Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Sounded like the closest thing to a confirmation that he's ever said stating that phase 1 will go ahead as planned on Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

This is the worst pandemic in 100 years and virtually every country is experiencing difficulties in understanding and communicating what is a changing situation on a daily basis.

Anyone who wants to is free to run for elected office. This keyboard democracy is closer to science fiction writing than the real world.

God, you write all that up and you are wrong on the first sentence.

Pandemic of 1968 killed over 1 million people. Covid, at the current rate, wont catch it until 2021. (at which stage we ll all realize that 90%+ covid deaths are really cancer/heart disease deaths conveniently marked as covid to mask Tony H's shortcomings)

We dont need keyboard democracy. We are supposed to be democratic nation, and certain individuals on 200,000 + a year should respect and follow that not give media sound bites (save lives, deaths as low as possible) and put hundreds of thousands of people out of work, and keep hundreds of thousands children out of school for 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

nj27 wrote: »
    Sounded like the closest thing to a confirmation that he's ever said stating that phase 1 will go ahead as planned on Monday.

He will decide on Friday and then inform the Cabinet. The question for me is whether other phases are now tweaked, combined, accelerated.

Under 25s as less of a risk I think.

It’s all a case really as a schools still a school.

Don’t think the virus decides if your 11 I won’t infect you but if you 17/18 I will

It’s a shambles to be stating that one of the safest things we could do is to open schools whilst simultaneously his minster of education is giving reasons why the exams were cancelled.

When were then exams cancelled? When was the report on infection in children published? Also, the evidence in other countries is under 10s have the significantly reduced transmission rates. Suggesting as you get younger the safer contact is. 20-40 year olds most infectious. And 18year olds are pretty close to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Dr Tony’s performance at the briefing this evening is shocking

Ducking and diving all over the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭road_high

But what does lord tony think? Surely he must get a word of doom in over the next few days?

Dr Tony’s performance at the briefing this evening is shocking

Ducking and diving all over the place.

Do people still watch this? What did he say this evening?

When were then exams cancelled? When was the report on infection in children published? Also, the evidence in other countries is under 10s have the significantly reduced transmission rates. Suggesting as you get younger the safer contact is. 20-40 year olds most infectious. And 18year olds are pretty close to that.

The exams were 11 weeks away. Yes 11 weeks when they were prematurely cancelled.

That is a fact.

road_high wrote: »

As usual he said everything and absolutely nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭growleaves

He said that he was not aware of Leo Varadkar's public comments today. He must be both insanely busy and out of communication loop with the Taoiseach to have been blindsided like that. He also said that the research around child transmissions is tentative and not proven.

As usual he said everything and absolutely nothing

Probably some gibberish about how flying is bad mkay.

If you fly to a warmer country to enjoy some sun and get vitamin D you are gonna have a bad time, mkay. Mkay.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Colibri wrote: »
    My worry is those four people. What is the government's plan for them? Just stay home?

I don't mind going back to work, but that increases my chances of infecting these people.

Yeah, pretty much. They’ll be encouraged to cocoon indefinitely.
    So you have a choice to make.
    You can either completely put your entire life on hold and avoid these 4 people until if and when there is a vaccine, or you can try to get back to some bit of normality while keeping your distance and washing your hands etc.

That said I don’t think it’s feasible or realistic to social distance from your partner indefinitely.
    The government have all but conditioned people to think that going near anyone elderly or with an underlying health condition is akin to murdering them.

I’ll put it plainly, in my opinion there are worse things in life than this virus.
    The idea of having to remain 2m from my partner, with no intimacy whatsoever until there is a vaccination sounds worse to me that covid-19.
    I know many grandparents who have said they would rather get coronavirus than be kept apart from their Grandchildren any longer.
    I have an elderly neighbour who is so lonely and sad that he told me a few weeks back he thought he would die of loneliness, to him the isolation has far worse consequences than the virus.
    Human contact & relationships are necessary and precious.

Other people might see staying at home indefinitely and cocooning to be an appropriate and doable sacrifice. And that’s ok too.
    But there is no vaccination, no cure, and we have no guarantee of ever finding either.
    You need to decide where you stand on it, discuss it with those people and make your choice from there.
    It’s really unfortunately not a decision anyone else can make for you, and the lack of government guidance must be very frustrating.

