Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It’s Monday Mourning & we are in the midst of a Sahara Desert if Shocking Statistics:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,089 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Poor Jow having his 'Pee' Flynn moment.

This is the beginning of the end sotospeak. The loyal listeners....they have seen the light !

They can't wait until tomorrow to ring the Loifloin. Instead they're over on Bukeface venting their spleen....words like pox and windbag, among others, are being bandied about.

This day in the middle of a Pandemic will go down in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,061 ✭✭✭✭neris

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Poor Jow having his 'Pee' Flynn moment.

This is the beginning of the end sotospeak. The loyal listeners....they have seen the light !

They can't wait until tomorrow to ring the Loifloin. Instead they're over on Bukeface venting their spleen....words like pox and windbag, among others, are being bandied about.

This day in the middle of a Pandemic will go down in history.

More like the loyal listners of a certain vintage have been blinded by the light and followed it without asking where are we going

I will read and dissect that article fully later. It’s written by Niamh Horan.....only professional fluffer Barry Egan could write a more sycophantic piece so to speak as they say.

Schoolboy jouranlist and chief Z list bum licker Barry was doing a fluffy piece on Riverdance owner John McColgan from his "cottage" in Howth. Poor Johns in the poor house now because of covid19. Mustn't have squirreld the 9 million away from the sale of the big house in Howth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Joe Duffy gets candid on losing his pension, coronavirus and a reckoning
    STAYING PUT: Joe Duffy has no thoughts of retirement, despite approaching his 65th birthday. Photo: Mark Condren
    Niamh Horan

May 10 2020 02:30 AM

The first time Joe Duffy was ever conscious of his Dublin accent, he was speaking at Trinity College when a boy started goading him from the audience. Another made up anecdote - it would have occured to him long before then that he had a difference so to speak from an accent perpsctive when in Dubalin City Centre wurking as a chisler in de Gresham Hotel so to speak or at the very latest on his first day in Trinners. One of only three people at the time to make it from Ballyfermot to its hallowed halls, he lived on the last stop at "the other end of the bus route". As I have oft pointed out back then if you wanted to go to University, you got in. No points system, no CAO. I'd love to see his Leaving Cert Results, but I'd say they're guarded more zealously than Trumps tax Returns.

On the second, he was in Doheny & Nesbitt He wasn't long acclimatising then was he if he was going to Donnehy & Nesbitts? telling friends about his new trainee job in RTE when a man interjected: "Do they know you're from Ballyfermot?"

In the 40 years since, he has taken this vulnerability and turned it into gold. Vulnerability? Get a grip. He's certainly cashed in alright, that part is accurate.

The man of the people An act, as any regular listener will attest to. , the nation's agony aunt Bollocks., his humble roots long forgotten enable him to identify with the sidelined.Again, politley, bollocks. He identifies more with the Ivan Calories, the Gerry Ryans, the Bryan Tubridys, the Bertie Aherns, and the Pat Hickeys more than de ordinary peeple so to speak. Look at how he's treated his own brudder.

While other presenters dealt with experts and politicians and celebrities and 'men of standing', Joe found that real power lay in the voice of the everyman. The broken-hearted, the scared, the flawed, and, of course, the nation's critics. Pity he doesn't listen to them then isn't it?

He thought he had seen it all. And then the pandemic struck: "Without doubt, this is easily the biggest issue I have ever covered, and I was on the airwaves when the Twin Towers was hit on 9/11. I remember saying 'this day will be remembered as the day that changed the world' and it did. But this is different. In terms of its longevity, its reach, its deviousness, its virulence, it is really, really frightening." Still waiting for the apology from the man who mocked Trump on twitter for talking about disinfectant yet mr. Duffy has stated that:
    We can't get the virus as we're an island AND even if it does come here no-one will die.

As he talks about it, even Duffy sounds scared. He sees the pain can you describe de pain? on his morning walks: "I have seen people walking, crying, with tears streaming down their cheeks. They aren't looking for solace or intervention. They are just thinking. Maybe about their children, their grandchildren, their children, their future ... it's a really difficult time."

