Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 5.0

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭kuang1

Neil3030 wrote: »
    No... why?

Sorry. That was an unnecessary slight.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Some of the videos of today on Dame St / Dame Lane, if verified, make me want to smash something. Those selfish, selfish *****.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Granny15

Some of the videos of today on Dame St / Dame Lane, if verified, make me want to smash something. Those selfish, selfish *****.

Presumeably it’s the crusties congregating there and potentially spreading the virus? Yeh absolute outrage. And these are the people who call for “equal rights” and change our society irreparably. Shame these artsy types are given so much leverage in today’s society. Irresponsible.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Just to go back to John Cleese for a minute, I see that someone asked Eric Idle if he'd always been this much of a "douchebag" on an unrelated thread on twitter and Idle responded "no comment" or something along those lines so doesn't seem to be just Irish people who've taken issue with him. Personally I don't care much either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭OldRio

Granny15 wrote: »
    Presumeably it’s the crusties congregating there and potentially spreading the virus? Yeh absolute outrage. And these are the people who call for “equal rights” and change our society irreparably. Shame these artsy types are given so much leverage in today’s society. Irresponsible.

What?

FzSAuel.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,234 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Bazzo wrote: »
    Just to go back to John Cleese for a minute, I see that someone asked Eric Idle if he'd always been this much of a "douchebag" on an unrelated thread on twitter and Idle responded "no comment" or something along those lines so doesn't seem to be just Irish people who've taken issue with him. Personally I don't care much either way.

John Cleese has long been known to be extremely difficult. Michael Palin previously spoke of how Cleese and Idle clashed but generally Cleese didn't get along as well with the cast at times. Frankly, he seems to be something of a bully.

OldRio wrote: »
    What?

Might have picked it up incorrectly but I thought he was saying people congeregating on Dame Lane were not social distancing, drinking and Potentially spreading the virus.

And for those not familiar with my terminology, Dame Lane is a notorious hang out for all sorts of crusties, swampies and tree huggers. At least when I used to drink there. The Stags Head gets a regular crowd but the 2/3 bars on the other side of the street are for grunge and alternative types. The whiff of the green when I used to drink out on the street there was unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

And for those not familiar with my terminology, Dame Lane is a notorious hang out for all sorts of crusties, swampies and tree huggers. At least when I used to drink there.

When was this? 1994?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,365 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

At least the username is accurate.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Buer wrote: »
    John Cleese has long been known to be extremely difficult. Michael Palin previously spoke of how Cleese and Idle clashed but generally Cleese didn't get along as well with the cast at times. Frankly, he seems to be something of a bully.

I dunno if a bully is the right word but he can be very cutting at times with his humour.

Tbh that whole situation just shows that so many people on twitter are looking to be outraged. I wonder how many of the people getting their knickers in a twist could spell Caoimhe without checking?

The right response to his tweet is to say "no John, you're glad that we never have an empire" and then sign off with your name as Gaelige

• Registered Users Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Isn't Cleese manic-depressive? I remember reading somewhere that during filming Fawlty Towers he would have manic episodes and that is what we saw on film. And then he would be so depressed that production would be stopped for days. Dont know how true that is and I can't remember where I read it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I'm annoyed by it as well. But I also think some leeway needs to be given. It's been a tough 3/4 months for everybody and a chance to socialise with your friends and family is very tempting, especially in the summer months when weather is warmer. We're still not out of the woods yet with the virus and I wish more cop on were shown.

It's clear that some publicans aren't following the guidelines in the way they were intended to work. More pressure needs to be out on them re adherence.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭OldRio

Clegg wrote: »
    I'm annoyed by it as well. But I also think some leeway needs to be given. It's been a tough 3/4 months for everybody and a chance to socialise with your friends and family is very tempting, especially in the summer months when weather is warmer. We're still not out of the woods yet with the virus and I wish more cop on were shown.

It's clear that some publicans aren't following the guidelines in the way they were intended to work. More pressure needs to be out on them re adherence.

Sorry, but why should those people have 'leeway'?
    Most of us have stuck this out.

Beginning to think Scotland could well depart the UK within the next two years.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

OldRio wrote: »
    Sorry, but why should those people have 'leeway'?
    Most of us have stuck this out.

I was in around Grafton St last weekend and it was a bit mad around South William St

A couple of the bars were doing takeout and there were lots of people milling about drinking on the street

If you've been cooped up in a crappy apartment in the city centre for weeks I can see why people would do stuff like this. Not saying it's ok but it's understandable

At least it was outside

Stheno wrote: »
    I was in around Grafton St last weekend and it was a bit mad around South William St

A couple of the bars were doing takeout and there were lots of people milling about drinking on the street

If you've been cooped up in a crappy apartment in the city centre for weeks I can see why people would do stuff like this. Not saying it's ok but it's understandable

At least it was outside

Sorry that’s not an excuse. If you’re couped up in a small apartment go out for long walks. Nowhere nicer than along the canal within walking distance of city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

They need to enable people to go out and socialise. The problem is Dublin just isn't really set up to do that safely and there's no one to stop people being idiots. There should be much stricter enforcement because the last thing we need is a spike.

But something has to be done to ensure there's lots of places for people to do that safely, or else they definitely will do it dangerously.

mfceiling wrote: »
    When was this? 1994?

2017-2018. Dame Lane is infested with crusties. These earthy types tend to have less respect for hygiene and thus the spread of this virus will be harder to suppress with those types congregating around town.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

2017-2018. Dame Lane is infested with crusties. These earthy types tend to have less respect for hygiene and thus the spread of this virus will be harder to suppress with those types congregating around town.

