:

https://www.iatatravelcentre.com/international-travel-document-news/1580226297.htm

which reveals that Ireland is the most open airport in the world just now. Compare the sole requirement for "Passengers arriving in Ireland (Rep.) are required to self-quarantine for 14 days" with nearly every other airport on the planet and you will see what I mean. Seems rather pointless to "cocoon" or limit oneself to a 2km walk when the floodgates are open elsewhere.

Reported in the Irish Times this morning that self isolation will be enforced now for all arrivals. Details taken upon arrival, and then you’d be checked on by AGS to ensure you are home. With, presumably, sizeable fines and possible imprisonments if you are not (Australia has the same system with a $11k fine or 6 months in prison)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

IRELAND (REP.) - published 20.04.2020
    Passengers arriving in Ireland (Rep.) are required to self-quarantine for 14 days.
    - This does not apply when arriving from Northern Ireland.
    - This does not apply to essential supply chain workers, for example, a pilot or a haulier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

It's irrelevant, nobody is travelling here unless they absolutely have to anyway.

It's amazing how many people fall for the measures governments have put in place purely for optics. It's why Trump is so popular, it's not difficult to fool a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Or you could be just well dead, you won't hear them then at all.

That's not really addressing his point, is it? At some point the banks and building societies will be looking for the money they're owed. If people are unemployed and their only source of income is a social welfare payment that's likely to be deducted into the ground what are people supposed to do.

The virus is a great threat to people but so is economic ruination. We need to avoid developing tunnel vision and ignoring all problems outside the virus. It won't end well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

This point has been raised several times. The time when airports and seaports should have been closed was around mid February when cases started to take off in Italy and when it would have been a significant factor in delaying the spread of the virus in this country. However at this point in time the virus is rampant throughout Ireland and in any case the number of people who are still travelling on these flights is minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Reported in the Irish Times this morning that self isolation will be enforced now for all arrivals. Details taken upon arrival, and then you’d be checked on by AGS to ensure you are home. With, presumably, sizeable fines and possible imprisonments if you are not (Australia has the same system with a $11k fine or 6 months in prison)

In Australia you are put in a hotel room for 14 days with no key, guarded by armed Navy/Army.

There no going home.

www.news.com.au/world/coronavirus/australia/coronavirus-quarantine-hotel-rules-for-returning-travellers-to-australia/news-story/0e13698bd804b2505bc6205de8dc04ba

This. Those supporting the extension of this lockdown through the next few months are likely pretty well set up at home, in terms of their job and the nature of their living space. And don’t care a jot about those that are not

I think they are most likely curtain twitchers and probably did not have a job to begin with. The restrictions did not change life too much or hit them hard so they are happy with the status quo. Its a kind of leveller for them. From a cursory glance at some of the volume of posts I would say this could be a distinct possibility. Either that or their employers are paying them to be on boards.ie.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    In Australia you are put in a hotel room for 14 days with no key, guarded by armed Navy/Army.

There no going home.

www.news.com.au/world/coronavirus/australia/coronavirus-quarantine-hotel-rules-for-returning-travellers-to-australia/news-story/0e13698bd804b2505bc6205de8dc04ba
    Okay, is like that in some states. Not all

Edit: what you have quoted is only if you do not have your own place to self isolate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

I'm just wondering has it home what exactly is happening here and worldwide.

We're hearing stay at home, clap the frontline, watch netflix, enjoy family life and so forth but it seems fake or forced positivity.

In Ireland alone this is what's happening.

Thousands of people are now going to unemployed and all the effects of that

Many, many shops and businesses will never reopen

Very few pubs, restaurants will survive

The major sports of this country gaelic games, soccer and rugby are banned indefinitely both for large events and at local level. No more all irelands.

Our children can't mix with each other or go to school

Our young people can't go to college (online studying is not the same)

Our children can no longer play sport. Let that sink in for a second.

Funerals, weddings and so on are no more.

18ths, 21sts, 40ths, are no more.

Socialising in groups is no more. How do our young people meet a partner? Genuine question.

Concerts, festivals, parades, community days are no more.

We're heading into a depression, never mind a recession and emigration for a better life is off the table.

Many, many people in this country will be dependent on the state.

Most people I talk to still think we'll get back to some type of normal soon or that we'll have a vaccine to save the day. That could be years away.

Is life as outlined above sustainable or will the **** hit the fan over the summer and into the autumn.

