Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Adams Maze Escape convictions quashed - time for quid pro quo?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,176 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Don't have to. Culturally the working class in ROI have united with the UK years ago.
    No army required, no flags required. Their minds are Britain's.

Granted, there might be the odd 'head the ball' or two shouting 'up the ra' with a tricolour up. But really those sort just want to have some street cred, because they are lacking elsewhere.

They just want to be part of a gang, and then sit-down to say 'we' for xyz English team.
    As I said they are not the brightest.
    Nor do they have a sense of irony.

Be brilliant...instead of Up the RA they'll be pushing little plastic Aircraft Carriers about bombing the **** out of some poor African country for De Murricans on the carpet of their free gaffs from SF.

Wouldn't ya love to be them?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I clarified it for you as well as Pearse agreed with me.

(.............)the site for the Irish language.

No, you made a generalisation so expect to be held accountable. Not that your new "irish language" angle is any less untrue or insulting. You've made your attitude crystal clear - anti-irish and an apologist for colonialism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Things are really circling the drain now, it was evident this was due to happen once OP skirted the substantive point in my earlier posts in the thread.

As for Adams, he is clearly innocent of the crimes the British convicted him of, he has been vindicated in this regard.

I don't know if Adams was in the IRA. You don't know either.

Tell me why it is ok for you to have a kangaroo court and convict Adams of a crime? You are either for the rule of law or you are not, you can't just abandon it because you don't like Adams.

Things are really circling the drain now, it was evident this was due to happen once OP skirted the substantive point in my earlier posts in the thread.

As for Adams, he is clearly innocent of the crimes the British convicted him of, he has been vindicated in this regard.

I don't know if Adams was in the IRA. You don't know either.

Tell me why it is ok for you to have a kangaroo court and convict Adams of a crime? You are either for the rule of law or you are not, you can't just abandon it because you don't like Adams.

His problem with Adams is two-fold. Firstly Gerry is Irish and identifies as such, secondly he stood up the Brits.

Odhinn wrote: »
    His problem with Adams is two-fold. Firstly Gerry is Irish and identifies as such, secondly he stood up the Brits.

Thirdly, he beat them and will be getting a big cheque.

It's hilarious really. I don't have much time for SF personally and would disagree with their approach, particularly in recent years, but the reaction they provoke from some quarters is a sight to see.

Firstly Gerry is Irish

Is he though...I saw him reading The Mirror one time in a pub that was showing the Spurs V Utd.

Holy Jaysus - that means he has a collection of delph with the queens mush on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Pouring out of the woodwork now clutching their tricolours and clinging on to their dead language and their neaderthal thug gaelic identity.

Growthe****up. Welcome to the United States of the World. Does it matter whether Pascal Donogue, Angela Merkel or the Queen levies taxes and provides public transport. ? Forget about all this toxic pointless history of grievance. Get a job, get a girlfriend, get a boyfriend, sing a song, bake a cake, download porn, join a sports club, go to New York, become a priest but dont waste your life in this fetid goldfish bowl of rage and fake wankology

Truthvader wrote: »
    Pouring out of the woodwork now clutching their tricolours and clinging on to their dead language and their neaderthal thug gaelic identity.

..completely unlike your wonderfully broad and accepting world view.

I think Boards mods should close this anti Irish thread down.

Please complain to mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

Truthvader wrote: »

Growthe****up. Welcome to the United States of the World. Does it matter whether Pascal Donogue, Angela Merkel or the Queen levies taxes and provides public transport. ? Forget about all this toxic pointless history of grievance. Get a job, get a girlfriend, get a boyfriend, sing a song, bake a cake, download porn, join a sports club, go to New York, become a priest but dont waste your life in this fetid goldfish bowl of rage and fake wankology

That level of self hate will give you an aneurysm. Should seek some sort of assistance

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

No, you made a generalisation so expect to be held accountable. Not that your new "irish language" angle is any less untrue or insulting. You've made your attitude crystal clear - anti-irish and an apologist for colonialism.

It is not a new angle it is my belief. And happens to be P.Pearse's belief as well.
    He might have phrased it slightly different but the sentiment is the same.

But I would go further I see the working class uneducated SF voters as 'plastic paddies'.
    Only they are too ignorant of thier own culture to realise it.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It is not a new angle it is my belief and happens to be P.Pearse's belief as well.

But I would go further I do see the working class uneducated SF voters as 'plastic paddies'. Only they are too ignorant of thier culture to realise it.

..but you regard irishness as a lesser state of mind/being regardless. You've been caught out by your own admissions.

It is not a new angle it is my belief. And happens to be P.Pearse's belief as well.
    He might have phrased it slightly different but the sentiment is the same.

But I would go further I see the working class uneducated SF voters as 'plastic paddies'.
    Only they are too ignorant of thier own culture to realise it.

Pearse as a man was a bit of a bollix, if you ask me. Connolly was the real leader.
    He would have faced down the RCC and partition if he'd have lived imo and maybe he wouldn't have.
    Point is, they were men of their time, their time is long gone. Their sarcrifices will never be forgotten but just like the bible, nothing they said should be taken as holy writ.
    The Irish language is being reborn across this country...20 years will see more speakers than there has been since the state was founded.

..but you regard irishness as a lesser state of mind/being regardless. You've been caught out by your own admissions.

I haven't being caught out at all Ireland is a lesser nation. It's language is only spoken regularly by about 70k of the populatipon.

All the other sovereign states in Europe are above Ireland straight away. As they have thier own language that is not used as lip service.

Unless you can name another?

