Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Floyd dies after police knelt on his neck (MOD NOTE IN POST #1)

Overheal wrote: »
    Load of fearmongering crap.

How many good people have turned away from a career in law enforcement because of how corrupt it is?

Lots of better people will flock to the profession after reforms.

Hopefully not white people though, obviously..

• Registered Users Posts: 82,768 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hopefully not white people though, obviously..

?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Anyone know how long it takes to train to be a police officer in the US? Think it was mentioned it is only a matter of months?

9 months on average depending on state. A little over 20 weeks basic which is classroom based. And then around 12-13 weeks on the job field training under a probationary period. This could run up to a year depending on state, department and progress. Its around 9 months from academy to unit assignment. Once you out there, it's all on the job training and who you get to work with has a big impact on what you learn. There's no additional training. Going into federal law enforcement will bring more training in terms of classroom and probation. And there are milestones that had to be met over 3 years following probation.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,137 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

2u2me wrote: »
    I was specifically talking about the wages which you mentioned. How do you think it would look if the police got more wages after this?

I agree they should be given training, accountability etc.. etc.. but along with this must come higher wages. The optics of which looks horrendous.

Why narrow it down to just that though?

You implement a suite of measures at the same time that includes attracting minority candidates by making the job more appealing via wage increases.

There is no one easy fix for these problems so there is no point in really looking at them individually. The optics of getting 10 improvements in accountability and laws and giving on 1 issue are perfectly legitimate, especially when the 1 give in can be spun to getting more minorities involved

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

9 months on average depending on state. A little over 20 weeks basic which is classroom based. And then around 12-13 weeks on the job field training under a probationary period. This could run up to a year depending on state, department and progress. Its around 9 months from academy to unit assignment. Once you out there, it's all on the job training and who you get to work with has a big impact on what you learn. There's no additional training. Going into federal law enforcement will bring more training in terms of classroom and probation. And there are milestones that had to be met over 3 years following probation.
    Just by way of comparison, in Ireland training is two years.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

Protest in Dublin cancelled.
    Not because of fear for public safety but because of fears of prosecution....
    https://twitter.com/blmprotestdub/status/1268117690239143938

Yes and all those who were planning on attending are being asked to go to their nearest halting site , inner city flats complex, or social housing scheme and dedicate their times to clean them up and make their communites better.

Im calling it "eco-virtue signalling" make your virtue signaling local.
    ... did I just hear a virtual pin drop.

All Lives Matter.
    RIP George Floyd
    RIP Angela Summers
    RIP David Dorn
    RIP the young black males who will be killed this upcoming weekend in Chicago in black on black violence.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

RIGOLO wrote: »
    Yes and all those who were planning on attending are being asked to go to their nearest halting site , inner city flats complex, or social housing scheme and dedicate their times to clean them up and make their communites better.

Im calling it "eco-virtue signalling" make your virtue signaling local.
    ... did I just hear a virtual pin drop.

All Lives Matter.
    RIP George Floyd
    RIP Angela Summers
    RIP David Dorn
    RIP the young black males who will be killed this upcoming weekend in Chicago in black on black violence.

I'm only going to bother saying this once as it is unlikely to make a difference to you.

Forces of the state, authorised by the state, representing the state and existing purely to protect you, instead murdering you in cold blood as crowds look on and plead for your life is fundamentally different in every possible way from deaths from gang violence and violent crime.

cdeb wrote: »
    Just by way of comparison, in Ireland training is two years.

And I presume on top of that there would be significant additional training for any of the military style weaponry and vehicles that are regularly used by US police.

Those US numbers quoted earlier were also the average time within the US. Some states are significantly shorter. From a quick google, Alabama has just 13 weeks for basic training.

LAPD got into some **** with UCLA, who are pissed they used the Jackie Robinson stadium as a field jail for those breaking curfew.

Jackie Robinson was the first black athlete admitted in the MLB.

Reports of squalid conditions, no bathrooms etc and a medical emergency that took hours for the FD to respond to.

Also swept up in last nights activity was LA’s homeless population. LAPD started releasing people in the middle of last night and telling them to go home, many without charged phones, or means of transportation, just expected to walk back into LA from the stadium - which wouldn’t that potentially result in being arrested again for violating curfew?

https://www.sportingnews.com/us/baseball/news/jackie-robinson-stadium-field-jail-ucla/zqajbr0obi1d1qx4ogglkbyi3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

This is on the news now. Someone talking and saying the police officer has to pay.

Isn't the cop being dealt with? What more do they want?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

owlbethere wrote: »
    This is on the news now. Someone talking and saying the police officer has to pay.

A court case and a strong sentence. Just because he's been arrested and charged doesn't mean it's over.

owlbethere wrote: »

Only 1 out of the 4 have been arrested and despite the evidence we've all seen he wasn't charged with the maximum. If 4 minorities had done the same to a cop on tape you can guarantee the other 3 involved wouldn't be still walking the streets.

Also, the 1 cop being charged is no where close to meaning that he will actually end up being punished. Laws in many states are written in a way that gives cops so many loop holes to escape punishment, if not full immunity.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'm only going to bother saying this once as it is unlikely to make a difference to you.

