Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Laptop for Zwift

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭nsi423

Is that the thing that yer man on the RTE News was using to do a triathlon in his back yard?
    Based on this:
    https://zwift.com/news/4313-zwift-how-to-find-the-best-setup-for-you
    it sounds like a mid-level laptop would be more than enough, something for half the price of that one you linked.
    If you just want to run Zwift and if you have the space, how about an Apple TV + 32" or 40" TV?
    If you want a laptop there's a great deal mentioned here, more than capable for what you need, not sure if it's still available but it might give you an idea of what's possible:
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058072442/

new2tri19 wrote: »
    Hi looking to buy a laptop that I can run zwift on , Zwift is a virtual cycling game that attach to a smart trainer (for those that don't know). I'm clueless about laptops but from googling it is a graphics heavy application.

I was going to buy this laptop https://www.currys.ie/ieen/computing/laptops/laptops/lenovo-legion-y540-15-6-gaming-laptop-intel-core-i5-gtx-1650-128-gb-ssd-10193614-pdt.html

Does anyone know if this would be capable of running Zwift and is a decent laptop ? Thanks .

that's a gaming laptop (and not one offering particularly good value for the components. Zwift doesn't need a lot of horsepower really.

check out the honor magicbook for £549 at box.co.uk. (use addresspal, parcel wizard etc)

it's a nice well built all-metal laptop that will do the job and a nice laptop in general use (much better for general use than the lenovo legion)

if you plan on getting into gaming the Msi GF 65 offers a lot more power for a similar price. (will prob have to get from UK also - will be in currys there may 4 for £999)

where to buy
    https://www.box.co.uk/products/keywords/honor+magicbook+14/ex/true

. it's a 14 inch screen. if you want bigger there is the huawei (same brand) matebook d 15.6 inch on amazon for the same price. but I think that the 14 is the neater machine and it has better battery life

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-MateBook-2020-Multi-screen-Collaboration/dp/B083WXVJ13/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=matebook+d15&qid=1588434259&sr=8-1

Review of the magicbook

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭new2tri19

Thanks for the replies lads, had a good look at suggestions . I have a Huawei phone and find it great so think the matebook might be the choice. I need a laptop for general use so not going to go with the Apple TV . I am replacing a sony vaoi that the baby knocked a glass of water over in is no longer working.
    I'll just be using it for zwift mostly and browsing , the eldest lad had Fortnite game installed on my last laptop but it was lagging for him not sure the Vaoi was able for it , it would be a bonus if he could play games on it but I'm not going to spend an extra 500 if I don't have to , he has a playstation already.
    Would the Huawei run a game like fortnite ?

https://www.box.co.uk/81LL000UUK(C)-(Open-Box)-Lenovo-IdeaPad-Gaming-L340-17_2928734.html

Any views on that laptop?^^^

yes the amd 3500u in the honor magicbook or matebook d 14 (same laptop just a different finish and branding) will run Fortnite. the design of that laptop lets the 3500u run well also (thermal design and fans/cooling)

the amd cpus have better integrated graphics than the intel cpus and can run many games

just run it at 720p resolution though for best performance

here you can see it running very well on that chip

I would go for the magicbook 14 ahead of the matebook d 15

honor and huawei are the same company.

the matebook d 14 and the magicbook 14 are the same aside from metal colour finish and branding

likewise the 15 size

the 14 size has a bigger and better battery in both cases than the 15.

Thanks very much for your help, much appreciated. I will go for the honor 14.

new2tri19 wrote: »
    Thanks very much for your help, much appreciated. I will go for the honor 14.

let me know how you get on with it.

all reviews seem to be overwhelmingly positive so I would be surprised if you are not happy with it.

glasso wrote: »
    let me know how you get on with it.

all reviews seem to be overwhelmingly positive so I would be surprised if you are not happy with it.

Just to follow up have had the Honor 14 for a couple of weeks now. It's pefect very nice machine it runs Zwift no problem and the wife is impressed with it for browsing social media and online shopping. The eldest lad has played fortnite on it and told me its cool its not laggy at all so thumbs up there too.

Thanks for advice on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Glasso has been doing the lords work on laptop recommendations here of late, fair play!