Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

The measures are working. Which is why they need to remain in place as long as possible.

This will give us a lower base in to the Autumn and more time to have counter measures like robust track and trace in place.

It's the best example of how the measures work and I applaud you in highlighting this success. :)

Need to get more people on the Wall. Winter is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Seriously

"MORE THAN 50,000 people are waiting for eye care appointments from the HSE, including patients with deteriorating conditions such as glaucoma, while concerns are also being raised that treatments and procedures will be further delayed as a result of Covid-19.

The latest figures from the Department of Health show that 41,401 people are waiting for an outpatient appointment, with 12,414 of those waiting more than 18 months for their appointment."

https://www.thejournal.ie/50000-people-waiting-for-eye-care-appointment-5103723-May2020/

If we will depend on HSE progress to lift restrictions then we ll get out of lockdown in the mid 2021. Disastrous.

Called the oncology department in James’ Hospital yesterday. Took 4 calls at different times during the day to get through. I was trying to find out in my mother’s radiation therapy was going ahead this month. It isn’t going ahead and instead the doctor will do a consultation over the phone. How does that help??

Absolutely ridiculous stuff. Don’t get radiation therapy for your cancer in case you get Covid. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The media have been absolutely shocking throughout this fiasco.

They've ditched any kind of rigorous reporting and questioning and hoovered up the clicks by pumping out a steady stream of fear-mongering.

Other than a few notable journalists who've questioned this total over-reaction, it's been an utter dereliction of duty from the so-called 4th estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Ireland didn't have it as rough as Italy or Spain purely because of restrictions put in place timely. When second wave comes, if we decide not to go into lock down again, get ready for the real deal

Ask our elderly in the nursing homes if we didn't have it as bad as Italy and Spain (Although the dead can't answer). The difference was that Italy and Spain initially brought ALL of the elderly victims into hospital and ICU and thus overwhelmed their system.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

To be honest, I don't have any worry about our economic recovery from this point on. It's apparent that during the lock down we've had so many people put their time to excellent use and have all become medical and economic experts, with a better understanding of all our current resources. I expect they'll be running the HSE and government pretty soon too. And don't forget the soothsayers, they'll obviously come in handy.

It's going to be amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

polesheep wrote: »
    It's like reliving Orsen Welles broadcast of War of the Worlds. He proved in 1938 that people could be panicked and driven to irrational behaviour through a fearful broadcast, and Leo Varadkar proved it again in 2020. A cold analysis of these lockdowns will prove it to have been the biggest case of mass hysteria that the country has ever seen. It could have been handled so much more quietly and simply.

The only way this comparison would make any sense would be if neighbouring countries actually had alien invasions

• Registered Users Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭Penfailed

There'll be absolutely feck all additional checkpoints, the overtime budget is gone for them.

I was stopped on the way to work this morning.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Not a snowballs' chance in Hell that they will be adhered to.

The vast majority will adhere to rules to save lives because they understand what is at stake.

You'll always get a minority of ignorant selfish people who don't follow rules anyway and life/death decisions wouldn't sway them.

if we get to Autumn and see a surge with hospitals overwhelmed and disturbing scenes as occurred in northern Italy 99% of people will do the right thing.

Please god that does not occur which is why the social distancing rules etc are in place. This is so we don't end up there.

We need to all follow the guidelines.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

NIMAN wrote: »
    Covid will be an answer to many difficult questions over the coming years.

"What about the lack of money for (insert X here)" - sorry we had to pay everyone to sit at home

"What about the hospital waiting lists" - sorry Covid was more important and has set us back years

"What about the huge increase in people dying from cancers that weren't spotted" - sorry we had to stop all appts cos of Covid.

There was a great post here yesterday for post of the year contender, but your post tops that one.

Couldnt thank it enough

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

There'll be absolutely feck all additional checkpoints, the overtime budget is gone for them.

I was stopped the day before yesterday, so I think they're still going.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

cian68 wrote: »
    The only way this comparison would make any sense would be if neighbouring countries actually had alien invasions

The irony of those complaining that the government and its agencies aim is to instil hysteria, is those people complaining are indulging in a fair bit of hysteria about it themselves.

cian68 wrote: »

No, the same thing happened in most neighbouring countries.

The vast majority will adhere to rules to save lives because they understand what is at stake.

You'll always get a minority of ignorant selfish people who don't follow rules anyway and life/death decisions wouldn't sway them.

if we get to Autumn and see a surge with hospitals overwhelmed and disturbing scenes as occurred in northern Italy 99% of people will do the right thing.

Please god that does not occur which is why the social distancing rules etc are in place. This is so we don't end up there.

So why the need for restrictions?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Ask our elderly in the nursing homes if we didn't have it as bad as Italy and Spain (Although the dead can't answer). The difference was that Italy and Spain initially brought ALL of the elderly victims into hospital and ICU and thus overwhelmed their system.

