Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What hold has Independent Newspapers got on RTÉ?

• 27-04-2020 1:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭

What hold has Independent Newspapers got on RTÉ?

For anyone who listens to RTÉ Radio, there is no doubt that RTÉ and Independent Newspapers have a ‘cosy little arrangement’.

Whether it’s Seán O’ Rourke’s morning programme, or ‘Drivetime’, or ‘The One o’Clock news’, journalists from Independent Newspapers appear regularly, much more often that journalists from other newspapers.

Regulars from Independent Newspapers are Fionnán Sheehan, John Downing, Alison ‘Hippo’ O’Connor (for years with Independent Newspapers, until recently, and now with 'The Examiner') and in the past, John Drennan.
    Now Brendan ‘Ballsy’ O’Connor from Independent Newspapers has got Marion Finnucane’s old programmes.

So is the hold the same problem that Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowan ran into when in power, and when they had to go cap in hand to the then owner of Independent Newspapers, Tony O’Reilly to pay their respects, like a scene from ‘The Godfather’, and to promise to toe the line - or else!
    The threat being: do as we want or we will thrash you. Look at what we are doing to Sinn Féin.

And for those who maintain that this ‘Manufacturing Consent’ attack-dog journalism doesn’t work, and argue that Sinn Féin have risen in the polls in spite of it, there is no doubt it has influenced SF policy, and greatly diluted their Republicanism, so as to make themselves more 'acceptable' to the groups that control society.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Lots of big wigs in RTE have stakes in private media companies or newspapers etc.

They can charge their own companies for work.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,504 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Lots of big wigs in RTE have stakes in private media companies or newspapers etc.

They can charge their own companies for work.

Small pool in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I preferred rte when it was full of marxists.

🙈🙉🙊

I preferred rte when it was full of marxists.
    Yeah it was so never.

mariaalice wrote: »

I’m not saying it was all mythology,” says Joe Mulholland, former editor of Today Tonight. “I think there was some truth in it, but it was far exaggerated.”

It was all mythology.

You think RTE was socialist during the haughey years and never brought him down?? Are you mad?
    Pure Capitialist.

They are only socialist when they want to ask for something.

The ONLY reason you could possibly say this is because before the late 90s RTE didn't have to balance its own books. They didn't have to make profit.

They just asked for more from the govt. The govt didn't make them make RTE profitable.

Which is a form of 'socialism' if you like. That is all that was about.

That culture changed in the late 90s ...

It was all mythology.

You think RTE was socialist during the haughey years and never brought him down?? Are you mad?
    Pure Capitialist.

They are only socialist when they want to ask for something.

The ONLY reason you could possibly say this is because before the late 90s RTE didn't have to balance its own books. They didn't have to make profit.

They just asked for more from the govt. The govt didn't make them make RTE profitable.

Which is a form of 'socialism' if you like. That is all that was about.

That culture changed in the late 90s ...

Everything is not a conspiracy.

RTE is not going to be the vanguard of any revolution almost no one under 30 listens to RTE 1 radio or watches RTE television its not where younger people get their news or ideas from.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Everything is not a conspiracy.

RTE is not going to be the vanguard of any revolution almost no one under 30 listens to RTE 1 radio or watches RTE television its not where younger people get their news or ideas from.

What? You are totally misunderstanding what i am saying.

No RTE is never going to lead a revolution.

They are 1 the govt lackey always have been. They are often told they will be partially defunded if so and so from the state.

And YES I know for a fact 100% the heads of RTE have stakes in other companies which they contract work out to FROM RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Nermal

They didn't have to make profit.

They still don't!

Nermal wrote: »
    They still don't!

They have to balance the books. So in reality ..they do. They have to draw in money.

Obv its not the same as a private company.

Tom Savage and Terry Prone are/were the worst of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Typical shinner strategy. Everyone’s against us cos of the meeja. It’s not fair. And it’s working with the youth who don’t remember or don’t care.

