Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

lettuce97 wrote: »
    Has Tony Holohan ever been asked by a reporter if he factors in anything other than medical considerations (e.g. economy) into his decision making and recommendations? If he doesn't, there's a big question as to whether these were/are being factored in at all - which is pretty terrifying...

When our young generation ask what caused the 2020 recession? The answer will be "medical advice".

There was a "deadly pandemic" with 0.1% mortality rate, rampant. Government couldnt protect nursing homes or elderly and decided to "announce" a nationwide lockdown for 5 months.

That's it. How many died? less than 5,000. 0.1% of 5 million population.

Isnt flu mortality 0.1%? yes it is. yes it is. But covid19 is much more serious than flu because of (insert whatever you want not to feel bad about getting back to 2009 economic "levels")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

From what I saw today, the RO will be double what it is today in two weeks time

Bit of sunshine + a nation of alcoholics + the Irish hate being told what to do = a recipe for another spike

Some people and families are already at Phase Four of this, let alone Phase One!

We're a fúcking disaster

• Registered Users Posts: 14,508 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

When our young generation ask what caused the 2020 recession? The answer will be "medical advice".

There was a "deadly pandemic" with 0.1% mortality rate, rampant. Government couldnt protect nursing homes or elderly and decided to "announce" a nationwide lockdown for 5 months.

Isnt flu mortality 0.1%? yes it is. yes it is. But covid19 is much more serious than flu because of (insert whatever you want not to feel bad about getting back to 2009 economic "levels")

You seem very sure that mortality rates from Covid are 0.1% Where are you getting this from?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Arghus wrote: »
    He doesn't get asked really about that. He's the CMO, would the Minister for Finance get asked about how best to fight the virus?

But there's a misconception here that what Tony Holohan says determines everything. He's the CMO, but ultimately just one voice in NPHET, which contains a lot of other stakeholders.

They present their recommendations to government, it's really ultimately decided by government what to do after that.

I agree, he shouldn't be asked about that. But I also think it is a failure of leadership that he is the point man in all of this.

When this year is played out on Reeling In the Years in the future, people would be forgiven for thinking he was the Taoiseach or Minister For Health.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭titan18

There was that mortality rate cos of the lockdown, or do you actually think the lockdown has had no effect and didn't decrease the spread?

robbiezero wrote: »
    I agree, he shouldn't be asked about that. But I also think it is a failure of leadership that he is the point man in all of this.

When this year is played out on Reeling In the Years in the future, people would be forgiven for thinking he was the Taoiseach or Minister For Health.

That's fair. I think the relative invisibility of the Taoiseach is very strange. A few interviews here and there and some statements.

titan18 wrote: »
    There was that mortality rate cos of the lockdown, or do you actually think the lockdown has had no effect and didn't decrease the spread?

Thats correct. Sweden's population: 10,000,000

Sweden's deaths: 3,300

Death rate: 0.03%

Lets talk about their demographics? try to justify our farce in OUR country talking about "Swedish demographics" and how "they arent like Irish"?

Another 7,000 need to die for the death rate to become 0.1% btw.

So, stick with lockdown restrictions until 10th of August?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Urgh

I'll give it one more go.

What is it you fail to understand about this curve? (The shelter-in-place orders (the lock-down) commenced on March 22nd)

28201814-8303709-image-m-5_1589048634650.jpg

What happens if the countermeasures are not put in place?

Are those Neil Fergusons metrics?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,715 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Are those Neil Fergusons metrics?

They are COVID hospitalisations in New York until yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    From what I saw today, the RO will be double what it is today in two weeks time

Bit of sunshine + a nation of alcoholics + the Irish hate being told what to do = a recipe for another spike

Some people and families are already at Phase Four of this, let alone Phase One!