I don't think the way we're going is just making a sacrifice for the frontline as it's being portrayed by politicians and in the media.

From what I can see it's complete destruction of our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭showpony1

So what can we expect on May 5th?

showpony1 wrote: »

Copperrrrrrsssssss!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

trapp wrote: »

We're hearing stay at home, clap the frontline, watch netflix, enjoy family life and so forth but it seems fake or forced positivity.

The major sports of this country gaelic games, soccer and rugby are banned indefinitely both for large events and at local level. No more all irelands.

Socialising in groups is no more. How do our young people meet a partner? Genuine question.

We're heading into a depression, never mind a recession and emigration for a better life is off the table.

Most people I talk to still think we'll get back to some type of normal soon or that we'll have a vaccine to save the day. That could be years away.

Is life as outlined above sustainable or will the **** hit the fan over the summer and into the autumn.

I don't think the way we're going is just making a sacrifice for the frontline as it's being portrayed by politicians and in the media.

Relax, all those things will come back . First we need to have lower cases before we open back up gradually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭facehugger99

They'll lift some restrictions but all the tough decisions will be kicked down the road for another couple of weeks.

I have no confidence in this Government anymore. Their fear of being branded murderers by mouth-breathers on Twitter seems to be the guiding concern of any of their decisions. Unelected medical 'experts' being used as a handy cloak of convenience to avoid any unpopular decisions.

I was in self isolation for a number of weeks after displaying signs of the virus and was waiting for a test until the criteria were changed. Since the latest restrictions were put in place I have not been able to travel to my workplace as up to now it was not classed as essential work but will be doing so from Monday as I have received a letter from my employer allowing me to do so. Due to the nature of the work I will be working on my own for much of the time with minimal contact with any other people and will be wearing a mask/gloves, using hand sanitiser etc.so will minimise the risks to myself and others as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,543 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They'll lift some restrictions but all the tough decisions will be kicked down the road for another couple of weeks.

I have no confidence in this Government anymore. Their fear of being branded murderers by mouth-breathers on Twitter seems to be the guiding concern of any of their decisions. Unelected medical 'experts' being used as a handy cloak of convenience to avoid any unpopular decisions.

I'm afraid you're in the minority, most people support what the Government are currently doing. It's not permanent but it has to be done to stop the disease spreading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Okay, is like that in some states. Not all

Edit: what you have quoted is only if you do not have your own place to self isolate

That’s was the old rules, new rules I make it more clear for you.
    From midnight, March 28, all Australian travelers returning from overseas have been forced into two-week quarantine–in a luxury hotel.

Following the country’s decision to close its borders to foreign tourists last month, tough new coronavirus measures mean Australians coming from abroad can no longer live out their mandatory 14-day self-isolation in the comfort of their own homes.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/tamarathiessen/2020/04/04/australian-travelers-complain-about-5-star-hotel-quarantine/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Yes, but this is a one-in-100 year pandemic. It's being dubbed as Europes biggest challenge since world war 2. This thing is huge and theres no right or wrong answer right now. It's not lockdown/no lockdown. There are lots of people that believe it will be over in a week or so, and if not, it's the Governments fault. There are many varying approaches by different governments, some good, some bad, arguably in bad reactions it may be too late to implement the 'good' ideas.

It's all very surreal and I think a lot of people have yet to grasp the size of this thing and the challenge of it all, or consider how it may effect them over the next few months/years. As a neutral country with low chance of natural disasters, we're primed to see this kind of thing 'on the news' and 'somewhere else' so it's not surprising. But it's big.

I agree, I think the frontline would prefer a decent living wage and civilized working conditions than rounds of phony applause.

I'm afraid you're in the minority, most people support what the Government are currently doing. It's not permanent but it has to be done to stop the disease spreading.

Yes but that support has an expiration date. At some point a sizeable portion of people will realize the companies they work for might not open up again or may have to let people go. How long do you think the alleged support of 'most people' will last then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

wadacrack wrote: »
    Relax, all those things will come back . First we need to have lower cases before we open back up gradually.

How long do you wait for Lower cases though?

It will be interesting to see the governments plan or lack there of and the criteria they're using

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,240 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It will actually be fascinating to watch the penny slowly start to drop with the lockdown brigade.

Social-welfare cuts, pension cuts, infrastructure spending slashed, tax hikes - all coming over the next few months.

There's a load of lads drawing €350 a week, watching Netflix thinking life is great - they're in for a rude awakening.

