Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

They seem more likely to delay than bring things forward if the experience of homeware in phase 1 is anything to go by

Stheno wrote: »
    Harris interview this morning.

He appears to be saying that the 5km is in all circumstances bar extenuating, so no trips outside 5km for shopping etc?

I'm confused at this stage

Oh and we all need to "cop on"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/weddings-with-100-guests-highly-unlikely-to-be-allowed-this-summer-harris-1.4256114

Its clear in the guidance that you can travel to an essential retailer, and many people live more the 5km from their nearest essential retailer

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Its clear in the guidance that you can travel to an essential retailer, and many people live more the 5km from their nearest essential retailer

But does that include hardware and garden centres now?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,216 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

CBear1993 wrote: »
    here you please.

Enough of this horsesh*t.

More people die of cigarettes and other things each year than this.

I've been so lucky that after many decades I've still managed to evade those gangs going around and forcing people to smoke against their will.

They're the real problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I believe Harris wants to sign the mandatory 2 week isolation when entering the country this week.

Wasn't the EU saying this is not legal?

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

It's simple. If you're at risk or feel like you don't want to be outdoors or far from your home - stay the f*ck home or near it.

If you're under 60 and otherwise healthy, even more so for young people, you should be allowed to go as and where you please.

Enough of this horsesh*t.

More people die of cigarettes and other things each year than this.

If you think this is an epidemic, wait to you see the aftermath of this; mental health such as anxiety cases etc will soar as we come to the end of this. The longer this imposed "lockdown" goes on the worse it gets.

For the June Bank holiday weekend, if people want to go to their holiday homes, let the garda f*ck off and let people live a little.

The long term affects are going to be enormous and agree the longer the lockdown goes on the worse it gets. I thought schools would open up in June at least, I can’t see childcare opening up soon. Some are going bust already.

I can’t help but think that if restrictions were heavier to begin with such as quarantine for inward travel and possibly being kept indoors for two weeks that we would be much further along. If we have a situation where this lockdown is extended beyond June we will be opening up the country right before flu season and at a time where there is less opportunities for outdoor socialising or activity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

Hurrache wrote: »
    I've been so lucky that after many decades I've still managed to evade those gangs going around and forcing people to smoke against their will.

They're the real problem.

Except the funny thing is the gang going around forcing in this instance are the three stooges - leo, simon and tony.

I wonder could we go down the Hong Kong approach of testing people in the airport and giving them results before they leave. They have it down to an 8 hour turn around.

It might turn out to be the easiest solution, as trying to keep track of thousands of people in home quarantine isn't the easiest.

They are not tested at the airport in HK, they are bused to a convention center

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    They seem more likely to delay than bring things forward if the experience of homeware in phase 1 is anything to go by

Unless of course it helps to alleviate the hardship of their multi millionaire chums by bringing forward horse racing for example.

Watch for some more of this over the next few weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Plenty of texts into newstalk from construction workers saying that the social distancing rules are gone out the window already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

seamus wrote: »
    We can isolate people landing in the Republic from wherever we want.

We have no control over the ports in the North though, and there is no practical way to police visitors coming over the border; especially if they landed in Belfast.

At best we could stop all yellow regs and order them back over the border, but that's not too practical either given the volume of commercial traffic crossing the border.

It's a massive open hole in any containment strategy. While I'm glad to see that the rest of the UK isn't following England's lead on their suicide run, I can't see Stormont going as far as quarantining other UK citizens. I could be wrong though.

No we can’t isolate them. Freedom of movement is not a discretion for countries especially where there is low risk. A German court has already ruled on this. And the EU Commission has signalled a sensible way to ease out of the current position of unilateral measures. I would be surprised if the AG allows the regulations to be signed and if so I would be even more surprised if they are enforced.

The existing regulations with powers given to the Guards on restrictions of movement are unenforceable - the DPP knows this and that is why they asked that the Guards contact the DPP before even sending through a file.

People have been willing to accept things for the greater good and have been largely compliant but if things become disproportionate, arbitrary, not based on real risk then there will be challenges.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

quokula wrote: »
    Spain's economy was in a worse place than ours to start with and is disproportionately based on tourism, which is the hardest hit industry. I also have no idea what financial supports their government have put in place, but the 350 euros per week you get here should be more than enough to keep food on anyone's table.

And even if not, if push comes to shove, if it came to a choice between thousands suffering the indignity of queuing for food, and thousands dying, it's still a no brainer decision.

Most of southern Europe is like that, particularly the coastal parts.

Italy and Spain do have substantial industrial bases though.

Three areas that will affect these countries - tourism, car manufacturing and airplane manufacturing, all of which will take a huge hit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Plenty of texts into newstalk from construction workers saying that the social distancing rules are gone out the window already

jesus wept. That's it. lock the whole thing down and send all the construction workers home. Someone tell leo and simon quickly.

And ring the garda too while poking your head out through the curtains at the site in your view.

