Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journalism and Cycling 2: the difficult second album

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭buffalo

Looks like some people are opposed to Dublin City Council's 30km/h plans because cyclists would end up moving faster than cars...
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/dublin-city-council-plans-for-30km-h-limit-despite-opposition-1.4340989

I would love to see the context for that quote. Whether there's some justification, or whether "cyclists overtaking cars" is some kind of evil in itself.

The person must not drive at rush hour in the city, or presumably they'd be driven demented by all the cyclists overtaking cars!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭McGrath5

This gem...
    Watching the speedometer would take concentration off the road, lower speeds were bad for car engines, and the 30km/h limit could result in “cyclists overtaking cars”

What about buses, pedestrians or ambulances? Can they also not overtake cars? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,979 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Looks like some people are opposed to Dublin City Council's 30km/h plans because cyclists would end up moving faster than cars...
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/dublin-city-council-plans-for-30km-h-limit-despite-opposition-1.4340989

Jeysus getting passed out by cyclists will really mess with their fragile egos

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

and the funny thing is they were probably the legible responses.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Jeysus getting passed out by cyclists will really mess with their fragile egos

I must have passed a few hundred cars daily pre-lock down on my commute. Anyone that drives 10km-ish into Dublin is a masochist that deserves a place on one of those sadistic Japanese game shows.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Not quite journalism, but he *is* a journalist.

https://twitter.com/PaschalSheehy/status/1299456881778470915

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Not quite journalism, but he *is* a journalist.

https://twitter.com/PaschalSheehy/status/1299456881778470915

Fair play to him. Ever since Callans Kicks I cant stop thinking of him as Plastic Sheeting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

AcQeRco.jpg

dunno if this made it to the irish version of the ST; but i've seen a couple of responses pointing out that it is not the cyclists who are more dangerous, but the issue is the speed of the traffic:

https://twitter.com/allpartycycling/status/1300081150694690816

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Car abandoned after cyclist was seriously injured in Dublin city
    At approximately 10.30pm, a male cyclist aged in his 20s was seriously injured when he was struck by a car on North Wall Quay.

The car involved in the collision failed to remain at the scene.

The injured cyclist was taken by ambulance to the Mater Hospital, where his condition is understood to be serious.

A car understood to have been involved in the incident was abandoned by the driver and recovered by gardaí at Castleforbes Square a short time later.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,613 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Nice Picture to see in the middle of a lot of fear and negativity around people going back to school.

https://twitter.com/StephDickenson/status/1300697135957110784

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Dublintown Survey Of Member Businesses On Grafton Street Area Pedestrianisation Trial
    85% Of City Businesses Want Pedestrianisation To Continue Permanently, In Some Format

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

That can't be true, all I hear on twitter is from people who talk to local businesses (apparently there is a contingent of locals who go to every business on a street and ask how they are doing with the cycle path outside), and these business owners are always there and always tell them it has ruined their trade :pac:

I know but they can't argue with the fact that DublinTown is a business lobby group and has no vested interest in pedestrianisation or cycling...
    DublinTown is the collective voice of businesses in Dublin city centre, working to create a better city experience for all. We promote the city centre as the ultimate destination of choice for shopping and socialising while also improving the district through additional cleaning, graffiti removal, floral planting and other initiatives. DublinTown makes the city centre better by connecting influential people in authority with its 2,500 business members. We are advocates using examples and evidence to drive change.
    https://www.wearedublintown.ie/who-we-are/overview/

was back out in malahide the other day, was disappointed to see multiple shops on new street displaying posters complaining about the pedestrianisation.
    and a house with a large banner saying 'save my house'. which would seem to imply the occupant assumes their house will be ruined by pedestrianisation?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

was back out in malahide the other day, was disappointed to see multiple shops on new street displaying posters complaining about the pedestrianisation.
    and a house with a large banner saying 'save my house'. which would seem to imply the occupant assumes their house will be ruined by pedestrianisation?

It's being de-pedestrianised in a few weeks.

And then re-pedestrianised in March.

And then a consultation. Or something like that. It has been such a success, it makes the street so much more enjoyable and footfall is through the roof but the opposition was too strong.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

There's a road what 50 metres before it you can just turn down instead if you have to

• Registered Users Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I would've thought pedestrianisation would increase the value of their house.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

McGaggs wrote: »
    I would've thought pedestrianisation would increase the value of their house.

No on street parking perhaps? Would imagine this is a major no no in our car dependent society.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭JMcL

CramCycle wrote: »
    That can't be true, all I hear on twitter is from people who talk to local businesses (apparently there is a contingent of locals who go to every business on a street and ask how they are doing with the cycle path outside), and these business owners are always there and always tell them it has ruined their trade :pac:

Ah but dig deeper and you'd probably find that the only businesses "surveyed" are those that facilitate driving a D4 tractor all the way up to the checkout :D

A very odd headline not reflected in the article itself.

Cyclists use these secret signals ‘not intended’ to be known by drivers to warn of hazards

https://www.express.co.uk/life-style/cars/1331453/cyclist-hand-signals-uk-cycling-cars-road-safety-danger

• Registered Users Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭Type 17

If you’re not aware of the secret signals we all use, then you haven’t been admitted to the innermost circle of masonic cyclists ;)

(...or haven’t ever gone out on a club ride :rolleyes:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

That is a bizarre article. "secret signals". Jaysus, pointing at a hazard is hardly some bizarre code. There are also a huge number of mistakes in their reading of this "code". "Journalist needed clickbait for money" would be a more accurate headline.

CramCycle wrote: »
    That is a bizarre article. "secret signals". Jaysus, pointing at a hazard is hardly some bizarre code. There are also a huge number of mistakes in their reading of this "code". "Journalist needed clickbait for money" would be a more accurate headline.
    It's the Express. Accurate journalism was never their forte.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

It's the Express. Accurate journalism was never their forte.

"Cyclists usually shout the words “car back” or “car up” to warn the pack that a vehicle is coming from behind or “car up” if the model is in front of them."

You're not wrong there :D

Duckjob wrote: »
    "Cyclists usually shout the words “car back” or “car up” to warn the pack that a vehicle is coming from behind or “car up” if the model is in front of them."

You're not wrong there :D
    I know that (I'm in a club).
    I'm referring to their usage of cyclists having "secret signals". The Express is infamous for making up stories from nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,979 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The one for potholes is just to point at the pothole. Ha the drivers will never crack our secret code.

Another part of the secret code is

"riders who look over their shoulder immediately indicates their intention to move out of the pack.

Usually, this will be on the side which they are looking over the shoulder as they check to ensure the coast is clear."

But I suppose checking to see the coast is clear must look like a strange alien ritual to many drivers

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Are cyclists with dynamos a part of the illuminate-i then?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

I know that (I'm in a club).
    I'm referring to their usage of cyclists having "secret signals". The Express is infamous for making up stories from nothing.

Oh I agree. A much better headline would have been something like "5 signals cyclists use to communicate that car drivers may not be aware of"

That line was a direct quote from the article and the point was it contained a glaring error that should be obvious to anyone whether into cycling or not because as an english sentence it makes no sense. Apart from any tonal intent, that's so sloppy that whoever passed it for publication should be deeply embarassed.