Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupidest person you have ever met

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

YFlyer wrote: »
    He helped by mopping up the spilled milk? What am I missing?

He used a mop to clean a fridge.

(there's a sentence you don't write everyday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭MissJustice

New Home wrote: »
    Would you not spare a thought him? If anything, I'd blame the parents (if he had any) for letting him out into the world without any basic adult skills. It's very difficult for anyone to learn something new if you feel attacked or ridiculed every time you try, he probably feel ashamed and thinks "I should know what to do in circumstances like this, I'm going to look ridiculous for even asking". I'm not saying it's not maddening, because it is, but try and put yourself in his shoes.
    As for his sex life, it's frankly none of your business.

I agree that his parents must have had some level of involvement with not showing him these basic things, but in fairness, alot of it is basic common sense, and are things you don't even need to be shown what to do by parents.

I never attack or ridicule him in anyway. I've been kind and patient with him for years, but its hard to live with someone like this, believe me, if any of you lived with him for as long as I have, you would have lost patience with him a long long time ago.

His sex life is none of my business yes, all I was saying is that he just doesn't have any idea how to approach a girl or chat her up in anyway at all, hence why he has never ever had a girl come back to the house with him for a night. It's not by choice, he just can't talk to girls in any way, shape, or form, the way that most lads would be able to, that's what I mean.

Panthro wrote: »

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Panthro wrote: »

Ah sure, he was trying to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Aw.... I've read a lot of these type posts, usually on Reddit where people describe someone who has repeated dumb mistakes and its all a bit comical.

In this case I just felt sorry for this poor guy - He sounds well intentioned, obliging and nice but just not that intellectually able and its a bit depressing really.

The list of his "deficiencies" really just amount to him failing to do stuff that he's actually trying to do with the best will in the World.

I really hope those around him support him in a patient manner and appreciate their own intellectual capabilities cause not everyone is as lucky.

- Maybe he'll meet a nice girl and she'll help him out the odd time and they'll just be happy together...... Fingers crossed.

PS Not judging you OP - We're all only human......Our patience is limited, but do please try your best with this Guy, maybe hook him up with some lonely girl who has a yearning for caretaking of this type of calamity!?!?!

Just thinking I have a few "deficiencies" myself. Remember filling wooden drawers with water and washing up liquid in an attempt at cleaning them. Or cleaning out a suitcase using the same "method". I do get great craic out of myself though :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I agree that his parents must have had some level of involvement with not showing him these basic things, but in fairness, alot of it is basic common sense, and are things you don't even need to be shown what to do by parents.

I never attack or ridicule him in anyway. I've been kind and patient with him for years, but its hard to live with someone like this, believe me, if any of you lived with him for as long as I have, you would have lost patience with him a long long time ago.

His sex life is none of my business yes, all I was saying is that he just doesn't have any idea how to approach a girl or chat her up in anyway at all, hence why he has never ever had a girl come back to the house with him for a night. It's not by choice, he just can't talk to girls in any way, shape, or form, the way that most lads would be able to, that's what I mean.

If he can't function normally in his own household, what makes you think that he can function any better with strangers, be they girls or otherwise?

Common sense isn't initially instinctive either, it's something you learn as you go along and only then does it become so.

As for not criticising him, I believe that, but he may pick up clues from your body language all the same, even though you might not realise it.

I've shared more houses and accommodation with more people and for many more years than you can imagine. Now I don't and it's heaven. Move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,293 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I see this guy some times.
    I know what he's done and how he thinks and he can be the stupidest fool in the world.
    I'll see him tomorrow as I desperately need a shave :(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Good to see you've worked all your other housemate problems out
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058074884

Mango Joe wrote: »
    Aw.... I've read a lot of these type posts, usually on Reddit where people describe someone who has repeated dumb mistakes and its all a bit comical.

In this case I just felt sorry for this poor guy - He sounds well intentioned, obliging and nice but just not that intellectually able and its a bit depressing really.

The list of his "deficiencies" really just amount to him failing to do stuff that he's actually trying to do with the best will in the World.

I really hope those around him support him in a patient manner and appreciate their own intellectual capabilities cause not everyone is as lucky.

- Maybe he'll meet a nice girl and she'll help him out the odd time and they'll just be happy together...... Fingers crossed.

PS Not judging you OP - We're all only human......Our patience is limited, but do please try your best with this Guy, maybe hook him up with some lonely girl who has a yearning for caretaking of this type of calamity!?!?!