As a nation, he says, we will be traumatised. "There will be a reckoning at the end of this. Some of it will be good, and some of it will be really traumatic - mentally, physically, socially, politically and economically - for so many people. But not for Mr. Duffy or de fat cats in RTE who'll carry on regardless. "

The one hope we do have to see us through is close to being extinguished - but it's there: "Ireland is still, and it is hanging on by its fingernails, but we are still a country that can have a conversation. You can still get somebody in Donegal exchanging stories with someone in Darndale with similar experience."

On why it's in thin supply, he points to social media and "the way people interact is changing", Yeah, just don't criticse him on social meeja or you'll be blocked although he still feels it adds to the "communicative experience" and is "part of the rich tapestry" buzzword bingo again from the limited vocabulary of de telephone operator - he left out "of life" .

To keep his own head level, he has started to meditate. "I am doing it every night. At 8pm there is an organisation called mindfulness.ie and I sit down on my own and try to get everything out of my head. You are not identified and you don't have to show your face or speak and it is led by someone for a half an hour of silence and contemplation. I find it uplifting in my work anyway just to sit there and focus on you and what you are doing and how you are thinking."

What he is not thinking about is retirement. His colleague Sean O'Rourke may have highlighted the ageist laws which prevent people from continuing on as staff at the national broadcaster once they reach 65, but, for Duffy, who turns 65 next January, that isn't a problem.

"I am not on staff," though he omits to mention the fact this is purely to his advantage as he benefits enormously through the fees arrangement and tax avoidance this offers he says, and you can detect a hint of a bemused laugh when he recalls "they wouldn't let me go on staff way back".

"I am a contractor and part of the deal is they can let me go tomorrow on my mother's 91st birthday and there is no comeback. So other forces will determine whether I go or not but I have no intention. I've no wish." Love the way this is portrayed as a sacrifice - humble to the end. The reality is he'd not leave as he has such an unbelievably cushy number. The "they could let me go tomorrow" is also bollocks - he has a contract and it's not terminable at a day's notice. Such a charlatan in how he presents this.

Though still one of the most listened to shows on the airwaves, his pay was cut to €389,988 in 2016 from €416,893 the previous year. More spin. No mention of the 3 months holidays, no mention he could have worked less in the year with the reduction in fees - this is not a man working 40 hours a week with 20 days off. Duffy is prudent That's one word for it. and anything he has goes towards the future

"Any spare money goes into the pensions in our household. I don't have a pension from RTE, You could haver if you opted to become staff, but you would never do that. Don't present it like iyou're at a loss as a resulkt - you are not. I don't have sick pay Yes, but you complained about not having sick pay despite being a contractor previously - you want it every way. and I don't have a safety net BOLLOCKS - RTE don't let "talent" go. One defection in . the last 20years basically. You're being paid as a contractor with all the additional security of a full time staffer. And well you know it. - and the pension is gone again. Yeah, right. Penmsions have bounced back enoprmously. ANd I refuse to believe your money isn't diversified. In shorty - don't you be giving me any of yer auld guff. It disappeared 10 years ago with the crash and now with Covid-19. Far too early to tell what effect this will have on pensions, but I suspect you're well diversified. It was invariably invested in stocks and shares." But he says: "It's not a worry in my life. Why would it? You're a multimillionaire. The worry in life at the moment is people's health."

He has collected two key pieces of wisdom from the seasoned broadcasters who have gone before him.

The first was from the late Gay Byrne. Sitting at his kitchen table after telling his mentor he had been offered a Sunday morning show, he wondered if he should take it on. He already had a six-day workload. Noite: in Mr. Duffy's mind 75mins is a day's workload.

"So what?" came the reply. "It is what we do. Do it while you can, it won't last forever."

The second was from the late Larry Gogan.Liveline may be 20 years old this year, but Joe won't hear it mentioned. "Larry said 'don't ever let them have a programme to mark your [milestone] because someone on the third floor will hear it and say he is doing that for 15 years? It's time for a change!'"