The exams were 11 weeks away. Yes 11 weeks when they were prematurely cancelled.

That is a fact.

They judged that the effort required to facilitate the exams, especially around distancing was too much to put in place in the time required. There was also the risk that someone from a centre would test positive during exams and the consequences and contingencies required. The longer they left it without a definitive decision the harder it would be to get everything in place. I did not agree with the decision, and believe every effort should have been made to facilitate but can understand the rationale

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Yeah, pretty much. They’ll be encouraged to cocoon indefinitely.
    So you have a choice to make.
    You can either completely put your entire life on hold and avoid these 4 people until if and when there is a vaccine, or you can try to get back to some bit of normality while keeping your distance and washing your hands etc.

That said I don’t think it’s feasible or realistic to social distance from your partner indefinitely.
    The government have all but conditioned people to think that going near anyone elderly or with an underlying health condition is akin to murdering them.

I’ll put it plainly, in my opinion there are worse things in life than this virus.
    The idea of having to remain 2m from my partner, with no intimacy whatsoever until there is a vaccination sounds worse to me that covid-19.
    I know many grandparents who have said they would rather get coronavirus than be kept apart from their Grandchildren any longer.
    I have an elderly neighbour who is so lonely and sad that he told me a few weeks back he thought he would die of loneliness, to him the isolation has far worse consequences than the virus.
    Human contact & relationships are necessary and precious.

Other people might see staying at home indefinitely and cocooning to be an appropriate and doable sacrifice. And that’s ok too.
    But there is no vaccination, no cure, and we have no guarantee of ever finding either.
    You need to decide where you stand on it, discuss it with those people and make your choice from there.
    It’s really unfortunately not a decision anyone else can make for you, and the lack of government guidance must be very frustrating.
    I don’t envy your position, it’s a tough one.

Thanks for that. That really does help.

It's a very tough one, especially as I'm at the stage where our lives are moving forward and we have a house to save for, etc.

growleaves wrote: »
    He said that he was not aware of Leo Varadkar's public comments today. He must be both insanely busy and out of communication loop with the Taoiseach to have been blindsided like that. He also said that the research around child transmissions is tentative and not proven.

I wonder is there a little tension creeping in there at last? Leo likes to be the populist so if he’s sensing the public are absolutely fed up I could see him jumping ship and “socially distancing “ himself away from NPHET!! Would be great to see a wedge driven between them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭growleaves

Tony Holohan has said that the decisions cannot be based on public health advice alone. The Government will make "a balanced decision which [NPHET] are not privy to."

I wonder is there a little tension creeping in there at last? Leo likes to be the populist so if he’s sensing the public are absolutely fed up I could see him jumping ship and “socially distancing “ himself away from NPHET!! Would be great to see a wedge driven between them

Tony will deny it 'til his last breath. :pac:

Well, we all predicted this.

"DUBLIN’S SAINT JOHN of God hospital has said that half its admissions in the past month have been in relation to the intense pressure that Covid-19 restrictions are placing on people.

The acute hospital, specialising in mental health treatment and care, says there has been a “dramatic increase” in new and existing patients who are struggling with mood and anxiety disorders, addictions and issues relating to severe social isolation. "

https://www.thejournal.ie/mental-health-saint-john-of-gods-admissions-5098220-May2020/

Terrible. How the hell can this go on for another 3 months??

Clegg wrote: »
    It would be "great" to see a breakdown of relationship between the government and the team tasked with monitoring public health during a global pandemic.

Fecking state of you.

Now now no need to get angry and personally insult people.
    As discussed as nauseum here, the governments role is to balance health advice and concerns with the wider economy and social needs.
    To date they’d be followed Nphet to the letter, to the point of almost irrationally bankrupting the nation. So yes, i will be glad to see that end. Because I believe in democratically accountable politicians making decisions. Not made up committees running the country

How long before Paschal brings them the bad news that money doesnt grow on trees?

"GAA president John Horan has confirmed that the Association intends seeking further financial assistance from the Government in the wake of a potential loss of €50m across all units as the Covid-19 emergency plays havoc with regular funding lines."

