Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsies Decide - Game of Thrones Greatest Character

Olenna, she had more depth to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I loved Olenna, I want to be like her when I'm old & dithery :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Ramsay - excellent bad guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,833 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Olenna, crafty auld bat who spoke her mind

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Fabulous back and forth match this - they are tied at 7-7!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,027 ✭✭✭duffman13

Has to be Ramsey, evil bustard

Yeah I'm going to go Ramsay too.

Olenna was good but scenes with Ramsay drew you into the show and had you looking forward to his next appearance.

Stu Redman decides this tie, Ramsay takes down the Queen of Thorns, but not without some serious support for the people's Wildcard. 9-7 the final score.

Match 8:

Which brings us to our final battle of this round. The Onion Knight takes on the sellsword for the final place in the last 8.
    Bronn of the Blackwater

220px-Lord_Bronn_Jerome_Flynn.jpeg

VS

The Onion Knight, Ser Davos Seaworth

220px-Davos_Seaworth_Sitting_Liam_Cunningham.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Davos, easily one of the best characters and potential outright winner for me

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Whitters22

Bronn

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Loved Bronn as a character although his arc weakened as the story progressed.

He gets my vote over the best onion smuggler in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Bronn, he didn’t fight with honour.

I'm gonna vote Davos for a similar reason to me voting Tywin over Tyrion - There came a point in the show where the writers weren't sure what to do with Bronn anymore, and he almost became a parody of himself...IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Bronn of the Blackwater - Loved how he bounced off whatever character he was on screen with. Even Twyin got a bit of his cheek which I’m sure he wasn’t used to.

Whitters22 wrote: »
    Bronn

tumblr_mk2gryogyw1rsc2xho4_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Brown is a great character but if I needed someone I could trust. It would have to be ser Davos. He gets the vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Davos for his trustworthy nature

Ser Davos. A good character thoughout. A kind soul.

Davos the man from flea bottom! Stick him on the throne! Hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bronn a loyal sell sword something rare in a land without honour

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Ser Davos, a man of unfailing honour, which became increasingly rare as the story went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Two of my favourite characters. Gonna have to vote Bronn as he brought a little more levity to the show.

Ser Davos leads 7-5 with just under 20 mins left in this battle, time limit expires at 22.41

Necro wrote: »
    Ser Davos leads 7-5 with just under 20 mins left in this battle, time limit expires at 22.41

rW0kJFe.jpg

Hello there. I am Ru Stedman and would like to vote for Davos. Thank you please.

giphy.gif

Will this be finishing tonight Necro?

Nah, I'm gonna run the Quarters tomorrow evening, and Semis if they finish up in time.

Ten mins remain and it looks like Ru Stedman and co have backed a winner...

Nah, I'm gonna run the Quarters tomorrow evening, and Semis if they finish up in time.

Excellent what time tomorrow evening?

Hopefully be finished work.

Probably aiming to kick off about 6pm or so.

And with no further votes, the time has expired and Ser Davos crosses the line and becomes our final Quarter Finalist!!!

Say hello to your final 8:

Arya Stark
    Jaime Lannister
    Cersei Lannister
    Joffrey Baratheon
    The Hound' Sandor Clegane
    Tyrion Lannister
    Ramsay Bolton
    The Onion Knight, Ser Davos Seaworth

Quarter Finals and hopefully the Semi Finals will kick off tomorrow about 6pm.

Until then... enjoy this little ditty in memory of the fallen:

Probably aiming to kick off about 6pm or so.

Cheers Necro, thanks for running :)

If I don't come back avenge my death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,833 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

If I don't come back avenge my death

But what if I caused it?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

TBF that's a quality line up.

The cream always comes to the top.

But what if I caused it?

You'll be off to the wall or the black cells

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

But what if I caused it?

Unlikely it'll be you, he's probably on ALSB's enemies list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,637 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Missed the evening matches jaysus, some of ye love to destroy everything! That's said, delighted to see the finest Ser of them all get through and knocking that loveable but boring by the end rogue Bronn out.

Trigger wrote: »
    knocking that loveable but boring by the end rogue Bronn out.

Seems to be a recurring theme, you could say the writers ran out of steam on complex characters like Varys, Littlefinger and even Tyrion to an extent towards the end. Littlefinger and particularly Varys had poor enough demises in contrast to the background of the characters. Bronn was very good but sunk into the background due to the rushed nature of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,637 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

duffman13 wrote: »
    Seems to be a recurring theme, you could say the writers ran out of steam on complex characters like Varys, Littlefinger and even Tyrion to an extent towards the end. Littlefinger and particularly Varys had poor enough demises in contrast to the background of the characters. Bronn was very good but sunk into the background due to the rushed nature of it all.

I'm still hoping he features more extensively in the books

I thought Bronn was quite weak after they had the whole Dorne escapades and they made him beg for his life from a bit-part character.

They ran out of episodes to fan out the characters development Varys still going strong in the books he's didn't go with Tyrion I don't see Arya killing Littlefinger in the books like she did as Sansa isn't sold off to the Boltons I really don't see Tyrion being hand of the queen neither he may end up advising her but the show runners butchered the story and spent way too much time on romantic nonsense and killing vital characters for ratings.

I thought Bronn was quite weak after they had the whole Dorne escapades and they made him beg for his life from a bit-part character.

'The Bad Poosy'

Never forget :(

'The Bad Poosy'

Never forget :(

God, I had forgotten, thanks for reminding me :(

Quarter Finals will be kicking off in just under an hour.

Gonna raise the quota to 10 votes required to progress, or most votes after 60 minutes. As always, I will decide any ties that may occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

giphy.gif?cid=82a1493b1e4a21add6a2a5d3580e613e1f446224ad3cf0cf&rid=giphy.gif

Jon Snow facing down the Cersei voters last night

giphy.gif

Let's get cracking with our first showdown.

Two very different characters here but also two very popular ones. Who will get your vote though?

Jaime Lannister

cvx4kcuh8zj21.jpg

VS

Arya Stark

latest?cb=20190520174300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Jaime because he's the best, and Arya is far from it... Shoulda been Varys here instead of her