I recount a tale a colleague once told me about the late Sunday Independent editor Aengus Fanning. He would often come barrelling out of his office cursing the broadcaster to the heavens because the phone lines were hopping. Invariably an article had been picked up by a concerned caller who phoned in her dismay to Liveline, stirring the nation from its slumber once again. You mean the Irish Independent that publishes "articles" about the day's cranky caller on Lahv Lahn? Pulitzer prize-winning work that.

Duffy's ability to turn what might have been a simple 'tut tut' across marmalade and toast at a breakfast table into a national outcry is legendary. Such as "WHOY didn't you turn your gun on de journalists?" or "I'll calm down if you calm down".

Even his own station isn't exempt. Lol, most callers who dare criticise RTE might disagree. Most recently he had the nation in a sweat when a group of pearl clutchers called in to complain that RTE's Normal People was "like something out of a porno". But Duffy refuses to call out the puritanism when asked what it says about Ireland's attitude to sex. "We have matured dramatically," he says, perhaps knowing which side his own toast is buttered on. You can chalk that one down so to speak as they say

Say what you want, but those 75 minutes are unmissable when in full swing. Sure, for all the wrong reasons as we laugh at the host. Duffy is Twitter without the venom Lol. or defamation or anonymous stone-throwing. And even a fool could see RTE won't want him to go anywhere soon. But he just sad he has no security and could be let go tomorrow on his mudder's birthday de poor petal. Which is it?

He tells a story of taking his kids to see coal mines, with a message to take home: "I told them: Now that is work. Lying on your side with a pick. A lot of what people do is hard work." In contrast, he sees his position as "a privilege". WHOY not donate a few months fees then to buy PPE for hostibles Mr. Duffy?

He and his team write to many callers on a hand- painted card I wunder who de wunderful fantastic "artist" who did drew de picture was? :rolleyes: long after they have come off air. The messages come in from listeners, too. Albeit not in a way you might expect.

"They drop notes in my front door, they ask: 'will you please take up this issue?'" he says. He has no fear ideas might dry up: "Everyone has 10 stories in their lives - and that's just at any one time."

It seems the world may be changing and full of uncertainty, but the nation will cope so long as they can talk to Joe. Niamh Horan you are a disgrace to journalism.

NO mention of the artist's exemption for writin' de bukes. No mention of the blatant and constant plugging of his own wares. No mention of the face dat is FunnyFryday - a vehickle that has given airtime to Syl Fox AND Al Porter. No mention of his refusal to condemn Gerry Ryan for his part in funding the drug trade. No mention of the use of vulnerable callers. No mention of the complaints upheld by the BAI. I could go on but I'm going to walk the dog. The dog is white btw.

Thank you for your service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Joe Duffy gets candid on losing his pension, coronavirus and a reckoning

Who exactly are these puff pieces aimed at, supposed to influence?
    Dee is hardly sitting there of a Friday thinking 'it's time I canned that Duffy fella'...then reads a puff piece and changes her mind? (all very hypothetical of course)

De rouge font makes for a fierce difficult read caller, fierce difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    Dee is hardly sitting there of a Friday thinking 'it's time I canned that Duffy fella'...then reads a puff piece and changes her mind? (all very hypothetical of course)

Just my interpretation of the plan but I think NK will arrive at the negotiations with all these 'articles' in little folder as proof of Duffy's popularity. Also it could be a soft power thing, if you tell enough impressionable people the same thing enough times it becomes fact. It wont be critically assessed anywhere large scale and will be just accepted. Also incase anything goes wrong in the negotiations they will have the public on their side due to the pre emptive PR campaign that has been launched. It's the same with the Lottie articles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »

Apologies General, but I had to make it easy for de casual reader to distinguish between Niamh Horan and Mr. Duffy's combined guff and me own critique so to speak as they say. I blame me primary school teacher who used to correct me homework and dat wit de red biro so to speak and they say.