Sure we'll just forget about construction all summer to fit the nanny-state narrative, how about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,974 ✭✭✭✭Stark

This is what happens when you hire the construction workers from the Village People. They just can't keep their hands off each other.

"We work hard. We play hard".

jesus wept. That's it. lock the whole thing down and send all the construction workers home. Someone tell leo and simon quickly.

And ring the garda too while poking your head out through the curtains at the site in your view.

Sure we'll just forget about construction all summer to fit the nanny-state narrative, how about that?

Woah settle down there Mary.

Don't shoot the messenger

Except the funny thing is the gang going around forcing in this instance are the three stooges - leo, simon and tony.

****ers going around protecting public health, just what do they think they're at?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

quokula wrote: »
    Ending lockdown in Ireland isn't going to feed other continents, stop trying to portray selfishness as a virtue.

Erm

"Ireland is the fifth most generous country in the world and Europe’s most generous nation despite charitable giving falling in the world’s wealthiest countries over the past 10 years, according to the results of a study by the Charities Aid Foundation (CAF)."

https://extra.ie/2019/10/15/business/irish/ireland-remains-5th-most-generous-nation-as-charitable-giving-declines-worldwide

The article is from Oct 2019.

This is a good thing btw, not something to be argued over. If you think Ireland staying in lockdown won't affect its ability (or ability of its citizens) to contribute to worldwide causes and ultimately help people on other continents then thats fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Selfishness is a virtue btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,405 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I said takeaway is allowed - this preserves all the jobs.

But sitting down to have a chat with friends for an hour or two in a confined space, without a mask, is not essential.

Not a hope. Take away is a niche and not near to capacity for restaurants. Plust they can't charge as mush or make momney from extras. Take away is a just a ticking over exercise for most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-52701524

What can happen if things are relaxed too much.

What does Ireland have in common with Sao Paulo or anywhere in Brazil for that matter? And people were being ridiculed for comparing Ireland to Sweden.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,405 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Hurrache wrote: »
    ****ers going around protecting public health, just what do they think they're at?

Yea, just like they did in Nursing homes?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Yeah, 3 hours in and they've all forgotten about the last 10 weeks, sure.

Wind-up merchants and pissbags texting into Newstalk more like. Aul ones and aul fellas looking at the builders back on site next door and tutting and shaking their heads.

Your average Newstalk listener is on a pension, not on a building site.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Alright, alright calm down.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

Stheno wrote: »
    But does that include hardware and garden centres now?

They are in the list

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    What does Ireland have in common with Sao Paulo or anywhere in Brazil for that matter? And people were being ridiculed for comparing Ireland to Sweden.

It was an example of a country that underplayed the seriousness of the coronavirus like many of the posters on this thread. Thought the pro economic brigade would identify with Jair.

road_high wrote: »
    Yea, just like they did in Nursing homes?

Ah sure they shouldn't have bothered at all so with that devastating point you just made.

Erm

"Ireland is the fifth most generous country in the world and Europe’s most generous nation despite charitable giving falling in the world’s wealthiest countries over the past 10 years, according to the results of a study by the Charities Aid Foundation (CAF)."

https://extra.ie/2019/10/15/business/irish/ireland-remains-5th-most-generous-nation-as-charitable-giving-declines-worldwide

The article is from Oct 2019.

This is a good thing btw, not something to be argued over. If you think Ireland staying in lockdown won't affect its ability (or ability of its citizens) to contribute to worldwide causes and ultimately help people on other continents then thats fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Selfishness is a virtue btw.
    An Ayn Rand fan, I see?;) many people would consider it to be a sin.

wakka12 wrote: »
    I know the government will resist but I seriously cannot imagine the majority happily sitting at home for almost another month waiting for another tiny shift of changes while almost no new cases are announnced each day by then

I think Tony and the goverment have terrified people, most people think the virus is a lot more deadly than it is and don't realise than most of the deaths have been in nursing homes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

It was an example of a country that underplayed the seriousness of the coronavirus like many of the posters on this thread. Thought the pro economic brigade would identify with Jair.

And how many people in Sao Paulo and across Brazil live in abject poverty in favelas? Have you encountered many Irish shanty towns in your travels? I'd also like to point out that Sao Paulo alone has three times the population of the whole of Ireland so you're comparing a tabby cat to a tiger.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    I think Tony and the goverment have terrified people, most people think the virus is a lot more deadly than it is and don't realise than most of the deaths have been in nursing homes

Let's see how the second wave goes. Probably be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Your concerns over Brazil covid impact and 0.007% of their population dying has been addressed multiple times last week.

Why do you keep bringing this up? Brazil has over 210,000,000 people... this thread is about Ireland lifting restrictions.

As is more people have died from road crashes in Brazil than Covid this year...

Surely on a day of packed busses, construction workers breaking social distancing as early as 9:01 AM, you would have other topics to discuss?