We're a fúcking disaster

Which if and when it happens will lead to a delay in the current restrictions being lifted and even possibly some further measures being introduced. And of course there will be an outcry against the government/Tony Holohan etc. instead of people taking responsibility for the consequences of their own actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

giphy.gif

It was, all things considered, an ok day today. I got some sun out the back garden, some exercise, some healthy food. I've definitely had worse days in the last 2 months

And then I log into fúcking Boards!

Time to close this tab and watch a film. There's simply no hope for or reasoning with some. They're a lost cause

They are COVID hospitalisations in New York until yesterday.

What has that got to do with Ireland's covid mortality rate of 0.03%?

What has that got to do with our government putting 1.2m people on the dole?

Or borrowing 10+ billion of euros to be repaid in 2027?

When will we accept the fact that covid 19 has been blown out of proportions (to put it politely) and start getting people back to work?

Do we really think that if people start to work tomorrow the mortality rate will skyrocket to 3%? or 5%? or even 0.9%?

Sweden have also tested 3 times less than us per million so maybe they don't know their case numbers as accurately as ours.

Testing is a load of rubbish the more I look into it. Ireland is still using confirmed cases from months ago as active.
    When is a positive test a cured case??
    Death in and ICU capacity is the real metric

giphy.gif

It was, all things considered, an ok day today. I got some sun out the back garden, some exercise, some healthy food. I've definitely had worse days in the last 2 months

Time to close this tab and watch a film. There's simply fúck all hope for or reasoning with some. They're a lost cause

There's a quote from Upton Sinclair:

“It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends on his not understanding it.”

Swap out the word salary for saving face in an internet debate.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭JL555

That's fair. I think the relative invisibility of the Taoiseach is very strange. A few interviews here and there and some statements.

That's true, we can say what we like about Boris or Trump, but at least they're seen regularly and making some kind of attempt at showing leadership. Varadkar only comes out once a month after spending weeks practising his lines on a half plagiarised speech probably hoping that years to come he'll be seen as some kind of epic leader, what kind of shocking attempt is that at leadership?
    I'm deadly serious when I say this, give me Trump or Boris any day over this excuse of a leader we have, At least when they do come out everyday, they take a series of questions from the media, Trump slams them down so at least it's entertaining in some weird way. :)
    Leo, make an appearance every day, say something, make mistakes, say the wrong thing sometimes, at least show us that you are human and not putting far too much effort into try to say the right thing that everyone will like all the time. I never really took to him, but during this crisis he has practically vanished and to me that has exposed what his true colours really are.

giphy.gif

Time to close this tab and watch a film. There's simply no hope for or reasoning with some. They're a lost cause

You contributed greatly to "relaxation of restrictions part III".

Have a pat on the back, collect your 350 a week and continue with getting some sun in your back garden.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Has anyone here stopped listening to the news etc, and basically not getting obsessed with covid porn.

All the other stories are getting pushed under the carpet, no terrorism attacks or news about famous people who are passing away etc..

I seen a camper van parked by Lough Inchiquinn this evening as I left the lake,a Garda car was making cloud's of dust on the road heading to the lake, I'd say a curtain twitcher made the call.. I mind my own business, the air is fresh down there and they're harming nobody, an elderly English couple enjoying their retirement... FFS leave then be...

JL555 wrote: »
    That's true, we can say what we like about Boris or Trump, but at least they're seen regularly and making some kind of attempt at showing leadership. Varadkar only comes out once a month after spending weeks practising his lines on a half plagiarised speech probably hoping that years to come he'll be seen as some kind of epic leader, what kind of shocking attempt is that at leadership?
    I'm deadly serious when I say this, give me Trump or Boris any day over this excuse of a leader we have, At least when they do come out everyday, they take a series of questions from the media, Trump slams them down so at least it's entertaining in some weird way. :)
    Leo, make an appearance every day, say something, make mistakes, say the wrong thing sometimes, at least show us that you are human and not putting far too much effort into try to say the right thing that everyone will like all the time. I never really took to him, but during this crisis he has practically vanished and to me that has exposed what his true colours really are.

