Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

storker wrote: »
    Why didn't you just say that then? Ego te absolvo. :D

Maybe spend less time quoting Latin and more time mastering reading comprehension. It'll work wonders.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭storker

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Maybe spend less time quoting Latin and more time mastering reading comprehension. It'll work wonders.

Diddums

Diddums

Bit rich coming from someone who twisted what I was saying to somehow make it out to be a personal insult against him when I was obviously referring to a completely different group of people but whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭storker

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Bit rich coming from someone who twisted what I was saying to somehow make it out to be a personal insult against him when I was obviously referring to a completely different group of people but whatever.

Oh, I picked up your meaning alright.
    but I guess the sense of begrudgery is enough for you
    but if the boot fits wear it

Oh, I picked up your meaning alright.

It’s actually really disturbing how many Irish people seem to be enjoying lockdown just because it prevents other people from doing things they enjoy.

I’ve seen people that don’t even drink almost celebrating the fact that pubs are closed. People with no desire to travel saying that air travel should be cancelled for years. One miserable poster suggesting that young people shouldn’t be having sex until a vaccine is found. Criticising people who order takeaways. Criticising people who enjoy sport such as horse racing/gambling. Criticising businesses for wanting to reopen.

It’s really pathetic to have that much hate inside you. If you really don’t like something, just don’t do it

I was referring to this post when I said that people should have their heads examined and you went the full shame on you routine with me. Unless you're the one posting that stuff in the above post there's no reason to get your knickers in a twist. Go back and read the posts. Slowly so you can understand them.

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

AdamD wrote: »
    Looking down on Irish people seems weirdly common on this forum

I know some piece that are like that too and they are Irish themselves :-D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,497 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Lovely reading the nightly hysterics in the morning.

Thread had gone quiet so its great to see it back more frenzied than ever :D

These threads are the best part of this thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Someone mentioned Christmas crackers earlier on in the thread. We can still have them guys, it is easy to have socially distancing and still pull Christmas crackers. Just tie a meter of string to either end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

pjohnson wrote: »
    Lovely reading the nightly hysterics in the morning.

Thread had gone quiet so its great to see it back more frenzied than ever :D

These threads are the best part of this thing!

Nice to see that the Irish Times has figured out why so many lockdowners are happy ———-

A significant minority of people in receipt of the €350 pandemic unemployment payment were paid less than €300 a week before the payment was introduced, a Government report has said, as questions continue about the future of the payment.The report, compiled by the Department of Business, raises concerns about “significant disincentive effects associated with the pandemic unemployment payment with 38 per cent of recipients previously earning less than €300 per week”.

With almost 600,000 people receiving the special payment, it means that over 200,000 people are better off unemployed than they were while working. That number includes many people who were working part-time in the hospitality industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Someone mentioned Christmas crackers earlier on in the thread. We can still have them guys, it is easy to have socially distancing and still pull Christmas crackers. Just tie a meter of string to either end.

Already banned. There is a list of “essential Christmas” and the only crackers on them are cheese crackers. It was a toss up between stuffing and the Crackers, and thankfully the crackers lost out. They are talking about staggering Christmas Day across three days so as to minimise the pressure on the shops (I know it makes as much a sense as a 5km limit).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Nice to see that the Irish Times has figured out why so many lockdowners are happy ———-

A significant minority of people in receipt of the €350 pandemic unemployment payment were paid less than €300 a week before the payment was introduced, a Government report has said, as questions continue about the future of the payment.The report, compiled by the Department of Business, raises concerns about “significant disincentive effects associated with the pandemic unemployment payment with 38 per cent of recipients previously earning less than €300 per week”.

With almost 600,000 people receiving the special payment, it means that over 200,000 people are better off unemployed than they were while working. That number includes many people who were working part-time in the hospitality industry.

If that's true, it's absolutely outrageous.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,479 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

... and shows why this was a badly thought out amount in the first place.

They have now added 200,000 to the dole who have no intention of going back to work again, unless they cut the payment dramatically, which could be political suicide.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

NIMAN wrote: »
    ... and shows why this was a badly thought out amount in the first place.

They have now added 200,000 to the dole who have no intention of going back to work again, unless they cut the payment dramatically, which could be political suicide.

Once we get to phase 5 the payment will be gone. You can sign on officially then if I want

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭SNNUS

It makes sense now.. Once these payments are tapered off the Lock down FFS! Lot are doomed.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Even owl Dr Tony,Leo and Harris will be on the lash when all this dies down

For some ridiculous reason they are trying to draw this out for months and months.

Pubs and restaurants now effectively finished until a mythical vaccine appears.

Schools,sporting events, concerts any indoor gathering etc all gone

Can’t be spending more than 2 hours in same room

How did this stupidity only enter discussion this week 9 weeks later??

What’s the next idiotic recommendation these fools are going to come up with.

Can’t fill your own petrol or diesel at the pumps for risk of spreading the virus :rolleyes:

Wouldn’t be surprised at this stage.

