Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Green Party wish list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Yeah, there are no hedges in England :rolleyes:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@52.9224694,-2.321135,3a,75y,190.47h,80.63t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sIqrgurO-WPY_D99U_FcJUA!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Why do people come out with stuff that is demonstrably false.

Of course there are hedgerows in England - especially away form tillage areas.

They have them in France and Germany as well....but I have limited experience.

But I have drove all over England and Wales and in the majority it is fairly similar to our hedgerows......

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    They have them in France and Germany as well....but I have limited experience.

But I have drove all over England and Wales and in the majority it is fairly similar to our hedgerows......
    Yeah, head back to Calais over hundreds upon hundreds of kilometres and see how many hedgerows you will see.

I said most of western Europe. The British Isles are an exception, they are not the rule.
    Stop arguing with someone who came from a rural community. I see what is what. You have a fluffy view of the world remote from actuality.

Why does it matter where you came from?

Yous aying someone who was born in a town or city hasn't the ability to tell what a hedgerow is??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,308 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

If fg agreed to the green demands then they will be blamed.

This thrown together government will lead to a SF led government next time around. Watch and see

Well FF should equally get blamed then if they agree to them. Are any Green Party TD's actually from farming areas ? I genuinely don't know and going by where a TD is elected isn't right as many TD's aren't originally from the area.

Why does it matter where you came from?

Yous aying someone who was born in a town or city hasn't the ability to tell what a hedgerow is??
    I'm saying that you have no concept of what an Irish farmer's factory floor and a continental farmer's factory floor look like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Well that's very adult behaviour from the Green Party councillor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    FG ? FG are traditionally the party of big farmers. The Green Party should be blamed if their policies effect rural Ireland.

By signing a Programme for Government, Fine Gael (along with Fianna Fáil) are complicit in this unwarranted and unjust attack on our farmers, as well as on the 2/3rds of people who don't live in the Pale.

They will be punished by the electorate - and deservedly so if their membership fails to stop the insanity of their partys' leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,752 ✭✭✭✭Water John

By signing a Programme for Government, Fine Gael (along with Fianna Fáil) are complicit in this unwarranted and unjust attack on our farmers, as well as on the 2/3rds of people who don't live in the Pale.

They will be punished by the electorate - and deservedly so if their membership fails to stop the insanity of their partys' leaders.

So, you've read the details? Please detail the areas of concern re: farming?

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/programme-for-government-agriculture-agreement-finalised/
    Key details of the agreement are emerging, including: a new REPS-type scheme; a ‘Food Ombudsman’; an ‘Independent Agriculture Appeals Review Panel’; and incentives for micro-renewable energy generation on farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Well that's very adult behaviour from the Green Party councillor.

rich coming from her, she had a meltdown when she received some humorous alterations to her election posters.

I'm saying that you have no concept of what an Irish farmer's factory floor and a continental farmer's factory floor look like.

Why do I have no concept?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭efanton

I live in part of Ireland and you could drive for miles without seeing a cow or any licestock. All grain, rapeseed etc. We have hedgerows.

I drove all over UK, they have grain fields which dwarf anything Ireland would have but they have hedgerows.....

Trying to say our percentage of trees would be higher if we counted headgerows is a bit mental to be honest. Due to risk of falling trees the number of large trees along roadside is rapidly decreasing as well and not been replaced

Not saying that they dont have hedgerow, I'm say they have significantly less hedgerows.

They have to keep some of the hedgerows otherwise you would end up with something like the dust bowls that happened in the USA when they tried growing wheat on the open prairies. The wind and rain literally stripped away the top soil. Hedges prevent that.

Obviously the less passes a combine has to do to harvest a field the more efficient and profitable that field becomes.

Go out to some parts of Germany, Czech republic or Poland that were previously in the East Block and you will see truly massive farms with massive fields.

Ireland and the UK and to a large extent Northern France typically will have very small fields unless hedgerows have been cleared so that large agricultural machinery can be used. Thats mostly historical where there were not big land owners, but lots of small land owners.
    The farmers here were encouraged in the 80 and 90's to clear hedgerows and ditches and even got grants for that.

What the f**k is the “Pale”?

Well then FG,FF, and the GP should get proportional blowback over this. I'm right in thinking that this has to be agreed by all three parties membership ? I mean is it even a guarantee it passes the GP ? I can see members voting against it just to spite Eamon Ryan.

efanton wrote: »
    Not saying that they dont have hedgerow, I'm say they have significantly less hedgerows.

