Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journalism and Cycling 2: the difficult second album

• Registered Users Posts: 25,979 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The man is a liability at this stage with the stuff he's stoking

https://twitter.com/DublinCommuters/status/1310898419045548032

https://youtu.be/PrYwCwtX0JM

Never forget

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,526 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Macy0161 wrote: »
    I think we've discussed the legislation needing a serious bringing up to date before on here around lights.
    i think this was one thing the greens had mentioned regarding road traffic law - for years it's been crying out for consolidation because it's so stratified with the original law having layers and layers added on top. the plan has been for a few years that they'd completely revamp, replace and retire the old laws.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,652 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

swarlb wrote: »
    And then you have Lidl and Aldi.... selling all 'the gear' you'd never find outside of a specialist shop. Even today, you'd be hard pressed to find 'cycling gear' in a sports store.

Side topic I know, but there is almost no such thing as a sports store any more - I wanted to buy a Kids size basketball recently in City Centre......couldnt be had anywhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,526 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

swarlb wrote: »
    And then you have Lidl and Aldi.... selling all 'the gear' you'd never find outside of a specialist shop. Even today, you'd be hard pressed to find 'cycling gear' in a sports store.
    to be fair, most sports stores are generalist for sports which don't have specialist stores, if you follow me.
    i.e. you can buy football boots in a sports shop, but there are no 'football shops'. the same can't be said for bike shops, generalist sports shops may not want to cater for sports where people are more likely to go to the specialist stores. it's easier to hire a 19 year old on minimum wage, who knows much about football boots than they do about cleat choice too.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Side topic I know, but there is almost no such thing as a sports store any more - I wanted to buy a Kids size basketball recently in City Centre......couldnt be had anywhere.

Limerick city centre has 1 bike shop a couple of sorta sports shops that are sporty leisure ware and jerseys but with very little sports specific kit and still 1 actual sports store for people who play sports.

Outside town in the shopping centres there's the usual mix of sports direct, Elverys, Halfords and all that

In my own experience, you don't see really people out racing. You might see them training but if they are training in a group then they are with a group who all have similar fitness levels (and therefore it doesn't look like racing).
    I do my best to push myself every time I'm out for a spin. I'm not racing but I am usually doing my damnedest.
    I wear clothing that suitable for what I'm doing. My shorts are padded because otherwise I wouldn't be able to stay out for as long on a modern saddle.
    I wear a top that isn't going to blow about in the wind and which has pockets that I can put stuff into. It's the same as a person doing pretty much any sport. They wear gear appropriate to their chosen activity.
    I found that I had to get certain tee-shirts even to go out running because I'd rip the nipples off myself otherwise. Similarly, I own a decent pair of runners because I've crap knees and hips.
    People see the lycra gear on cyclists and lose rational thought. They assume that the wearer is a wannabe Sam Bennett rather than someone simply wearing clothing appropriate to a leisure activity.

Again, I know its a digression but....

Back in my athletics days, I could run a race every week of the year if I wanted....

And I dont just mean the tshirt races in the phoenix park, or the fund raiser 5ks that your local GAA club put on.

I mean proper club races with high standard, on track, on cross country, on road. Across Senior, Novice, Intermediate and Masters.

I never see this in cycling? There are heaps of Sportifs - but actual races? Where are they? When are they?

For me - are there Masters races?

Again, I know its a digression but....

Back in my athletics days, I could run a race every week of the year if I wanted....

And I dont just mean the tshirt races in the phoenix park, or the fund raiser 5ks that your local GAA club put on.

I mean proper club races with high standard, on track, on cross country, on road. Across Senior, Novice, Intermediate and Masters.

I never see this in cycling? There are heaps of Sportifs - but actual races? Where are they? When are they?

Contact your nearest club or cycling Ireland if your interested and they will point you in the right direction.

I always assume the reason I don't see many races is they are as far away from civilization as humanly possible

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Most clubs have at least one spring and/or summer league. There's open racing Saturday and Sunday of the season (March to October), and then CX over the winter.
    IVCA (the vets) do midweek races as well as the weekend during the summer I think.
    That's not even including the various mtb disciplines and clubs, which I know nothing about.

I'd say you could race every weekend for most of the year, if you had the appropriate bikes/ skills/ fitness!

Most clubs have at least one spring and/or summer league. There's open racing Saturday and Sunday of the season (March to October), and then CX over the winter.
    IVCA (the vets) do midweek races as well as the weekend during the summer I think.
    That's not even including the various mtb disciplines and clubs, which I know nothing about.

I'd say you could race every weekend for most of the year, if you had the appropriate bikes/ skills/ fitness!

Thanks, I would love to get involved in this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Yes there are, ICVA and CI do both although Masters only are not that common but you can partake in a race most weekends in Ireland nowadays (C19 aside). From level A4 upto A1
    breezy1985 wrote: »
    Contact your nearest club or cycling Ireland if your interested and they will point you in the right direction.

I always assume the reason I don't see many races is they are as far away from civilization as humanly possible
    Pretty much, with the reaction of one Garda and one club, we made a conscious decision to move all our club league races as far away from society as possible.

Yep

I assume it would be common that anyone wanting to race would also need to be a motorist at races are deep in the countryside?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I assume it would be common that anyone wanting to race would also need to be a motorist at races are deep in the countryside?
    A personal thing, I used to ride to all races but have gotten lazy in recent years. Young lads still spin out to all races, win, and go home.

CramCycle wrote: »
    A personal thing, I used to ride to all races but have gotten lazy in recent years. Young lads still spin out to all races, win, and go home.

