Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭crossman47

Meanwhile after all this is over, Tony and co will be sipping pina colada's, while everyone else will be struggling financially. Absolute ****ing disgrace!

For Gods sake. He and his colleagues are working night and day on our behalf. You think they find this easy?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

the kelt wrote: »
    Your not allowed question, its science and numbers, just stay at home and dont question!

Translation : NPHET, Tony & Co made a huge mess of things and are now going to scare monger the 2nd wave of infections and deaths and how opening up too quickly can result in huge death and destruction. That doesnt seem to be happening in any other country on the planet...

With the classic punchline "we've achieved so much, we cant risk to throw it away"

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Looney1

A lot of dentists have advertised opening for routine treatment.?????????

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

Babak Javid (infectious disease specialist in the UK) said this earlier, it makes a hell of a lot of sense:

kzlJo8Q.png

I don't want to be putting people at risk but nobody else does. To say otherwise is unfair. Our government got us into this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

ixoy wrote: »
    Reallllyyy. That doesn't mean people can't wonder about the method in which it's done and why it's so slow when other countries are moving at a faster pace, especially as there's no indications we're about to, or came close to, being overwhelmed.

No no, you’re not allowed question anything. Just stay home and watch Netflix, collect your €350 and watch the country fall to its knees. Unless you want to kill your granny you heartless b@stard.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,716 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

ixoy wrote: »
    Reallllyyy. That doesn't mean people can't wonder about the method in which it's done and why it's so slow when other countries are moving at a faster pace, especially as there's no indications we're about to, or came close to, being overwhelmed.

Thanks to the measures as has been repeatedly demonstrated in nice graphs for you nightly at the press briefings.

But you don't care about that because it is inconvenient for your distortion of the problems this country faced back in March and early April.

By every metric containment has worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭boring accountant

We are trying to control spread of a pathogen.

That's the reason.

That doesn’t justify releasing a supposedly well thought out plan to the public and business and then changing it at the last minute for no particular reason. Although in your mind controlling the spread of a pathogen justifies absolutely everything NPHET says or does even if it contradicts itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭crossman47

Translation : NPHET, Tony & Co made a huge mess of things and are now going to scare monger the 2nd wave of infections and deaths and how opening up too quickly can result in huge death and destruction. That doesnt seem to be happening in any other country on the planet...

With the classic punchline "we've achieved so much, we cant risk to throw it away"

Their "huge mess" has kept the ICU intake under control.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,716 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

That doesn’t justify releasing a supposedly well thought out plan to the public and business and then changing it at the last minute for no particular reason. Although in your mind controlling the spread of a pathogen justifies absolutely everything NPHET says or does even if it contradicts itself.

It was said from the very beginning nothing is set in stone and depends on the data available.

You are pretending to be surprised for sake of argument.

Nothing was set in stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

crossman47 wrote: »
    Their "huge mess" has kept the ICU intake under control.

Social distancing, people not going to social events and much frequent handwash kept ICU under control.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

But you don't care about that because it is inconvenient for your distortion of the problems this country faced back in March and early April.
    So you're unable to answer the questions people are asking as to why it's a different pace for Ireland when those ICU issues have been sorted? Grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Benimar

Would you be saying that if they had decided to open a bit more?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi7

Social distancing, people not going to social events and much frequent handwash kept ICU under control.

These are the ONLY measures that have been shown to work!!!

Everything else is expensive overkill imho!!

P.s. have a listen to the good professor on this

https://www.newstalk.com/news/exiting-lockdown-priority-expert-1010107

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Thanks to the measures as has been repeatedly demonstrated in nice graphs for you nightly at the press briefings.

By every metric containment has worked.

No question in my mind that entering lockdown was the right thing to do at the time. Problem is entering lockdown without a good exit strategy. Purpose of lockdown is not to fix the problem, it's to buy time to put sustainable solutions in place.

At the moment I've absolutely no confidence that they're not going to bankrupt us before they have it figured out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Oh goody, can't wait for this to be used against me when taking out of context? Guess the sarcasm was missed.