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-set-to-seek-further-state-aid-as-50m-loss-looms-large-39202359.html

The longer the lockdown continues the more money govt has to pay out or places just stop existing. The more taxes we ll be burdened with in October. Outrageously its the younger generation that has lost most that will have to pay the heaviest price :(

Mother went for a walk today down the estate to see if her package that said delivered, was delivered to the wrong address.

Literally a 5 minute stroll around.

Now my brother is saying that he's going to end up on a ventilator in the ICU because of her. He's 27 and has asthma..

Okay, now THAT is hysteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Well, we all predicted this.

"DUBLIN’S SAINT JOHN of God hospital has said that half its admissions in the past month have been in relation to the intense pressure that Covid-19 restrictions are placing on people.

The acute hospital, specialising in mental health treatment and care, says there has been a “dramatic increase” in new and existing patients who are struggling with mood and anxiety disorders, addictions and issues relating to severe social isolation. "

https://www.thejournal.ie/mental-health-saint-john-of-gods-admissions-5098220-May2020/

Terrible. How the hell can this go on for another 3 months??

This is infuriating. I have a parent who's a recovering alcoholic. Only recently off the bottle after years of yo-yoing. So, in the middle of a yo, you could say. This lockdown has been one long stressful wait to see if it provokes another fall off the wagon. It's been touch and go. But they're on antidepressants now, so hopefully, HOPEFULLY, that helps. The longer this lockdown goes on, the more worry I have of something awful happening.

How long before Paschal brings them the bad news that money doesnt grow on trees?

"GAA president John Horan has confirmed that the Association intends seeking further financial assistance from the Government in the wake of a potential loss of €50m across all units as the Covid-19 emergency plays havoc with regular funding lines."

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-set-to-seek-further-state-aid-as-50m-loss-looms-large-39202359.html

The longer the lockdown continues the more money govt has to pay out or places just stop existing. The more taxes we ll be burdened with in October. Outrageously its the younger generation that has lost most that will have to pay the heaviest price :(

Everyone and anyone has the paw out begging. The country is full to overflowing of various “charities” all looking for more government funding. Well it simply isn’t possible I’m afraid.

Lots of these people were screaming for lockdowns last March. Now they can reap the consequences

• Registered Users Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Penfailed

https://www.facebook.com/255247787971045/posts/1631586777003799/

That ^^^ is allegedly a school in France. Would you want your kids going back to that?!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Project Fear has a lot to answer for. The people have held up their side of the bargain and yet are still being treated like children.

Colibri wrote: »
    Mother went for a walk today down the estate to see if her package that said delivered, was delivered to the wrong address.

Literally a 5 minute stroll around.

Now my brother is saying that he's going to end up on a ventilator in the ICU because of her. He's 27 and has asthma..

Okay, now THAT is hysteria.

Tell him to get in the lovely fresh air today- it was clear as anything out. Do his lungs the power of good.
    There are a lot of hypochondriacs in Ireland, partly why our A&Es are forever clogged

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Penfailed wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/255247787971045/posts/1631586777003799/

That ^^^ is allegedly a school in France. Would you want your kids going back to that?!

As opposed to not going back at all and sitting locked in their houses indefinitely, missing out on their education & interactions with other children?

That doesn’t look ideal or natural by any means but it’s a damn lot better than keeping them off school for 6 months.
    We can’t keep them off school forever. Life absolutely must move on at some point.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Project Fear has a lot to answer for. The people have held up their side of the bargain and yet are still being treated like children.
    It's more like Project Caution, Project Fear is a mental state!

growleaves wrote: »

The Taoiseach has been summoned to the Dept of Health this evening to explain himself. Clarification will be given tomorrow am in some press briefings.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    This is infuriating. I have a parent who's a recovering alcoholic. Only recently off the bottle after years of yo-yoing. So, in the middle of a yo, you could say. This lockdown has been one long stressful wait to see if it provokes another fall off the wagon. It's been touch and go. But they're on antidepressants now, so hopefully, HOPEFULLY, that helps. The longer this lockdown goes on, the more worry I have of something awful happening.

I’d say the lockdown has contributed greatly to alcoholism, drinking at home is rampant. Off licenses are mad busy and bottle banks are over flowing