He is a nice guy. He pays his rent, pays the bills, and does his share of the cleaning when its his turn, and in this way he is a good housemate.

He is also rude and extremely mean. He is always telling lies which is something I can't stand in him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Wagon.

Good to see you've worked all your other housemate problems out
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058074884

This is the same one.

Wagon.

You're a wagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭10fathoms

This has got to be the sh1test thread on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

This is the same one.

No advice Miss, but just want to let you know that your posts are breathtakingly nasty. If a man posted equivalent posts about a female housemate, he'd be banned.

You have represented yourself badly here, regardless of your housemates inadequacies.

No advice Miss, but just want to let you know that your posts are breathtakingly nasty. If a man posted equivalent posts about a female housemate, he'd be banned.

You have represented yourself badly here, regardless of your housemates inadequacies.

You try living with someone like this for 5 years!! I'm only human, have tolerated so much from him over the years. I've been really good to him and helped him out with so many things, as I knew he was not the sharpest tool in the box, but at times its so hard to live with someone who is this stupid, believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Andrea B. wrote: »
    If you mean he was rapidly pressing water with his horizontall palm, towards the plughole?
    Yes, this would transfer some of the force from his hand to the blockage.

One would have to be a grade A moron to try and push water down a blocked plug-hole with their hand.

Yes and particularly when we have a plunger on full display in the bathroom.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

You try living with someone like this for 5 years!! I'm only human, have tolerated so much from him over the years. I've been really good to him and helped him out with so many things, as I knew he was not the sharpest tool in the box, but at times its so hard to live with someone who is this stupid, believe me.

So why are you still living with him? The only thing you can change about this set up is your own accommodation. I don't know what your circumstances are, but what would make anyone share a house for that long with someone they obviously can't stand? Not a very smart move, either.

Being nice to him in the past isn't justification for the way you're sneering at his potential sexual performance/experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Every man has a level of awkwardness around chatting up a woman, but he didn't have the first clue as to what to say to them, and asked me what he should say to a girl.

He's 27 and still a virgin. He's lived here for nearly 5 years, and has never had a girl stay overnight, ever. That might be by choice, but seriously, he just does not know what to say to a girl or even how to approach one.

You come across a right judgmental and patronising individual and to be honest, it sounds like the problem is you. Move out if he bothers you that much. Id say your life isn't exactly a bed of roses either, is it. Who are you to be judging his skills for chatting up women? and it would be interesting to see their point of view. Id imagine its something along the lines of "My housemate is obsessed with trying to get me to behave like she thinks I should".

Get over yourself.

So why are you still living with him? The only thing you can change about this set up is your own accommodation. I don't know what your circumstances are, but what would make anyone share a house for that long with someone they obviously can't stand? Not a very smart move, either.

I am in circumstances where I would be unable to move house.

Being nice to him in the past isn't justification for the way you're sneering at his potential sexual performance/experience.

Sure how would I know how he performs sexually? Nor do I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yes and particularly when we have a plunger on full display in the bathroom.

Take a step back and look at your life. You're on an internet forum complaining about your flatmate not using a plunger.

If I were you I'd be putting my efforts into moving away from rented accommodation. You've been renting 14/15 years and should have easily bought during the recession. Put your effort into things that matter.

I am in circumstances where I would be unable to move house.

Then you're left with two options.

1. Have a sit-down with him (and the other housemates) and have it out once and for all, but everyone has to be given time and space to put their points across. If you can't all do it verbally, then people should have enough time to do it in writing.

2. Interact with him as little as possible, going out of your way to avoid being in the same room as him.

You come across a right judgmental and patronising individual and to be honest, it sounds like the problem is you. Move out if he bothers you that much. Id say your life isn't exactly a bed of roses either, is it. Who are you to be judging his skills for chatting up women? and it would be interesting to see their point of view. Id imagine its something along the lines of "My housemate is obsessed with trying to get me to behave like she thinks I should".

Get over yourself.

Very incorrect statement from you.

Is a little basic cop on so difficult to get from a grown man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Before this turns into a full on witch-hunt of the OP who I think will probably admit she has definitely been too unkind and sneery towards this poor Guy.... I think she was just to an extent just venting and thought it would be a harmless opportunity to rant about her housemate.