Forces of the state, authorised by the state, representing the state and existing purely to protect you, instead murdering you in cold blood as crowds look on and plead for your life is fundamentally different in every possible way from deaths from gang violence and violent crime.

so I guess your not signing up for my new eco-virtue signaling venture .. you know keep your bandwagon issues green keep them local, save the planet one pothole in your street, and not a street 5000 miles away, at a time .

Not to worry im expecting masses to sign on ,
    who wouldnt want to fix issues in their comunity before getting all worked up about stuff 5000 miles away.

Heck the peacful protestors can even borrow my idea, instead of smashing a window of a business in their neighbourhoods, why not go in an buy something or ask for a job there.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    Only 1 out of the 4 have been arrested and despite the evidence we've all seen he wasn't charged with the maximum. If 4 minorities had done the same to a cop on tape you can guarantee the other 3 involved wouldn't be still walking the streets.

Also, the 1 cop being charged is no where close to meaning that he will actually end up being punished. Laws in many states are written in a way that gives cops so many loop holes to escape punishment, if not full immunity.

Look up Qualified Immunity. It’s a broken system.

Milwaukee PD shows up to peaceful protest, almost immediately begins jackbooting. Teargas and rubber bullets fired.

https://youtu.be/Y0B4WRQI7wo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

RIGOLO wrote: »
    so I guess your not signing up for my new eco-virtue signaling venture .. you know keep your bandwagon issues green keep them local, save the planet one pothole in your street, and not a street 5000 miles away, at a time .

Not to worry im expecting masses to sign on ,
    who wouldnt want to fix issues in their comunity before getting all worked up about stuff 5000 miles away.

Aren't you the guy who started a thread purporting to be about David Dorn's death?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

So it's an issue with law enforcement is what it boils down to lack of accountability for officers that kill , why don't they change that then, more stringent rules and complaints taken more seriously,

The annoying thing about this is all live matter just black lives matter more apparently, where's the riots and protest for the whites and the Latins ECT that have been murdered by police ?

The double standards and blaming everything on white people will always be the down fall of these protests no matter how much they will it the majority of white people aren't racist and don't want to keep black people down.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

9 months sounds like absolutely nothing given it is two years for Gardai to train here and the American cops have to get weapons training which Gardai do not. And 13 weeks to train as a police officer in Alabama? Bit of a joke really to put officers on the streets with so little training. Sounds like a broken system.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,708 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Well said Cup of Tea. Well said. :cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Cupatae wrote: »
    The annoying thing about this is all live matter just black lives matter more apparently

They very clearly don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭THE_SHEEP

Gotta love Obama posting on Twitter / Facebook , commenting on current issues .

Have people already forgotten he was President of the United States for 8 years ( yes , 8 years !! ) .

And what did he do for African Americans in his 8 years of office ?

Why is racism such an issue , when he had 8 YEARS to do something about it ?

What a two faced p**** of s*** he is .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

It's really frustrating me seeing the amount of messages on LinkedIn from senior business people in the US saying how appalled they are at what happened and how it goes against the values that they and their company stand for. Virtue signalling at its finest. It's easy to jump on a bandwagon like this because it is clearly wrong and cannot be viewed as anything but wrong by right minded people.

Unless these CEOs were out there backing Colin Kaepernick when he was protesting then their platitudes now are worthless. Kaepernick was out there protesting against the mindset that is at the root of what happened to George Floyd. Then was the time to make some noise about the race issue in the US because if there was near-universal backing for Kaepernick like there is near universal condemnation of Floyd's killers, then perhaps Floyd's murder might not have happened. But instead Kaepernick got blackballed and corporate America, generally, was silent about the whole thing. It's easy to comment now but it would have taken some proper backbone and moral fibre to back Kaepernick.

If you weren't willing to comment then, don't comment now. For anyone who does, in the name of their company, it's cynical exploitation of someone's death to further their business in my opinion.

All these people giving themselves a coronary over Trump too would be better off realising that they're feeding him..all that energy is going somewhere..

Cupatae wrote: »
    So it's an issue with law enforcement is what it boils down to lack of accountability for officers that kill , why don't they change that then, more stringent rules and complaints taken more seriously,

The annoying thing about this is all live matter just black lives matter more apparently, where's the riots and protest for the whites and the Latins ECT that have been murdered by police ?

The double standards and blaming everything on white people will always be the down fall of these protests no matter how much they will it the majority of white people aren't racist and don't want to keep black people down.

For your benefit:

https://twitter.com/totallynotmark/status/1267901847777480704?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭THE_SHEEP

Podge_irl wrote: »

Nobody murdered anyone . Poor man died while being restrained by an idiot / heavy handed police officer .

Yeah, but then you've black lads saying they're coming for the suburbs next..

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    Gotta love Obama posting on Twitter / Facebook , commenting on current issues .

Have people already forgotten he was President of the United States for 8 years ( yes , 8 years !! ) .

And what did he do for African Americans in his 8 years of office ?

Why is racism such an issue , when he had 8 YEARS to do something about it ?

What a two faced p**** of s*** he is .

Obama Derangement Syndrome.

Overheal wrote: »
    Obama Derangement Syndrome.

Ah, you are actually just trolling, are you?..

• Registered Users Posts: 15,318 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Few digs being dished out over in London