Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Germany finalise 9 billion deal with Lufthansa, taking 20% of the company, and immediately demand travel all over Europe is opened up. No coincidence here at all, no sir.

The German government is normally very conservative so don't understand the eagerness to lift travel restrictions, when Europe is far from out of the woods yet. Comes across as a bit arrogant by the Germans, we want to go on holiday abroad and no-one will stop us. This could blow up in their faces with a lot of imported cases. Air travel is the highest risk category for spreading covid 19. But with the right conditions and protocols they might be able to minimise infections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

road_high wrote: »
    Businesses often live to mouth. Even good ones. They don’t have piles of cash bolted up some place. This is not a philosophical argument it’s the reality of running a business.
    Unlike those dependent on the teat of the taxpayer of course- how long will they survive without (weekly) handouts?

I'm not talking about Mom and Pop stores here or one off hotels. I'm talking about larger businesses or chains.

If they do not have enough free cash flow or access to lines of credit to tide them over for a few months, they are not being well run.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Germany finalise 9 billion deal with Lufthansa, taking 20% share of the company, and immediately demand travel all over Europe is opened up. No coincidence here at all, no sir.

The German government is normally very conservative so don't see why they are so eager to lift travel restrictions, when Europe is far from out of the woods yet. This could blow up in their faces with a lot of imported cases. Air travel is the highest risk category for spreading covid 19. But with the right conditions and protocols they might be able to minimise infections.

But then when can airlines fly again? 2021? 2022?

Truly not sustainable in light of below

"Publicans say they face 87% reduction in capacity with 2m social distancing"

"A report published by the Licensed Vintners Association (LVA) and Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI) today outlines how standing capacity in a 100m squared area of a premises would be reduced to 12.5% under the current guidelines"

Donall O’Keeffe said the World Health Organization guideline of one metre social distancing would still reduce capacity significantly, but it would “at least allow more pubs and other hospitality businesses to be capable of trading in the shorter term”.

https://www.thejournal.ie/bar-capacity-social-distancing-5107838-May2020/

12.5% capacity not even worth opening the door for lol? talk about no V shape recovery... they need to reduce dis silly 2m down to 1m.

Analysis a bit lazy there by the vintners - assuming everyone will be required to have their own 2m allocation. 2 or more people from the same household wont be required to distance. Also, natural barriers exist in most pubs I know of, and new ones could easily be erected relatively easily. What the bar owner should be expected to do is facilitate those who come in to engage in social distancing, and to monitor that people are not creating a nuisance. They should not be required to police whether 4 people who arrive in a group are supposed to distance from each other, which should be personal responsibilities. And if numbers remain flat, it should be 1 not 2 meters

Will that be before or after the mythical 100000 tests.

Why would you test 100,000 when there are only 30-40k presenting for test?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Germany finalise 9 billion deal with Lufthansa, taking 20% of the company, and immediately demand travel all over Europe is opened up. No coincidence here at all, no sir.

The German government is normally very conservative so don't understand the eagerness to lift travel restrictions, when Europe is far from out of the woods yet. Comes across as a bit arrogant by the Germans, we want to go on holiday abroad and no-one will stop us. This could blow up in their faces with a lot of imported cases. Air travel is the highest risk category for spreading covid 19. But with the right conditions and protocols they might be able to minimise infections.

While I agree air travel could be risky, we don't actually know how risky it is, there hasn't been mass reporting of infections amongst crew for example, if there was it would have leaked out to papers by now. Aircraft air filtration systems are up there with hospital operating theatre air filtration.

We can never say 100% you'll be fine if you fly but it'll be as safe as possible. At the end of the day if someone doesn't want to fly they wont, plenty will myself included

But then when can airlines fly again? 2021? 2022?

When there is demand

https://www.dublinairport.com/flight-information/live-departures

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

You can judge demand at this moment based off dublin airport departures for today. Flight schedules are restricted based off each countries approach to air travel and given the restrictions on movement in each country.
    Let's see what the load factors are when Ryanair resumes at 40% in July

• Registered Users Posts: 19,409 ✭✭✭✭road_high

While I agree air travel could be risky, we don't actually know how risky it is, there hasn't been mass reporting of infections amongst crew for example, if there was it would have leaked out to papers by now. Aircraft air filtration systems is up there with hospital operating theatre air filtration.

We can never say 100% you'll be fine if you fly but it'll be as safe as possible. At the end of the day if someone doesn't want to fly they wont, plenty will myself included

Flight was always "risky"- how many times have you met a colleague or friend that's been somewhere and said they likely picked up some dose on the plane? Lots in my case anyhow.

While I agree air travel could be risky, we don't actually know how risky it is, there hasn't been mass reporting of infections amongst crew for example, if there was it would have leaked out to papers by now. Aircraft air filtration systems are up there with hospital operating theatre air filtration.

It will be up to people like you and me to get EU economy going and create jobs from tourism. While others will drive up Netflix share price.

We are the true heroes. And hopefully some Germans come to Dublin and spend few quid in Temple bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Why would you test 100,000 when there are only 30-40k presenting for test?