People are not against Sinn Fein because of rte or inm. It’s because of them being terrorist loving scum with absolutely wild and unrealistic policies relying on an imaginary money tree

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I wonder how the practice of INM journalists showing up on RTE works in the background. Like if they are a contributor on an RTE panel are they getting a fee from RTE directly or does it go to their employer. Same with other hacks showing up on the Tonight Show, do they get paid directly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

I'd imagine they are independent contractors when doing tv and radio appearances
    The independent is like its editor now an FF mouthpiece
    It will be interesting to see editorially how it changes under any new government FF are involved in,taper down its current portions overload of anti FG Rhetoric perhaps?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

You don't need to take any sides politically.

My biggest concern about the Irish media landscape is how insipid and closed shop it has become. They all know each other and scratch each others backs.

We do not have a big enough journalistic pool to derive our information from. Anyone attempting to get insightful or interesting in their early journalistic careers gets stonewalled or loses their jobs. They certainly lose access to prominent politicians if they do not play kindly and lick ass.

Having 2 or 3 broadsheets is the problem, readers have no options. Sunday papers are full of crap also. A few columnists spouting away and a heap of Dunnes Stores advertising. EDIT - I am being overly harsh here, we have some brilliant writers and columnists in Ireland.

The biggest weakness which is affecting newspapers is a cancer they have developed from within which they are blaming on the market. The concept that people don't read the newspaper any more has lead to complacent journalism. Their mantra of the paper losing sales because of the onset of internet media is a fallacy. The reality is that people are sick of reading their bland one-sided shight. With the onset of internet media the public have more options and have access to more expedient media. The columnist's power is dwindling as a result. It is not the paper medium that is suffering it is the standard of writing there in.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Mortelaro wrote: »
    I'd imagine they are independent contractors when doing tv and radio appearances
    The independent is like its editor now an FF mouthpiece
    It will be interesting to see editorially how it changes under any new government FF are involved in,taper down its current portions overload of anti FG Rhetoric perhaps?

Yeah its probably a nice little earner for them. Not sure what RTE would be paying them but its a top up on their regular salary just for being a talking head on radio.

Whatever govt. gets formed Id say watch the Indo lead the charge for the taxpayer to subsidise them. They were already on about this last year and Dimmy Tooley took up the baton for them advocating that the print media get money from government. Of course Dimmy lost his seat but the Indo will find some other TD to do their bidding. The government subsidising the media who are supposed to hold them to account, talk about a conflict of interest. If the govt. of the day doesnt like the media coverage of them they can threaten to cut the funding. It would only serve to create another RTE situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Typical shinner strategy. Everyone’s against us cos of the meeja. It’s not fair. And it’s working with the youth who don’t remember or don’t care.

People are not against Sinn Fein because of rte or inm. It’s because of them being terrorist loving scum with absolutely wild and unrealistic policies relying on an imaginary money tree

So if ye don't like Terry Prone or Fionnan you're a shinner now?
    ROTFLMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The concept that people don't read the newspaper any more has lead to complacent journalism.

I'd say they realized that click-bait journalism was so profitable. None of the work required of a long investigation verified by multiple sources.

Just look at how the story of the 'Panama papers' was treated.
    Journalists in 107 media organizations in 80 countries conducted a analysis for well over a year.

How much did that story sell?

Until we end our fascination with click-bait journalism we are all to blame unfortunately.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,978 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tom Savage and Terry Prone are/were the worst of them.
    indeed

Fann Linn wrote: »
    So if ye don't like Terry Prone or Fionnan you're a shinner now?
    ROTFLMAO
    That is some leap, being a decent human being means you don't like them. They not only caused the death of a decent human being (and this i only one example), but they then forced the Times to apologise for tellign the truth. That was the day journalism from the papers I grew up reading died. Shame on everyone involved in that girls death, be it the people who caused it or those who apologised because a dead girl could not defend herself.