Italy, Spain and any other country brought people to hospital when it was needed. They had it rough because they had a bigger spike, which was avoided in Ireland due to restrictions
    Lock-down is not sustainable in the long term so chances are we are not going to replicate the same measures and that's when the real fun begins

• Registered Users Posts: 15,243 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Penfailed wrote: »
    I was stopped on the way to work this morning.

Yeah I've been stopped as well theres still checkpoints but not at the same level, mobile checkpoints are still happening they can pop up anywhere whenever the Gardai please but could be gone again in 30 mins but major in place checkpoints were run on overtime

• Registered Users Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Ireland didn't have it as rough as Italy or Spain purely because of restrictions put in place timely.

A dumb statement totally devoid of any proof.

It's an article of faith among the lockdown-merchants, like believing in God or Santa Claus.

So why the need for restrictions?

Social Distancing is part of the restrictions

Italy, Spain and any other country brought people to hospital when it was needed. They had it rough because they had a bigger spike, which was avoided in Ireland due to restrictions
    Lock-down is not sustainable in the long term so chances are we are not going to replicate the same measures and that's when the real fun begins

You know, I honestly think you actually believe this.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

True to a point, but RTE news articles definitely always add something fresh.

Around 80% of cases of Covid-19 will be a mild to moderate illness, close to 14% have severe disease and around 6% are critical.

Generally, you need to be 15 minutes or more in the vicinity of an infected person and within 2 metres of them, to be considered at-risk, or a close contact.

A dumb statement totally devoid of any proof.

It's an article of faith among the lockdown-merchants, like believing in God or Santa Claus.

it's actually easily verifiable, you can compare stats of countries who applied lock-down to those who didn't. The trends are easily spotted. Probably even you could see them

• Registered Users Posts: 15,243 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I was stopped the day before yesterday, so I think they're still going.

Yeah like I've said still going but not on the scale they were, lads were doing their 12 hour shifts and doing another 2 or 3 hours on top at checkpoints, that's finished. Any overtime needs approval now from higher up as the overtime budget for the year is gone until they get more assigned from government

it's actually easily verifiable, you can compare stats of countries who applied lock-down to those who didn't. The trends are easily spotted. Probably even you could see them

True, and we have approximately the same number of deaths per million that Sweden has. Sweden didn't have a lockdown BTW.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Do other countries not get Autumn or what? Why are they lifting their restrictions now, you need to tell them quickly that they are doomed come Autumn, what is it that you know that no one else seems to?

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Do other countries not get Autumn or what? Why are they lifting their restrictions now, you need to tell them quickly that they are doomed come Autumn, what is it that you know that no one else seems to?

The winter is coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭VonLuck

They've ditched any kind of rigorous reporting and questioning and hoovered up the clicks by pumping out a steady stream of fear-mongering.

Other than a few notable journalists who've questioned this total over-reaction, it's been an utter dereliction of duty from the so-called 4th estate.

I'm not pro-lockdown or pro-relaxation of restrictions, more of an objective observer, but am also surprised that there has been limited interrogation of the phasing.

Leo Varadker was on Newstalk this morning and was asked about the slowness of the phases and once he gave his response Shane Coleman (I think) just said "okay" and moved onto the next question! Thought he would at least come back with a counter point.

I don't know why the media aren't discussing both sides of the argument on the restrictions. Surely they've nothing to gain by being pro-lockdown?

Jackman25 wrote: »

Second Wave is expected in Autumn for every country who is lifting restrictions now, which is the vast majority, and this time around there won't be any lock down so it's really up to us how we moderate the spread of the virus in the next few months

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

ixoy wrote: »
    True to a point, but RTE news articles definitely always add something fresh.

Around 80% of cases of Covid-19 will be a mild to moderate illness, close to 14% have severe disease and around 6% are critical.

Generally, you need to be 15 minutes or more in the vicinity of an infected person and within 2 metres of them, to be considered at-risk, or a close contact.

Don’t forget adding daily figures to give running totals for deaths and infections here and worldwide.

No constant reminder of recovery figures though, or consistently falling infection and death figures and rates.

Second Wave is expected in Autumn for every country who is lifting restrictions now, which is the vast majority, and this time around there won't be any lock down so it's really up to us how we moderate the spread of the virus in the next few months

Okay, now that we all admitted that covid is a seasonal illness can we open the country up today for until 30th Sept? Maybe get a bit of economy going so we can fund HSE come Autumn?

True, and we have approximately the same number of deaths per million that Sweden has. Sweden didn't have a lockdown BTW.

ireland has been on a decreasing trend immediately after implementing measures, Sweden is stable and keeps piling up numbers.
    Do you apply any data interpretation when you look at numbers?

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

The media have been no different than usual. It has just taken a situation like this to expose their behaviour for all to see. It's been a long time since the Irish media have done anything other than parrot press releases or simply repeat what some other media outlet says. No boats must be rocked or inappropriate questions asked.