Have you been there recently?

No but I know 2/3 of the pubs and bars there are alternative. Ri-ras is just around the corner as well

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The idea that the stags head had a “normal” clean crowd back then would question how much they were there then!

Dane Lane is an awful place though, mostly because I liked to cut across it when walking back towards Stephens green for the luas and it was rammed on thursdays/Fridays and I despised every one of them. In normal times though it’s all tourists or post work crowd watching the music that sets up outside the Mercantile. The idea that 4 Dame Lane or that touristy one across from it was ever an alternative set is not really worth considering. Maybe much later at night the crowd coming out of The Globe onto that other street (Dame Court?), but that’s a huge mix of lunatics

Any self-respecting crusty was surely at the Bernard Shaw (or Im going to guess Blackbird now). Or over the river at Sin E or further up at Dice bar. Edit: or actually around the IFSC there’s a couple of very fine Cruststablishments

Actually now I think about it across George’s street there’s that pedestrianised bit that goes down by the George and there’s a pub there that maybe fits the description more, never knew the name of it. Don’t even know the name of that street. The one that goes up to Chez Max.

The idea that the stags head had a “normal” clean crowd back then would question how much they were there then!

Dane Lane is an awful place though, mostly because I liked to cut across it when walking back towards Stephens green for the luas and it was rammed on thursdays/Fridays and I despised every one of them. In normal times though it’s all tourists or post work crowd watching the music that sets up outside the Mercantile. The idea that 4 Dame Lane or that touristy one across from it was ever an alternative set is not really worth considering. .

Yeah I was thinking of 4 Dame Lane, was a regular post dinner spot with my work crowd

The rest were places I would have gone to the odd time 20 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 21,648 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Dane Lane is an awful place though, mostly because I liked to cut across it when walking back towards Stephens green for the luas and it was rammed on thursdays/Fridays and I despised every one of them. In normal times though it’s all tourists or post work crowd watching the music that sets up outside the Mercantile. The idea that 4 Dame Lane or that touristy one across from it was ever an alternative set is not really worth considering. Maybe much later at night the crowd coming out of The Globe onto that other street (Dame Court?), but that’s a huge mix of lunatics

Any self-respecting crusty was surely at the Bernard Shaw (or Im going to guess Blackbird now). Or over the river at Sin E or further up at Dice bar. Edit: or actually around the IFSC there’s a couple of very fine Cruststablishments

Actually now I think about it across George’s street there’s that pedestrianised bit that goes down by the George and there’s a pub there that maybe fits the description more, never knew the name of it. Don’t even know the name of that street. The one that goes up to Chez Max.

The mercantile would've had a different crowd a couple of years ago when they had live gigs etc but the only crusty thing I'd really associate with Dame Lane these days would be the 20 year old Dunnes shirts and brown loafers that some of the culchie office workers would be sporting.

Sin é or Workman's would mostly be the more popular spots for different crowds these days.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,488 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I'm just back from a couple of nights in clifden. I didn't come across anywhere not complying with requirements. Everywhere I entered required my name and contact number for contact tracing. If you wanted to sit in a pub and drink you had to order food, and anyone who came in late to a pub wasn't served. I was in 3 cafes and 2 restaurants / pubs.

Looking at that video from dame Lane I just don't understand why the cops didn't just shut the whole area down. Does their liquor license even cover street drinking?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Hopefully we've suppressed the virus enough that there won't be a noticeable spike in cases in a few weeks times. I also hope this serves as a kick to the government, vintners and public that we can't roll the dice with public health. We don't want scenes like this every weekend.

The mercantile would've had a different crowd a couple of years ago when they had live gigs etc but the only crusty thing I'd really associate with Dame Lane these days would be the 20 year old Dunnes shirts and brown loafers that some of the culchie office workers would be sporting.

Sin é or Workman's would mostly be the more popular spots for different crowds these days.

Try going there 1-2 am in the morning not after work. 2 totally different crowds. I probably should have stated I meant later on in the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,648 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I'm just back from a couple of nights in clifden. I didn't come across anywhere not complying with requirements. Everywhere I entered required my name and contact number for contact tracing. If you wanted to sit in a pub and drink you had to order food, and anyone who came in late to a pub wasn't served. I was in 3 cafes and 2 restaurants / pubs.

Looking at that video from dame Lane I just don't understand why the cops didn't just shut the whole area down. Does their liquor license even cover street drinking?

The enforcement side of things is a bit strange, you had the video going around of the Garda eating the head off the manager of Pygmalion a couple weeks ago where the queues for takeaway cocktails were mental and people not social distancing in the line and drinking them in crowds right across the road, but there was no action taken and it continued for the rest of the weekend and the following weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

That is "berlin d2" and it is brilliant on a Saturday night. Live rock band out front, house music at the back and a techno room downstairs.
    Gets a really eclectic crowd as well. Loads of Italians and Brazilians.
    Definitely no crusties there anytime I've been in!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

sydthebeat wrote: »

The takeaway pints thing is different than sitting in a pub.
    Garda Headquarters has sought legal advice on pubs delivering drinks and selling takeaway beverages from their premises and has been told that both practices do not contravene liquor licensing laws.

As long as drinks, including poured pints, are paid for on a licensed premises they can be delivered to customers.

Takeaway sales are also permitted once those buying drinks in that manner consume them more than 100 metres away from a pub and not in a public place.

That last paragraph makes that clip look like all those places selling should be shut down.

Dame Lane itself is only about 100m long so if you buy a pint from anywhere on it you shouldn't be drinking that pint anywhere on the lane.