Perhaps you're experiencing an onset of colour blindness so to speak as they say? Maybe de cocooning is affecting yer eyes and dat? Would you be free to take a call tomorrow afternoon? If you've had a recent bereavement in yer house BC (before Coronavirus) or DC (during Coronavirus) or have a history of cancer in your family it'll help. You might even get a break-een out of it AC (after Coronavirus).

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Just my interpretation of the plan but I think NK will arrive at the negotiations with all these 'articles' in little folder as proof of Duffy's popularity. Also it could be a soft power thing, if you tell enough impressionable people the same thing enough times it becomes fact. It wont be critically assessed anywhere large scale and will be just accepted. Also incase anything goes wrong in the negotiations they will have the public on their side due to the pre emptive PR campaign that has been launched. It's the same with the Lottie articles.

I think that is the entirety of this, and other, fluff pieces, generated by the machine that is Noel Kelly Talent Management.

<uses the word “talent” in the broadest possible connotation>

Fair play to him, he’s doing his job. Keep ‘em in the headlines, that’s the way

PieOhMy wrote: »

NK: Dee, Lottie is so popular - she was in 4 papers just last week, De Oirish Daily Fail, De Oirish Daily Star, De Nortsoyde Peeple and a paper in Carlow wit Kt-trynne Thomasasasasas'es Ma opening an extension to a DIY shop. She's a brand within a brand so to speak. I tink she'd be de ideal person to replace Sean O'Rourke - she has lots of experience interviewing peeple from all walks of life and of asking de hard questions from her work on Dancing With The Staff behind de scenes so to speak. And to top all of dat, she's an expert at reading articles off de internet for her showbiz segment so to speak. Whoy stop at Sean O'Rourke, maybe she could also do Prime Time Investigates from a celebrity gossip angle?

I think de only things left to discuss are "when does she start?", and by what factor are we increasing her fees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

BC (before Coronavirus) or DC (during Coronavirus)

And AD (after depestillence)

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Similar fate overtook an old instructor of mine.
    Jim Beaton. Never one to take chances with anyone on board, he risked a lot with just himself there.
    https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=jim+beaton+flying+instructor

Ferry pilots of light aircraft take a lot of risks. Why a Russian flying school would need a Cessna 172 imported from USA I don’t understand. Could they not get a suitable aircraft in Europe?

De Saudi buckos who flew de planes on de 9/11 didn't want to learn how to land de planes at all at all when they were taking de flying instructions in America so to speak. Wan a de American instructors taught dis was a bit strange so to speak and told de authorities but between de FBI and de CIA who were at de toyme playing a giant game of "my willy is bigger than yours" and not sharing de information dis went unchecked.

Actually, for those of you looking for something interesting to read at the moment, The 9/11 Commission Report is actually a very interesting read IMO. It's quite long, but captures the collective failings that could have prevented the attacks. It's free to download so to speak, but you'll need a lot of paper.....

https://www.9-11commission.gov/report/911Report.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Sunday nite 'n giving out homework like that :(

tenor.gif?itemid=7525195

0lddog wrote: »

tenor.gif?itemid=7525195

It's honestly a fascinating read; but best read with a degree of healthy skepticism of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

It's honestly a fascinating read; but best read with a degree of healthy skepticism of course.

I dont doubt it for a minute. Bet most of it is centred around three letter agencies trying to cover their backsides.

Back on topic :

Salad dodgers are at extra high risk 'o de virus

Would he ever do the decent thing and f. off out of it so that some young wans can have a chance at the gig ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Apologies General, but I had to make it easy for de casual reader to distinguish between Niamh Horan and Mr. Duffy's combined guff and me own critique so to speak as they say. I blame me primary school teacher who used to correct me homework and dat wit de red biro so to speak and they say.

Perhaps you're experiencing an onset of colour blindness so to speak as they say? Maybe de cocooning is affecting yer eyes and dat? Would you be free to take a call tomorrow afternoon? If you've had a recent bereavement in yer house BC (before Coronavirus) or DC (during Coronavirus) or have a history of cancer in your family it'll help. You might even get a break-een out of it AC (after Coronavirus).

