Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

why not move forward phase now since the dates were supposed to be flexible? will they do this?

Ha ha hahahha. They have reputations to protect. The economy does not matter. They have been voted out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

A bit harsh. What do you call below? Economy is prospering??

"Eason to lay off 150 staff as it prepares for June reopening
    Irish-owned bookseller seeks ‘substantial’ rent cuts from landlords over Covid-19"

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/eason-to-lay-off-150-staff-as-it-prepares-for-june-reopening-1.4262251

Those 150 wont be on 350 eur forever you know, more like to the tune of 203. This is needless. Having this lockdown for 1 more week risks more jobs like these being lost.... SO yeah. Economy is not prospering if thats what you want to imply

Lift all the bloody restrictions faster and get on with it and save jobs... this isnt rocket science.

Did I say it was prospering?

The way you economic prophets of doom were talking, you'd think 50%-60% of the population were unemployed.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,161 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

snowcat wrote: »
    At this stage we can definitely say the 2km to 5km extension did not impact the infection rates. We can also conclude that the general increase in traffic and the relaxation in cocooning for the over 70's did not show a spike.
    How long do you think it takes for these trends to show? It's 8 days since the first "relaxations" were implemented

I'm not saying it's not likely, but at this stage we cannot say those statements are "definite"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭VonLuck

As is the constant "THE ECONOMY IS DOOMED! DOOOOMMMEEEEED!" ****e being peddled by some people here as well.

100% correct. Full of hypocrites. It is constant doom and gloom from those wanting to open up society ASAP saying that the economy will collapse if we don't do something now.

Maybe restrictions should be lifted quicker, but don't start calling everyone that wants to hold steady "doom merchants" when you are all just as bad.

VonLuck wrote: »
    100% correct. Full of hypocrites. It is constant doom and gloom from those wanting to open up society ASAP saying that the economy will collapse if we don't do something now.

Maybe restrictions should be lifted quicker, but don't start calling everyone that wants to hold steady "doom merchants" when you are all just as bad.

Exactly.

It's hyperbole on both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

If we had some backbone and the public weren't being so brainwashed by the hysterical George Lee and RTE morons, then we would be out protesting in our vehicles just like many thousands did in Madrid and across Spain over the weekend.

Good luck trying to organise that in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

The way you economic prophets of doom were talking, you'd think 50%-60% of the population were unemployed.

I dont think it matters how many % unemployed. The very fact that we lost 150 of those Eason jobs is already a catastrophe.

If we are "merchants of economic doom" for having this view then, well, we are merchants of economic doom. Its just when you start to add up all of these job losses i am not saying you ll get to 50% unemployment but even 14% long term unemployment predicted by Paschal is already pretty doom. and economic doom...

Jaysus the section on the Journal is still full of pessimists, saying the numbers are not up to date and a 2nd wave is coming! WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE??

Misery porn fanatics.

They have been totally and utterly brainwashed by the misery merchants on RTE, because they need to scare people on a daily basis in order to keep the population under control.

Wow. What a stunning sunset over Ibiza tonight!

Incredible webcam

Lets keep the positivity going.

Yeah they are paid but not working. Yes thats going to work..Sit back for a minute you economic mastermind. Think how we pay for those employed teachers employed civil servants old age pensioners social welfare recipients guards nurses etc. No 50 -60 % of the population are not unemployed but the tax payers pay for those services. The whole thing falls apart if the public services can not be paid for. And at the moment no one is paying for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

RobitTV wrote: »
    If we had some backbone and the public weren't being so brainwashed by the hysterical George Lee and RTE morons, then we would be out protesting in our vehicles just like many thousands did in Madrid and across Spain over the weekend.

This Bank Holiday weekend most people in the country will be doing normal bank holiday stuff. That's our protest. Quiet, but every bit as effective.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

They are the people who are better off not working

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah on Claire Byrnes show last night they did a survey of 1000 people and surprise surprise everyone they called was happy with the pace of things and quite a few thought it was going too fast.

I'm calling BS on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,410 ✭✭✭✭road_high

International air travel is definitely on the cards 15 June

"Travel stocks – including Ryanair and Aer Lingus-owner IAG – surged as summer getaway hopes resurfaced on the back of a number of European countries relaxing their travel restrictions and destinations saying they’re open for holidays.

Spain has joined the likes of Italy, Portugal, Greece and Cyprus in removing visitor restrictions and planning to reopen hotels and beaches for the July-August peak family holiday season.

Ryanair trumpeted the news by effectively lighting the blue touch paper on a new fare war and saw its share price jump by nearly 12%. Rival EasyJet was up 19%, Aer Lingus owner IAG jumped 22%, tour operator TUI surged more than 30% and shares in German airline Lufthansa rose nearly 7%.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/business/ryanair-leads-travel-stock-surge-as-holiday-hotspots-prepare-to-reopen-1001843.html

Whether you like lockdowns or not, you are risk averse or not, world is opening up.

As someone who works with a multinational as part of European teams Ireland is a tiny little dot on the map...whatever happens on the continent we will be swept along with it now despite Tony and the rest of the muppet show trying to make us out to be special or something. The wheels of industry are cranking back into life and that will be that.
    I'm delighted the airlines are coming to life again as they are the blood that links us together and it'll be too great for the Covid freaks like Holohan to hold back.

polesheep wrote: »
    This Bank Holiday weekend most people in the country will be doing normal bank holiday stuff. That's our protest. Quiet, but every bit as effective.

I believe thats true. Was in Lidl today. Everything calm collected etc. No Queue no face masks. I was a huge advocate of the lockdown and measures but im off to the beach tomorrow. Enough of this nonsense.

