Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards Ultimate Flags of the World Tournament

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

The Marshall Islands flag reminds me of the creature on poster for The Thing for some reason.

And doesn't have a dragon on roller skates.

So Bhutan for me.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Marshall Islands. Dragons are undeniably cool, but I don't particularly like the one on the Bhutan flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Tough one.

Marshal Islands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Bhutan.

Completely unique.

Had a read into the flag, the dragon is grasping jewels, standing for national wealth and for perfection.

Thought that was a pretty cool meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,499 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Bhutan

For those of you with a dragon fetish

8181cCmSTjL._AC_SY445_.jpg

Run along and allow the adults take it from here.

Marshall Islands - for a relatively simple design they've incorporated a lot;

- Diagonal lines - equator
    - Orange and white - sunrise and sunset
    - The star - representing their proud northern hemisphere heritage, electoral districts and cultural centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

Marshall islands. It’s happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

Marshall Islands,

because the kids over there can draw that flag. Good luck getting 5 year olds drawing that dragon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Are the votes without a, given, reason being counted?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Omackeral wrote: »
    you must have a valid reason for your vote to count.
    Barna77 wrote: »
    Tough one.

Marshal Islands
    Bhutan

Fortunately ye cancel each other out anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Bhutan

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Bhutan because I've voted for it so often I feel like the mother of dragons.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Revit Man

Marshall Islands.

I like the band from corner to corner, and how it wides as it goes rather than a constant width.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Bhutan

I'd go to war with that flag flying above me no problem

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭jimmymack

Bhutan - the Marshall Islands flag is great, but there's lots of flags with stars. Bhutan's is a bit mad so it gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Bhutan. Love the art style of the dragon insert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,139 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Bhutan for the dragon on roller skates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Marshall Islands, simple but meaningful and very nice to look at.

Bhutan flag is decent but I'm not sure the colours go that well together and the dragon could have been simplified a bit.

So I'm going for Marshall Islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Marshall Islands, nicer colours and design, the flag of Bhutan is overly reliant on the dragon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Marshall islands because of the lines , the colors and the star

As a kid one always liked flags one could draw, and I still thinks it hold true

Best of luck drawing that dragon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Bhutan because its fair inspirational.

Marshall Islands very aesthetically pleasing - but then so is Bhutan.

Bhutan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

cdeb wrote: »
    Fortunately ye cancel each other out anyway :)

So I have to repeat the previous reason?

Ok, MI because of the line equator north side etc etc

And the star is the one with most points in a flag

I'm counting a 12-12 thriller, Omackeral getting the final say on this one?

Thought it was first to 7, or did I miss something?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,499 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Bhutan because that dragon is awesome

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Bhutan.

The colours and symbolism are striking.

It's a head turner against any flag.

Potential outright winner.

Thought it was first to 7, or did I miss something?

Think he said from this round onwards it is whoever gets the most votes in 30 mins. Now that mustang sally gave a reason it might tip it in favor of Bhutan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Bhutan

Sorry to see the Marshall Islands go but Bhutan, in case no one else has pointed it out, has a fricking dragon on it's flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Counts, re-counts, reasons, edits.... it’s tight but it’s Marshall Islands with the win!

Ya what?!

It's an outrage Joe!!

tenor.gif?itemid=5124247

Bye-bye Bhutan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Omackeral wrote: »
    Counts, re-counts, reasons, edits.... it’s tight but it’s Marshall Islands with the win!

Thank god. I missed the vote but Marshall Islands is the overall winner IMO

But...but - the dragon... :(

giphy.gif

Are the votes without a, given, reason being counted?

They are not. Business end of things now.

Maybe do a time schedule for the quarters (as in Q1 at 9.00am, Q2 at 11.00am etc), semis and final.

It'll save me having to refresh all the time and I don't want to miss out on a crucial vote :)

Round 4, Match 2. Don’t forget to give reasons or it won’t count. 30 minutes folks. Go!
    Sri Lanka

ce-flag.gif

VS

Argentina

ar-flag.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Argies. That face.

Sri Lanka might take it if not for the crap on the left. But alas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Argentina - not a massive fan of either flag but I'll go for the argies for the little face on the sun.

Argentina. The colour scheme on the Sri Lankan one is all wrong.

Ive been burned by the novelty animal on a flag thing. Never again.

Argentina (bonus points for the simplicity)

Sri Lanka, because in my mind that's a dragon.

Even if it's a lion.

But it looks like a lion out of Street Fighter firing hadoukens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Had a work meeting and I came back to Montenegro gone. I was devastated....i read on to find Bhutan gone.

A curse on all your houses Marshall island voters. And being a witch..that counts.

Sri Lanka - The Eurosaver Uruguay has gone far enough. Nice flag but nice flags, like dragons, have no business being this deep into the tournament. Sri Lanka even paying homage to our dear island.

Not a big fan of either but I will pick Argentina on the basis the part on the left of Sri Lanka looks really bad.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Sri Lanka - a lion playing knifey spooney - what's not to like?

Sri Lanka - The Eurosaver Uruguay has gone far enough. Nice flag but nice flags, like dragons, have no business being this deep into the tournament. Sri Lanka even paying homage to our dear island.

If the Sri Lankan flag was either side alone it would be great. But its two flags smushed together into a hot mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Argentina. Its just clean and classey.

Sri Lanka has thrown the kicthen sink at it (Is that a bit of the IRISH Flag stuck onto the left hand side ....FFS c'mon lads !!!)

Argentina

Argentina is a good solid flag, it does exactly what it's meant to do.

Sri Lanka without the Orange and Green on the left would be just fine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Argentina.
    Love the right hand side of the Sri Lankan flag but the colours on the left are not good.

Also Incan sun God

Also football