They have to keep some of the hedgerows otherwise you would end up with something like the dust bowls that happened in the USA when they tried growing wheat on the open prairies. The wind and rain literally stripped away the top soil. Hedges prevent that.

Obviously the less passes a combine has to do to harvest a field the more efficient and profitable that field becomes.

Go out to some parts of Germany, Czech republic or Poland that were previously in the East Block and you will see truly massive farms with massive fields.

Ireland and the UK and to a large extent Northern France typically will have very small fields unless hedgerows have been cleared so that large agricultural machinery can be used. Thats mostly historical where there were not big land owners, but lots of small land owners.
    The farmers here were encouraged in the 80 and 90's to clear hedgerows and ditches and even got grants for that.

They also got encouraged to plant trees, I’m not sure what your point is?

Do you want them to count each tree in a hedge to count in? That would seem possible.

Designated land is the only way and we are really bottom of the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭combat14

the word "commission(s)" and kicking the can down the road being used alot in the talks to keep the greens happy... will be interesting to see if green membership buy it

Well then FG,FF, and the GP should get proportional blowback over this. I'm right in thinking that this has to be agreed by all three parties membership ? I mean is it even a guarantee it passes the GP ? I can see members voting against it just to spite Eamon Ryan.

Why? If this is agreed you can be certain the parties will vote it or have voted it in. No way would they announce with that risk over it

Learn your Irish history.
    Knowledge is power

Why? If this is agreed you can be certain the parties will vote it or have voted it in. No way would they announce with that risk over it

Well there is a leadership contest within the Green Party and when Eamon Ryan made an admittedly poor decision in the dail you saw the reaction of Catherine Martin supporters on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,565 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Shes the same eejit who condemned Gemma O'Doherty and her merry band of supporters, yet thought it was OK for herself to take part in the George Floyd demonstration in Dublin.

I guess she thinks its ok to gather once its for a cause she supports. Covid only spreads among crowds of the less enlightened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,752 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Catherine Martin got what she wanted in the negotiations. Whether she follows through on the leadership challenge now, will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭efanton

THe Pale was the land directly ruled by the British Kings in the middle ages after the Norman Invasion . Basically North Wicklow, Dublin, parts of Meath and Kildare and and Louth I think.

Outside of the Pale was considered lawless as it was controlled by by the Irish clans and Chieftains.

efanton wrote: »
    THe Pale was the land directly ruled by the British Kings in the middle ages after the Norman Invasion . Basically North Wicklow, Dublin, parts of Meath and Kildare and and Louth I think.

Outside of the Pale was considered lawless as it was controlled by by the Irish clans and Chieftains.

Well said. You won't learn that on CNN or by listening to that south African race baiting clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I see the Greens got their demands of raising the 80 euro per ton up to 100 euro by 2030. I can see this country becoming more and more expensive to live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Shes the same eejit who condemned Gemma O'Doherty and her merry band of supporters, yet thought it was OK for herself to take part in the George Floyd demonstration in Dublin.

I guess she thinks its ok to gather once its for a cause she supports. Covid only spreads among crowds of the less enlightened...

Hazel Chu's entire career is virtue signalling and bandwagon jumping, its the only reason she entered politics, picked the greens, got elected and continues to make noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

We are up sh!t creek and a new government is engaging in vanity projects. More taxation, more subsidies, more spending, a more expensive and random energy supply and much less production, in an economy that specialises in creative accounting.

this_is_fine.jpg

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,565 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

We are up sh!t creek and a new government is engaging in vanity projects. More taxation, more subsidies, more spending, a more expensive and random energy supply and much less production, in an economy that specialises in creative accounting.

this_is_fine.jpg

Its fine, the fire is carbon neutral.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭combat14

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I see the Greens got their demands of raising the 80 euro per ton up to 100 euro by 2030. I can see this country becoming more and more expensive to live in.

that's all we need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,346 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Where are we going to get a magic resource to pay for all this? Gas and oil exploration banned, perhaps we have vast gold or diamond reserves yet to be discovered beneath some peat bog somewhere, might need to leave that in place to save a few snails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Nobody expects the Greens to give a flying flamingo about rural Ireland. Their whole ideology is based on their hatred of people who don't live in cities and the greatest invention of personal freedom - the private car, all conveniently dressed up in the name of saving the planet.

People traditionally voted for FF and FG because their parties claimed to be the champions of it. Even as recently as the other day, Leo was saying that rural Ireland would be pleasantly surprised by what was in the forthcoming PfG (which has turned out to be completely untrue).

That's the difference.