My sentiments entirely. I dont get the Trump/Borris sneering or bullying that has became evident on this site. Trump has a lot of power in his hand regarding Ireland.

Now I would prefer Merkel in charge here, however but thats irrelevant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Oh he's not invisible at all. He will show up with the green tie and guarantee himself the future Reeling in the years moments and he is a great fella for the clichés and the soundbites, lovely phrases that roll off the tongue, he's great at that.
    And let's face it, Tony Holohan is running the show lately, there's no such thing as health advisor says this and that but I'm Taoiseach, no it's just he says this so this is what we'll do.
    He's been happy to take a back seat and as Taoiseach you're not meant to take a back seat.
    You're meant to take advice and then weigh up the advice from health and find a balance with the economy, etc. He's not doing that.

There's a quote from Upton Sinclair:

“It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends on his not understanding it.”

Swap out the word salary for saving face in an internet debate.

You are the one who needs to save face in our internet debate. You are the one who justifies putting 28% of our country into unemployment to prevent a disease that so far has shown to have 0.03% mortality rate in Sweden, 0.03% in Ireland.

1 country without a lockdown. 1 country with a lockdown.

This is absolute madness.

nthclare wrote: »
    Has anyone here stopped listening to the news etc, and basically not getting obsessed with covid porn.

All the other stories are getting pushed under the carpet, no terrorism attacks or news about famous people who are passing away etc..

I seen a camper van parked by Lough Inchiquinn this evening as I left the lake,a Garda car was making cloud's of dust on the road heading to the lake, I'd say a curtain twitcher made the call.. I mind my own business, the air is fresh down there and they're harming nobody, an elderly English couple enjoying their retirement... FFS leave then be...

A police state??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

You contributed greatly to "relaxation of restrictions part III".

Have a pat on the back, collect your 350 a week and continue with getting some sun in your back garden.

And his contributions are at least as valid as yours. True?

Sweden 25,921 cases 3,220 deaths

Ireland 22,760 cases 1,446 deaths

Both come out to 0.03% apparently

Now I would prefer Merkel in charge here, however but thats irrelevant

Merkel you say.

You might listen to her so -

Population wise

Forget about it. Some are uneducated beyond help.

You ll see comparison of US deaths vs Ireland's deaths soon. Look at how much better we are than US...........

sarcasm. sarcasm everywhere.

In the other news

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/david-mcwilliams-when-will-the-money-run-out-in-the-covid-19-pandemic-1.4248403?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fopinion%2Fdavid-mcwilliams-when-will-the-money-run-out-in-the-covid-19-pandemic-1.4248403

It will run out very soon. Individual enjoying sun in his back garden will be here liking our posts in no time Fintan.

Population wise

Since not everyone in the population has got it. That's not a good way to calculate it

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Population wise

That's not how you c as calculate fatality rates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

One thing I'd like to point out though in the table released on Friday detailing all the cases and deaths by age group, the fatality rate amongst all demographics from 0-60 was basically non existent. Obviously it's awful for the families of these people and it's a horrific situation but one thing I found odd was 85+ had the highest rate of cases at circa 2500 despite probably being the smallest demographic group. The only conclusion that leads to is the nursing home are getting shafted.

At some point though the country has to realize thisll go beyond having your nose being bent out of shape for a few months and will inevitably affect your livelihood and the future of your children and grandchildren. It's easy to dismiss people raising this concern as selfish but it's a question that'll have to be addressed.

I've decided, I'm starting a bachelor's part time in September for 3 years. God willing I'll be employed to pay my tuition through that period but after that I'm going to Germany. I don't fancy being here when the ticking time bomb of debt goes off because it's not going to be pretty.

Stheno wrote: »
    That's not how you c as calculate fatality rates

It is though.

Mortality rate is either 0.03% country wide.

Or

6.4%. (1,446 / 22,760)

I dont think that Covid will kill 6.4% of people it infects.