I know, I know. Ah me ol eyes wouldn't be the best but with the dark mode I use on the site, tis difficult. Would these lads [ ] be an option or eye-talicks?
    No death here at all worth talking about. Me spine is fooked though if that's any addition to yis.

You could save yourself some time and just copy and paste my review as they'll be identical so to speak as they say....
    giphy.gif

If you're genuinely serious in your adulation you know that newspapers will sell you prints of any photo their photographers take? You could get prints of those wunderful fantastic pictures you reference and maybe even get Mr. Duffy to sign them for you next time you're in RTÉ. You can add them to your "Wall of Joe"....

I think from now on I'll just call you Jed.

Or I can do a beauriful portrait with my own fair hands. Will be completing a painting of Tory Island Loighthouee this very week, so have another canvas on de ready.

I dont doubt it for a minute. Bet most of it is centred around three letter agencies trying to cover their backsides.

Back on topic :

Salad dodgers are at extra high risk 'o de virus

Would he ever do the decent thing and f. off out of it so that some young wans can have a chance at the gig ?

A twin or three maybe?

tenor.gif?itemid=7525195

Dat plane reminds me of de late great Arthur Wignall, who flew the Harp Pitts Special at de time I was flying. When me faaaader came out to de airfield we would pick up a girl who was lowest Civil Servant grade (Clerical Assistant) and about to do post PPL aerobatics training with Arthur, but shortly after that poor Arthur lost his life by performing just look low at Sligo. Another pilot I knew was right at the scene in Sligo and gave a horrific account of the post-accident scene.

One thing I loved about the flying scene was that it was made as affordable as possible back then to all and sundry, right in the midst of high unemployment and a recession.

As you can see from de pic, you often had to shoooh a peacock if de wing to get de roide so to speak.

Or I can do a beauriful portrait with my own fair hands. Will be completing a painting of Tory Island Loighthouee this very week, so have another canvas on de ready.

I do like de portrait you did of him a few years back - can ya stick dat up again for us all ta have a gander at so to speak as they say?

For your pleasure

It’s like a photograph so to speak as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Never mind all that. What about this?

FrontPage11-05.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Hahahahaha:pac::D

sligojoek wrote: »
    Never mind all that. What about this?

FrontPage11-05.jpg

I honestly can’t think of any other story of greater import to the country right now that should replace that as front page news. Well done The Sun.

€1.10 is very expensive for jacks paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,228 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I see Joe is in the press today giving out about losing his two pensions....by the sounds of it due to dodgy investments...how can a man be expected to safely plan for his future when he is only on about 416k a year!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

I think that is the entirety of this, and other, fluff pieces, generated by the machine that is Noel Kelly Talent Management.

<uses the word “talent” in the broadest possible connotation>

Fair play to him, he’s doing his job. Keep ‘em in the headlines, that’s the way

Yesterdays article appearing in brief on Extra.ie today.

Headline is 'Duffy opens up on losing his private pension for the second time in 10 years'. Im wondering if this is the primary point in NKs negotiation strategy. It's out there now that Joe lost his pension 10 years ago (did he invest 100% of his pension in Lehman Brothers 10 years ago and again 100% of it in some company that failed in the last few weeks that I havnt heard about?)
    As you approach retirement age you would have moved the vast majority of your assets to low risk, liquid assets so I cant' see where this immense loss could have come from. Its such a strange point to make like how has he already lost 100% of his pension as a result of covid? Would this not effect other people too? Are they not calling liveline?

If the famously frugal Joe was putting any spare money into a pension for 10 years and he was on say 350k+ for the majority of that time (and say he supported the three twins education in that time too) that would be a pot of nearly 1.5 million euro that hes lost in the last 2 months?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? Its just astonishingly bad financial management if it's true (which it isnt).
    The article also mentions the lack of job security, lack of sick pay and the 75min advert for Normal People.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,141 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

This "losing his pension" bit is bullsh1t.

It will have taken a nose dive but by no means will he have lost it - unless his pension advisor invested it in Guatemalan Bitcoin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

To start moaning about supposed pension losses, shows how out of touch and tone deaf is Mr.Duffy with the general public.