The political landscape is likely to see significant upheavals. The bill, as usual, will be presented to the hard-pressed, private sector taxpayers. The forever-home brigade will still have their hands out and pensioners are used to being pandered to by all the main political parties. It'll be interesting to see how that's managed with a collapse of revenues.

It will when you are in comfy social housing like Luke

Ah yes. Social welfare recipients. The cause of every problem certain boardsies have ever had and will ever have.

Even during a global pandemic its the people on welfare to blame :pac:

It depends on how the virus situation develops over the next 10 days or so. At most building sites, DIY/hardware stores, garden centres etc, will be allowed to reopen with distancing measures in place although some of these are already open anyway. That will be about it. No pubs, restaurants, cafes etc will be reopening then other than for takeaway services.

Its not fake or forced, it’s making the best of a ****ty situation.

I’ll take temporary mass unemployment over permanent mass death

Again, I’m preferring businesses to be casualties ahead of people

It’s hard on kids, but, if restrictions are lifted it CAN affect them too, that also needs to sink in, their health and if they are fûcking having to sit home as a parent, sibling or friend are buried.

They are on hold socially for sure, weddings are now hardship, frustrating yes, I’m affected too.

They are, just gotta be creative for the time being.

No point in worry about this for now as you are prohibited from doing anything and everything with them.

For now !

We put the fûcking shoulder to the stone to fix, focusing on the negative and what happened is futile.

Sad but true, grateful the state can and are helping.

Could but, let’s not think of worse case scenario. Talking ourselves into a grave is counterproductive.

Be positive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Unelected CMO

It depends on how the virus situation develops over the next 10 days or so. At most building sites, DIY/hardware stores, garden centres etc, will be allowed to reopen with distancing measures in place although some of these are already open anyway. That will be about it. No pubs, restaurants, cafes etc will be reopening then other than for takeaway services.

Source?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Unelected CMO

Actually after a good start the Gardai are of late not enforcing the new laws anywhere near as strictly as they should be. To state they are adopting a 1984 approach is complete and utter nonsense and smacks of someone who has issues with paranoia.

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

oh dear. Are people aware that an intreo office is closed after a staff member was diagnosed with Cov-19. Other staff being tested. Office now closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

oh dear. Are people aware that an intreo office is closed after a staff member was diagnosed with Cov-19. Other staff being tested. Office now closed.

Hmm not good

which one?

Thought offices were closed to the public anyway?

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Hmm which one?

Thought offices were closed to the public anyway?

Doesnt say office but an office in Dublin - was included in update from Union. Not sure if office was open to public but staff still going to work there.

hold on read the article - yes office was open to public

Office now closed on public health grounds - for those wondering who can close businesses etc

ah here thats not good

Strumms wrote: »
    Be positive

About what?

About what?

About mass unemployment and destitution. Still could be worse I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

lol @ requests for corks source

The fluff between the ears!!

Is this a surprise to anyone? This will be happening regularly to loads of offices over the next months and years as people catch the virus, and some of them inevitably are back to work in offices. Good time to own a deep cleaning company

It will all be part of living with this virus

agree...i think this will be norm for a while and something we will have to get used to but it will impact on businesses.

repeated opening and closing

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Why leave up to AGS to enforce? They don't have the resources to go and check everyone. Why not do what other counties are doing and send people to a hotel room for 2 weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    About mass unemployment and destitution. Still could be worse I guess.

"Smile," they said, "life could be worse!"
    So I did
    And it was.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Source.

About what?

About doing what YOU can to be part of the solution as opposed to being part of the problem..

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Why leave up to AGS to enforce? They don't have the resources to go and check everyone. Why not do what other counties are doing and send people to a hotel room for 2 weeks...

If Dennis O Bribe or Larry Goodman owned a big consortium of hotels you can be sure this would have happened.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »

They don’t need to check everyone. They just need to do a random check and publicly hammer anyone who is caught. That will quickly focus minds.

And they don’t lock people into a hotel on Australia, contrary to popular belief. That’s only if you don’t have a place to self isolate. They do checks and impose fines

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

They haven't a hope of keeping the lockdown going beyond the May Bank Holiday. Loads more people out and about again today, all social distancing. Lots more cars on the road, lots of jobs being done, lots of over 70s out walking and in supermarkets. I was talking to a Garda at a checkpoint and they said the fella they let through before me had travelled half the length of the country.