She has also posted on another thread about how he's been very inconsiderate towards her in the past and not taken due care as regards her cocooning due to medical conditions.

Finally she has mentioned numerous occasions where she has helped him and supported him as regards crucial things he has needed assistance with - medication and social welfare etc.

If anything good can come out of this thread then its a reminder to the OP that any of us could suffer a head injury or some other form of mental impairment and it will be to her eternal credit if shes a positive influence in someones life when they are in need.

Then you're left with two options.

1. Have a sit-down with him (and the other housemates) and have it out once and for all, but everyone has to be given time and space to put their points across. If you can't all do it verbally, then people should have enough time to do it in writing.

2. Interact with him as little as possible, going out of your way to avoid being in the same room as him.

Exactly correct, and I have done this with him. Had proper discussions like adults, but half the time its like talking to a wall.

Point 2 is what I intend to do from now on. I've had more than enough of his lack of cop on and lack of consideration for others. I've been really good to him over the years and helped him out with many things, and have had the patience of a saint. So this is what I will do from now on, as I've had enough of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Very incorrect statement from you.

Is a little basic cop on so difficult to get from a grown man?

How do you deal with other people in your life who have no cop on? Or even how do other people deal with you when you have no doubt shown no cop on yourself? And again, get over yourself. Here you are on boards.ie looking for advice on how to change another human being instead of showing some common sense (you know, that trait you use to beat others with?) yourself and moving out or getting a house on your own.

You sound like a complete nightmare to live with, I feel sorry for him whoever he is.

Wow 12 pages and you have replied to every single post, you must be fair bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He is a nice guy.

He is also rude and extremely mean. He is always telling lies which is something I can't stand in him at all.

So many mixed signals. Definitely sexual tension in that gaff.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Take a step back and look at your life. You're on an internet forum complaining about your flatmate not using a plunger.

If I were you I'd be putting my efforts into moving away from rented accommodation. You've been renting 14/15 years and should have easily bought during the recession. Put your effort into things that matter.

The thread is not based on a discussion just about a plunger.

Quote: MissJustice
    He probably wouldn't know where to put it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

You've speculated about his performance, and I certainly didn't suggest you cared. Horrible stuff.

How do you deal with other people in your life who have no cop on? Or even how do other people deal with you when you have no doubt shown no cop on yourself? And again, get over yourself. Here you are on boards.ie looking for advice on how to change another human being instead of showing some common sense (you know, that trait you use to beat others with?) yourself and moving out or getting a house on your own.

You sound like a complete nightmare to live with, I feel sorry for him whoever he is.

Wow 12 pages and you have replied to every single post, you must be fair bored.

There are very few people I have come across in life who have his level of stupidity.

I didn't come on boards looking for advice about how to change another human being, where on earth did you get that from?

I also didn't come on boards to look for advice about living with him. My thread is about have you ever met anyone with as much lack of cop on as my housemate? I was interested in hearing other people's stories, if they had encountered anyone similar to this, that's what the thread was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Just ride him and be done with it. The sexual tension between you is making you mad and him simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

10fathoms wrote: »
    This has got to be the sh1test thread on here.

Yeah, it should have been a collection of funny anecdotes about daft things housemates have done.

There are very few people I have come across in life who have his level of stupidity.

I didn't come on boards looking for advice about how to change another human being, where on earth did you get that from?

I also didn't come on boards to look for advice about living with him. My thread is about have you ever met anyone with as much lack of cop on as my housemate? I was interested in hearing other people's stories, if they had encountered anyone similar to this, that's what the thread was about.

The bottom line, though, is that the vast majority of those who have replied to you have said to you that, while it must be very frustrating living with him, it also sounds like the guy might be having some issues, and your keeping going on and on about him to defend your point makes you sound cruel and entitled, when you could just take steps towards changing your circumstances rather than him (the latter of which you won't be able to do, BTW).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 backofthepack

Wow you sound like some piece of work.
    There could be plenty of disorders going on for this man that you know nothing about, looking something up doesn't make you capable of diagnosis.
    And even if there isn't who cares!
    It takes all sorts, if you don't like him or can't live with him then move out.
    Who are you so high and mighty to tear him to shreds online and make a joke of him, speaking about him so harshly, does it make you feel superior?
    Honestly you sound like you enjoying trashing and belittling him, hopefully for this sake you'll get yourself a new place asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Witch hunt forming. Mod instructions ignored. Closing thread for review. Thanks.