I'm usually happy with a 40/50k ride so ide be gassed just getting to the start lines from the city

I feel like we are speaking slightly in code here - what sort of routes do we normally see races on? What would be a typical route - say for the clubs based in Dublin and its suburbs, or other cities.

I'm usually happy with a 40/50k ride so ide be gassed just getting to the start lines from the city

Plus - if the start line is deep in a country bodhreen - am guessing its bad practice to park a heap of cars on a grassy verge?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I feel like we are speaking slightly in code here - what sort of routes do we normally see races on? What would be a typical route - say for the clubs based in Dublin and its suburbs, or other cities.
    They're all over Ireland on different roads.
    See the Cycling Ireland events calendar for more info @ http://www.cyclingireland.ie/page/events/events-calendar/road-events

• Registered Users Posts: 14,205 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I'm actually pretty upset by some of the sh*t I've been reading on facebook today. A girl was hit by a bus on Parnell st and rushed to hospital and people are posting under their real names that they hope the driver is ok or this one -
    "Another menace on a push bike that thinks traffic laws doesn’t apply to her. Hopefully she will walk or get the bus in future rather than trying to cycle underneath it".
    "Poor driver hope there ok,cyclist thinking they can just keep going straight as vehicles turn if other road users need to obey the rules and cyclists want equal rights they need to do the same but rush though city's as fast as they want,at the end of the day were only a bag of meat and dont stand a chance"

Like seriously this is dangerous stuff, and it's not helped by the media either. These are grown adults posting this under their real names. How did it come to this in a civilised society?
    I can't look at this stuff again for my own sanity.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The cure is to stay away from the cesspool of low-iq muppets on facebook. It is a hateful site!

At least post this hate under feckin false profiles! Brazenly enjoying the fact that a woman was nearly killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭micar

I'm actually pretty upset by some of the sh*t I've been reading on facebook today. A girl was hit by a bus on Parnell st and rushed to hospital and people are posting under their real names that they hope the driver is ok or this one -

Like seriously this is dangerous stuff, and it's not helped by the media either. These are grown adults posting this under their real names. How did it come to this in a civilised society?
    I can't look at this stuff again for my own sanity.

Herein lies the problem

More than half of car drivers think cyclists are not fully human

https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/racing/half-car-drivers-think-cyclists-not-fully-human-according-new-study-411816

An issue with Facebook is that its beyond moderation - the scale of it means that when a comment appears such as the one above, you might report it to Facebook help page, and you will hear back three weeks later.

And if you do hear back, it will be to say the comment doesnt breach Facebook's code of conduct.

And you reply to anonymous post and say, Yes it does and here is the reason why, and they send you the same email back that you got the first time.

At least with the likes of Boards or thejournal, the moderators are real people who are responsive.

Likewise with the Guardian which has an extensive comments section

Facebook literally is out of control, its beyond control unless legislation changes - but because its so global, I dont see how legislation does change.

I know in our place last time we were hiring checks were done on peoples online presence. Everybody posts some rubbish online but to be stupid enough to do some of the more nasty stuff under your own name or with a publicly accessible profile and picture of you? They didn't find any serial anti cycling people or racists etc or anything interesting at all really but was an eye opener as to how open people leave themselves and their profiles to a check like that.

The time and frequency of posting was also looked at too.

One man in particular you'd wonder if he ever did a tap in his current job such was the post volume during the working day. He wasn't posting anything bad just the volume during the working day, every single day. Needless to say he didn't get the job.

one i see swords mcnally use (in normal years, i just saw them there once this year) is 6km from the western end of the main runway in dublin airport, and is an 11km circuit. so they're not necessarily going to be far from dublin, if that's where you live. there are also races on closed circuits such as corkagh park and mondello.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

I know in our place last time we were hiring checks were done on peoples online presence. Everybody posts some rubbish online but to be stupid enough to do some of the more nasty stuff under your own name or with a publicly accessible profile and picture of you? They didn't find any serial anti cycling people or racists etc or anything interesting at all really but was an eye opener as to how open people leave themselves and their profiles to a check like that.

The time and frequency of posting was also looked at too.

One man in particular you'd wonder if he ever did a tap in his current job such was the post volume during the working day. He wasn't posting anything bad just the volume during the working day, every single day. Needless to say he didn't get the job.

Out of interest, how was that checked?

Email address and real name + google, that simple.They knew what people looked like from the interviews

No idea of the legality or morality of it but if you put yourself out there as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭p15574

Oymyakon wrote: »
    Another thing is people seem to be offended by some cyclists wearing cycling kit (the cheek of them), making it seem like an elitist hobby rather than just an efficient way to get from A to B?

They're never "wearing" it, always "clad"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

p15574 wrote: »
    They're never "wearing" it, always "clad"

Good entry if they ever update the Myles na gCopaleen Catechism of Cliché

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

Email address and real name + google, that simple.They knew what people looked like from the interviews

No idea of the legality or morality of it but if you put yourself out there as they say.

I've always assumed this to be the case in recent years, one of the reasons why my Twitter account is in a shortened version of my name. And that's despite the fact that I'd never post anything offensive, aggressive and certainly nothing as grotesque as the quoted posts above.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I've always assumed this to be the case in recent years, one of the reasons why my Twitter account is in a shortened version of my name. And that's despite the fact that I'd never post anything offensive, aggressive and certainly nothing as grotesque as the quoted posts above.

Sure even mild curiosity on behalf of the new manager would have them check out Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn with a quick google search

For all the flak cyclists have to take about cycling on footpaths in Irish Times letters and on radio shows, how often do we all see the likes of this? And cars have to drive on the footpath in order to park on the footpath, there are 6 cars parked on the double yellow lined footpath outside my house now!

https://twitter.com/AlanDub13/status/1310858616853979137