Dr Tony,NPHET seem to be on a mission to keep themselves relevant for as long as possible and Leo their lapdog is allowing this comedy show to continue

Thanks Tony and NPHET you have given your advice and recommendations and the people carried them out , totally suppressing this virus in the community weeks ago and now it time to move on.

They scared people with their initial figures of potential infections and deaths and now they want to continue that sh1t with their second wave scaremongering.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

For some ridiculous reason they are trying to draw this out for months and months.

Pubs and restaurants now effectively finished until a mythical vaccine appears.

Schools,sporting events, concerts any indoor gathering etc all gone

Can’t be spending more than 2 hours in same room

How did this stupidity only enter discussion this week 9 weeks later??

What’s the next idiotic recommendation these fools are going to come up with.

Can’t fill your own petrol or diesel at the pumps for risk of spreading the virus :rolleyes:

Wouldn’t be surprised at this stage.

Dr Tony,NPHET seem to be on a mission to keep themselves relevant for as long as possible and Leo their lapdog is allowing this comedy show to continue

Thanks Tony and NPHET you have given your advice and recommendations and the people carried them out , totally suppressing this virus in the community weeks ago and now it time to move on.

They scared people with their initial figures of potential infections and deaths and now they want to continue that sh1t with their second wave scaremongering.

Government said outdoor events of 5000 or less can go ahead.
    The 2 hour thing is not official and it wont be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

*With strict social distancing, making all gigs and most spectator sport events completely unviable.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Well after a busy weekend and trying to play catch up, I've skipped about 50 pages...what have I missed?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

The 5km rule is ridiculous. Most people are breaching it anyway . Even 20km is stupid. UK and NI can go anywhere now and we share the island with NI . So they can travel anywhere they like on this island now and we can’t? They can drive to Donegal, Dublin , Kerry.........they can drive the perimeter of Ireland, the Atlantic Way in its entirety ............but we have to stick within 5km.

Because “this is us “ ......the eejits in Ireland ............:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The 5km rule is ridiculous. Most people are breaching it anyway . Even 20km is stupid. UK and NI can go anywhere now and we share the island with NI . So they can travel anywhere they like on this island now and we can’t? They can drive to Donegal, Dublin , Kerry.........they can drive the perimeter of Ireland, the Atlantic Way in its entirety ............but we have to stick within 5km.

Because “this is us “ ......the eejits in Ireland ............:rolleyes::rolleyes:

If, "most people are breaching it anyway," why is it an issue for you?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,497 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Penfailed wrote: »
    If, "most people are breaching it anyway," why is it an issue for you?

Its amazing! The outrage is at such a peak they cant even remember what they are upset about!

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

A person can think a thing is stupid without it affecting them. Imagine that. If that wasn't the case we wouldn't have the reams and reams of posts on this site whining about Donald Trump.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

*With strict social distancing, making all gigs and most spectator sport events completely unviable.

We can live without sports and music. The virus doesn’t care if it is Beyoncé or Daniel O’Donnell, Cavan Town or Man Utd.. the virus would attend every gig and every sports event and more death would follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Penfailed wrote: »
    Well after a busy weekend and trying to play catch up, I've skipped about 50 pages...what have I missed?

A few people got stuck in traffic on their way to obesity.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,479 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Surely this could be the thing to kill Ireland's pub culture too.

Can anyone see a time when you're in a packed pub having a good old sing song?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi7

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52470838

'....The health ministry's infectious diseases chief Daniel Koch said scientists had concluded that young children did not transmit the virus.....'

Won’t be long now for Drew Harris to be back on tv because Simon says go on there and tell the public to “cop on”and not to be travelling this bank holiday weekend because we’ll be out in force

Checkpoints magically reappearing after disappearing as quick after the last bank holiday

The media will be awash with this crap next week.

Checkpoints here , Gardaí this and it’s all a load of horse manure.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,471 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

daithi7 wrote: »
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52470838

'....The health ministry's infectious diseases chief Daniel Koch said scientists had concluded that young children did not transmit the virus.....'

That is quite an outlandish statement from the IDC.
    Saying they just don't have the receptors to catch the disease doesn't add up when countries have reported deaths of children as young as six weeks old.

This BBC article, from yesterday, appears to completely refute the scientists claims.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/health-52003804

The article in the post I quoted is 3 weeks old

• Registered Users Posts: 15,243 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Won’t be long now for Drew Harris to be back on tv because Simon says go on there and tell the public to “cop on”and not to be travelling this bank holiday weekend because we’ll be out in force

Checkpoints magically reappearing after disappearing as quick after the last bank holiday

The media will be awash with this crap next week.

Checkpoints here , Gardaí this and it’s all a load of horse manure.

There'll be absolutely feck all additional checkpoints, the overtime budget is gone for them.

Checkpoints will be probably visible for Thursday and Friday next week so workers will see them before the weekend comes and to give the illusion that they will be ongoing for the whole weekend,

We will be told throughout all media outlets that Gardaí will be out in force.

Don’t be bold and stay at home like Simon and Dr Tony say.

“We’re all in this together “ and the new line “Hold Firm” :rolleyes: