Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Arghus wrote: »
    Yes, I would want cases in single digits before we open up a lot more of the country - or at least we move quicker than what is laid out in the road map. I think it's the safest and secure way of knowing that you've mortally wounded the virus.

Flattening the curve is only your first objective. The main thing is keeping it flat. Flattening the curve once means nothing if you can't maintain it.

So all of us stay on lockdown but yet people coming into the country are just being asked nicely if they would self isolate for 14 days with no sanction if they decide not to.

Doesn't sound like a great plan to me.

NZ is the example we should have been following from day one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with me , happy out in the sun! You're the one back peddling to try to hide your extremist leanings .
    The fact that it was 3 days ago makes no difference , really .
    But let's not fight shall we ? :D

I am all up for not fighting. Please note that

Ron Paul isn't a Neo-Nazi. He was a Senator for Texas for years, a state far more famous and significant than Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

growleaves wrote: »
    The point is that the general atmosphere of terror was conjured by these stories throwing around very high death-rate estimates.

Anyway you asked where the 100,000 figure came from so I supplied a link.

Accused me of making up the figure , and saying 73 cases of a disease with a fatality rate of around .3 % is not the time to relax measures , whilst many thousand more are suffering with other more severe illness - Doesnt suit the Tony Superman Nanny state agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,505 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

So all of us stay on lockdown but yet people coming into the country are just being asked nicely if they would self isolate for 14 days with no sanction if they decide not to.

Doesn't sound like a great plan to me.

NZ is the example we should have been following from day one.

It isn't a great plan, I agree with you.

Well if it's 43 cases it isn't complete suppression. Are you suggesting that 43 is actually the same as zero?

It's close to complete suppression, with not a whole lot more effort - compared to what we've already put in - you could properly eradicate community transmission.

The only thing I dont understand, and I hope you help me out here, how do we know if we eradicated covid from the community if we dont test 4,900,000 people for covid? And also ensure no1 comes into the country with covid?

Is this a weakness in your argument?

Given what we now know about the age profile of the victims, the recovery rate, the likely CFR etc. there is no way that lockdown prevented 120,000 deaths.

The official estimate (at first) was 85,000 deaths, hugely overestimated.

Boards-Twitter-social media predictions were that a cykotine storm mutation reminiscent of 1918-19 would wipe out tens or hundreds of millions worldwide. The less said the better! (A lot of the spoofers offering these predictions have now fled these threads.)

The point is that the general atmosphere of terror was conjured by these stories throwing around very high death-rate estimates.

I do have to say you are probably the most articulate, knowledgeable and insightful poster in this thread.

You post some very impressive reads & analysis that I dont feel enough people read, unfortunately.

I have to take a time out for a while. I may or may not be back later to fight with ye all again.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭growleaves

I do have to say you are probably the most articulate, knowledgeable and insightful poster in this thread.

You post some very impressive reads & analysis that I dont feel enough people read, unfortunately.

Thank you. That's a nice compliment.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Given what we now know about the age profile of the victims, the recovery rate, the likely CFR etc. there is no way that lockdown prevented 120,000 deaths.

The official estimate (at first) was 85,000 deaths, hugely overestimated.

Boards-Twitter-social media predictions were that a cykotine storm mutation reminiscent of 1918-19 would wipe out tens or hundreds of millions worldwide. The less said the better! (A lot of the spoofers offering these predictions have now fled these threads.)

And let's not allow people to rewrite history by suggesting this was some lone wolf scientist. Those numbers were shouted loudly by Harris and Leo at the time. The media lapped up the misery porn and we're more than happy to run with it. Even the low ball value of 20000 deaths (with restrictions) seems to have been wiped from history.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

The list keeps growing

Michael Smurfit: total lockdown of economies a ‘serious mistake’

n an interview with Inside Business, a podcast from The Irish Times, Mr Smurfit said: “My own view is that the lockdown will, upon examination by historians, look [like] a very serious mistake. There should have been a partial lockdown for elderly people and people with underlying symptoms and so forth. But to lock down entire populations, period, never happened before. Destroys the economy, destroys jobs, which is going to last for years and years to come.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/michael-smurfit-total-lockdown-of-economies-a-serious-mistake-1.4263934?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Fmichael-smurfit-total-lockdown-of-economies-a-serious-mistake-1.4263934

I think i am also done for the day. Reading all of this every day, realising what a huge error we are making every day for absolutely no valid seriously medically justifiable reason, gets way too upsetting.

Other countries opening up bars, beaches, Switzerland letting 1000 football fans into football stadiums 8th of June onwards, just find it so difficult to believe we are so far behind, so early...

JRant wrote: »
    And let's not allow people to rewrite history by suggesting this was some lone wolf scientist. Those numbers were shouted loudly by Harris and Leo at the time. The media lapped up the misery porn and we're more than happy to run with it. Even the low ball value of 20000 deaths (with restrictions) seems to have been wiped from history.

Okay one more -

Can you point me to where Leo and Simon predicted a potential death toll of 100000?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,349 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

over the weekend I saw an elderly women ask why she count sit inside supermacs and no word of a lie she siad 'Coronavirus is that still around ??

Some people :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,866 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

The mind truly does boggle, but I'm not arguing in favour of indefinite restrictions or even another 12 weeks of restrictions. Where do I say I want those things?

I actually asked you a question in it: If you could eradicate community transmission with another 3-4 weeks, would you think it was a sacrifice worth making?

But can we ever really eradicate community transmission? What if we get another case after that, maybe an asymptomatic carrier from Britain visits family in NI and an Irish person goes north shopping and brings it back to, cabin crew on a flight bring it back, etc. This is what we have to remember, the virus won't just disappear from our country for ever. You say another 3-4 hypothetical weeks, then it will likely be another 3-4 weeks after that, it never ends. At some stage you have to grasp the nettle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with me , happy out in the sun! You're the one back peddling to try to hide your extremist leanings .
    The fact that it was 3 days ago makes no difference , really .
    But let's not fight shall we ? :D

Seriously you're nearly as bad as the ones accusing people of being Gemma fans with this Ron Paul nonsense. Go to the politics forum if you care so much about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Okay one more -

Can you point me to where Leo and Simon predicted a potential death toll of 100000?

Here's one article where Harris parrots this nonsense: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/simon-harris-this-could-go-well-beyond-the-health-service-1.4197351

The article referencing Leo in a few posts above.

It's very real I assure you.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

The mind truly does boggle, but I'm not arguing in favour of indefinite restrictions or even another 12 weeks of restrictions. Where do I say I want those things?

I actually asked you a question in it: If you could eradicate community transmission with another 3-4 weeks, would you think it was a sacrifice worth making?

Absolutely not worth it whatsoever and not a sacrifice worth making when the number will just go up when restrictions are eased again. It’s pointless.

More people will suffer from the continued lockdown than the amount of people that would benefit from community transmission being eradicated.

Community transmission is something we simply need to accept.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,502 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://news.mb.com.ph/2020/05/27/brazil-poll-shows-60-support-tougher-lockdowns-to-combat-coronavirus/

60% of Brazilians say that they want a harsher lockdown to try and halt the spread of the virus

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭lukas8888

I agree excellent poster,i particularly enjoyed his/her circular cause and effect posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://news.mb.com.ph/2020/05/27/brazil-poll-shows-60-support-tougher-lockdowns-to-combat-coronavirus/

60% of Brazilians say that they want a harsher lockdown to try and halt the spread of the virus

What does Brazil have to do with ireland?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,161 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Seriously you're nearly as bad as the ones accusing people of being Gemma fans with this Ron Paul nonsense. Go to the politics forum if you care so much about it.

Attack the post, not the poster

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭JL555

Here's one article where Harris parrots this nonsense: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/simon-harris-this-could-go-well-beyond-the-health-service-1.4197351

Lol, just read the 4th paragraph in that link, the irony of it all. This is just why I cannot take this seriously, the sanctimonious two faced Harris will not relax restrictions as it's easier for him to spout crap and then say he's going off the advice of medical experts, great advice, as always Tony.

The phasing out of restrictions seriously need to be re-evaluated asap. We keep hearing about the new laws regarding movement and distancing etc. so use the Garda to enforce things a bit more, make a few examples of people, while at the same time taking a slightly different approach to the nature of the restrictions. Once people see that there are real consequences (besides the obvious contracting or spreading covid) they might take more responsibility while still being about to move around a bit more.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I think i am also done for the day. Reading all of this every day, realising what a huge error we are making every day for absolutely no valid seriously medically justifiable reason, gets way too upsetting.

Other countries opening up bars, beaches, Switzerland letting 1000 football fans into football stadiums 8th of June onwards, just find it so difficult to believe we are so far behind, so early...

Ireland used to be a country of Rebels and free thinkers - we have become the biggest nanny state out ther, with no one taking personal reponsibility - but this massive oncoming recession will be way worse than what we have encountered with Covid- and serious questions will be asked , particularly by our children,

• Registered Users Posts: 19,410 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Tony Holohan is one of the worst things to happen politically to Ireland since de Valera. But in fairness to dev he was democratically elected by the people.
    Saw a clip of him there on news, what a pompous dismissive prick. His worldview is that his cautious approach is the only one that matters related to Covid.
    A few more people listed in ICU today and needless to say he was allover that as “worrying”. He’ll keep the gravy train rolling for himself and his cronies. Be an interesting investigation to see how much him and his cabal are costing us in terms of salary, fees and expenses.

Even Sam McConkey mentions that 100 000 figure in terms of it being an absolute worst case nightmare, but probably unlikely figure.

In that article Harris doesn't say he agrees that's a possible death toll.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Absolutely not worth it whatsoever and not a sacrifice worth making when the number will just go up when restrictions are eased again. It’s pointless.

More people will suffer from the continued lockdown than the amount of people that would benefit from community transmission being eradicated.

Community transmission is something we simply need to accept.

I completely disagree with you. I guess that's all there is to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I hope thet Holohan ***** is starting to get dogs abuse in public. At what stage was this fool given the keys to the country ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

road_high wrote: »
    Tony Holohan is one of the worst things to happen politically to Ireland since de Valera. But in fairness to dev he was democratically elected by the people.
    Saw a clip of him there on news, what a pompous dismissive prick. His worldview is that his cautious approach is the only one that matters related to Covid.
    A few more people listed in ICU today and needless to say he was allover that as “worrying”. He’ll keep the gravy train rolling for himself and his cronies. Be an interesting investigation to see how much him and his cabal are costing us in terms of salary, fees and expenses.

Any indications of how much is being spent on PR with RTÉ?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

road_high wrote: »

Be interesting to see how much big business and their cabal might cost us in lost lives and economic damage if health professionals like Holohan, with nothing to gain and you know it, aren't listened to.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The above post is some great trolling. ItS all about Tony's ego and this massive social experiment game they are playing...

Also the hundreds of thousands effected by this on the dole... they are big business are they ? Lol !

• Registered Users Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I hope thet Holohan ***** is starting to get dogs abuse in public. At what stage was this fool given the keys to the country ?

Holohan will sail into the sunset with his gold-plated pension while the rest of us are left to pick up the pieces of the country he has destroyed.