I think it's time to take a break.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Benimar wrote: »

True, to be honest they should have reduced he 5km back to 2km because I heard when you walk 5km you shoot Covid19 out of your face - killing everybody in a 3km radius.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭mr zulu

Italy to allow free travel across the country from the 3rd of June, the hardest hit country can do this and yet out nanny state are crawling along at a snails pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

This should be the easiest phase to implement

Now they can't even do that in full

For no good reason either

Hardware or homeware stores shouldnt make a difference once they can social distance

God help us when they need to sign off on lifting restrictions in future phases

We'll prob end up with 12 or 13 not 5

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Apparently the reason for delaying the opening of the likes of ikea etc is they were concerned with large numbers of people turning up along with it seems a clumsy description of the retailers permitted in phase 1 according to gavan Reilly

So instead homeware stores will be delayed until phase 2 when restrictions are changed to 20k because the crowds wont be as big in phase 2 at 20k rather than 5 k restrictions

But ye know we are using the best science available, data, metrics etc.

Now stfah and stop asking questions

crossman47 wrote: »
    For Gods sake. He and his colleagues are working night and day on our behalf. You think they find this easy?

The point several of us are making is that if someone is going to inflict inestimable damage upon the economy they they ought to be very sure that what they’re doing is correct. Uturns only serve to prove that they actually are no all that sure of anything and are more or less making it up as they go along.

“I tried my best” is not good enough when it comes to running the country.

mr zulu wrote: »
    Italy to allow free travel across the country from the 3rd of June, the hardest hit country can do this and yet out nanny state are crawling along at a snails pace.

July 20th here if we're lucky but the government will prob postpone that as well

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭mr zulu

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    July 20th here if we're lucky but the government will prob postpone that as well
    You can guarantee that alright.

mr zulu wrote: »
    You can guarantee that alright.

Yup

More time where we can't legally travel to see friends, family and partners

Benimar wrote: »

No. Because legitimate businesses being open is the default position and requires no justification per se.

It's too late to "crush the curve", it worked in countries like NZ because it's been their method from the start.

What is our plan? The curve is largely flattened, and the storm that Leo said would happen didn't happen (which has been admitted).

They are promising fast test/trace/isolate so are we just going to stay in lockdown until a certain number of cases gets reached? We're not going to get 0 cases and when lockdown lifts, we'll probably get more cases forcing us back into lockdown again.

The government are afraid of people doing anything. They won't ditch the 5km because they don't want us to go to parks / beaches. They won't reopen homestores because they don't want people going to Ikea.

Is it safe to say that the government want to continue lockdown for 3 more weeks? At least.

I'd really love to know what figures they are looking for. We've no hope of this lockdown ending until we're out of money.

The government are afraid of people doing anything. They won't ditch the 5km because they don't want us to go to parks / beaches. They won't reopen homestores because they don't want people going to Ikea.

Is it safe to say that the government want to continue lockdown for 3 more weeks? At least.

I'd really love to know what figures they are looking for. We've no hope of this lockdown ending until we're out of money.

Then there'll be ads thanking people for "getting up early" and working to keep the country going..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,622 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Lads whatever about justified criticism and tbh I would be somewhat frustrated with the lack of hard criteria myself and I also think there is a good bit of arse covering in our slow approach.

And all that.

But I was in IKEA before myself and not just once. a) Its layout is very tight and it is also often very very full. b) Also it is the only store in the country and most of its customers would be outside its 5km radius.

They could probably deal with (a) but probably not so much with (b).

I may not like it and I may even think our plan is overly cautious. But the government put out a plan and they will have to be consistent with it whether you like the plan or not. Only thing worse than a plan that is too slow is a plan thats falling apart immediately.

Opening IKEA on Monday would not appear to be consistent with phase 1 tbh. Even I can see that.

I've a feeling that we won't have reached stage 5 by October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

KrustyUCC wrote: »

sure people will never accept that, im certainly not sticking to this 5km it's downright ridicalous.