Yeah on Claire Byrnes show last night they did a survey of 1000 people and surprise surprise everyone they called was happy with the pace of things and quite a few thought it was going too fast.

I'm calling BS on that.

It's no different to the RTE viewership figures, pure fiction.

snowcat wrote: »
    I believe thats true. Was in Lidl today. Everything calm collected etc. No Queue no face masks. I was a huge advocate of the lockdown and measures but im off to the beach tomorrow. Enough of this nonsense.

They were always an overreaction. We should have secured the nursing homes and advised those at risk in the community to cocoon. Had the government advised the elderly to cocoon, however, they would have lost the next election for sure. Whatever you do, look after your voter base.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,384 ✭✭✭prunudo

Beasty wrote: »
    How long do you think it takes for these trends to show? It's 8 days since the first "relaxations" were implemented

I'm not saying it's not likely, but at this stage we cannot say those statements are "definite"

Were the restrictions he mentioned and you quoted not the ones they lifted on May 5th.

People should 100% head to the beaches tomorrow and the over the weekend and let's send a strong message to the government.

Everyone should go and enjoy the great weather. It's time for people who don't even live close to a beach to take a chance and drive and see what happens if you get stopped or not.

Enough with this 5km nonsense. We need a great mass of people to break the 5km nonsense.

Let's not wait a moment longer. Let's get back to some normality for the sake of our mental health.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,410 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I'm calling BS on that.

Claire Byrne is a dimwit, sorry to be blunt. She's a pretty face with a nice wholesome image that did a Degree etc and had a few connections. Fairly typical of the Irish middle classes. Not very bright but probably studied hard and towed the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Its unreal, between 2nd wave and the numbers aren't accurate, then you've also got the numbers are good but let's eliminate it completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

road_high wrote: »
    Claire Byrne is a dimwit, sorry to be blunt. She's a pretty face with a nice wholesome image that did a Degree etc and had a few connections. Fairly typical of the Irish middle classes. Not very bright but probably studied hard and towed the line.

That night she pushed the trolley around the studio with her elbows was the icing on the cake

polesheep wrote: »
    They were always an overreaction. We should have secured the nursing homes and advised those at risk in the community to cocoon. Had the government advised the elderly to cocoon, however, they would have lost the next election for sure. Whatever you do, look after your voter base.

Absolutely. I followed the figures from the start and it never made sense. An exponential curve could never be stopped by a lockdown. The most you could hope to achieve might be a slight flattening of the curve. If there is a 1000 new DETECTED cases like we had in mid April there is no way you could reduce that to 40 in a month if you had a highly virulent disease. And thats with increasing your testing rate by 10 fold in that period

People should 100% head to the beaches tomorrow and the over the weekend and let's send a strong message to the government.

Everyone should go and enjoy the great weather. It's time for people who don't even live close to a beach to take a chance and drive and see what happens if you get stopped or not.

Enough with this 5km nonsense. We need a great mass of people to break the 5km nonsense.

Let's not wait a moment longer. Let's get back to some normality for the sake of our mental health.

... a week ago I headed over the border to the Mournes for a 6 hour hike as they've no restrictions there.... and got a lot of finger wagging from the usual suspects here! Went to the Cooleys today for a 14km hike, not a sinner out, beauty, nature, peace and quiet, about 25km from where I live but worth it. I came home in time for a swim within my 5km and the beach was packed with parents and kids..... its was so good to see, people are getting sense !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

I'm calling BS on that.

The ones who think it’s going too fast are those who don’t earn 350 a week but are delighted with the payment and want it to remain as long as possible.

The ones who think it’s going at the right pace are those living and working at home probably with all their family around them.

The ones who think it’s going too slow are the genuine people who should be asked - either unemployed or employed but unable to see their parents or families for the last 10 weeks.

... a week ago I headed over the border to the Mournes for a 6 hour hike as they've no restrictions there.... and got a lot of finger wagging from the usual suspects here! Went to the Cooleys today for a 14km hike, not a sinner out, beauty, nature, peace and quiet, about 25km from where I live but worth it. I came home in time for a swim within my 5km and the beach was packed with parents and kids..... its was so good to see, people are getting sense !

I’m interested were there any Gardai on the border or along the M50 anywhere? And just that you didn’t get stopped? Or was there no sign? I guess now that there are legally enforceable restrictions on entry, there might be checks that people travelling are resident on the island of Ireland, and have not just flown into BHD to bypass quarantine

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭setanta1984

I came home in time for a swim within my 5km and the beach was packed with parents and kids..... its was so good to see, people are getting sense !

On the one hand, for the last few days, people are saying that the population at large are behind the ridiculous timescales on the roadmap, even saying they are too lax, pointing to polls etc. as a reason to put down those looking for a sped up process. Saying people are happy to continue being restricted until August at least.

And on the other hand they're also saying the restrictions are being broke en masse for the last 3-4 weeks, and these <insert insult here> people are going to cause the restrictions to last even longer, and ruining everything for everyone.

Which is it? They are contradictory positions.

I agree that the restrictions are no longer being strictly adhered to, walking around my town for the last few weeks feels like people are behaving like normal.
    In which case isn't it a great sign?
    Despite these widespread 'flouting' the numbers have continued to go way down where we are now seeing daily cases that can fit on a minibus. In a country of 5 million. All we're doing at this point is stopping people earn a living, avail of different services and enjoy themselves.
    If it's safe for me to walk into Lidl, its safe for me to walk into the furniture shop next door. The country has lost the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,621 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Thing is, 20% unemployment is economic doom. Not 50%-60%.