Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What if Dublin was an independent city-state?

• 11-05-2020 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭

Not saying it's going to be one any time soon, but suppose it was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

Can we put dynamite along the border and blow it off into the sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's no Sparta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Any time soon? Are you asking a question or just asking people to imagine?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,096 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Well if it was then there would be an international border around it and Ireland would have a different capital (obviously this would NOT be Cork!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

All of Dublin or just the non scum areas ( which would be quite small)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

What if?

The rest of the country would collapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Well if it was then there would be an international border around it and Ireland would have a different capital (obviously this would NOT be Cork!)
    Cork is already the capital ye guys just havent caught up yet on that. Send Dublin off take Kerry with ye and let the rebels get on with doing a real job of running the place. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Citroen2cv

Zebra3 wrote: »
    What if?

And Dublin would starve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Cork is already the capital ye guys just havent caught up yet on that. Send Dublin off take Kerry with ye and let the rebels get on with doing a real job of running the place. :)

Cork ? The best thing to come out of Cork was Michael Collins and yiz shot him.

Citroen2cv wrote: »
    And Dublin would starve.

A lot of people don’t realise but there quite a lot of farms in Dublin actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

If Dublin's a city-state Cork should be a continent

And money to buy food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,712 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Quite a lot of people as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Cork ? The best thing to come out of Cork was Michael Collins and yiz shot him.
    Sure we were done with him he served no more purpose. . Don't forget Roy Keane the poster boy for anger management, Cillian Murphy the bluest eyes in the history of the world, Graham Norton the Gayest man in the history of the BBC and Bill O Herlihy a legend in sports broadcasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

My history is a bit hazy but isn't that what The Pale was a few hundred years ago.

No

Sure we were done with him. Don't forget Roy Keane the poster boy for anger management, Cillian Murphy the bluest eyes in the

"How many Roy Keane's does it take to change a light bulb,"?

"One to hold the light bulb while Cork revolves around him".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭tigerboon

What if?

Not really. The rest of the country would also be an independent state attracting inward investment and maybe spreading it evenly across the country. Sort of like other countries do. It would be competing with the mighty Dublin.

tigerboon wrote: »
    Not really. The rest of the country would also be an independent state attracting inward investment and maybe spreading it evenly across the country. Sort of like other countries do. It would be competing with the mighty Dublin.

Mayo might win an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

"How many Roy Keane's does it take to change a light bulb,"?

"One to hold the light bulb while Cork revolves around him".

Awful...

Mayo might win an All Ireland.

Nah they’d still find a hilarious way to blow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Edgware wrote: »
    All of Dublin or just the non scum areas ( which would be quite small)

Everywhere from Balscadden down to the northern part of Bray, out far west as the Kildare/Meath borders. All of Dublin City and County.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We we known as the Dublinmen as distinct from Irishmen a thousand years ago by the continentals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭saabsaab

What! Cork the real capital.

saabsaab wrote: »
    What! Cork the real capital.

Cork only barely qualifies for a capital C

The country could sell its electricity, food and water to the Dublin state. EU grants for country too. Dail would have to move.

salmocab wrote: »
    Cork only barely qualifies for a capital C

Barrys tea and Murphys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭frag420

Just because half the population up there are riding horses around the place doesn’t mean they all come from farms...

frag420 wrote: »
    Just because half the population up there are riding horses around the place doesn’t mean they all come from farms...

We don’t call them horses, up here we call them country girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Wouldn't change anything, Dublin would still be one of the greatest cities in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

unhappys10 wrote: »
    Can we put dynamite along the border and blow it off into the sea?

The lost city of Antolantis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Monaghan will finally win the AI ;(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Panrich

What if?

We'd be alright once we take your money in exchange for some water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭LeYouth

Didn't Brian Boru fight Dublin Vikings. Yeah, Dubs were always a different breed to the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

I wonder how long it would be before the Great Independent City State of Dublin, joined the UK?

That would be County Dublin, not Dublin City.

The only farms in Dublin city are the likes of Anto's cannibis farm in his attic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

cj maxx wrote: »
    May the odds be ever in your favour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭LeYouth

cj maxx wrote: »

We always crumble on the first day we get into Croke Park. Anything in Ulster (well maybe with the exception of Tyrone) is fine, but going into Dublin is always a mental blocker for our lads. But they're a good squad!

But seriously, this couldn't be any worse than that Mayo team. Seriously what is up with them lads. They should have won the All Ireland by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

That would be County Dublin, not Dublin City.

The only farms in Dublin city are the likes of Anto's cannibis farm in his attic.

Theres a farm in Drumcondra, owned by the Archbishop I think. You see the tractor on the main airport road the odd time. North county Dublin has the best climate for growing veg anywhere in the country, the Met station at the airport records the lowest rainfall of all their country wide weather stations. Its also the weather station the bookies rely on for white Christmas bets cause they know theres never snow at that station on Christmas day.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Theres a farm in Drumcondra, owned by the Archbishop I think. You see the tractor on the main airport road the odd time. North county Dublin has the best climate for growing veg anywhere in the country, the Met station at the airport records the lowest rainfall of all their country wide weather stations. Its also the weather station the bookies rely on for white Christmas bets cause they know theres never snow at that station on Christmas day.

Didn't know about the Archbishops farm, hopefully that would keep the whole city going. And it would be consistent with the premise of the OP.

The rest would be County Dublin, and after being a manager with Keelings in a former life and Dublin Meath Growers I already knew north county Dublin was well suited to growing fruit (not necessarily veg), but not the best.

There’s a field of sheep in ballymount industrial estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Didn't know about the Archbishops farm, hopefully that would keep the whole city going.

lol not at all. But Dublin has control of the main port, without it theres no Cornflakes for the rest of the country

To the UK, which is one of our biggest export markets.............for now.

With Brexit coming, Rosslare/ New Ross is looking good.

And the USA......Shannon airPORT.

The deep channels of the South West could be better develpoped to take deep draught ocean going ships like the port of Rotterdam.

Which brings me back to my earlier post
    I wonder how long it would be before the Great Independent City State of Dublin joined the UK?

The more this thread goes on, the more appealing the idea seems. It could even satisfy some of our northern brethren that have issues with rule from Dublin.

This island could once be again a 32 county (and one City State/ Principality with Bono as head of state) nation once again

Does anyone know if there is an online petition I could sign. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

And Dublin would starve.

I don't eat beef or dairy, and 45% of Irish veg are grown in Dublin

In the proposed circumstances of devolution, 45% of Dubliners would eat you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And Dublin would starve.

Not really.

Trade would continue as before.

Sorry to shatter your dreams. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭its_steve116

That's interesting, whereabouts in Drumcondra is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Would they still have to import Bulgarians to do the farm work or would the Dubs develop a liking for work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Edgware wrote: »
    Would they still have to import Bulgarians to do the farm work or would the Dubs develop a liking for work?

We'd still get our Bulgarians in and country folk would still fly in their Brazilians and Polish to work in the meat factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Don't forget Roy Keane the poster boy for anger management
    I laughed. :)
    A chip van without the van.