50% to 80% are asymptomatic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭uli84

So they can do the eye tests at Specsavers but diabetic retina screening service cannot do the eye tests, baffling

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

Air travel is the highest risk category for spreading covid 19.

Any statistics to back that up?
    Maybe Germany did their homework and came to the conclusion that the risk is low and can be managed with masks, social distancing and efficient testing and contact tracing?
    They did have plenty of spare testing capacity and were even testing Irish samples that we couldn't test ourselves.

In any case, travel is a choice, not an obligation. If you don't want to be exposed to tourists just avoid Temple Bar and you'll be grand!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

We all saw Cheltenham a mile off and already by end February my business had cancelled travel to a new from Ireland.

By the end of February it had spread to over 50 countries, infections were near 100k and deaths in the thousands.

Six weeks is a long, long time.

50% to 80% are asymptomatic.

Just test at random then, yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Lovely to hear the children playing on the street again. And lots of people enjoying the Phoenix Park, with the car parks fairly full.

polesheep wrote: »
    Lovely to hear the children playing on the street again. And lots of people enjoying the Phoenix Park, with the car parks fairly full.

Its about to get better, BVB Dortmund play Bayern Munich today 5.30 PM tune in if you are a football fan, this will be a cracking cracking game.

Its all become clear - the whole covid thing is a conspiracy to get us all to subscribe to BT Sports

You mean Netflix?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Will there still be diving and rolling around even with no crowd?

Watched some old WC games from the 80's and it was amazing how much better soccer was without the modern play acting. Can't watch the modern game.

Think I will lie in the garden and listen to some nice music and watch the birds flying around.

"INSURER FBD says it intends to ask judges at the Commercial Court not to hear additional legal actions taken against it by publicans who say their cover is not being honoured until cases now under way are decided.

The move to manage the case load is an indication of the scale of legal actions the insurer is facing from publicans over its refusal to pay out on business interruption cover for losses resulting from the Covid-19 outbreak."

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/fbd-set-to-ask-judges-to-delay-hearing-more-virus-claims-from-pubs-39233910.html

Insurance companies being insurance companies...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

This weekend is when the pressure valve will finally release and it'll be all over the news and social media for everyone to see.

Gardaí seem to have lost interest completely and of that continues this weekend it'll be carnage.

Hope everyone as a good weekend and safe journey to wherever the bank holiday brings you.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

"INSURER FBD says it intends to ask judges at the Commercial Court not to hear additional legal actions taken against it by publicans who say their cover is not being honoured until cases now under way are decided.

The move to manage the case load is an indication of the scale of legal actions the insurer is facing from publicans over its refusal to pay out on business interruption cover for losses resulting from the Covid-19 outbreak."

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/fbd-set-to-ask-judges-to-delay-hearing-more-virus-claims-from-pubs-39233910.html

Insurance companies being insurance companies...

FBD are entitled to their interpretation of the policy as are the policyholders.
    It may transpire that FBD interpretation is correct or the court may rule in favour of the policyholders.
    Lets await the ruling in October/November.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

uli84 wrote: »
    So they can do the eye tests at Specsavers but diabetic retina screening service cannot do the eye tests, baffling

absolutely nuts the way the hse is dragging its feet on opening up, surely there should have been a team planning on how they were going to manage the backlog once restrictions eased from day 1 of the lockdown.

the mind boggles HSE heroes and villains at the same time

although with holohans background im not suprised that bringing services back quickly and actually treating people wasnt top of his agenda
    thelad95 wrote: »
    Hope everyone as a good weekend and safe journey to wherever the bank holiday brings you.

im planning on building my raised beds which ive been meaning to do for years

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Cheers!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Really is sad to see that the weather is going to be cracking for the next few days and over the weekend and all the shops are going to be closed and not making any sales.

Especially in coastal towns where business could be thriving in this hot weather. It really feels pointless at this stage to keep strangling the economy.

People are going to go to the beach and that's the end of it. Just open the small cafes and shops and let them earn a living.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭VonLuck

thelad95 wrote: »
    This weekend is when the pressure valve will finally release and it'll be all over the news and social media for everyone to see.

Can I have a loan of that crystal ball when you're done with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

RobitTV wrote: »
    people are going to go to the beach and that's the end of it.

My local, massive beach isnt even open.

RobitTV wrote: »
    Really is sad to see that the weather is going to be cracking for the next few days and over the weekend and all the shops are going to be closed and not making any sales.

Especially in coastal towns where business could be thriving in this hot weather. It really feels pointless at this stage to keep strangling the economy.

People are going to go to the beach and that's the end of it. Just open the small cafes and shops and let them earn a living.

Fully agreed. All the places that can seat people outdoors SHOULD seat people outdoors and serve food & drinks.

So many studies coming out saying you are 18 times more likely to get covid from indoors than outdoors.

Some Japan or China study came out with 299 out of 300 infections sampled were infected from indoor setting.

Weather we are having this week will be un real 20 degrees + every day. Sunny. This is it. As one poster said "carnage"

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Fair play to Germany showing us the way forward. They really are the only competent nation in the EU.