You can cod yourself about lines on the map if you wish. Or the colour of postboxes.
    Or even using "A chara" at the start of the letter or "Is Mise Le Meas" at the end with all English in between is a cod.

As for GB: for such a small Island nation and small population they far achieved more than the sum of thier parts. England is the lingua Franca of the world.
    The British Empire once extended to about 412m people 25% of the world landmass by 1920. World population was about 2 billion.

No matter how you cut it that is a tremendous achievement. Where the sun never set. It was the largest empire in history.
    Setting up a system jurisprudence around the world the common law system - which we still follow today. An empire which brought thier sports, values, and culture around the world. Which many 'so called' Irish republicans follow avidly. 'We' some of them say whether it is for a Glasgow, London, Liverpool or Manchester team. Some Irish republicans may even have tattoos of said team.

Today the British Commonwealth is 2.4 billion people spanning 54 countries

What is the island of Ireland's greatest achievement?

Emigration

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭jelutong

The Sun never set on the British Empire because God wouldn’t trust an Englishman in the dark.
    Tony Benn.

I haven't being caught out at all Ireland is a lesser nation. It's language is only spoken regularly by about 70k of the populatipon.

All the other sovereign states in Europe are above Ireland straight away. As they have thier own language that is not used as lip service.

Unless you can name another?

You can cod yourself about lines on the map if you wish. Or the colour of postboxes.
    Or even using "A chara" at the start of the letter or "Is Mise Le Meas" at the end with all English in between is a cod.

As for GB: for such a small Island nation and small population they far achieved more than the sum of thier parts. England is the lingua Franca of the world.
    The British Empire once extended to about 412m people 25% of the world by 1920.

No matter how you cut it that is a tremendous achievement. Where the sun never set. It was the largest empire in history.
    Setting up a system jurisprudence around the world the common law system - which we still follow today. An empire which brought thier sports, values, and culture around the world. Which many so called Irish republicans follow avidly. "We" some of them say whether it is for a Glasgow, London, Liverpool or Manchester team.

Today the British commonwealth is 2.4 billion people spanning 54 countries

What is the island of Ireland's greatest achievement?

Emigration

After 2 sentences, (that's all I read) I think you need to stop wasting time on boards.ie. You need to get the Unity Party set up..fast. Country is fecked if you don't. We are not the people you need to be talking to, we are uncultured and unclean.

I haven't being caught out at all Ireland is a lesser nation. .................

We already saw you say that.

You fawn over the evils of colonialism and disparage irishness.

He is on the wind up lads. Perhaps he should listen to Gerry Adams new podcast to unwind.

After 2 sentences, (that's all I read) I think you need to stop wasting time on boards.ie. You need to get the Unity Party set up..fast. Country is fecked if you don't. We are not the people you need to be talking to, we are uncultured and unclean.

You are implying that not I. What I merely said were for the most part ROI working class SF voters have lost thier Irish culture and idenify more with the English/GB.

That is just the truth of it. All the 'oh ah up the ra' stuff ake David Cullinane is facade, a sham, people who just want to be in 'a gang' of sorts.
    Like those Hell's Angels bikers in the USA.
    It is comical and sad to look at.

We already saw you say that.

You fawn over the evils of colonialism and disparage irishness.

I didn't fawn over the evils of colonialism. I mentioned the glorious empire the Brits formed. Militarily it was an impressive feat.
    Also in Ireland we follow the common law system and so on because of 'The Brits'. And British sports and pop culture etc.

I believe Ireland should be speaking its own tongue.
    That my friend is true freedom. As a language echoes a culture and there are many turns of phrase you would not get in English.

Most of the 'oh ah up the ra' brigade have not grasped this fact. And no matter what lines they draw on map will never be truly free as a result.

You can always tell an Irish Republican fool after all the 'Brits out' stuff they mention 'we' for man yoo-nit-ah. Then if you mention 'TG ceathair' they say 'TG four'.
    In my mind I say 'Duine Éireannach mo thóin'.

Again I ask that boards mods shut this down.

I've been banned for talking about electric bikes here ffs, this is unbelievable!

Ah, but you can't deny Adams has had an impressive beard for many a year, since before they were fashionable

I will give you that. And his dog understands Irish which was impressive as well.
    There was one where said 'bog sios' to his dog on a seat in an old programme about Adams, and he moved.

I've been banned for talking about electric bikes here ffs, this is unbelievable!

What bit do you find offensive? As a person with the username 'Mad Lad', I am sure you are very erudite and can explain your issue?

I didn't fawn over the evils of colonialism. I mentioned the glorious empire the Brits formed.................

Yep, you did. Just as you're doing now.

Let the hare sit. He's letting it all out. Therapy.

Yep, you did. Just as you're doing now.

That is just your perception you see. Because in your eyes the British never did any good. Yet here we are writing English, and you probably have a favourite English soccer team, band, comedy series etc.

Only you are so blinded by your faux 'republicanism' you would be unwilling to accept the reality?

Just because I think the Brits achieved an impressive military feat does not mean anything. It is just an admission of the truth. Normans good as well, Genghis Kahn, Romans, Vikings, Brian Boru.
    But no one as came close to matching the British Empire yet for sheer scale. Again a small island nation did it.

Let the hare sit. He's letting it all out. Therapy.

I think if People just stop feeding the troll he will get bored. I am disappointed with Boards.ie Mods.

If this was about LGBT the thread would be closed or the troll banned. Or is it LGBTI now ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Wow, what a train wreck of a thread.

It's the lockdown methinks... OP has gone off the wall, don't think he would have coped well with internment